Incontinence during pregnancy: What to do? (Tips)

incontinence during pregnancy

Urgent cravings, urination Frequently et leaks urinary on exertion or at rest, urinary symptoms are common during pregnancy.

It is estimated that between 30 and 50% of pregnant women have leaks urinary. Generally during efforts increasing intra-abdominal pressure (sport, carrying a heavy load, laughing, coughing, sneezing, etc.). It is therefore a very frequent situation and there is no reason to be unduly alarmed!

Despite its benign character, incontinence urinary can bother pregnant women and prevent them from living their pregnancy peacefully. This is why it is useful to understand its causes and to know some solutions to treat it or, even better, prevent it!

Urinary incontinence: some basic notions

First of all, it is important to remember some basic notions of human anatomy and physiology on the urinary system.

Urine is produced continuously by waist by filtering the blood. It then flows along the ureters to win the bladder where it is stored. When the latter is sufficiently filled (from 300 ml, much less during pregnancy), its walls stretch and a nerve signal is sent to the brain: “We have to go to the toilet! ".

The bladder has a continence system. Thanks to him, we have the ability to "hold back", to prevent urine from leaking, both involuntarily and voluntarily. This system is represented by two main anatomical structures:

  • The internal sphincter: it is formed of smooth muscle fibers surrounding the lower opening of the bladder (origin of the urethra). This sphincter works automatically, that is to say that we cannot control its contraction or relaxation.
  • The external sphincter: it is formed by muscles of the pelvic floor or "perineum". Being made up of skeletal muscle fibers, it is possible to control its contraction voluntarily.

During urination, several phenomena occur: the sphincter internal relaxes (involuntarily), the bladder contracts and releases the sphincter external voluntarily to let the urine escape via the urethra. If we want to hold back, we keep the muscles du perineum (forming the external sphincter) contracted to delay bladder emptying.

THEincontinence urinary, or "urinary leakage", is the loss of urine through the urethra accidentally or involuntarily.

There are two main forms:

  • Stress urinary incontinence: it is characterized by leakage of urine on the occasion of an effort increasing the intrapelvic pressure. This type of incontinence is not necessarily preceded by an urge to urinate. For example, the leak can occur after lifting a heavy load, coughing, sneezing, laughing…: “I peed on myself! ".
  • Urgent urinary incontinence ou urgency: here, the leakage of urine is accompanied, or immediately preceded, by an urgent urge to pee: “I couldn't hold myself back”.

In half of the cases, there is a association of the two types of urinary incontinence.

What are the causes of urinary leakage during pregnancy?

During the 9 months of pregnancy, the female body undergoes many physiological changes aimed at creating an optimal environment for the development of the fetus. Some of these changes affect the functioning of the urinary system and promote the appearance of leaks.

First, blood volume increases to provide for the needs of the fetus in addition to those of the woman. The kidneys therefore filter more blood and produce a larger volume of urine. This results in more frequent urges to urinate.

Then, as the pregnancy progresses, the uterus enlarges. It takes up more and more space in the pelvic region, then in the abdomen. It will then compress the various organs, including the bladder. The amount of urine that the latter can store will then gradually decrease. On the one hand, the woman will have more pressing desires. On the other hand it will present leaks urinary during efforts to increase intra-abdominal pressure (pressure from different organs, especially the uterus, on the bladder).

In addition, a few weeks before giving birth, the woman's body produces and releases a hormone called “relaxin”. This has the effect of relaxing the uterus and the muscles of the pelvic floor to facilitate the expulsion of the baby. Relaxation of the external sphincter of the bladder (which is part of the perineum) which results promotes incontinence urinary.

Other factors increase the risk of leaking urine during pregnancy:

  • Advanced age (over 35).
  • Initial overweight.
  • Excessive weight gain during pregnancy.
  • Multiparity (women having had several pregnancies).
  • Vaginal birth.
  • Progress of childbirth (long expulsion time, instrumental extraction of the baby, abdominal pressure or other brutal maneuvers during childbirth…).
  • Smoking.
  • Consumption of coffee or tea.
  • History of abdominal or pelvic surgeries.
  • Practice of intense physical activity.
  • Carrying heavy loads.
  • Existence of constipation (pushing efforts).

