Myelopathy: Definition, Diagnosis, Symptoms

Share with your concerned loved ones
4.7
(10)

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine 

The term myelopathy means any pathology concerning the spinal cord. Whatever the causes, the myelopathy is a serious illness. It is manifested by various symptoms including paralysis.

This article provides you with details on the different possible locations of the myelopathy, the different causes found, the symptoms, the means of diagnosis and above all the possible treatments.

Definition and anatomy

La spinal cord  is an organ extending from the neck to the lower back. All its parts can then be affected by the myelopathy. However, the most frequent and the most serious is the cervical myelopathy. Its seriousness lies in the fact that a spinal cord injury at this location will lead to a tetraplegia (paralysis of the four limbs of the body).

La dorsal myelopathy is rarer but also leads to pain in spinal cord. Regarding the lumbar myelopathy, it is associated with the syndrome of narrow lumbar canal. Any narrowing of the dorsal canal can therefore cause compression and pain in the spinal cord (dorsal myelopathy), and in addition, lead to neurological disorders. The dorsal myelopathy is rather rare, compared to narrowing of the lumbar canal and the cervical canal.

Causes of Myelopathy

La myelopathy appears following several pathologies, the most common of which are:

  • A degenerative cause (progressive destruction of the white and gray matter of the spinal cord)
  • General bacterial and viral infections with localization at the spine (shingles virus, poliomyelitis, chickenpox, tuberculosis, syphilis)
  • An infection by a parasite (schistosomiasis for example)
  • A tumoral cause (primary tumor or after metastasis)
  • An inflammatory cause (after an injection, after a vaccine)
  • Inflammation due to multiple sclerosis
  • A blood clotting problem causing difficulty in blood circulation in the spinal cord
  • Bleeding in the meninges (arachnoid, dura mater) after use of anticoagulant treatment (anti vitamin K and heparin derivatives)
  • Poisoning (by carbon monoxide, mercury, lead, etc.)
  • Vitamin B12 deficiency
  • A surgical intervention at the level of the spinal cord

More rarely, the myelopathy can occur as a result of:

- An experienced management herniated disc

– Inflammation of the spine (ankylosing spondylitis, rheumatoid arthritis)

The rest of our article will focus more on the cervicarthrotic myelopathy.

What is cervicarthrosic myelopathy or degenerative cervical myelopathy?

La cervicarthrotic myelopathy is caused by aging and is therefore found in the elderly. Osteoarthritis changes related to aging vertebrae with age lead to a narrowing of the cervical canal through which the spinal cord.

Indeed, aging leads to changes in the bone, ligament and disc structures of the cervical spine. These modifications affect the posterior joints of the rachis which enlarge as well as the intervertebral discs which weaken and deform. The ligaments, on the other hand, thicken. All these anatomical changes lead to a decrease in the diameter of the Spinal canal. The spinal cord contained in this channel is therefore chronically compressed, including with the nerve roots.

Symptoms of the disease

The symptoms of myelopathy, especially cerviocarthrosic, appear as the lesions of the spinal column are formed. They can therefore evolve over several months. Sometimes these symptoms can be triggered by neck trauma or sudden movement of the neck. We find :

- A spinal syndrome which is manifested by pain in the cervical region (cervical myelopathy) dorsal or lumbar (dorsal and lumbar myelopathies), spontaneous or provoked by palpation. There is also stiffness and deformities next to the portion of the spine affected.

- Un injury syndrome due to the compression of the nerve roots by the deformations of the anatomical elements of the spine. This is pain and paresthesia (tingling, tingling) in one or both arms. They may be accompanied by motor disorders, an abolition of one or more neurological reflexes, amyotrophy (muscle wasting), cramps, spontaneous and irregular contractions of muscles at rest (muscle fasciculations). However, it should be noted that sensory disorders are rarer.

- Un sublesional syndrome due to the suffering of the nerve roots that pass through the spinal cord, manifested by:

  • Motor disorders: claudication, motor disorders of the lower limbs, bilateral Babinski sign, osteotendinous hyperreflexia (exaggeration of reflex responses during the neurological examination), stepping (particular gait where the tip of the foot is constantly lowered or the patient drags the foot on the ground).
  • Sensory disorders, which vary according to the topography of the myelopathy.

In general, these abnormalities are bilateral, with no real upper limit.

sphincter disorders : In myelopathy, they are moderate and occur late. One can observe imperative urination (urgent need to urinate or even urinary incontinence) dysuria (discomfort or pain when the patient urinates).

Babinski's sign

Babinski's sign (or plantar skin reflex) Is used in neurological examination to detect a possible lesion of the central nervous system (brain and marrow spinal). It consists of stimulating the sole of the foot using a pointed object from the heel to the toes from the outside to the inside of the foot.

The normal reflex response (when there is no neurological involvement) is a flexion of the toes, the big toe moving towards the ball of the foot and the arch of the foot arching. In case of proven neurological lesion, there is a majestic extension of the big toe with the spacing of the other toes.

skin quiz

Diagnosis is determined by the presence of at least one symptom of each of the triad syndromes spinal syndrome-lesional syndrome-sub-lesional syndrome ou sphincter disorder.

