Encephalocele: Rare birth defect (prognosis)

encephalocele

Rare birth defect, theencephalocele results from incomplete closure of the neural tube. Its severity varies depending on the size, its exact location. The same is true for prognosis. Details in this article.

What is encephalocele?

THEencephalocele refers to the exteriorization of the tissue covering the brain and part of the brain itself outside the skull. It is a rare disease that occurs before birth (congenital).

As a reminder, the brain and the spinal cord are formed during third and fourth weeks of pregnancy. They are formed from neural tube. Encephalocele usually occurs when the neural tube does not close completely. This can cause a sac-like bulge with some brain tissue and cerebrospinal fluid which crosses the skull.

An encephalocele can be life-threatening for the baby. Its severity and the baby's chances of survival depend on its position on the skull. Babies who suffer from it often have chromosomal problems, cerebral and facial. Treatment options and physical and mental development also differ from case to case.

Most encephaloceles are located in the occipital and frontonasal regions. Other locations are possible, such as the lower back. We then speak of spina bifida.

Occipital encephalocele (at the back of the head)

It is the most common type of encephalocele. It particularly affects girls. It causes various problems such as developmental delay, vision problems, balance and coordination problems, hydrocephalus (fluid on the brain) and seizures.

Frontonasal encephalocele (between nose and forehead)

THEencephalocele frontonasal is more common in boys. The chances of survival for babies with frontonasal encephaloceles are generally good. These babies have risk of neurological problems, but these are less severe than for occipital encephalocele.

What is the cause of encephalocele?

Although scientists do not know what causes encephaloceles, there are several known risk factors that cause this abnormality.

For example, women who eat a lot offoods containing folic acid (vitamin B9) when pregnant are less likely to have a baby with this condition. Certain types of encephaloceles are also more common in women with diabetes.

A certain number of genetic syndromes are also associated with encephalocele.

There is also evidence that theexposure to toxic chemicals, including certain medications, may increase the risk of having a baby with encephalocele.

What are the symptoms and clinical manifestations of encephalocele?

It is sometimes difficult to detect encephalocele before the baby is born. In the majority of cases, the symptoms only appear later in childhood, once the child begins to have physical or mental retardation.

The signs of encephalocele are multiple and can include:

  • an accumulation of fluid in the brain (called hydrocephalus);
  • loss of strength in the arms and legs;
  • a small head;
  • awkward movement of muscles, such as those used for walking and moving;
  • stunted growth and development;
  • vision problems;
  • problems with breathing, heart rate and swallowing;
  • seizures.

How to make the diagnosis of encephalocele?

When a woman is pregnant, there are a few tests (called prenatal tests) that can help doctors determine if her baby has encephalocele.

The encephalocele is usually found on prenatal ultrasound. If the doctor suspects that the baby may have encephalocele, the mother takes further tests. The goal is to provide as much information as possible to help the patient and the doctor prepare for what may happen when the child is born.

These tests include:

  • a fetal MRI scan (magnetic resonance imaging): non-invasive imaging test to get a clearer, more detailed picture of the baby's organs, especially the brain;
  • a fetal echocardiogram: A special ultrasound used by a pediatric cardiologist (cardiologist) to take a close look at the baby's heart and surrounding blood vessels.

How is encephalocele treated?

In most cases, the encephalocele treatment involves surgery. This aims to put back in place the part of the brain located outside the skull, to close the opening and to correct the defects apparent on the face. A shunt may also be needed to drain cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) around the brain.

Neurosurgeons can often repair large encephaloceles without the baby losing further function.

Of course, since this is a treatment for babies, all treatments are adapted to their needs. It is possible that he will be evaluated by different experts:

  • in craniofacial;
  • in plastic surgery;
  • in ophthalmology;
  • in endocrinology;
  • in neurosurgery.

Usually, neurosurgeons repair encephaloceles within the first few months of life. In case there is skin covering the baby's encephalocele, giving it some protection, the neurosurgeon may recommend waiting a few months. On the other hand, if there is no skin protecting encephalocele, the doctor may order surgery shortly after birth.

In more complex cases, babies may experience several step-by-step surgeries. They may need delayed surgery until they are older, which makes surgery safer and easier.

What about the prognosis of encephalocele?

The chances of the affected baby recovering depend mainly on the type and exact location of the encephalocele. It is also important to perform the corrective surgery in time, particularly in order to avoid developmental delay.