These risk factors are incriminated in the appearance of a incontinence urinary during pregnancy or its persistence after delivery. But their involvement has not been proven with certainty by the various scientific studies.

How to prevent incontinence during pregnancy?

The prevention of incontinence problems during pregnancy and after childbirth is essentially based on re-education perineal.

It is recommended that pregnant women consult regularly a kinesitherapy (physiotherapy) professional specializing in the rehabilitation of the perineum.

Here are the main elements on which the latter will be based to prevent a problem of urinary incontinence:

  • Recommend exercises to strengthen the muscles of the perineum: Contrary to what one might think, strengthening your pelvic floor during pregnancy will not make childbirth more difficult by "fighting against the baby coming out", quite the contrary! A healthy perineum will not only contract effectively, but also relax more easily.
  • Accompany and supervise the woman to ensure that she performs the various rehabilitation exercises correctly, correct her if not. Written or verbal instructions are generally not sufficient for the correct execution of the exercises. The supervision of a professional is therefore highly desirable.
  • Giving advice and biomechanical tips during and after pregnancy (how to lift loads safely, correct your posture, correct method for picking up the baby, etc.).
  • Preparing the woman for childbirth giving her advice on how to breathe, how to relax her perineum properly, how to push well during contractions, etc. Good preparation before childbirth significantly reduces complications, both maternal (vaginal tear, hemorrhage, etc.) and fetal (asphyxiation or fetal distress).
  • Raising women's awareness on the need to continue perineal rehabilitation exercises after childbirth, without wanting to go too fast by forcing your body. The latter needs to recover serenely during a pregnancy.

Other general measures may reduce the risk of urinary incontinence during pregnancy:

  • Avoid gaining too much weight during pregnancy (balanced diet and regular moderate physical activity).
  • Avoid carrying heavy loads.
  • Avoid the consumption of tea and coffee.
  • Treat possible constipation.

How to treat urinary incontinence after pregnancy?

In more than 30% of cases, urinary incontinence regresses spontaneously during pregnancy. If it persists postpartum, perineal rehabilitation remains the first-line treatment.

A dozen rehabilitation sessions of the perineum in a physiotherapy professional (physiotherapy) are necessary to restore their tone to the muscles of the pelvic floor, and thus regain normal continence function. This kind of session is 100% covered by social security in the postpartum.

Several methods of rehabilitation of the perineum exist:

  • The manual method: the exercises consist of voluntarily contracting the perineum with stimulation or against resistance from the physiotherapist's intravaginal fingers. These exercises can then be repeated at home by the woman.
  • Biofeedback: a probe is introduced into the vagina, it emits sound or visual signals to indicate the contraction or relaxation of the muscles of the perineum, their duration. The objective for the woman will then be to become aware of the use of her perineum by learning to voluntarily control the duration and intensity of her contraction.
  • Electrostimulation: here too, a probe is introduced into the vagina. But the principle is different. The muscles of the perineum are stimulated with small electric waves. This allows them to be contracted passively or involuntarily.

References

[1] X. Deffieux, “Urinary incontinence and pregnancy”, J. Gynecology Obstetrics Biol. Repr., flight. 38, no 8, p. S212-S231, 2009.

[2] E. Masson, “Urinary incontinence and pregnancy”, EM-Consult. https://www.em-consulte.com/article/238765/incontinence-urinaire-et-grossesse (accessed April 12, 2022).

[3] I. Aubin, “Postpartum urinary incontinence: mention it in the consultation following childbirth”, Rev Exercise, flight. 77, p. 40‑4, 2006.

[4] V. Letouzey, R. De Tayrac, N. Paradis, and P. Mares, "Interest of prenatal perineal rehabilitation in patients with stress urinary incontinence during pregnancy: Preliminary study", J. Gynecology Obstetrics Biol. Repr., flight. 35, no 8, p. 773-777, 2006.

