Minor Intervertebral Disorder: Cause of Back Pain

shed light on minor intervertebral derangement minor intervertebral derangement

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

According to figures, one in two French people today suffers from back pain. An evil which even if it does not have serious consequences on health can be very disabling on a daily basis. Of course, not all back pain is created equal. Indeed, some can be more or less serious while others can be benign. This is particularly the case of minor intervertebral derangement syndrome, better known by its acronym DIM.

This article gives you more details about this syndrome.

Definition

Concept created by Dr. Robert Maigne, minor intervertebral derangement syndrome refers to all pain of vertebral origin, of a mechanical and reflex nature. In fact, it is not an anatomical lesion, but a low intensity facet lesion or a disc joint lesion. Indeed, the syndrome of minor intervertebral derangement can only sit at the level of the mobile elements of the spine or the vertebral mobile segment.

In other words, its action is generally concentrated only at the level of intervertebral discs, the interapophyseal joints as well as the ligaments and musculature.

More specifically, the minor intervertebral derangement syndrome is the consequence of a soft tissue injury and/or a musculo-lumbar sprain. To better understand the concept, it is important to remember that the human body is made up of 33 vertebrae interconnected from the upper part to the lower part, namely:

  • The cervical vertebrae which constitute the cervical spine
  • The dorsal vertebrae making up the dorsal spine
  • The lumbar vertebrae giving the Lumbar spine
  • The sacral vertebrae which form the sacrum
  • The coccygeal vertebrae which form the coccyx.

Causes

As we mentioned earlier, the minor intervertebral disorder is the result of a benign dysfunction at the level of the vertical mobile segment. This area is particularly stressed since it is very mobile.

In details, the causes of the occurrence of the syndrome of minor intervertebral derangement are many. Apart from identified pathology, it occurs in particular because of a bad postural habit. Indeed, a bad sitting posture during the day or a bad way of standing is a factor that can promote back pain.

Among the causes of minor intervertebral disturbance, we find false movements or even functional overload or trauma. Lack of physical activity, muscle weakness, obesity, etc. are also factors that can induce long-term DIM.

Symptoms of the disease

Minor intervertebral derangement syndrome is characterized by a series of referred pain in connection with irritation of the spinal nerves and disorders of the posterior vertebral interapophyseal joint. Among the symptoms we can cite:

  • Dorsal pain in the shoulders which can occur frequently in seamstresses, typists, computer specialists, ironers or even assembly line workers.
  • Pain in the chest (precordial pain) which can be particularly bothersome during a deep inspiration.
  • Abdominal, urological or gynecological pseudo-visceral pain.
  • La pubalgia.

Diagnostic

In most cases, minor intervertebral derangement syndrome remains unrecognized for many years. In fact, the diagnosis is often difficult to make since the clinical signs are very difficult to interpret. Added to this is the multiplicity and location of the various symptoms in addition to the lack of knowledge on the subject. Moreover, the pain described by patients is often the cause of poorly adapted medical care or even unnecessary surgical interventions.

To be able to detect a minor intervertebral disorder, a clinical examination aimed primarily at determining the cause of the pain must be carried out. This is usually a manual palpatory examination.

In principle, the pain is detected by palpation and pinch-rolling of the trapezius more specifically at the level of the angular of the scapula and interscapular D5-D6. This palpation makes it possible to evaluate the mobility of the cervical spine by following the Maigne star diagram.

Then, flexion, extension, right rotation, left rotation, right inclination and left inclination are also used to check the different movements at the level of the cervical spine.

Finally, the diagnosis goes through a dorsal decubitus which allows to palpate-roll the cervical spine. This aims to establish whether or not there is pain at the level of C4-C5 and C5-C6 or C6-C7.

The maneuvers used by the doctor

Concretely, the doctor relies on 3 maneuvers to affirm the benign, mechanical nature of the pain and above all to determine the presence or not of degenerative lesions:

  • The axial pressure on the spinous of a vertebrate

This maneuver consists of applying slow pressure on the vertebra to arouse deep pain or increase the pain originally caused at the level of the floor that is suffering.

  • Pressure-friction on the posterior joints

Thanks to an elective movement of forced rotation to the right then to the left on a vertebra, this maneuver aims to exert pressure on the spinous of the region examined in order to give a precise meaning of the manipulation to be recommended.

  • Pressure on the interspinous ligament

For information, the interspinous ligament is very sensitive to pressure compared to the others. Pressure in this area therefore aims to identify vertebral instability or what is commonly called hypermobility.

In parallel with this palpatory examination, a differential diagnosis can also be carried out to establish that the pain is not related to a cervico brachial neuralgia or an articular or periarticular pathology of the shoulder.

Finally, to confirm or deepen the diagnosis, additional examinations such as an X-ray or an MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) may also be recommended. These are intended to highlight degenerative lesions, or failing to exclude them.

