Vertebral artery: Anatomy and 5 possible disorders

vertebral artery

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

Cells and organs need a contribution in nutrients and oxygen to function properly. This nutrient contribution is essentially made by through blood circulation, in particular by the arteries. There are different types. In this article, let's talk about thevertebral artery and related disorders.

Vertebral Artery Definition

The vertebral artery is a systemic artery whose role is to transport oxygenated blood to the brain. Located between the longus muscle of the neck and the anterior scalene muscle, it is responsible for the hindbrain vasculature, cerebellum, thump cerebral and bone marrow cervical spinal.

Vertebral Artery Anatomy

The body has two vertebral arteries: the left vertebral artery et the right vertebral artery. They are medium caliber arteries, 3 to 4 mm in diameter. If the one on the left walks in the left part of the neck, the one on the right walks in the right part.

The vertebral artery originates on the superior aspect of the trunk of the ipsilateral subclavian artery. It forms the first collateral branch of this artery.

Its path consists of going up and passing through the neck to reach the head. To do this, it must:

  • cross the stellate ganglion (cervicothoracic sympathetic ganglion);
  • penetrate into the transverse channel formed by the stacking of vertebrae cervical;
  • reach the level of the sixth transverse;
  • climb up to the atlas (C1);
  • circumvent the lateral masses of the atlas;
  • cross the foramen magnum (occipital hole);
  • join the anterior surface of the medulla oblongata.

Arrival at the level of the brainstem, it finds the opposite vertebral artery. The two come together to form the basilar trunk (Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change) and the basilar artery. During this journey, the vertebral artery divides into different branches. Here are the most important:

  • the dorso-spinal branches which form at the level of the cervical vertebrae;
  • the anterior and posterior spinal arteries that form in the intracranial part.

What are vertebral artery disorders?

Vertebral artery dissection

The term " dissection refers to a pathology linked to the formation and extension of a hematoma in the wall of the vertebral artery. The caliber of the vessel may become narrowed or elongated. It all depends on the size as well as the position of the hematoma. If you have a narrowing of the artery, the vascularization of the regions of the brain will be reduced, or even stop. Conversely, when it is distended, it can compress structures around it.

La artery dissection vertebral can follow:

  • minor trauma;
  • weakness of the arterial wall;
  • a genetic predisposition;
  • cervical manipulations during osteopathic or chiropractic therapy;
  • diseases such as fibromuscular dysplasia or collagen disorder.

Hypertension and low blood pressure

La blood pressure indicates the pressure exerted by the blood on the walls of the arteries. It is measured with a tensiometer which gives two values: the systolic pressure and diastolic pressure. Expressed in millimeters of Mercury (mmHg), its normal value is around 120/80 mmHg, i.e. 120 mmHg for systolic and 80 mmHg for diastolic.

If thehypertension blood reflects an abnormal rise in blood pressure in the blood vessels, thelow blood pressure blood refers to the opposite situation.

The causes of high blood pressure are numerous :

  • kidney disease;
  • repeated emotional shocks;
  • smoking;
  • too salty diet;
  • obesity

On the other hand, low blood pressure can be due to:

  • a heart disorder;
  • incorrectly dosed antihypertensive treatment;
  • an infectious disease;
  • a lack of blood after a haemorrhage (hypovolaemia);
  • severe dehydration...

Arterial thrombosis

La arterial thrombosis refers to a pathology resulting from the formation of a blood clot in the wall of an artery. This can result in the reduction of the caliber of the artery or in the worst cases, its occlusion.

This disease can be associated with other pathologies such as:

  • heart disease;
  • diabetes;
  • aging (over 75);
  • a sedentary lifestyle;
  • hypercholesterolemia...

Stroke

Vertebral artery dissection can cause stroke. Although this occurs rarely, it is a common occurrence in young to middle-aged patients. Blockage of an artery can lead to ischemic stroke. On the other hand, the rupture of the vascular wall can cause a hemorrhagic stroke.

High blood pressure and arterial thrombosis are also risk factors for stroke.

What are the symptoms of vertebral artery disorders?

The symptoms of vertebral artery disorders are many.