[5] V. Battu, "Urinary incontinence: perineal rehabilitation", Current. Pharma., flight. 54, no 544, p. 53-57, 2015.

[6] SA Baydock et al., “Prevalence and risk factors for urinary and fecal incontinence four months after vaginal delivery”, J. Obstet. Gynecol. Can., flight. 31, no 1, p. 36-41, 2009.

[7] "Problems of incontinence, pregnancy, childbirth: solutions & rehabilitation of the perineum", Let's talk about incontinence, March 2, 2016. https://www.parlons-incontinence.fr/l-incontinence-chez-la-femme/incontinence-et-grossesse-les-solutions/ (accessed April 12, 2022).

Back to top

Incontinence pendant la grossesse : Que faire ? (Conseils)

Incontinence pendant la grossesse : Que faire ? (Conseils)

Envies pressantes, mictions fréquentes et fuites urinaires à l’effort ou au repos, les symptômes urinaires sont monnaie courante lors de la grossesse.

 

On estime qu’entre 30 et 50% des femmes enceintes présentent des fuites urinaires. Généralement lors d’efforts augmentant la pression intra-abdominale (sport, port de charge lourde, éclat de rire, toux, éternuement…). C’est donc une situation très fréquente et il n’y a pas lieu de s’alarmer outre mesure !

 

Malgré son caractère bénin, l’incontinence urinaire peut gêner les femmes enceintes et les empêcher de vivre sereinement leur grossesse. C’est pourquoi il est utile de comprendre ses causes et de connaître certaines solutions pour la traiter ou, encore mieux, la prévenir !

Incontinence urinaire : quelques notions de base

 

Avant toute chose, il est important de rappeler quelques notions basiques d’anatomie et de physiologie humaines sur l’appareil urinaire.

 

L’urine est produite continuellement par les reins en filtrant le sang. Elle s’écoule ensuite le long des uretères pour gagner la vessie ou elle est stockée. Lorsque cette dernière est suffisamment remplie (à partir de 300 ml, beaucoup moins au cours de la grossesse), ses parois s’étirent et un signal nerveux est envoyé au cerveau : « Il faut aller aux toilettes ! ».

 

La vessie possède un système de continence. Grâce à lui, on a la capacité de « se retenir », d’empêcher les urines de fuiter, et ce, de manière involontaire et volontaire. Ce système est représenté par deux structures anatomiques principales :

 

  • Le sphincter interne : il est formé de fibres musculaires lisses entourant l’orifice inférieur de la vessie (origine de l’urètre). Ce sphincter fonctionne de manière automatique, c’est-à-dire qu’on ne peut pas contrôler sa contraction ou son relâchement.
  • Le sphincter externe : il est formé par des muscles du plancher pelvien ou « périnée ». Etant constitué de fibres musculaires squelettiques, il est possible de contrôler sa contraction de manière volontaire.

 

Lors de la miction, plusieurs phénomènes se produisent : le sphincter interne se relâche (involontaire), la vessie se contracte et on relâche le sphincter externe volontairement pour laisser s’évacuer les urines via l’urètre. Si on veut se retenir, on garde les muscles du périnée (formant le sphincter externe) contractés pour retarder la vidange vésicale.

 

L’incontinence urinaire, ou « fuites urinaires », est la perte des urines par l’urètre de façon accidentelle ou involontaire.

 

incontinence

 

On en distingue deux formes principales :

 

  • L’incontinence urinaire d’effort : elle est caractérisée par une fuite d’urines à l’occasion d’un effort augmentant la pression intrapelvienne. Ce type d’incontinence n’est pas forcément précédé d’une envie uriner. Par exemple, la fuite peut survenir suite au soulèvement d’une charge lourdes, en toussant, en éternuant, lors du rire… : « Je me suis pipi dessus ! ».
  • L’incontinence urinaire urgente ou urgenturie : ici, la fuite d’urines est accompagnée, ou immédiatement précédée, d’une envie urgente de faire pipi : « Je n’ai pas pu me retenir ».

