anismus

Anismus: rectal evacuation disorder

Everyone has experienced, at least once in their life, problems de defecation as the Constipation. If you don't know yet, anismus may be the cause of such a problem. This disorder is due to a contraction abnormal de the anus. For more details, discover in the article the definition of anismus, its causes, its symptoms and its treatments.

Definition of anismus

 

anismus translates a trouble of the contraction of muscles du plancher pelvic at the time of defecation. It mainly affects the muscles of the sphincters de the anus et the muscle pub-rectal.

 

During the evacuation of stool, our muscles must normally relax to allow the opening of the anal orifice and the passage of defecation. However, in some cases, the muscles se contract (due to a distorted reflex). It's this contraction contradictory that we call anismus. selles fail not to go out although the subject makes efforts for expel him. This is also why this trouble pose problème.

 

anismus is also known as others appellations in the bibliographies: 

 

  • rectosphycterial dyssynergia;
  • anorectal dyssynergia;
  • abdo-perineal asynchrony;
  • spastic perineum syndrome.

 

 

What are the causes of this rectal evacuation disorder?

 

The causes de anismus are various.

 

neurological disorder

 

Nervous control of defecation is impaired. This may be the consequence of a central neurological pathology: Parkinson's disease, spinal cord injury, multiple sclerosis...

 

Functional disorder

 

They include trauma or stress related to abuse physical, Has assault sexual, or even to pain linked to other local pathologies such as solitary rectal ulcer. Functional disorders can also be linked to urinary pathology (given the proximity between the defecation and urination system).

 

Behavioral disorder

 

This problem occurs most often in children. When a child is constipated, when asked to push, the more he squeezes his anus and gradually the sphincter becomes disobedient.

 

 

Symptoms of anal sphincter disorder

 

anismus is characterized by a few symptoms, namely:

 

  • lack of relaxation of the sphincter muscles;
  • difficulty initiating and completing bowel movements;
  • a feeling of blockage and obstruction of the defecation opening;
  • pain on defecation;
  • a feeling of incomplete and unsatisfactory evacuation or tenesmus.

 

To relieve himself, the patient is likely to provide much more effort during defecation. By wanting to limit the closure of his anus, he tends to intensify his abdominal thrusts repeatedly. However, this can lead to bad consequences. The patient is at risk of contracting the descending perineum syndrome. At worst, he will no longer be able to hold back his defecations (anal incontinence).

 

In the absence of care, inability to pass stools through the anus can then lead to a Constipation terminal or many others complications.

 

 

What treatment to solve this constipation problem?

 

To treat anismus, the wisest thing is to consult un doctor. In order to indicate the appropriate treatments, the healthcare professional performs a diagnostic. He will make a exam clinical which will involve a toucher rectal. This maneuver makes it possible to assess the tone of the anal sphincters.

 

He then launches into the record of the pressure anal (during the Valsalva maneuver). Indeed, the manometry anorectal is the best way to justify whether the patient is suffering anismus. In addition, electromyography (EMG) and defecography can also show a anismus. A IRM can be used as an additional diagnostic test. 

 

To better understand the difficulty in the evacuation of stools and to properly guide the treatment, the doctor can use the analysis of the consistency of the stools (by the Bristol scale). The search for other pathologies that may be the cause of constipation is also possible. These include: hemorrhoids, anal fissures, stenosis, anal neoplasia.

 

The means curative are many.

 

 Medication treatments for anismus

 

It's about traitement de premiere line. Medicines are mainly substances laxatives, they help to evacuate stools. There are several types.

 

  • Rectal laxatives : these are suppositories that contain active ingredients with carbon dioxide (effervescent). Once released in the rectum, they stimulate the dejection reflex. As an example, mention may be made of Eductyl.
  • Bulk laxatives or mucilage: their action is to promote the accumulation and retention of water in the intestine. Thus, the stools increase and have a better consistency (ie easier to exonerate). The patient will relieve himself, because the defecations will be done more frequently. These are mainly drugs based on psyllium, sterculia gum, wheat bran.
  • Laxatives osmotic : they also increase the frequency of stools while improving their consistency. This reduces the efforts made during the evacuation of the stool.

 

Laxatives remain the most effective for treat anismus. In addition to their laxative property, they also have a swerve placebo beneficial.

 

Un enema à the water also represents an excellent alternative to solve an anismus problem.

