Degenerative disc disease: ALD (long-term condition)

medical consultation with the doctor

La spine is strongly solicited by the many movements that we make on a daily basis. Whether it is the repetitive movements of the trunk, the postures when walking, the gestures made during the carrying of loads, these efforts can lead to certain pathologies in the long term.

Among them are the degenerative diseases of the vertebral discs gradual and slow onset like degenerative disc disease. Is this a long term condition? This is what we will see in this article.

Some basics

Degenerative disc disease, what is it?

Also called, disc degeneration, degenerative disc disease is akin to a process of slow and progressive deterioration of intervertebral discs.

Degenerative disc disease L5-S1: What to do? (full guide)

Degenerative disc disease is manifested by wear of the discs, related to age and the stresses imposed on the spine. It's about a natural consequence of the aging of the body, but which can also occur due to incorrect movements, bad postures or strain on the back (carrying heavy loads, intense sports).

Le intervertebral disc decreases in height by losing water. the drying out fact that it is no longer capable of ensuring the resistance and flexibility of the disc in the face of shocks. In addition, the space for the nerves to pass through the spine narrows.

Disc degeneration is considered a pathology when it causes an embarrassing loss of mobility ou intense back pain on a daily basis.

The first symptom of the condition basically results in back pain. However, the patient's level of impairment determines the patient's exact location. It is thus possible that it is a lower back pain (lower back), a back pain (back pain) or neck pain (neck pain). It is accompanied by tingling, loss of sensitivity and locomotor difficulties.

Disc degeneration is diagnosed using a physical examination, possibly supplemented by an MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) or X-ray.

The possible treatments after diagnosis are extremely varied depending on the evolution of the disease. This ranges from self-care, to physical therapy (physiotherapy), to taking non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and epidural injection of steroids. 

More advanced cases may require a surgical intervention. It consists of a discectomy, intervertebral disc annuloplasty, laminotomy, laminectomy, or other.

Support is provided by many practitioners. We can distinguish between the attending physician, the emergency physician, the orthopedic surgeon, the geriatrician, the neurologist, the neurosurgeon and the physiotherapist.

ALD (long term illness)

A Long term affection where ALD is defined as a serious chronic pathology. Some of these diseases require expensive and long treatment. And depending on the case, it is possible for patients to benefit from full care of the latter under conditions. We can thus distinguish 2 main types of ALD: exempting ALD and non-exempting ALD.

The Exempting ALDs entitle you to full reimbursement of health costs related to the illness. It's about a exemption from co-payments or "remains dependent" after the passage of Social Security. The hospital package, the medical deductible, the flat-rate contribution of 1 euro and excess fees are not affected.

To benefit from it, the patient must follow a coordinated care pathway. Then, a list of 30 pathologies was established, defining the diseases considered as long-term conditions. Among other things, we can find disabling cerebrovascular accidents, chronic arteriopathy with ischemic manifestations, paraplegia and progressive rheumatoid arthritis.

Added to these are off-list conditions or ALD 31 (disabling or progressive forms of serious illnesses) and cases of polypathologies or ALD 32 (multiple conditions).

As to Non-exempting ALD, these are long-term conditions that require treatment for more than 6 months and work stoppage. However, patients do not benefit from full healthcare coverage by health insurance. This is the case for epilepsy, hypothyroidism, osteoarthritis and glaucoma, for example.

However, it is possible to take advantage of a reimbursement of 65% of the BRSS (Social Security reimbursement base) by Health Insurance for these non-exempting ALDs. The individuals concerned will have to follow a coordinated care protocol. The indemnities are in the form of daily reimbursements for 3 years, a threshold beyond which the insured automatically becomes disabled.

How much downtime for degenerative disc disease?

Le treatment of degenerative disc disease varies significantly from one patient to another depending on the symptoms and limitations observed. It includes active rehabilitation of variable duration.

