Vertebro-basilar insufficiency: diagnosis and clinical manifestation

vertebro-basilar insufficiency

Le vertebro-basilar arterial system convey it blood,oxygen and nutrients to the vital structures of the brain such as the brainstem, occipital lobes and cerebellum. When there is a decrease in blood flow to this trunk (ischemia), blood supply to the brain is reduced. We then speak ofvertebro-basilar insufficiency. Let's see together what there is to know about this disease. 

Anatomy and definition

Le vertebro-basilar system ensures the vascularization du brainstem and cerebellum. It is made up of two vertebral arteries and the basilar trunk.

The two people vertebral arteries arise from the subclavian arteries at the base of the neck. Each of them sinks into a bony channel dug on each side of the transverse processes cervical (C1 to C6). Then, they go up to the level of the bulbo-protuberantial furrow. They then perforate the dura mater (membrane that surrounds the central nervous system) to enter the skull. They unite at the junction between the bulb and the annular protuberance to form the basilar trunk.

The vertebral arteries irrigate the upper 2/3 of the spinal cord, the lateral face of the medulla and the lower face of the cerebellum via the anterior spinal artery and the posterior and inferior cerebellar artery.

Le basilar trunk arises from the fusion of the two cerebral arteries. It ascends along the pons and divides into two posterior cerebral arteries. It gives arteries for the bulb and the pons. It is divided at the level of its termination into two pairs of vessels: on the one hand, the superior cerebellar arteries, on the other hand, the posterior cerebral arteries which irrigate the visual cortex and the internal face of the temporal lobe.

THEvertebro-basilar insufficiency describes a temporary set de symptoms due to a softening of the brain. It is caused by a decreased blood flow vertebro-basilar arterial system which irrigates the brainstem (posterior part of the brain). It is responsible for intermittent neurological accidents or permanent deficit.

With a usually hemodynamic mechanism, it is generally related to heart disease or an atheromatous lesion of the vertebral arteries or of the basilar trunk (deposition of a plaque essentially composed of lipids on the wall of the arteries).

What are the causes of vertebro-basilar insufficiency?

 

The main cause of vertebro-basilar insufficiency is the alteration of the walls of the vertebral arteries and the basilar trunk. This phenomenon may be due to fatty deposits (atheroma), leading to a reduction in the caliber of these vessels.

 

Vertebro-basilar insufficiency can sometimes be related to other situations: a dissecting thevertebral artery or an stenosis (shrinkage) of a subclavian artery (also call subclavian steal syndrome) especially in younger subjects. In the case of dissection, neck pain often appears after hyperextension or rotation of the neck. In contrast, with subclavian steal syndrome, symptoms occur on exertion.

THEosteoarthritis of the neck can also give a picture of vertebro-basilar insufficiency. This is related to compression of the vertebral artery in the transverse canal by a huge osteophyte (bony growth around the neck joint). Symptoms occur electively with rotation of the neck which decreases the caliber of the vertebral artery on one side.

Signs and symptoms of vertebro-basilar insufficiency

The symptoms vertebro-basilar insufficiency are very varied, depending on the location (vertebral arteries or basilar trunk).

Generally transitory, a vertebro-basilar insufficiency can manifest itself by headache episodes (headache) located at the back of the skull, occurring after an effort or a change of position.

There may also be:

  • of balance disorders: like a drunken gait, clumsiness of a limb, dizziness, loss of balance…;
  • of bilateral visual disturbances, type blindness (complete loss of sight), with preservation of the photomotor reflex or a perception of bright spots or bright lines…;
  • of rocking motor disorders (that is to say which affects one side, then the other): for example a motor impairment of one arm, and a motor impairment of a leg in the opposite territory;
  • of nausea, vomiting, a dysphagia ;
  • of speech difficulties dysarthria-like (disorder of oral expression), for a few minutes, very evocative, but not quite specific;
  • a lower extremity weakness ;
  • of neck pain
  • of paralysis ou paresthesias of one or more limbs (paresthesias can affect the face or the mouth)…

These disorders may also be accompanied by drowsiness, An confusion or an amnesia (memory disorder or loss).

Sometimes the patient may make a sudden fall « drop attack ", without losing consciousness, but has a double vision and dizziness.

Depending on the location of the obstruction, a condition of the cranial nerves is possible. The latter is manifested by a drooping eyelid and mydriasis (dilation of the pupil).

Cardiopulmonary auscultation may show vertebral systolic murmur or a subclavian systolic murmur.