 

Injection of botulinum toxin type A into the puborectalis muscle

 

All of this neurotoxins have the property to inhibit the movements muscle. Its effect is unfortunately only transient (over about 3 months), hence the need to regularly resume injections. In addition, the side effects are not less. Examples include pain, inability to retain stools and gas. This is also why this treatment is only adopted as a third line.

 

Surgery

 

La resection surgical of the puborectalis muscles is also possible, but it exposes to risks of incontinence. This operation is only used as a last resort.

 

Rehabilitation through biofeedback

 

It is the reference therapy. the tactile biofeedback consists in teaching the patient to relax his anus at the time of defecation. This is possible by making him understand the problem by illustrating it with various electrophysiological or manometric signals. The only downside is that this method requires a lot of training time to be effective.

 

Hygiene to adopt

 

Although the effectiveness of the treatments is visible from the first weeks, following a few hygiene precautions is essential. For example, during defecation, it takes slightly raise the heels and don't sit in the 90° angle. This position favors the opening de the anus and facilitates exit of selles

 

 

References

 

https://www.snfcp.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/livre-RCP-consti2017_long.pdf#page=205

https://www.edimark.fr/Front/frontpost/getfiles/3579.pdf

https://fr.abcdef.wiki/wiki/Anismus

Was this article helpful to you?

Indicate your appreciation of the article

Readers rating 4.5 / 5. Number of votes 2

If you have benefited from this article...

Follow us on Youtube and Facebook

Sorry you couldn't find an answer to your questions!

Help us improve this article!

How can we improve the article?

Anisme : trouble de l’évacuation rectale

Anisme : trouble de l’évacuation rectale

Tout le monde a déjà connu, au moins une fois dans sa vie, des problèmes de défécation comme la constipation. Si vous ne le savez pas encore, l’anisme peut être la cause d’un trouble de ce genre. Ce trouble s’explique par une contraction anormale de l’anus. Pour plus de détails, découvrez dans l’article la définition de l’anisme, ses causes, ses symptômes et ses traitements.

Définition de l’anisme

 

L’anisme traduit un trouble de la contraction des muscles du plancher pelvien au moment de la défécation. Elle touche principalement les muscles des sphincters de l’anus et le muscle puborectal.

 

Lors de l’évacuation des selles, nos muscles doivent normalement se relâcher pour permettre l’ouverture de l’orifice anale et le passage des défécations. Pourtant, dans certains cas, les muscles se contractent (à cause d’un réflexe faussé). C’est cette contraction contradictoire qu’on appelle anisme. Les selles ne parviennent pas à sortir bien que le sujet fasse des efforts pour l’expulser. C’est d’ailleurs pourquoi ce trouble pose problème.

 

L’anisme est également connu sous d’autres appellations dans les bibliographies : 

 

  • dyssynergie recto-sphynctérienne ;
  • dyssynergie ano-rectale ;
  • assynchronisme abdo-périnéal ;
  • syndrome du périnée spastique.

 

 

Quelles sont les causes de ce trouble de l’évacuation rectale

 

Les causes de l’anisme sont diverses.

 

Trouble neurologique

 

Le contrôle nerveux de la défécation est troublé. Cela peut être la conséquence d’une pathologie neurologique centrale : maladie de Parkinson, atteinte médullaire, sclérose en plaques

 

Trouble fonctionnel

 

Ils regroupent les traumatismes ou les stress liés à des maltraitances physiques, à des agressions sexuelles, ou même à des douleurs liées aux autres pathologies locales comme l’ulcère solitaire du rectum. Les troubles fonctionnels peuvent aussi être liés à une pathologie urinaire (vu la proximité entre le système de défécation et de miction).

 

Trouble comportemental

 

Ce problème se présente le plus souvent chez les enfants. Lorsqu’un enfant est constipé, quand on lui demande de pousser, plus il serre son anus et au fur et à mesure, le sphincter devient désobéissant.

 

 

Les symptômes de trouble du sphincter anal

 

L’anisme se caractérise par quelques symptômes, à savoir :

 

  • l’absence de relaxation des muscles sphinctériens ;
  • des difficultés d’initier et de terminer les selles ;
  • une sensation de blocage et d’obstruction de l’orifice de défécation ;
  • des douleurs à la défécation ;
  • un sentiment d’évacuation incomplète et insatisfaisante ou ténesme.

 

Pour se soulager, le patient risque de fournir beaucoup plus d’efforts lors de la défécation. En voulant limiter la fermeture de son anus, il tend à intensifier ses poussées abdominales de manière répétée. Cela peut toutefois engendrer de mauvaises conséquences. Le patient risque d’attraper le syndrome du périnée descendant. Au pire, il n’arrivera plus à retenir ses défécations (incontinence anale).