 

Dans la moitié des cas, il existe une association des deux types d’incontinence urinaire.

 

 

Quelles sont les causes des fuites urinaires pendant la grossesse ?

 

Pendant les 9 mois de grossesse, le corps de la femme subit de nombreuses modifications physiologiques ayant pour but la création d’un environnement optimal au développement du fœtus. Certaines de ces modifications influent sur le fonctionnement de l’appareil urinaire et favorisent l’apparition des fuites.

 

D’abord, le volume sanguin augmente pour subvenir aux besoins du fœtus en plus de ceux de la femme. Les reins filtrent donc plus de sang et produisent un volume plus important d’urine. Cela se traduit par des envies plus fréquentes d’uriner.

 

Ensuite, à mesure que la grossesse évolue, l’utérus augmente de volume. Il prend de plus en plus de place au niveau de la région pelvienne, puis abdominale. Il va alors comprimer les différents organes, dont la vessie. La quantité d’urine que cette dernière peut stocker va alors progressivement diminuer. La femme aura d’une part plus d’envies pressantes. D’autre part elle présentera des fuites urinaires lors des efforts au augmentent la pression intra-abdominale (pression des différents organes, surtout l’utérus, sur la vessie).

 

Par ailleurs, quelques semaines avant l’accouchement, le corps de la femme produit et libère une hormone appelée « relaxine ». Celle-ci a pour effet un relâchement de l’utérus et des muscles du plancher pelvien pour faciliter l’expulsion du bébé. La relaxation du sphincter externe de la vessie (qui fait partie du périnée) qui en résulte favorise l’incontinence urinaire.

 

D’autres facteurs augmentent le risque de présenter des fuites urinaires durant la grossesse :

 

  • Âge avancé (plus de 35 ans).
  • Surpoids initial.
  • Prise de poids excessive durant la grossesse.
  • Multiparité (femmes ayant eu plusieurs grossesses).
  • Accouchement par voie basse.
  • Déroulement de l’accouchement (durée d’expulsion longue, extraction instrumentale du bébé, expression abdominale ou autre manœuvres brutales durant l’accouchement…).
  • Tabagisme.
  • Consommation de café ou de thé.
  • Antécédents de chirurgies abdominale ou pelvienne.
  • Pratique d’activité physique intense.
  • Port de charges lourdes.
  • Existence d’une constipation (efforts de poussées).

 

Ces facteurs de risque sont incriminés dans l’apparition d’une incontinence urinaire durant la grossesse ou sa persistance après l’accouchement. Mais leur implication n’a pas été prouvée de manière certaine par les différentes études scientifiques.

 

 

Comment prévenir l’incontinence pendant la grossesse ?

 

La prévention des problèmes d’incontinence pendant la grossesse et après l’accouchement est essentiellement basée sur la rééducation périnéale.

 

Il est recommandé aux femmes enceintes de consulter régulièrement un professionnel de la kinésithérapie (physiothérapie) spécialisé dans la rééducation du périnée.

 

Voici les principaux éléments sur lesquels ce dernier va se baser pour prévenir un problème d’incontinence urinaire :

 

  • Recommander des exercices de renforcement des muscles du périnée : contrairement à ce qu’on pourrait penser, renforcer son plancher pelvien durant la grossesse ne va pas rendre l’accouchement plus difficile en « luttant contre la sortie du bébé », bien au contraire ! Un périnée en bonne santé va non seulement se contracter efficacement, mais également se relâcher plus aisément.
  • Accompagner et encadrer la femme pour s’assurer qu’elle exécute correctement les différents exercices de rééducation, la corriger dans le cas contraire. Les consignes écrites ou verbales ne suffisent généralement pas pour  une exécution correcte des exercices. L’encadrement d’un professionnel est donc vivement souhaitable.
  • Donner des conseils et astuces biomécaniques durant et après la grossesse (comment soulever des charges en toute sécurité, corriger sa posture, méthode correcte pour prendre le bébé…).
  • Préparer la femme à l’accouchement en lui donnant des conseils sur la façon de respirer, comment bien relâcher son périnée, comment bien pousser lors des contractions… Une bonne préparation avant l’accouchement réduit sensiblement les complications aussi bien maternelles (déchirure vaginale, hémorragie…) que fœtales (asphyxie ou souffrance fœtale).
  • Sensibiliser la femme sur la nécessité de continuer les exercices de rééducation périnéale après l’accouchement, sans pour autant vouloir aller trop vite en forçant son corps. Ce dernier a besoin de récupérer sereinement au décours d’une grossesse.

