Rib pain during pregnancy: what to do?

back pain in early pregnancy

During pregnancy, the woman faces many episodes of discomfort and various ailments. Among them is the rib pain. It is a source of anxiety and discomfort in everyday life. What are the causes and how to fix it? We tell you all about the rib pain during pregnancy.

Definition and anatomy

Anatomy of the ribs and thoracic region

The ribs are found in the upper part of the trunk, at the level of the thoracic region. They are flat, long, curved in the shape of an arc and oblique downwards. Each attaches to two vertebrae, posteriorly, and to the sternum anteriorly, through the costal cartilages. Some ribs have a free end and are only connected to the vertebrae (floating ribs).

In total, there are 24 ribs. With the sternum and the thoracic vertebrae, they will form the rib cage. The latter is delimited at the top by the cervico-thoracic outlet, and at the bottom by the diaphragm. It contains the lungs and the mediastinum (together formed by the heart, the thymus, the esophagus, the trachea, the nerves, a portion of the aorta and the vena cava). Mainly, its role is to protect them as well as the abdominal organs (for example the diaphragm, the liver, etc.).

Whether in terms of its contents or its containers, the rib cage will not be immune to repercussions of pregnancy.

What changes does a woman's body go through during pregnancy and why?

Disturbance of hormonal flow and increase in the size of the fetus in the uterus are the main factors of changes in women during pregnancy. These affect, among other things, the morphology, the functioning of the organs and the mood. They are felt from the first month and evolve with the rhythm of pregnancy.

Among the most important changes is the one affecting the musculoskeletal system. This concerns in particular the pelvis region, the lumbar region and the thoracic region.

At the level of the pelvis, the transformation aims to relax the muscular and ligamentous tissues in order to already prepare for childbirth. The phenomenon occurs under the influence of relaxin, a hormone secreted by the body at the 2e week of amenorrhea.

At the level of the back, the lumbar lordosis is more accentuated as the months of pregnancy pass. The height and weight of the baby increase which will move the center of gravity of the body of the future mother forward. Thus, the back becomes hollow.

At the level of the thoracic region, the more the belly grows, the more the rib cage widens. The diaphragm will also be pushed up.

What about rib pain during pregnancy?

A rib pain during pregnancy is a painful and unpleasant sensation that is triggered in the ribs.

What is the link between rib pain and pregnancy?

La chest pain and costal happens frequently during pregnancy. The closer the time of delivery approaches, the more the future mother suffers.

The increase in the size of the baby is one of the main causes of this evil. This is explained by the fact that the organs will have less space and the diaphragm will be pushed upwards. Not only will this cause stiffness in the latter, but also in the intercostal muscles. And, this is what causes the pain in the ribs and chest area in pregnant women. This is also the cause of labored breathing.

The baby's regular kicking of the mother's ribs is also an important factor in the rib pain. These will be increased by the seated position and deep inspiration, because of the increase in compression at the ribs.

In the context of shock or trauma in pregnant women, the rib pain corresponds either to a fracture or to a rib sprain. The situation is serious in the event of a fracture, as this can perforate intrathoracic or intra-abdominal organs (such as the liver, spleen, etc.). This may have very bad consequences for pregnancy.

In rare cases, the rib pain during pregnancy can also be linked to damage to underlying organs. If you have pain in your right ribs, it may be due to strain on the liver. And if the pain radiates to the left ribs, we can think of a pathology of the stomach (acid reflux, nausea, vomiting, etc.) or of the spleen. We must also be wary of pre-eclampsia in case of subcostal pain.

What are the solutions to relieve rib pain in pregnant women?

The rib pain usually do not disappear until after childbirth. Thus, so that they do not interfere with the activities of daily living, they must be relieved.

To do this, we use the physiotherapy (physiotherapy). This method consists of working on the breathing and do some kind of meditation. Its purpose is to relax stiff muscles and mobilize the costovertebral region.

Here are some easy and practical methods that can be practiced at home.

  • Make a maximum inspiration so as to inflate and work the abdomen, then hold this inspiration for a few seconds and finally exhale. You can repeat the exercise 10 times, in 2-3 sets 2-3 times a day.
  • Mobilize the rib cage: lie down and extend both arms at the same time or in turns, while inhaling each time.
  • Relax the diaphragm: lie down, bend your knees and put your hands on your stomach. Then, make a slow breathing by inflating the belly. Repeat the process for about ten breaths and in 3 series.
  • Stretch the intercostal muscles: sit down and bring one arm above the head.
  • Use a pregnancy ball to soften the rib cage.
BODYMATE Fitness Ball + Pump Included + Free E-Book Rose-Gold 65cm
  • ANTI-BURST SYSTEM: Thanks to its premium PVC composition and its innovative anti-burst system, the BODYMATE fitness ball is particularly robust. Be careful though: this system has its limits. When using your ball, check that it is not damaged. It should not be used near sharp objects.
  • VERSATILE: Office or fitness? The BODYMATE fitness ball is the essential accessory for your daily gymnastics at home, whether you practice pilates, yoga or crossfit, but it can also replace your daily office chair. Try !
  • BODYMATE QUALITY: Made of non-polluting and hypoallergenic materials, the surface of the BODYMATE fintness ball is slightly abrasive, which makes it particularly resistant and non-slip.