Treatment

If a minor intervertebral disorder does not cause pain severe enough to impact daily life, it is important to know that an untreated IMD can cause disc protrusion (or other discopathy), especially during physical exertion. It is therefore important not to take it lightly.

In detail, the management of pain can be based in particular on spinal manipulation. This must absolutely be carried out by a doctor with a degree in manual medicine or another specialist (physiotherapist, osteopath, chiropractor, etc.) after a complete pre-manipulative clinical assessment and a well-established diagnosis.

As a general rule, the symptoms can disappear very quickly thanks to work on the affected vertebrae. It even sometimes happens that a single session is enough to achieve complete healing. Nevertheless, in some patients, 2 to 3 or more sessions may be necessary before experiencing significant relief. Be careful though, unsuitable manipulations can accentuate the pain.

A rehabilitation program can also be added to these spinal manipulative treatments. This is generally based on decontracting massages, kinesitherapy (physiotherapy) as well as gentle axial stretching and strengthening of the cervical musculature. The main purpose of this rehabilitation program is to correct posture, especially when sitting, and to relieve the back.

The injection of anti-inflammatories can also be proposed.

References

If you liked the article, please share it on your social networks (Facebook and others, by clicking on the link below). This will allow your relatives and friends suffering from the same condition to benefit from advice and support.

Back to top

Dérangement intervertébral mineur : Cause de douleur au dos

Dérangement intervertébral mineur : Cause de douleur au dos

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

Selon les chiffres, un français sur deux souffre aujourd’hui d’un mal de dos. Un mal qui même s’il n’a pas des conséquences lourdes sur la santé peut être très handicapant au quotidien. Évidemment, tous les maux de dos ne se ressemblent pas. En effet, certains peuvent être plus ou moins graves tandis que d’autres peuvent être bénins. C’est notamment le cas du syndrome du dérangement intervertébral mineur, plus connu sous son acronyme DIM.

 

Cet article vous donne plus de détails sur ce syndrome.

Définition

 

Concept créé par le Dr Robert Maigne, le syndrome du dérangement intervertébral mineur désigne toutes les douleurs d’origine vertébrale, de nature mécanique et réflexe. Dans les faits, il ne s’agit pas d’une lésion anatomique, mais d’une lésion facettaire de faible intensité ou une lésion articulaire discale. En effet, le syndrome du dérangement intervertébral mineur ne peut siéger qu’au niveau des éléments mobiles du rachis ou le segment mobile vertébral.

 

Autrement dit, son action ne se concentre généralement qu’au niveau des disques intervertébraux, les articulations interapophysaires ainsi que les ligaments et la musculature.

 

Source

 

Plus spécifiquement, le syndrome du dérangement intervertébral mineur est la conséquence d’une lésion des tissus mous et/ou une entorse musculo-lombaire. Pour mieux comprendre le concept, il est important de rappeler que le corps humain est composé de 33 vertèbres reliées entre elles de la partie supérieure à la partie inférieure à savoir :

 

  • Les vertèbres cervicales qui constituent le rachis cervical
  • Les vertèbres dorsales constituant le rachis dorsal
  • Les vertèbres lombaires donnant le rachis lombaire
  • Les vertèbres sacrales qui forment le sacrum
  • Les vertèbres coccygiennes qui forment le coccyx.

 

juxtaposition de vertèbres formant la colonne vertébrale

 

 

Causes

 

Comme nous l’avons évoqué précédemment, le dérangement intervertébral mineur est le fruit d’un dysfonctionnement bénin au niveau du segment mobile vertical. Cette zone est particulièrement sollicitée puisqu’elle est très mobile.

 

Dans les détails, les causes de l’apparition du syndrome du dérangement intervertébral mineur sont nombreuses. En dehors de pathologie identifiée, celui-ci survient notamment à cause d’une mauvaise habitude posturale. En effet, une mauvaise posture assise durant la journée ou une mauvaise manière de se tenir debout est un facteur pouvant favoriser les douleurs au niveau du dos.

 

Parmi les causes du dérangement intervertébral mineur, on retrouve les faux mouvements ou encore la surcharge fonctionnelle ou encore un traumatisme. Le manque d’activité physique, un affaiblissement musculaire, l’obésité… sont également autant de facteurs qui peuvent induire à long terme un DIM.

 

 

Symptômes

 

Le syndrome du dérangement intervertébral mineur est caractérisé par une série de douleurs projetées en rapport avec l’irritation des nerfs rachidiens et les troubles de l’articulation interapophysaire vertébrale postérieure. Parmi les symptômes, nous pouvons citer :

 

  • Les dorsalgies au niveau des épaules qui peuvent se présenter de manière fréquente chez les couturières, les dactylos, les informaticiens, les repasseuses ou encore les travailleurs à la chaîne.
  • Les douleurs au niveau de la poitrine (douleurs précordiales) qui peuvent être particulièrement gênantes lors d’une inspiration profonde.
  • Les douleurs pseudo-viscérales abdominales, urologiques ou gynécologiques.
  • La pubalgie.