After any surgery, the baby will need regular follow-up visits with the medical team to assess their growth, development and nutrition. Parents will need to find a pediatrician to take care of routine examinations and vaccinations.

The baby also needs to follow up with the neurologist and neurochirurgien.

Care for children born with encephalocele focuses on problem prevention and l'improving their abilities physical and mental. To facilitate recovery, the physiotherapy (physiotherapy) and occupational therapy can be of great help in minimizing mental and physical handicaps.

References

https://www.bebesetmamans.com/bebes/sante-et-bien-etre/sante/7549-encephalocele-cause-diagnostique-traitement

https://www.em-consulte.com/article/1229426/encephalocele-occipitale-a-propos-de-20%C2%A0cas# : ~ : text=L’enc%C3%A9phaloc%C3%A8le%20occipitale%20est%20une, d%C3%A9couverte%20d’une%20malformation%20occipitale.

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:A_neonate_with_a_large_encephalocele.jpg

Back to top

Encéphalocèle : Anomalie congénitale rare (pronostic)

Encéphalocèle : Anomalie congénitale rare (pronostic)

Anomalie congénitale rare, l’encéphalocèle provient de la fermeture incomplète du tube neural. Sa gravité varie en fonction de la taille, de son emplacement exact. Il en est de même en ce qui concerne le pronostic. Les détails dans cet article.

Qu’est-ce que l’encéphalocèle ?

 

L’encéphalocèle désigne l’extériorisation du tissu recouvrant le cerveau et une partie du cerveau lui-même hors du crâne. C’est une maladie rare qui survient avant la naissance (congénitale).

 

Pour rappel, le cerveau et la moelle épinière se forment au cours des troisième et quatrième semaines de la grossesse. Ils sont formés à partir du tube neural. L’encéphalocèle survient généralement lorsque le tube neural ne se ferme pas complètement. Cela peut provoquer un renflement en forme de sac avec du tissu cérébral et du liquide céphalo-rachidien qui traverse le crâne.

 

Une encéphalocèle peut engager le pronostic vital du bébé. Sa gravité et les chances de survie du bébé dépendent de sa position sur le crâne. Les bébés qui en souffrent ont souvent des problèmes chromosomiques, cérébraux et faciaux. Les options de traitement et le développement physique et mental diffèrent aussi selon le cas.

 

La plupart des encéphalocèles se situent dans les régions Occipital et frontonasal. D’autres localisations sont possibles, comme le bas du dos. On parle alors de spina bifida.

 

Encéphalocèle occipitale (à l’arrière de la tête)

 

C’est le type d’encéphalocèle le plus courant. Il touche en particulier les filles. Il engendre divers problèmes comme un retard de développement, un problème de vue, un problème d’équilibre et de coordination, une hydrocéphalie (liquide sur le cerveau) et des convulsions.

 

Encéphalocèle frontonasale (entre le nez et le front)

 

L’encéphalocèle frontonasale est plus fréquente chez les garçons. Les chances de survie des bébés atteints d’encéphalocèles frontonasale sont généralement bonnes. Ces bébés présentent des risques de problèmes neurologiques, mais ceux-ci sont moins graves que pour l’encéphalocèle occipitale.

 

 

Quelle est la cause de l’encéphalocèle ?

 

Bien que les scientifiques ne sachent pas ce qui cause les encéphalocèles, il existe plusieurs facteurs de risques connus à l’origine de cette anomalie.

 

Par exemple, les femmes qui mangent beaucoup d’aliments contenant de l’acide folique (vitamine B9) lorsqu’elles sont enceintes sont moins susceptibles d’avoir un bébé atteint de cette maladie. Certains types d’encéphalocèles sont également plus fréquents chez les femmes diabétiques.

 

Un certain nombre de syndromes génétiques sont également associés à l’encéphalocèle.

 

Il existe aussi des preuves que l’exposition à des produits chimiques toxiques, y compris certains médicaments, pourrait augmenter le risque d’avoir un bébé qui souffre d’encéphalocèle.

 

 

Quels sont les symptômes et les manifestations cliniques de l’encéphalocèle ?

 

Il est parfois difficile de détecter l’encéphalocèle avant la naissance du bébé. Dans la majorité des cas, les symptômes ne se montrent que plus tard dans l’enfance, une fois que l’enfant commence à avoir des retards physiques ou mentaux.