How is the diagnosis made?

Le clinical diagnosis is difficult before symptoms as varied in their appearance and intensity.

At first, a physical examination aims to identify and assess the pain perceived by the patient. The confirmation of diagnosis must be done afterwards by beams paraclinical arguments.

Cervical spine x-ray

It allows not only to determine the state of the spine, but also to look for osteophytic beaks (bone growth), which may be the cause of compression of the vertebral arteries.

Cervical and transcranial Doppler ultrasound in search of subclavian flights

It allows to appreciate the state of the vertebral arteries and the study of the carotid axes. In other words, it makes it possible to assess a carotid stenosis. Transuranic Doppler can help visualize basilar trunk stenosis and assess the quality of flow in the posterior cerebral arteries.

Computed tomography (scanner) and brain magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)

They make it possible to search for the existence of sequellar or primary ischemic intracranial lesions that can redirect the etiological diagnosis. Cerebral MRI, which is more efficient, visualizes the parenchymal consequences of micro-emboli in the form of small infarcts of the posterior fossa. These methods are therefore very interesting for distinguishing patients suffering from vertebro-basilar insufficiency of embolic rather than hemodynamic origin.

Angiography of the supraaortic trunks (failing this angiography by magnetic resonance imaging)

These methods make it possible to examine the arteries from the inside: the diameter of the vessels, the condition of their walls, and also to study in detail the channel of the vessels of the brain.

Brain scan

La brain scan provides images of regional cerebral blood perfusion, and thus by default, ischemic areas.

An ECG, a blood pressure holter and a cardiac ultrasound

If heart disease is suspected, these examinations may be necessary in order to identify potentially emboligenic cardiovascular dysfunctions: dysfunctions affecting the blood supply to the brain.

Otoneurological explorations

Otovestibular tests and audiogram eliminating purely ENT pathology.

 

Ophthalmological explorations

Useful for ruling out a differential diagnosis.

Treatment of vertebro-basilar insufficiency

Le choice of methods et means of treatment depends onstate of vessels and concomitant diseases which caused the vertebro-basilar syndrome. It also depends on the severity of the disease.

Drug treatments

Depending on the pathology diagnosed, certain medications may be prescribed to lower blood pressure. Others, to increase the diameter of blood vessels (vasodilator drugs). They are intended to prevent the formation of blood clots in vessels of low permeability.

Thrombolysis

Used during cerebrovascular accidents, this treatment consists of breaking up thrombi or blood clots, using medication.

 

Surgical treatment

In the presence of significant spinal stenoses, treatment is usually surgical ou endovascular (interventional). Depending on the lesion assessment, we can discuss a spinal revascularization proximal (reimplantation in the posterior cerebral artery) or distal (bypass with venous material between the primitive carotid and the vertebral in the C1-C2 space).

References

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5495592/

https://www.jle.com/fr/revues/pnv/e-docs/drop_attacks_chez_le_sujet_age_une_entite_revisitee__265936/breve.phtml

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK551854/figure/article-18161.image.f4/

Back to top

insuffisance vertébro-basilaire

Insuffisance vertébro-basilaire : diagnostic et manifestation clinique

Le système artériel vertébro-basilaire achemine le sang, l’oxygène et les nutriments vers les structures vitales du cerveau comme le tronc cérébral, les lobes occipitaux et le cervelet. Lorsqu’il y a une baisse de débit sanguin au niveau de ce tronc (ischémie), l’irrigation du cerveau est réduite. On parle alors d’insuffisance vertébro-basilaire. Voyons ensemble ce qu’il y a à savoir sur cette maladie. 

Anatomie et définition

 

Le système vertébro-basilaire assure la vascularisation du tronc cérébral et du cervelet. Il est constitué par les deux artères vertébrales et le tronc basilaire.

 

Les deux artères vertébrales naissent des artères sous-clavières à la base du cou. Chacune d’elle s’enfonce dans un canal osseux creusé de chaque côté des apophyses transverses cervicales (C1 à C6). Puis, elles montent jusqu’au niveau du sillon bulbo-protubérantiel. Elles perforent ensuite la dure mère (membrane qui entoure le système nerveux central) pour pénétrer dans le crâne. Elles s’unissent à la jonction entre le bulbe et la protubérance annulaire pour former le tronc basilaire.

 

artère vertébrale vue de face
Source

 

Les artères vertébrales irriguent les 2/3 supérieur de la moelle, la face latérale du bulbe et la face inférieure du cervelet par l’intermédiaire de l’artère spinale antérieure et de l’artère cérébelleuse postérieure et inférieure.