 

 

 

Diagnostic

 

Dans la plupart des cas, le syndrome de dérangement intervertébral mineur reste méconnu pendant de nombreuses années. De fait, le diagnostic est souvent difficile à poser puisque les signes cliniques sont très difficiles à interpréter. S’y ajoutent la multiplicité et la localisation des différents symptômes en plus de la méconnaissance sur le sujet. D’ailleurs, les douleurs décrites par les patients sont souvent à l’origine de prises en charge médicales mal adaptées voire d’interventions chirurgicales inutiles.

 

Pour pouvoir détecter un dérangement intervertébral mineur, un examen clinique visant principalement à déterminer la cause de la douleur doit être effectué. Il s’agit généralement d’un examen manuel palpatoire.

 

En principe, la douleur est détectée à une palpation et un pincer-rouler du trapèze plus spécifiquement au niveau de l’angulaire de l’omoplate et interscapulaire D5-D6. Cette palpation permet d’évaluer la mobilité du rachis cervical en suivant le schéma en étoile de Maigne.

 

Ensuite, la flexion, l’extension, la rotation droite, la rotation gauche, l’inclinaison droite et l’inclinaison gauche permettent également de vérifier les différents mouvements au niveau du rachis cervical.

 

Enfin, le diagnostic passe par un décubitus dorsal qui permet de palper-rouler le rachis cervical. Celui-ci vise à établir s’il y a une douleur ou non au niveau du C4-C5 et C5-C6 ou C6-C7.

 

Les manœuvres utilisées par le médecin

 

Source

 

Concrètement, le médecin s’appuie sur 3 manœuvres pour affirmer la nature bénigne, mécanique de la douleur et surtout déterminer la présence ou non de lésions dégénératives :

 

  • La pression axiale sur l’épineuse d’une vertèbre

 

Cette manœuvre consiste à faire pression lente sur la vertèbre pour réveiller une douleur profonde ou augmenter la douleur primitivement provoquée au niveau de l’étage qui souffre.

 

  • La pression-friction sur les articulations postérieures

 

Grâce à un mouvement électif de rotation forcée à droite puis à gauche sur une vertèbre, cette manœuvre a pour objectif d’exercer une pression sur les épineuses de la région examinée afin de donner un sens précis de la manipulation à préconiser.

 

  • La pression sur le ligament interépineux

 

À titre d’information, le ligament interépineux est très sensible à la pression par rapport aux autres. La pression au niveau de cette zone vise donc à identifier une instabilité vertébrale ou ce que l’on appelle communément l’hypermobilité.

 

Source

 

En parallèle de cet examen palpatoire, un diagnostic différentiel peut également être effectué pour établir que les douleurs ne sont pas liées à une névralgie cervico-brachiale ou à une pathologie articulaire ou périarticulaire de l’épaule.

 

Enfin, pour confirmer ou approfondir le diagnostic, des examens complémentaires comme une radiographie ou une IRM (imagerie par résonance magnétique) peuvent également être recommandés. Ceux-ci ont pour objectif de mettre en évidence des lésions dégénératives, ou à défaut de les exclure.

 

 

Traitement

 

Si un dérangement intervertébral mineur ne cause pas des douleurs suffisamment intenses pour impacter la vie quotidienne, il est important de savoir qu’un DIM non pris en charge peut provoquer une protrusion discale (ou autre discopathie), notamment lors d’un effort physique. Il est ainsi important de ne surtout pas le prendre à la légère.

 

Dans les détails, la prise en charge des douleurs peut notamment reposer sur une manipulation vertébrale. Celle-ci doit absolument être effectuée par un médecin diplômé en médecine manuelle ou autre spécialiste (kiné, ostéopathe, chiropraticien, etc.) après un bilan clinique pré manipulatif complet et un diagnostic bien établi.

 

En règle générale, les symptomatologies peuvent disparaître très rapidement grâce à un travail sur les vertèbres atteintes. Il arrive même parfois qu’une seule séance suffise pour arriver à une guérison complète. Néanmoins, chez certains patients, 2 à 3 séances ou plus peuvent être nécessaires avant de ressentir un soulagement significatif. Attention par contre, des manipulations non adaptées peuvent accentuer les douleurs.

 

À ces traitements manipulatifs vertébraux peuvent également s’ajouter un programme de rééducation. Celui-ci est généralement basé sur des massages décontracturants, la kinésithérapie (physiothérapie) ainsi que les étirements axiaux doux et un renforcement de la musculature cervicale. Ce programme de rééducation a pour principal but de corriger les postures, surtout en position assise et de soulager le dos.

 

L’injection d’anti-inflammatoires peut également être proposée.

 

 

Références

 

 

Si vous avez aimé l’article, merci de le partager sur vos réseaux sociaux (Facebook et autres, en cliquant sur le lien ci-dessous). Ceci permettra à vos proches et amis souffrant de la même condition de bénéficier de conseils et de support