  • For artery dissection: neck pain, numbness, posterior neck pain, occipital headache, diaphoresis (sweating).
  • For high blood pressure: visual disturbances, muscle cramps, nosebleeds, headaches, dizziness, dyspnea (breathing difficulty)…
  • For hypotension: malaise, extreme fatigue, dizziness, palpitations, weakness, syncope (loss of consciousness)…
  • For thrombosis: dizziness, visual disturbances, speech disturbances, transient paralysis, loss of consciousness, etc.
  • For a stroke: dizziness, visual disturbances, memory loss, difficulty walking, altered senses, language or comprehension disorders, etc.

How to treat vertebral artery disorders?

Diagnosis of vertebral artery disorders

In case of suspicion of a vertebral artery disorder, you should consult a doctor as soon as possible. The latter will perform a clinical examination to find out about the pain felt. Then, to clarify and confirm his diagnosis, he will carry out various examinations ofmedical imaging such as an X-ray, a scanner, an angioscanner, an MRI, an arteriography, an echo-doppler…

Treatment of vertebral artery disorders

Le treatment of vertebral artery dissection includes anticoagulants (factor Xa inhibitors, danaparoid, vitamin K antagonists, etc.) or antiplatelet agents (clopidogrel, ticlodipine, aspirin + dipyridamole, etc.). While anticoagulants prevent blood clotting, antiplatelet agents prevent platelet adhesion.

We can treat thehypertension with antihypertensives such as alpha 1 blockers, beta blockers, thiazide or hyperkalaemic diuretics, calcium channel blockers, angiotensin converting enzyme (ACE) inhibitors and angiotensin II receptor antagonists (ARA II).

As for arterial hypotension, it can be corrected by various means.

  • The medications: fludrocortisone (increases blood flow), midodrine, pyridostigmine.
  • La placement of an electrosystolic trainer (pacemaker): if the drugs do not work. It increases the basic heart rate.
  • A surgical intervention: whether it is related to head trauma.

La arterial thrombosis is usually cured by thrombolysis. It is a treatment that breaks up blood clots with thrombolytic drugs like urokinase, streptokinase or tissue plasminogen activator and its derivatives.

Le treatment of ischemic stroke combines thrombolytic drugs, anticoagulants or antiplatelet drugs and antispasmodic drugs (for muscle spasms). If necessary, endarterectomy can be performed. It is a surgical procedure that consists of cleaning the inside of a partially or totally blocked blood vessel. Sometimes the doctor may also prescribe angioplasty. This technique aims to prevent the occlusion of the affected artery by placing a balloon there.

As to hemorrhagic stroke treatment, it requires taking antihypertensives and benzodiazepine-type antiepileptics. Surgery may be considered to remove the accumulated blood. And, in the event of an aneurysm, a platinum filament is placed there to correct the dilation of the blood vessel.

Sources

 

https://www.passeportsante.net/fr/parties-corps/Fiche.aspx?doc=artere-vertebrale

https://www.univadis.fr/viewarticle/une-dissection-de-l-artere-vertebrale-peut-survenir-des-semaines-apres-un-traumatisme-mineur-733486

https://www.info-radiologie.ch/dissection-vertebrale.php

https://www.em-consulte.com/article/292285/chirurgie-de-l-artere-vertebrale

Back to top

Artère vertébrale : anatomie et troubles

Artère vertébrale : anatomie et troubles

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

Les cellules et les organes ont besoin d’un apport en nutriments et en oxygène pour fonctionner correctement. Cet apport nutritif se fait essentiellement par l’intermédiaire de la circulation sanguine, en particulier par les artères. Il en existe différents types. Dans cet article, parlons de l’artère vertébrale et des troubles qui y sont liés.

 

Définition de l’artère vertébrale

 

L’artère vertébrale est une artère systémique dont le rôle est d’assurer le transport du sang oxygéné vers le cerveau. Se situant entre le muscle long du cou et le muscle scalène antérieur, elle est responsable de la vascularisation du cerveau postérieur, du cervelet, du tronc cérébral et de la moelle spinale cervicale.

 

Anatomie de l’artère vertébrale

 

Le corps possède deux artères vertébrales : l’artère vertébrale gauche et l’artère vertébrale droite. Ce sont des artères de calibre moyen faisant 3 à 4 mm de diamètre. Si celle de gauche chemine dans la partie gauche du cou, celle de droite chemine dans la partie droite.