 

D’autres mesures générales pourraient réduire le risque d’incontinence urinaire durant la grossesse :

 

  • Eviter de prendre trop de poids durant la grossesse (alimentation équilibrée et activité physique modérée régulière).
  • Eviter le port de charge lourdes.
  • Eviter la consommation de thé et de café.
  • Traiter une éventuelle constipation.

 

 

Comment traiter l’incontinence urinaire après la grossesse ?

 

Dans plus de 30% des cas, l’incontinences urinaire régresse spontanément au décours de la grossesse. Si elle perdure dans le post-partum, la rééducation périnéale reste le traitement de première intention.

 

Une dizaine de séances de rééducation du périnée chez un professionnel en kinésithérapie (physiothérapie) sont nécessaires pour redonner leur tonus aux muscles du plancher pelvien, et ainsi retrouver une fonction de continence normale. Ce genre de séance est pris en charge à 100% par la sécurité sociale dans le post-partum.

 

Plusieurs méthodes de rééducation du périnée existent :

 

  • La méthode manuelle : les exercices consistent à contracter volontairement le périnée avec stimulation ou contre résistance des doigts intravaginaux du physiothérapeute. Ces exercices peuvent ensuite être reproduits à la maison par la femme.
  • Le biofeedback : une sonde est introduite dans le vagin, elle émet des signaux sonores ou visuels pour indiquer la contraction ou le relâchement des muscles du périnée, leur durée. L’objectif pour la femme sera alors de prendre conscience de l’utilisation du son périnée en apprenant à contrôler volontairement la durée et l’intensité de sa contraction.
  • L’électrostimulation : là aussi, une sonde est introduite dans le vagin. Mais, le principe diffère. Les muscles du périnée sont stimulés grâce à de petites ondes électriques. Cela permet de les contracter de manière passive ou involontaire.

 

 

Références

 

[1]  X. Deffieux, « Incontinence urinaire et grossesse », J. Gynécologie Obstétrique Biol. Reprod., vol. 38, no 8, p. S212‑S231, 2009.

[2]  E. Masson, « Incontinence urinaire et grossesse », EM-Consulte. https://www.em-consulte.com/article/238765/incontinence-urinaire-et-grossesse (consulté le 12 avril 2022).

[3]  I. Aubin, « Incontinence urinaire du post-partum: lévoquer dans la consultation suivant laccouchement », Rev Exerc, vol. 77, p. 40‑4, 2006.

[4]  V. Letouzey, R. De Tayrac, N. Paradis, et P. Mares, « Intérêt de la rééducation périnéale prénatale chez les patientes présentant une incontinence urinaire d’effort pendant la grossesse: Étude préliminaire », J. Gynécologie Obstétrique Biol. Reprod., vol. 35, no 8, p. 773‑777, 2006.

[5]  V. Battu, « L’incontinence urinaire: la rééducation périnéale », Actual. Pharm., vol. 54, no 544, p. 53‑57, 2015.

[6]  S. A. Baydock et al., « Prevalence and risk factors for urinary and fecal incontinence four months after vaginal delivery », J. Obstet. Gynaecol. Can., vol. 31, no 1, p. 36‑41, 2009.

[7]  « Problèmes d’incontinence, grossesse, accouchement: les solutions & rééducation du périnée », Parlons incontinence, 2 mars 2016. https://www.parlons-incontinence.fr/l-incontinence-chez-la-femme/incontinence-et-grossesse-les-solutions/ (consulté le 12 avril 2022).