The time off work due to the illness usually equals the period of rehabilitation. However, if a surgical act is necessary, the stop can be extended, as well as the period of coverage (sometimes even going up to 6 months).

We can say that this pathology is part of the ALD according to its chronicity et specific conditions of each patient.

Can we work with degenerative disc disease?

The answer to this question depends on your particular condition. As mentioned previously, the symptoms (even more than the diagnosis as such) will determine your limitations, as well as the prognosis.

If your degenerative disc disease is causing acute back pain, your doctor may request a temporary work stoppage combined with physiotherapy (physiotherapy) sessions.

If the pain persists over time and limits the performance of your work, it is possible that certain limitations will be imposed on the practice of your trade. These restrictions may be temporary or permanent, and should be discussed with your doctor.

For example, the duration of prolonged sitting may be limited. Certain adjustments (such as an ergonomic seat) can increase your comfort while sitting. If your work is physical, it is possible that we limit the taking of heavy loads, and that we set a maximum weight that should not be exceeded.

In any case, a doctor and/or an occupational therapist will be better equipped to discuss your particular situation, and will provide you with advice and adjustments to work in the best possible conditions. Unfortunately, if your functional abilities do not match the physical demands of your job, it is possible that a professional redeployment be considered.

Remember that work seems to be an important factor in curing back pain. Moreover, many studies have shown that prolonged work stoppages could lead to chronic low back pain. It is also for this reason that your doctor may encourage you to continue your professional activities despite your degenerative disc disease.

Degenerative disc disease, occupational disease?

Since February 15, 1999, the law has considered back pain to be a occupational disease.

Degenerative disc disease is a disorder of the spine, manifested by back pain. It can be considered registered in the occupational disease framework if:

  • it meets the criteria mentioned in the occupational disease tables (No. 97 or No. 98);
  • its chronicity is greater than or equal to 3 months;
  • the duration of exposure to the risk is equivalent to 5 years.

Although the general health of each patient is not threatened by degenerative disc disease, motor difficulties et loss of dexterity resulting from this are problematic in the workplace. This negatively affects quality and performance.

What compensation for degenerative disc disease?

People who suffer from disc degeneration benefit, as with any ALD, from a health insurance coverage. However, she is not optimal (100%) than :

  • whether the pain is not absent or minimal;
  • if there is no return to a high level of function;
  • if there is no discontinuous or occasional analgesic intake.

A medical visit is made annually to the patient for an assessment of the progress of the disease. Depending on the diagnosis, treatment may be renewed, turn into invalidity pensions or daily allowances.

References

https://www.medtronic.com/fr-fr/patients/pathologies/discopathie-degenerative.html

https://soinscoordonnes.fr/peut-travailler-discopathie-degenerative/

Back to top

consultation médicale chez le médecin

Discopathie dégénérative : ALD (affection longue durée)

La colonne vertébrale est fortement sollicitée par les nombreux mouvements que nous faisons au quotidien. Que ce soit les mouvements répétitifs du tronc, les postures lors de la marche, les gestes effectués durant les ports de charges, ces efforts peuvent conduire à certaines pathologies sur le long terme.

 

Parmi elles, on retrouve les maladies dégénératives des disques vertébraux d’apparition progressive et lente comme la discopathie dégénérative. Est-ce qu’il s’agit d’une affection longue durée ? C’est ce dont on va voir dans cet article.

Quelques notions de base

 

Discopathie dégénérative, c’est quoi ?

 

Aussi appelée, dégénérescence discale, la discopathie dégénérative s’apparente à un processus de détérioration lente et progressive des disques intervertébraux.

 

Discopathie dégénérative L5-S1: Que faire ? (guide complet)

 

La discopathie dégénérative se manifeste par une usure des disques, liée à l’âge et aux contraintes infligées à la colonne vertébrale. Il s’agit d’une conséquence naturelle du vieillissement de l’organisme, mais qui peut aussi survenir à cause de mouvements incorrects, de mauvaises postures ou de sursollicitations du dos (port de charges lourdes, sports intenses).