 

Le tronc basilaire naît de la fusion des deux artères cérébrales. Il remonte le long de la protubérance et se divise en deux artères cérébrales postérieures. Il donne des artères destinées au bulbe et à la protubérance. Il se divise au niveau de sa terminaison en deux paires de vaisseaux : d’une part, les artères cérébelleuses supérieures, d’autre part, les artères cérébrales postérieures qui irriguent le cortex visuel et la face interne du lobe temporal.

 

L’insuffisance vertébro-basilaire décrit un ensemble temporaire de symptômes dû à un ramollissement du cerveau. Il est causé par une diminution du flux sanguin dans le système artériel vertébro-basilaire qui irrigue le tronc cérébral (partie postérieure du cerveau). Il est responsable d’accidents neurologiques intermittents ou de déficit permanent.

 

De mécanisme habituellement hémodynamique, il est généralement en rapport avec une cardiopathie ou une lésion athéromateuse des artères vertébrales ou du tronc basilaire (dépôt d’une plaque essentiellement composée de lipides sur la paroi des artères).

 

 

Quelles sont les causes d’une insuffisance vertébro-basilaire?

 

La principale cause d’une insuffisance vertébro-basilaire est l’altération des parois des artères vertébrales et du tronc basilaire. Ce phénomène peut être dû à des dépôts de graisses (athérome), entraînant une diminution du calibre de ces vaisseaux.

 

L’insuffisance vertébro-basilaire peut parfois être en rapport avec d’autres situations : une dissection de l’artère vertébrale ou une sténose (rétrécissement) d’une artère sous-clavière (appel également syndrome de vol sous-clavier) en particulier chez des sujets plus jeunes. S’il s’agit de dissection, les douleurs cervicales apparaissent souvent, après mouvement d’hyperextension ou de rotation du cou. En revanche, dans le cas d’un syndrome de vol sous-clavier, les symptômes se produisent à l’effort.

 

L’arthrose du cou peut également donner un tableau d’insuffisance vertébro-basilaire. Cela est en rapport avec une compression de l’artère vertébrale dans le canal transversaire par un énorme ostéophyte (excroissance osseuse autour de l’articulation du cou). Les symptômes se produisent électivement lors de la rotation du cou qui diminue le calibre de l’artère vertébrale d’un côté.

 

 

Les signes et symptômes de l’insuffisance vertébro-basilaire

 

Les symptômes d’une insuffisance vertébro-basilaire sont très variés, en fonction de la localisation (artères vertébrales ou tronc basilaire).

 

Généralement transitoire, une insuffisance vertébro-basilaire peut se manifester par des épisodes de céphalées (maux de tête) situées à l’arrière du crâne, survenant après un effort ou un changement de position.

 

Il peut également y avoir :

 

  • des troubles de l’équilibre: comme une démarche ébrieuse, une maladresse d’un membre, des vertiges, une perte d’équilibre… ;
  • des troubles visuels bilatéraux, type cécité (perte complète de la vue), avec conservation du réflexe photomoteur ou une perception de points brillants ou de lignes brillantes… ;
  • des troubles moteurs à bascule (c’est-à-dire qui touche un côté, puis l’autre) : par exemple une atteinte motrice d’un bras, et une atteinte motrice d’une jambe dans le territoire opposé ;
  • des nausées, des vomissements, une dysphagie ;
  • des difficultés d’élocution de type dysarthrie (trouble de l’expression orale), pendant quelques minutes, très évocateur, mais pas tout à fait spécifique ;
  • une faiblesse des membres inférieurs ;
  • des douleurs cervicales
  • des paralysies ou paresthésies d’un ou de plusieurs membres (les paresthésies peuvent atteindre le visage ou la bouche)…

 

Ces troubles peuvent aussi s’accompagner d’une somnolence, d’une confusion ou d’une amnésie (trouble ou perte de la mémoire).

 

Parfois, le patient peut faire une chute brutale « drop attak », sans perdre de connaissance, mais a une vision double et des vertiges.

 

En fonction de la localisation de l’obstruction, une affection des nerfs crâniens est possible. Cette dernière se manifeste par une chute de la paupière et une mydriase (dilatation de la pupille).

 

L’auscultation cardio-pulmonaire peut montrer un souffle systolique vertébral ou un souffle systolique sous-clavier.

 

 

Comment se fait le diagnostic?