Last updated on 2024-06-17 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

If rib pain persists,osteopath can help through gentle manipulations adapted to the fetus. They may also recommend a pregnancy pillow to reduce stress on the ribs.

Niimo XXL Pregnancy and Nursing Pillow – Maternity Cushion Cover 100% Cotton, Distinguished by Two Awards in 2022, Washable, Nursing Pillow
  • REPAIR SLEEP – This ergonomic maternity pillow, guaranteeing restful sleep, supports your back and hips and allows you to rest comfortably in a side position.
  • MULTIFUNCTION – Thanks to the wooden buttons, this pregnancy pillow can be transformed into a sturdy support for your back. So you can sit back and relax, or raise your legs to relieve swelling.
  • FIRMNESS – The padding consists of 100% siliconized polyester fibres. The positioning cushion therefore has the right level of firmness adapted to your changing needs during pregnancy.

Last updated on 2024-06-18 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

Finally, the rib pain in pregnant women remains benign except in the context of shock or trauma and eclampsia in rare cases. There are simple and effective exercises to relieve them and make this special period less painful. Anti-inflammatories are contraindicated during pregnancy.

References

https://www.cliniquehorizonperformance.ca/infos-sante/les-douleurs-musculo-squelettiques-de-la-femme-enceinte/# : ~ : text=Douleur%20thoracique%20ou%20costale%20et%20difficult%C3%A9%20%C3%A0%20respirer&text=De%20cette%20fa%C3%A7on%2C%20vos%20organes, de%20pieds%20dans%20les%20c%C3%B4tes !

https://www.charenton-osteo.com/douleurs-cotes-costale-enceinte-grossesse/

Back to top

mal de dos en début de grossesse

Douleur des côtes durant la grossesse : que faire ?

Durant la grossesse, la femme fait face à de nombreux épisodes de malaises et de divers maux. Parmi eux, il y a la douleur des côtes. Elle est source d’angoisse et de gêne dans le quotidien. Quelles en sont les causes et comment y remédier ? On vous dit tout sur les douleurs aux côtes pendant la grossesse.

Définition et anatomie

 

Anatomie des côtes et de la région thoracique

 

Untitled - November 5, 2022
Untitled - November 5, 2022

Les côtes se trouvent dans la partie supérieure du tronc, au niveau de la région thoracique. Ce sont des os plats, longs, courbés en forme d’arc et obliques vers le bas. Chacune s’attache à deux vertèbres, en arrière, et au sternum en avant, par le biais des cartilages costaux. Certaines côtes ont une extrémité libre et ne sont reliées qu’aux vertèbres (côtes flottantes).

 

anatomie de la cage thoracique et des côtes
Source

 

Au total, on compte 24 côtes. Avec le sternum et les vertèbres thoraciques, elles vont former la cage thoracique. Cette dernière est délimitée en haut par le défilé cervico-thoracique, et en bas par le diaphragme. Elle renferme les poumons et le médiastin (ensemble formé par le cœur, le thymus, l’œsophage, la trachée, les nerfs, une portion de l’aorte et la veine cave). Principalement, son rôle est de les protéger ainsi que les organes abdominaux (par exemple le diaphragme, le foie…).

 

Que ce soit au niveau de ses contenus ou de ses contenants, la cage thoracique ne sera pas indemne aux répercussions de la grossesse.

 

 

Quels changements le corps de la femme subit-il au cours de la grossesse et pourquoi ?

 

La perturbation de flux hormonal et l’augmentation de la taille du fœtus dans l’utérus sont les principaux facteurs des changements chez la femme au cours de la grossesse. Ces derniers affectent entre autres la morphologie, le fonctionnement des organes et l’humeur. Ils se font ressentir dès le premier mois et évoluent au rythme de la grossesse.

À LIRE :   Sciatique durant la grossesse : Gérer les crises (exercices)

 

grossesse
Source

 

Parmi les changements les plus importants, il y a celui qui touche le système musculosquelettique. Cela concerne notamment, la région du bassin, la région lombaire et la région thoracique.

 

Au niveau du bassin, la transformation vise à relâcher les tissus musculaires et ligamentaires en vue de déjà préparer l’accouchement. Le phénomène se produit sous l’influence de la relaxine, une hormone sécrétée par l’organisme à la 2e semaine d’aménorrhée.

 

Au niveau du dos, la lordose lombaire s’accentue davantage au fur et à mesure que les mois de grossesse passent. La taille et le poids du bébé augmentent ce qui va déplacer le centre de gravité du corps de la future maman vers l’avant. Ainsi, le dos devient creux.

 

Au niveau de la région thoracique, plus le ventre grandit, plus la cage thoracique s’élargit. Le diaphragme sera aussi poussé vers le haut.