 

Le disque intervertébral diminue en hauteur en perdant de l’eau. Le dessèchement fait qu’il n’est plus capable d’assurer la résistance et la souplesse du disque face aux chocs. De plus, l’espace de passage des nerfs au niveau de la colonne vertébrale se rétrécit.

 

imagerie médicale permettant d'identifier une discopathie dégénérative

 

La dégénérescence discale est considérée comme une pathologie dès lors qu’elle entraîne une perte en mobilité gênante ou des maux de dos intenses au quotidien.

 

Le premier symptôme de l’affection se traduit essentiellement par un mal de dos. Le niveau d’atteinte du patient détermine toutefois la localisation exacte de ce dernier. Il est ainsi possible qu’il s’agisse d’une douleur lombaire (en bas du dos), d’une douleur dorsale (dorsalgie) ou d’une douleur au niveau du cou (cervicalgie). Elle s’accompagne de fourmillements, de pertes en sensibilité et de difficultés locomotrices.

 

La dégénérescence discale est diagnostiquée à l’aide d’un examen physique, complétée éventuellement d’une IRM (Imagerie par résonance magnétique) ou d’une radiographie.

À LIRE :   Discopathie dégénérative L5-S1: Que faire ? (guide complet)

 

Les traitements possibles après diagnostic sont extrêmement variés en fonction de l’évolution de la maladie. Cela va des soins autoadministrés à la kinésithérapie (physiothérapie), en passant par la prise de médicaments anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens et l’injection péridurale de stéroïdes. 

 

Les cas les plus avancés pourront exiger une intervention chirurgicale. Cela consiste en une discectomie, une annuloplastie du disque intervertébral, une laminotomie, une laminectomie, ou autre.

 

La prise en charge est assurée par de nombreux praticiens. On peut distinguer le médecin traitant, le médecin urgentiste, le chirurgien orthopédiste, le gériatre, le neurologue, le neurochirurgien et le kinésithérapeute.

 

ALD (affection longue durée)

 

Une Affection longue durée ou ALD se définit comme une pathologie chronique grave. Certaines de ces maladies demandent un traitement onéreux et long. Et en fonction des cas, il possible aux patients de profiter d’une prise en charge complète de ce dernier sous conditions. On peut ainsi distinguer 2 principaux types d’ALD : les ALD exonérantes et les ALD non exonérantes.

 

Les ALD exonérantes ouvrent droit à un remboursement total des frais de santé liés à la maladie. Il s’agit d’une exonération du ticket modérateur ou « reste à charge » après le passage de la Sécurité sociale. Le forfait hospitalier, la franchise médicale, la participation forfaitaire à 1 euro et les dépassements d’honoraires ne sont pas concernés.

 

Pour en bénéficier, le patient doit suivre un parcours de soins coordonnés. Puis, une liste de 30 pathologies a été établie, définissant les maladies considérées comme affections de longue durée. On peut y trouver entre autres les accidents vasculaires cérébraux invalidants, les artériopathies chroniques avec manifestations ischémiques, les paraplégies et les polyarthrites rhumatoïdes évolutives.

 

À ceux-ci s’ajoutent les affections hors liste ou ALD 31 (formes invalidantes ou évolutives de maladies graves) et les cas de polypathologies ou ALD 32 (affections multiples).

 

Quant aux ALD non exonérantes, il s’agit des affections longue durée qui exigent un traitement de plus de 6 mois et un arrêt de travail. Toutefois, les patients ne bénéficient pas d’une prise en charge complète des soins par l’assurance maladie. C’est le cas de l’épilepsie, de l’hypothyroïdie, de l’arthrose et du glaucome par exemple.

