Laminoplasty: Everything you need to know about this operation (Procedure)

laminoplasty

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

A laminoplasty is a surgical procedure to widen the spinal canal. It is mainly carried out at the level of cervical spine. It can sometimes be performed at the thoracic or lumbar level, especially in children or young adults.

This article tells you everything you need to know about laminoplasty.

Definition and anatomy

To better understand laminoplasty, let's discuss the anatomy of the vertebrate, and more specifically the anatomical location of the spinal blades.

In general, each vertebrate is composed of a vertebral body in its front part, and of a posterior arch at the back formed by the pedicles and spinal blades.

The lamina is therefore the part of the vertebra which connects the spinous process (often called spinous process) and the transverse process (or transverse process). There are two blades per vertebra, located on either side of thespinous process. They are present at the level of the column cervical, dorsal et lumbar.

In laminoplasty, one or more portions of the lamina are removed to widen the spinal canal. The blades are then reshaped or repositioned so as to decompress the spinal cord and spinal nerves. Metal rods, an implant or a bone graft are also used to hold the enlarged space.

Difference with laminectomy

A procedure similar to laminoplasty is laminectomy. The latter removes the vertebral lamina outright instead of creating an opening.

Compared to laminectomy, which is a more complex surgery, laminoplasty leaves more of the bone and ligament structure intact. This is essential to maintain normal anatomy and curvatures of the spine, as well as to reduce the risk of complications (Source).

Laminoplasty is more appropriate for children and young adults. Indeed, pediatric patients have a higher risk of spinal instability following laminectomy compared to adults.

However, since the laminoplasty preserves the anatomy of the posterior arch, it allows less decompression. Thus, people who require significant decompression because of their condition must go through laminectomy at all costs.

Other types of decompressive surgery

Alternatives to laminoplasty include:

It should be noted that the optimal surgical technique for treating the spinal compression or nerve roots remains controversial. One approach is not necessarily superior in all circumstances, and the best option will depend on patient-specific anatomical and symptomatic factors.

Indication

Laminoplasty is usually done to correct conditions where the spinal canal is narrowed, putting pressure on the spinal nerves or spinal cord. It is generally when the symptoms become severe and incapacitating despite conservative treatment that surgery is considered.

Here are the conditions that may benefit from a laminoplasty:

In general, the observed symptoms that alert the medical team are the following:

  • Severe pain with irradiations
  • Severe and incapacitating paresthesias
  • Upper and lower limb weakness
  • Gait disorder
  • Balance issues
  • Incontinence
  • Coordination disorder

Procedure

Laminoplasty is a surgical procedure performed under general anesthesia. In the case of a cervical laminoplasty (the most common), an incision of about 7 to 10 cm is made in the middle of the neck, and the back of the spine.

Using an operating microscope and other surgical instruments, the surgeon will essentially free up space in the spinal canal, thereby reducing pressure on the spinal cord and spinal nerves. The opening of the canal will be maintained by a small metal plate or a bone graft.

To make sure not to irritate the spinal cord and spinal nerves, the intervention will often be carried out under control of the evoked potentials. Basically, we want to make sure that there is no damage to the nerve structures during the operation.

To do this, we will place electrodes on the scalp and on the legs. During the surgery, we will regularly send a weak electric current through the electrodes to ensure the integrity of the spinal cord.

At the very end of the operation, the surgeon closes the incision and bandages it with a bandage after cleaning the wound.

Recovery and recovery

Patients usually spend the night in the hospital after the operation, and are discharged the following day or the day after.

In the majority of cases, the surgeon will not recommend wearing a cervical collar after a laminoplasty. On the other hand, some patients prefer to wear a flexible collar to support the cervical spine during the days following the operation. In children, a rigid collar may be prescribed for up to 6 weeks.

Personalized painkillers and/or muscle relaxants will usually be prescribed to control pain and reduce muscle tension. The medication will then be weaned off gradually.

A follow-up visit will usually be fixed 4 to 6 weeks after surgery. X-rays will be taken to observe progress, monitor healing and ensure bone fusion.