 

Le diagnostic clinique est difficile devant des symptômes aussi variés dans leur aspect et leur intensité.

 

Dans un premier temps, un examen clinique vise à identifier et évaluer les douleurs perçues par le patient. La confirmation du diagnostic doit se faire après par des faisceaux arguments paracliniques.

 

La radiographie du rachis cervical

 

Il permet non seulement à déterminer l’état de la colonne vertébrale, mais aussi de rechercher des becs ostéophytiques (excroissance osseuse), pouvant être à l’origine d’une compression des artères vertébrales.

 

L’échographie-doppler cervicale et transcrânienne à la recherche des vols sous-claviers

 

Elle permet d’apprécier l’état des artères vertébrales et l’étude des axes carotidiens. En d’autres termes, elle permet d’évaluer une sténose carotidienne. Le doppler transuranien peut permettre de voir une sténose du tronc basilaire et d’évaluer la qualité du flux dans les artères cérébrales postérieures.

 

La tomodensitométrie (scanner) et imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) cérébrale

 

Elles permettent de rechercher l’existence de lésions intracrâniennes ischémiques séquellaires ou primitives pouvant réorienter le diagnostic étiologique. L’IRM cérébrale, plus performante, visualise les conséquences parenchymateuses des micro-embolies sous la forme de petits infarctus de la fosse postérieure. Ces procédés sont donc très intéressants pour distinguer les malades souffrant d’insuffisance vertébro-basilaire d’origine embolique plutôt qu’hémodynamique.

 

Angiographie des troncs-supraaortiques (à défaut angiographie par imagerie en résonance magnétique)

 

Ces méthodes permettent d’examiner les artères de l’intérieur : le diamètre des vaisseaux, l’état de leurs parois, et aussi d’étudier en détail le canal des vaisseaux du cerveau.

 

La scintigraphie cérébrale

 

Elle fournit des images de la perfusion sanguine cérébrale régionale, et ainsi par défaut, des zones ischémiques.

 

Un ECG, un holter de tension artérielle et une échographie cardiaque

 

En cas de suspicion de maladie cardiaque, ces examens peuvent être nécessaires afin d’identifier les dysfonctionnements cardio-vasculaires potentiellement emboligènes : des dysfonctionnements affectant l’apport de sang au cerveau.

 

Les explorations otoneurologiques

 

Épreuves otovestibulaires et audiogramme éliminant une pathologie purement ORL.

 

Les explorations ophtalmologiques

 

Utile pour éliminer un diagnostic différentiel.

 

 

Traitement de l’insuffisance vertébro-basilaire

 

Le choix des méthodes et moyens de traitement dépend de l’état des vaisseaux et des maladies concomitantes qui ont provoqué le syndrome vertébro-basilaire. Il dépend également de la gravité de la maladie.

 

Traitements médicamenteux

 

En fonction de la pathologie diagnostiquée, certains médicaments peuvent être prescrits pour diminuer la tension artérielle. D’autres, pour augmenter le diamètre des vaisseaux sanguins (médicaments vasodilatateurs). Ils ont pour but d’empêcher la formation de caillot sanguin dans les vaisseaux de faible perméabilité.

 

Thrombolyse

 

Utilisé lors d’accidents vasculaires cérébraux, ce traitement consiste à désagréger les thrombus ou caillots sanguins, à l’aide de médicaments.

 

Traitement chirurgical

 

En présence de sténoses vertébrales significatives, le traitement est habituellement chirurgical ou endovasculaire (interventionnel). Selon le bilan lésionnel, on pourra discuter une revascularisation de la vertébrale proximale (réimplantation dans l’artère cérébrale postérieure) ou distale (pontage avec matériel veineux entre la carotide primitive et la vertébrale dans l’espace C1-C2).

 

 

Références

 

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5495592/

https://www.jle.com/fr/revues/pnv/e-docs/drop_attacks_chez_le_sujet_age_une_entite_revisitee__265936/breve.phtml

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK551854/figure/article-18161.image.f4/

Cet article vous-a-t-il été utile ?

Indiquez votre appréciation de l'article

Note des lecteurs 2.7 / 5. Nombre de votes 3

Si vous avez bénéficié de cet article...

Suivez-nous sur Youtube et Facebook

Navré que vous n'ayez pu trouver réponse à vos questions !

Aidez-nous à améliorer cet article !

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l'article ?

Douleurs physiques : Mini consultation gratuite

Répondez à ce court questionnaire en ligne pour bénéficier de recommandations spécifiques à VOTRE situation.