À LIRE :   Discopathie protrusive : Définition et prise en charge

 

Il est cependant possible de profiter d’un remboursement à hauteur de 65 % de la BRSS (Base de remboursement de la Sécurité sociale) par l’Assurance maladie pour ces ALD non exonérantes. Les individus concernés devront pour cela suivre un protocole de soins coordonnés. Les indemnités se présentent sous forme de remboursements journaliers durant 3 ans, seuil au-delà duquel l’assuré passe en invalidité automatiquement.

 

 

Combien de temps d’arrêt pour une discopathie dégénérative ?

 

Le traitement d’une discopathie dégénérative varie sensiblement d’un patient à un autre en fonction de la symptomatologie et des limitations observées. Il comporte une rééducation active de durée variable.

 

Le temps d’arrêt de travail la maladie équivaut généralement à la période de rééducation. Toutefois, si un acte chirurgical est nécessaire, l’arrêt peut se prolonger, de même que la période de prise en charge (allant même parfois jusqu’à 6 mois).

 

On peut dire que cette pathologie s’inscrit dans le cadre des ALD en fonction de sa chronicité et des conditions particulières de chaque patient.

 

 

Peut-on travailler avec une discopathie ?

 

Dans le cadre d’une dégénérescence discale, les arrêts de travail prescrits par les médecins peuvent être temporaires ou définitifs. Ils peuvent se transformer en reclassement professionnel ou en invalidité selon les exigences physiques nécessaires à la réalisation des tâches professionnelles.

 

Toutefois, il faut savoir que le fait de travailler constitue un facteur de guérison important du mal de dos.

 

Si le médecin traitant le permet, on peut parfaitement poursuivre une activité professionnelle, même en souffrant de cette affection.

 

 

Discopathie dégénérative, maladie professionnelle ?

 

La loi considère depuis le 15 février 1999 les douleurs au dos comme étant une maladie professionnelle.

 

La discopathie dégénérative représente un trouble de la colonne vertébrale, se manifestant par un mal de dos. Elle peut être considérée inscrite au cadre de maladie professionnelle si :

 

  • elle répond aux critères évoqués dans les tableaux de maladie professionnelle (N° 97 ou N° 98) ;
  • sa chronicité est supérieure ou égale à 3 mois ;
  • la durée d’exposition au risque équivaut à 5 ans.
À LIRE :   Discopathie dégénérative C5-C6 : Définition et prise en charge

 

Même si la santé générale de chaque patient n’est pas menacée par la discopathie dégénérative, les difficultés motrices et la perte de dextérité qui en découlent s’avèrent problématiques dans le cadre du travail. Cela influe négativement sur la qualité et les performances.

 

 

Quelles indemnités pour une discopathie dégénérative ?

 

Les personnes qui souffrent d’une dégénérescence discale bénéficient comme pour toute ALD d’une prise en charge de l’Assurance maladie. Toutefois, elle n’est optimale (100 %) que :

 

  • si la douleur n’est pas absente ou minimale ;
  • s’il n’y a pas de retour à un niveau de fonction élevé ;
  • s’il n’y a pas de prise d’antalgique discontinue ou occasionnelle.

 

Une visite médicale est effectuée annuellement chez le patient pour une évaluation de l’état d’avancement de la maladie. En fonction du diagnostic, la prise en charge peut être renouvelée, se transformer en pensions d’invalidité ou en indemnités journalières.

 

 

Références

 

https://www.medtronic.com/fr-fr/patients/pathologies/discopathie-degenerative.html

 

https://soinscoordonnes.fr/peut-travailler-discopathie-degenerative/

 

 

Cet article vous-a-t-il été utile ?

Indiquez votre appréciation de l'article

Note des lecteurs / 5. Nombre de votes

Si vous avez bénéficié de cet article...

Suivez-nous sur Youtube et Facebook

Navré que vous n'ayez pu trouver réponse à vos questions !

Aidez-nous à améliorer cet article !

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l'article ?

Douleurs physiques : Mini consultation gratuite

Répondez à ce court questionnaire en ligne pour bénéficier de recommandations spécifiques à VOTRE situation.