 

Les signes d’encéphalocèle sont multiples et peuvent inclure :

 

  • une accumulation de liquide dans le cerveau (appelé hydrocéphalie) ;
  • une perte de force dans les bras et les jambes ;
  • une petite tête ;
  • un mouvement maladroit des muscles, tels que ceux utilisés pour marcher et bouger ;
  • un retard de croissance et de développement ;
  • des problèmes de vision ;
  • des problèmes de respiration, de rythme cardiaque et de déglutition ;
  • des convulsions.

 

 

Comment poser le diagnostic de l’encéphalocèle ?

 

Lorsqu’une femme est enceinte, il existe quelques tests (appelés tests prénataux) qui peuvent aider les médecins à déterminer si son bébé a une encéphalocèle.

 

L’encéphalocèle est généralement retrouvée lors d’une échographie prénatale. Si le médecin soupçonne que le bébé peut avoir une encéphalocèle, la mère passe d’autres tests. L’objectif est de fournir le maximum d’informations pour aider la patiente et le médecin pour se préparer à ce qui peut se passer à la naissance de l’enfant.

 

Ces tests comprennent :

 

  • un examen d’IRM fœtale (imagerie par résonance magnétique) : examen d’imagerie non invasif permettant d’obtenir une image claire et plus détaillée des organes du bébé, en particulier du cerveau ;
  • un échocardiogramme fœtal: Une échographie spéciale utilisée par un cardiologue pédiatrique (cardiologue) pour examiner de près le cœur du bébé et les vaisseaux sanguins qui l’entourent.

 

 

Comment traite-t-on l’encéphalocèle ?

 

Dans la plupart des cas, le traitement de l’encéphalocèle consiste en une intervention chirurgicale. Celle-ci vise à remettre en place la partie du cerveau située à l’extérieur du crâne, à fermer l’ouverture et à corriger les défauts apparents sur le visage. Un shunt peut également s’avérer nécessaire pour drainer le liquide céphalo-rachidien (LCR) autour du cerveau.

 

Les neurochirurgiens peuvent souvent réparer les grosses encéphalocèles sans que le bébé ne perde davantage de fonctions.

 

Bien évidemment, puisqu’il s’agit d’un traitement pour bébé, tous les soins s’adaptent à ses besoins. Il est possible qu’il se fasse évaluer par différents experts :

 

  • en craniofacial ;
  • en chirurgie plastique ;
  • en ophtalmologie ;
  • en endocrinologie ;
  • en neurochirurgie.

 

Habituellement, les neurochirurgiens réparent les encéphalocèles au cours des premiers mois de la vie. Au cas où il y a de la peau qui recouvre l’encéphalocèle du bébé, lui donnant une certaine protection, le neurochirurgien peut recommander d’attendre quelques mois. En revanche, s’il n’y a pas de peau protégeant l’encéphalocèle, le médecin peut ordonner une intervention chirurgicale peu après la naissance.

 

Dans les cas plus complexes, les bébés peuvent subir plusieurs interventions chirurgicales par étapes. Ils peuvent avoir besoin d’une intervention chirurgicale retardée jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient plus grands, ce qui rend la chirurgie plus sûre et plus facile.

 

 

Qu’en est-il du pronostic de l’encéphalocèle ?

 

Les chances de guérison du bébé atteint dépendent principalement du type et de l’emplacement exact de l’encéphalocèle. Il est également important de réaliser la chirurgie correctrice à temps, notamment dans le but d’éviter un retard de développement.

 

Après toute intervention chirugicale, le bébé aura besoin de visites de suivi régulières avec l’équipe médicale pour évaluer sa croissance, son développement et sa nutrition. Les parents devront trouver un pédiatre pour s’occuper des examens de routine et des vaccins.

 

Le bébé a également besoin de faire un suivi avec le neurologue et le neurochirurgien.

 

Les soins aux enfants nés avec une encéphalocèle se concentrent sur la prévention des problèmes et l’amélioration de ses capacités physiques et mentales. Pour faciliter la récupération, la kinésithérapie (physiothérapie) et l’ergothérapie peuvent être d’une grande aide pour réduire au maximum les handicaps mentaux et physiques.

 

 

Références

 

https://www.bebesetmamans.com/bebes/sante-et-bien-etre/sante/7549-encephalocele-cause-diagnostique-traitement

https://www.em-consulte.com/article/1229426/encephalocele-occipitale-a-propos-de-20%C2%A0cas# : ~ : text=L’enc%C3%A9phaloc%C3%A8le%20occipitale%20est%20une, d%C3%A9couverte%20d’une%20malformation%20occipitale.

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:A_neonate_with_a_large_encephalocele.jpg