 

Qu’en est-il de la douleur costale au cours de la grossesse ?

 

Une douleur costale au cours de la grossesse est une sensation pénible et désagréable qui se déclenche au niveau des côtes.

 

 

Quel est le lien entre la douleur costale et la grossesse ?

 

La douleur thoracique et costale arrive fréquemment au cours de la grossesse. Plus l’heure de l’accouchement approche, plus la future maman en souffre.

 

douleur de grossesse
Source

 

L’augmentation de la taille du bébé est l’une des causes principales de ce mal. Cela s’explique par le fait que les organes vont avoir moins de place et le diaphragme va être poussé vers le haut. Non seulement cela va engendrer une raideur au niveau de ce dernier, mais également au niveau des muscles intercostaux. Et, c’est ce qui provoque la douleur au niveau des côtes et de la région thoracique chez la femme enceinte. C’est ce qui est aussi à l’origine de la respiration difficile.

À LIRE :   Douleur de hanche durant la grossesse : Que faire ?

 

Les coups de pieds réguliers du bébé au niveau des côtes de sa mère sont aussi un facteur important de la douleur costale. Celle-ci vont être majorée par la position assise et l’inspiration profonde, à cause de l’augmentation de la compression au niveau des côtes.

 

Dans le cadre d’un choc ou d’un traumatisme chez les femmes enceintes, la douleur des côtes correspond soit à une fracture soit à une entorse costale. La situation est grave en cas de fracture, car cela peut perforer les organes intrathoraciques ou intra abdominale (comme le foie, la rate…). Cela risque d’entrainer de très mauvaises conséquences à la grossesse.

 

Dans des cas rares, la douleur au niveau des côtes au cours de la grossesse peut également être liée à des atteintes des organes sous-jacents. Si vous avez mal au niveau des côtes droites, cela peut provenir de la tension sur le foie. Et si la douleur irradie au niveau des côtes gauches, on peut penser à une pathologie de l’estomac (remontées acides, nausées, vomissements…) ou de la rate. Il faut aussi se méfier de la pré-éclampsie en cas de douleurs sous-costales.

 

 

Quelles sont les solutions pour soulager la douleur costale chez la femme enceinte ?

 

Les douleurs costales ne disparaissent généralement qu’après l’accouchement. Ainsi, pour qu’elles n’entravent pas les activités de la vie quotidienne, il faut les soulager.

 

Pour ce faire, on a recours à la physiothérapie (kinésithérapie). Cette méthode consiste à travailler sur la respiration et à faire une sorte de méditation. Elle a pour but de relâcher les muscles raides et de mobiliser la région costo-vertébrale.

 

Voici quelques méthodes faciles et pratiques pouvant être exercées chez soi.

 

  • Faire une inspiration maximale de façon à faire gonfler et travailler l’abdomen, puis retenir cette inspiration pendant quelques secondes et enfin expirer. Vous pouvez répéter l’exercice 10 fois, en 2 à 3 séries 2 à 3 fois par jour.
  • Mobiliser la cage thoracique : s’allonger et étendre les 2 bras en même temps ou par tour, tout en inspirant à chaque fois.
  • Détendre le diaphragme : s’allonger, plier les genoux et mettre les mains sur le ventre. Puis, faire une respiration lente en gonflant le ventre. Répétez le procédé sur une dizaine de respirations et en 3 séries.
  • Étirer les muscles intercostaux : s’assoir et ramener un bras au-dessus de la tête.
  • Utiliser un ballon de grossesse pour assouplir la cage thoracique.
À LIRE :   Protéine C réactive durant la grossesse : Quel lien ?

 

Si la douleur costale persiste, l’ostéopathe peut aider par le biais des manipulations douces et adaptées au fœtus.

 

Pour finir, la douleur des côtes chez les femmes enceintes reste bénigne sauf dans le cadre d’un choc ou de traumatisme et d’une éclampsie dans de rares cas. Il existe des exercices simples et efficaces pour les soulager et rendre moins pénible cette période si particulière. Les antiinflammatoires sont contre indiqués pendant la grossesse.

 

 

Références

 

https://www.cliniquehorizonperformance.ca/infos-sante/les-douleurs-musculo-squelettiques-de-la-femme-enceinte/# : ~ : text=Douleur%20thoracique%20ou%20costale%20et%20difficult%C3%A9%20%C3%A0%20respirer&text=De%20cette%20fa%C3%A7on%2C%20vos%20organes, de%20pieds%20dans%20les%20c%C3%B4tes !

https://www.charenton-osteo.com/douleurs-cotes-costale-enceinte-grossesse/

Cet article vous-a-t-il été utile ?

Indiquez votre appréciation de l'article

Note des lecteurs / 5. Nombre de votes

Si vous avez bénéficié de cet article...

Suivez-nous sur Youtube et Facebook

Navré que vous n'ayez pu trouver réponse à vos questions !

Aidez-nous à améliorer cet article !

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l'article ?

FORMATION 100% OFFERTE

Découvrez ce qu'on ne vous jamais dit sur vos douleurs chroniques...