 

artère vertébrale vue de profil
Source

 

L’artère vertébrale trouve son origine sur la face supérieure du tronc de l’artère subclavière homolatérale. Elle forme la première branche collatérale de cette artère.

 

Son trajet consiste à monter et à passer par le cou pour rejoindre la tête. Pour ce faire, elle doit :

 

  • traverser le ganglion stellaire (ganglion cervico-thoracique du sympathique) ;
  • pénétrer dans le canal transversaire constitué par l’empilement des vertèbres cervicales ;
  • atteindre le niveau du sixième transversaire ;
  • monter jusqu’à l’atlas (C1) ;
  • contourner les masses latérales de l’atlas ;
  • franchir le foramen magnum (trou occipital) ;
  • rejoindre la face antérieure du bulbe rachidien.

 

artère vertébrale vue de face
Source

 

Arrivée au niveau du tronc cérébral, elle retrouve l’artère vertébrale opposée. Les deux se réunissent pour constituer le tronc basilaire ou l’artère basilaire. Au cours de ce trajet, l’artère vertébrale se divise en différentes branches. Voici les plus importantes :

 

  • les rameaux dorso-spinaux qui se forment au niveau des vertèbres cervicales ;
  • les artères spinales antérieures et postérieures qui se forment dans la partie intracrânienne.

 

 

Quels sont les troubles de l’artère vertébrale ?

 

La dissection de l’artère vertébrale

 

Le terme « dissection » désigne une pathologie liée à la formation et à l’extension d’un hématome au niveau de la paroi de l’artère vertébrale. Le calibre du vaisseau peut se retrouver rétréci ou allongé. Tout dépend de la taille ainsi que de la position de l’hématome. En cas de rétrécissement de l’artère, la vascularisation des régions de l’encéphale va se réduire, voire même s’arrêter. À l’inverse, lorsqu’il est distendu, il peut compresser les structures autour de lui.

 

La dissection de l’artère vertébrale peut faire suite à :

 

  • un traumatisme mineur ;
  • une faiblesse de la paroi artérielle ;
  • une prédisposition génétique ;
  • des manipulations cervicales pendant une thérapie ostéopathique ou chiropratique ;
  • des maladies de type dysplasie fibromusculaire ou désordre du collagène.

 

L’hypertension et hypotension artérielle

 

La tension artérielle indique la pression exercée par le sang sur la paroi des artères. On la mesure avec un tensiomètre ce qui donne deux valeurs : la pression systolique et la pression diastolique. Exprimée en millimètre de Mercure (mmHg), sa valeur normale avoisine les 120/80 mmHg soit 120 mmHg pour la systolique et 80 mmHg pour la diastolique.

 

Si l’hypertension artérielle traduit une élévation anormale de la pression du sang dans les vaisseaux sanguins, l’hypotension artérielle renvoie à la situation contraire.

 

Les causes de l’hypertension artérielle sont nombreuses :

 

  • les maladies rénales ;
  • les chocs émotifs répétés ;
  • le tabagisme ;
  • le régime alimentaire trop salé ;
  • l’obésité

 

En revanche, l’hypotension artérielle peut être due à :

 

  • un trouble cardiaque ;
  • un traitement antihypertenseur mal dosé ;
  • une maladie infectieuse ;
  • un déficit de sang après une hémorragie (hypovolémie) ;
  • une déshydratation importante…

 

Thrombose artérielle

 

La thrombose artérielle désigne une pathologie qui résulte de la formation d’un caillot sanguin au niveau de la paroi d’une artère. Ceci peut avoir pour conséquence la diminution du calibre de l’artère ou dans les pires des cas, son occlusion.

 

Cette maladie peut être associée à d’autres pathologies comme :

 

  • une maladie cardiaque ;
  • un diabète ;
  • le vieillissement (au-delà de 75 ans) ;
  • une sédentarité ;
  • une hypercholestérolémie…

 

Accidents vasculaires cérébraux

 

Une dissection de l’artère vertébrale peut causer des accidents vasculaires cérébraux. Bien que cela se produise rarement, il s’agit d’un cas fréquent chez les patients jeunes ou d’âge moyen. L’obstruction d’une artère peut entraîner un AVC ischémique. En revanche, la rupture de la paroi vasculaire peut engendrer un AVC hémorragique.

 

L’hypertension artérielle ainsi que la thrombose artérielle sont également des facteurs de risque d’un AVC.