 

En l’absence de soin, l’impossibilité de faire sortir les selles par l’anus peut alors aboutir à une constipation terminale ou à bien d’autres complications.

 

 

Quel traitement pour résoudre ce problème de constipation ?

 

Pour soigner l’anisme, le plus judicieux est de consulter un médecin. Afin d’indiquer les traitements adéquats, le professionnel de santé réalise un diagnostic. Il fera un examen clinique qui impliquera un toucher rectal. Cette manœuvre permet d’apprécier le tonus des sphincters de l’anus.

 

Il se lance ensuite dans l’enregistrement de la pression anale (lors de la manœuvre de Valsalva). En effet, la manométrie anorectale est le meilleur moyen pour justifier si le patient souffre d’anisme. En outre, l’électromyographie (EMG) et la défécographie peuvent aussi mettre en évidence un anisme. Une IRM peut servir d’examen complémentaire au diagnostic. 

 

Pour mieux comprendre la difficulté à l’évacuation des selles et bien orienter le traitement, le médecin peut recourir à l’analyse de la consistance des selles (par l’échelle de Bristol). La recherche d’autres pathologies pouvant être à l’origine d’une constipation est aussi envisageable. On peut citer : l’hémorroïde, les fissures anales, la sténose, la néoplasie anale.

 

Les moyens curatifs sont nombreux.

 

 Les traitements de l’anisme par des médicaments

 

Il s’agit du traitement de première ligne. Les médicaments sont principalement des substances laxatives, ils aident à évacuer les selles. Il y en a plusieurs types.

 

  • Laxatifs par voie rectale : ce sont les suppositoires qui contiennent des principes actifs à gaz carboniques (effervescents). Une fois libérés dans le rectum, ils stimulent le réflexe de déjection. Comme exemple, on peut citer l’Eductyl.
  • Laxatifs de lest ou mucilage : leur action est de favoriser l’accumulation et la rétention d’eau dans l’intestin. Ainsi, les selles augmentent et ont une meilleure consistance (c’est à dire plus facile à exonérer). Le patient se soulagera, car les défécations se feront plus fréquemment. Ce sont principalement des médicaments à base de psyllium, de gomme de sterculia, de son de blé.
  • Laxatifs osmotiques : ils augmentent aussi la fréquence des selles tout en améliorant leur consistance. Cela réduit les efforts fournis lors de l’évacuation des selles.

 

Les laxatifs restent les plus efficaces pour traiter l’anisme. En plus de leur propriété laxative, ils ont également un effet placebo bénéfique.

 

Un lavement à l’eau représente aussi une excellente alternative pour résoudre un problème d’anisme.

 

L’injection de toxine botulinique de type A dans le muscle pubo-rectal

 

Ces neurotoxines ont comme propriété d’inhiber les mouvements musculaires. Son effet n’est malheureusement que transitoire (sur 3 mois environ), d’où la nécessité de reprendre régulièrement les injections. De plus, les effets secondaires ne sont pas moindres. On peut citer par exemple des douleurs, une incapacité à retenir les selles et les gaz. C’est aussi pourquoi ce traitement n’est adopté qu’en troisième ligne.

 

La chirurgie

 

La résection chirurgicale des muscles pubo-rectal est aussi envisageable, mais elle expose à des risques d’incontinence. On n’a recours à cette opération qu’en dernier lieu.

 

La rééducation par le biofeedback

 

C’est la thérapie de référence. Le biofeedback consiste à apprendre au patient à relâcher son anus au moment des défécations. Cela est possible en lui faisant comprendre le problème en l’illustrant par divers signaux électro-physiologiques ou manométriques. Le seul bémol est que cette méthode nécessite beaucoup de temps d’entraînement pour être efficace.

 

Les hygiènes à adopter

 

Bien que l’efficacité des traitements soit visible dès les premières semaines, suivre quelques précautions d’hygiène est indispensable. Par exemple, lors de la défécation, il faut légèrement surélever les talons et ne pas s’asseoir dans l’angle de 90 °. Cette position favorise l’ouverture de l’anus et facilite la sortie des selles

 

 

Références

 

https://www.snfcp.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/12/livre-RCP-consti2017_long.pdf#page=205

https://www.edimark.fr/Front/frontpost/getfiles/3579.pdf

https://fr.abcdef.wiki/wiki/Anismus