Overall, it is estimated that the total recovery period is 6-8 weeks for the corpectomy.

Re-education

Patients are generally encouraged to increase their level of physical activity as tolerated, while refraining from strenuous exercise (eg, activities involving jumping).

To optimize rehabilitation, the doctor may prescribe physiotherapy (physiotherapy). This will speed healing, and promote a safe and effective recovery. The methods used will be:

  • Electrotherapy
  • Analgesic modalities (heat, ice, etc.)
  • Gentle massage
  • Soft mobilizations
  • Therapeutic exercises
  • Postural exercises
  • Advice and education
  • Etc

Complications

Although relatively rare, complications following a laminoplasty can include:

  • neurological deficits due to nerve damage
  • loss of spinal alignment
  • spinal cord damage
  • damage to the trachea or esophagus
  • wound infection
  • bleeding
  • displacement of the graft
  • lesion of thevertebral artery

Source

  • https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7154346/
Back to top

Laminoplastie : Tout savoir sur cette opération

Laminoplastie : Tout savoir sur cette opération

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

Une laminoplastie est une intervention chirurgicale visant à élargir le canal rachidien. Elle est principalement réalisée au niveau de la colonne cervicale. Elle peut parfois être réalisée au niveau thoracique ou lombaire, en particulier chez les enfants ou jeunes adultes.

 

Cet article vous explique tout ce que vous devez savoir sur la laminoplastie.

 

Définition et anatomie

 

Pour mieux comprendre la laminoplastie, discutons de l’anatomie de la vertèbre, et plus spécifiquement de la localisation anatomique des lames vertébrales.

 

De manière générale, chaque vertèbre est composée d’un corps vertébral dans sa partie avant, et d’un arc postérieur à l’arrière formé par les pédicules et les lames vertébrales.

 

lame vertébrale retirée dans la laminectomie lombaire

 

La lame est donc la partie de la vertèbre qui relie le processus épineux (souvent appelé apophyse épineuse) et le processus transverse (ou apophyse transverse). Il existe deux lames par vertèbre, situées de part et d’autre de l’apophyse épineuse. Elle sont présentes au niveau de la colonne cervicale, dorsale et lombaire.

 

Dans la laminoplastie, on retire une ou des portions de lame pour élargir le canal rachidien. Les lames sont ensuites remodelées ou repositionnées de manière à décompresser la moelle épinière et les nerfs rachidiens. On utilise également des tiges de métal, un implant ou une grefe osseuse pour maintenir l’espace élargi.

 

procédure de laminoplatie
Source

 

 

Différence avec la laminectomie

 

Une procédure similaire à la laminoplastie est la laminectomie. Cette dernière retire carrément la lame vertébral au lieu de créer une ouverture.

 

Par rapport à la laminectomie qui s’avère être une chirurgie plus complexe, la laminoplastie laisse intacte une plus grande partie de la structure osseuse et ligamentaire. Cela est essentiel pour maintenir une anatomie et les courbures normales de la colonne vertébrale, de même que pour réduire le risque de complications (Source).

 

La laminoplastie est d’ailleurs plus appropriée chez les enfants et jeunes adultes. En effet, les patients pédiatriques présentent un risque plus élevé d’instabilité vertébrale suite à une laminectomie en comparaison avec les adultes.

 

Cependant, comme la laminoplastie préserve l’anatomie de l’arc postérieur, elle permet une décompression moins importante. Ainsi, les personnes qui nécessite une décompression importante en raison de leur condition doivent à tout prix passer par la laminectomie.

 

Autres types de chirurgie décompressives

 

Parmi les alternatives à la laminoplastie, on compte :

 

 

Il est à noter que la technique chirurgicale optimale pour traiter la compression médullaire ou des racines nerveuses reste controversée. Une approche n’est pas forcément supérieure dans toutes les circonstances, et la meilleure option dépendra de facteurs anatomiques et symptomatiques spécifiques à chaque patient.

 

 

Indication

 

La laminoplastie est généralement pratiquée pour corriger des affections où le canal rachidien est rétréci, et exerce une pression sur les nerfs rachidiens ou la moelle épinière. C’est généralement lorsque les symptômes deviennent importants et incapacitants malgré un traitement conservateur qu’on considère cette chirurgie.