 

 

Quels sont les symptômes des troubles de l’artère vertébrale ?

 

Les symptômes des troubles de l’artère vertébrale sont multiples.

 

  • Pour la dissection de l’artère: douleurs cervicales, engourdissement, cervicalgies postérieures, céphalées occipitales, diaphorèse (transpiration).
  • Pour l’hypertension: troubles visuels, crampes musculaires, saignements de nez, maux de tête, étourdissements, dyspnée (gêne respiratoire)…
  • Pour l’hypotension: malaise, grande fatigue, vertiges, palpitations, faiblesse, syncope (perte de connaissance)…
  • Pour la thrombose: vertiges, troubles de la vision, troubles de la parole, paralysies transitoires, perte de conscience…
  • Pour un AVC: étourdissements, troubles de la vision, perte de mémoire, difficulté à marcher, altération des sens, troubles du langage ou de la compréhension…

 

 

Comment traiter les troubles de l’artère vertébrale ?

 

Diagnostic des troubles de l’artère vertébrale

 

En cas de suspicion d’un trouble de l’artère vertébrale, il convient de consulter un médecin au plus vite. Ce dernier effectuera un examen clinique pour se renseigner sur les douleurs ressenties. Ensuite, pour préciser et confirmer son diagnostic, il procèdera à différents examens d’imagerie médicale tels qu’une radiographie, un scanner, un angioscanner, une IRM, une artériographie, un écho-doppler…

 

Traitement des troubles de l’artère vertébrale

 

Le traitement d’une dissection de l’artère vertébrale comprend des anticoagulants (inhibiteurs du facteur Xa, danaparoïde, antivitamines K…) ou des antiagrégants plaquettaires (clopidogrel, ticlodipine, aspirine + dipyridamole…). Si les anticoagulants empêchent la coagulation sanguine, les antiagrégants plaquettaires préviennent l’adhérence des plaquettes.

 

On peut traiter l’hypertension artérielle avec des antihypertenseurs comme les alpha 1 bloquants, les bêtabloquants, les diurétiques thiazidiques ou hyperkaliémiants, des inhibiteurs calciques, les inhibiteurs de l’enzyme de conversion (IEC) et les antagonistes des récepteurs de l’angiotensine II (ARA II).

 

L’hypotension artérielle quant à elle, se corrige par différents moyens.

 

  • Les médicaments: fludrocortisone (augmente le flux sanguin), midodrine, pyridostigmine.
  • La pose d’un entraîneur électrosystolique (pacemaker) : si les médicaments ne font pas effet. Il augmente le rythme cardiaque de base.
  • Une intervention chirurgicale: si elle est liée à un traumatisme crânien.

 

La thrombose artérielle se soigne généralement par une thrombolyse. C’est un traitement qui permet de désagréger les caillots sanguins par des médicaments thrombolytiques à l’instar de l’urokinase, la streptokinase ou l’activateur tissulaire de plasminogène et ses dérivés.

 

Le traitement d’un AVC ischémique combine des médicaments thrombolytiques, des anticoagulants ou des antiagrégants plaquettaires et des médicaments antispasmodiques (pour les spasmes musculaires). Au besoin, il est possible de recourir à une endartériectomie. C’est une intervention chirurgicale qui consiste à nettoyer l’intérieur d’un vaisseau sanguin partiellement ou totalement obstrué. Parfois, le médecin peut aussi prescrire une angioplastie. Cette technique vise à prévenir l’occlusion de l’artère touchée en y plaçant un ballonnet.

 

Quant au traitement de l’AVC hémorragique, il nécessite la prise d’antihypertenseurs et d’antiépileptiques de type benzodiazépine. Une intervention chirurgicale peut être envisageable pour enlever le sang accumulé. Et, en cas d’anévrisme, un filament de platine y est posé pour corriger la dilatation du vaisseau sanguin.

 

 

Sources

 

https://www.passeportsante.net/fr/parties-corps/Fiche.aspx?doc=artere-vertebrale

https://www.univadis.fr/viewarticle/une-dissection-de-l-artere-vertebrale-peut-survenir-des-semaines-apres-un-traumatisme-mineur-733486

https://www.info-radiologie.ch/dissection-vertebrale.php

https://www.em-consulte.com/article/292285/chirurgie-de-l-artere-vertebrale