 

Voici les conditions qui peuvent bénéficier d’une laminoplastie :

 

 

En général, les symptômes observés qui alertent l’équipe médicale sont les suivants :

 

  • Douleur sévère avec irradiations
  • Paresthésies importantes et incapacitantes
  • Faiblesse des membres supérieurs et inférieurs
  • Trouble de la marche
  • Problèmes d’équilibre
  • Incontinence
  • Trouble de la coordination

 

 

Procédure

 

La laminoplastie est une intervention chirurgicale réalisée sous anesthésie générale. Dans le cas d’une laminoplastie cervicale (la plus courante), une incision d’environ 7 à 10 cm est pratiquée au milieu de la nuque, et l’arrière de la colonne vertébrale.

 

À l’aide d’un microscope opératoire et autres instruments chirurgicaux, le chirurgien va essentiellement libérer de l’espace au niveau du canal rachidien, et ainsi réduire la pression sur la moelle épinière et les nerfs spinaux. L’ouverture du canal sera maintenue par une petite plaque de métal ou une greffe osseuse.

 

laminoplastie
Source

 

Pour s’assurer de ne pas irriter la moelle épinière et nerfs spinaux, l’intervention sera souvent réalisée sous contrôle des potentiels évoqués. Essentiellement, on veut s’assurer qu’il n’y a pas de dommage des structures nerveuses durant l’opération.

 

Pour ce faire, on va poser des électrodes au niveau du cuir chevelu et sur les jambes. Durant la chirurgie, on va régulièrement envoyé un faible courant électrique à travers les électrodes pour s’assurer de l’intégrité de la moelle épinière.

 

À la toute fin de l’intervention, le chirurgien ferme l’incision et la panse avec un bandage après avoir nettoyé la plaie.

 

 

Convalescence et récupération

 

Les patients passent généralement la nuit à l’hôpital après l’opération, et sont libérés le jour suivant ou le surlendemain.

 

Dans la majorité des cas, le chirurgien ne recommandera pas de porter un collier cervical après une laminoplastie. Par contre, certains patients préfère porter une minerve souple pour supporter la colonne cervicale durant les jours suivants l’opération. Chez les enfants, il est possible qu’une minerve rigide soit prescrite pendant une période allant jusqu’à 6 semaines.

 

Des médicaments anti-douleurs et/ou des décontractants musculaires seront généralement prescrits pour contrôler la douleur et réduire les tensions musculaires. La médication sera ensuite sevrée progressivement au fur et à mesure.

 

Une visite de suivi sera généralement fixée 4 à 6 semaines après la chirurgie. Des radiographies seront prises pour observer le progrès, contrôler la guérison et s’assurer de la fusion osseuse.

 

En tout, on estime que la période de récupération totale est de 6 à 8 semaines pour une corpectomie.

 

Rééducation

 

Les patients sont généralement encouragés à augmenter leur niveau d’activité physique selon tolérance, tout en s’abstenant de faire des exercices intenses (par exemple, les activités impliquant des sauts).

 

Pour optimiser la rééducation, le médecin pourra prescrire de la kinésithérapie (physiothérapie). Ceci permettra d’accélérer la guérison, et de favoriser une reprise sûre et efficace. Les modalités utilisées seront :

 

  • Électrothérapie
  • Modalités antalgiques (chaleur, glace, etc.)
  • Massages doux
  • Mobilisations douces
  • Exercices thérapeutiques
  • Exercices posturaux
  • Conseils et éducation
  • Etc.

 

 

Complications

 

Bien que relativement rares, les complications suite à une laminoplastie peuvent inclure :

 

  • déficits neurologiques dûe à l’atteinte de nerfs
  • perte d’alignement de la colonne vertébrale
  • dommage au niveau de la moelle épinière
  • dommage au niveau de la trachée ou de l’oesophage
  • infection de la plaie
  • saignements
  • déplacement du greffon
  • lésion de l’artère vertébrale

 

 

Source

 

  • https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7154346/