Magnetic resonance imaging is the test of choice for diagnosing myelopathy. This paraclinical examination makes it possible to visualize the spinal cord and the nerve roots in relation to the cerebrospinal fluid. It may show a deformation of the spinal cord.

Computed tomography (scanner) and standard x-rays do not allow to see with precision the spinal cord in order to detect a myelopathy. However, they can objectify indirect signs including dynamic changes in the spine, quality and alignment of the vertebrae.

Electromyography is often done to rule out other neurological disorders. The somatosensory and motor evoked potentials do not constitute examinations for diagnostic purposes but make it possible to assess the functional state of spinal cord.

Treatment: What to do?

Depending on the symptomatology presented by the patient, the treatment of the myelopathy can be done in two ways. If the patient has moderate and not very disabling symptoms, medical and physical treatment should be adopted.

– Resting the spine by wearing a cervical collar or neck brace for example (in case of impairment of the cervical spine)

– Avoidance of activities with a major impact on the spine (arduous household chores, sports) and prescribe a work stoppage if possible

- Kinesitherapy structured and meticulous, gentle massages while avoiding manipulation and traction, especially cervical

– Medicines: painkillers, non-steroidal anti-inflammatories, muscle relaxants, corticosteroids (orally or by infiltration). If the cause of the myelopathy is an infection, it will require antibiotic treatment.

– Monitoring the patient in order to detect signs of worsening of the disease as early as possible. myelopathy

– Inform the patient about the risk factors that can lead to an aggravation

If the patient presents with severe and debilitating symptoms, the patient should be offered surgery:

- Do a laminectomies when several spinal levels are affected to widen the spinal canal

- Do a discectomy ou arthrodesis in case of impairment limited to only one or two spinal levels

– Make a reduction of osteophytes

Conclusion

La myelopathy is the name given to any pathology of the spinal cord. All portions of the spinal cord can be affected but the most serious topographic form is the cervical myelopathy. The most common cause of cervical myelopathy is that due to aging called cervicarthrotic myelopathy.

The clinical picture is variable, ranging from mild dysfunction, such as numbness or dexterity problems, to severe dysfunction, such as paralysis and urinary disorders. The finding of limb paresthesia should therefore not be ignored by patients and healthcare professionals.

Magnetic resonance imaging should be done to make the diagnosis. Medication and physical means are the rule in case of non-invalidating signs. Surgery will be done in case of severe symptoms.

Rest and supervision must be required.

Was this article helpful to you?

Indicate your appreciation of the article

Readers rating 4.7 / 5. Number of votes 10

If you have benefited from this article

Please share it with your loved ones

thank you for your comeback

How can we improve the article?

Back to top

Myélopathie : Définition, diagnostic, symptômes

Myélopathie : Définition, diagnostic, symptômes

 

Le terme myélopathie désigne toute pathologie concernant la moelle épinière. Quelque soit les causes, la myélopathie est une maladie grave. Elle se manifeste par des symptômes divers dont la paralysie.

 

Cet article vous apporte des détails sur les différentes localisations possibles de la myélopathie, les différentes causes retrouvées, les symptômes, les moyens de diagnostic et surtout les traitements envisageables.

 

Définition et anatomie

Causes de myélopathie

Symptômes

Diagnostic

Traitement : Que faire ?

 

Bonne lecture !

 

Définition et anatomie

 

La moelle épinière  est un organe allant de la nuque jusqu’au bas du dos. Toutes ses parties peuvent être alors touchées par la myélopathie. Cependant, la plus fréquente et la plus grave est la myélopathie cervicale. Sa gravité réside dans le fait qu’une lésion médullaire à cet endroit va entrainer une tétraplégie (paralysie des quatre membres du corps).

 

anatomie de la moelle épinière
Source

 

La myélopathie dorsale est plus rare mais entraîne aussi une souffrance de la moelle épinière. En ce qui concerne la myélopathie lombaire, elle est associée au syndrome du canal lombaire étroit. Tout rétrécissement du canal dorsal peut donc provoquer une compression et une souffrance de la moelle épinière (myélopathie dorsale), et de surcroît, entraîner des troubles neurologiques. La myélopathie dorsale est plutôt rare, comparativement aux rétrécissements du canal lombaire et du canal cervical.

 

 

Causes de myélopathie

 

La myélopathie apparaît suite à plusieurs pathologies dont les plus retrouvées sont :

 

  • Une cause dégénérative (destruction progressive de la substance blanche et grise de la moelle épinière)
  • Des infections générales bactériennes et virales avec localisation à la colonne vertébrale (virus du zona, de la poliomyélite, la varicelle, la tuberculose, la syphilis)
  • Une infection par un parasite (la schistosomiase par exemple)
  • Une cause tumorale (tumeur primitive ou après métastase)
  • Une cause inflammatoire (après une injection, après un vaccin)
  • Une inflammation due à la sclérose en plaques
  • Un problème de coagulation du sang entraînant une difficulté de circulation du sang au niveau de la moelle épinière
  • Une hémorragie au niveau des méninges (arachnoïde, dure-mère) après utilisation d’un traitement anticoagulant (les anti vitamines K et les dérivés de l’héparine)
  • Une intoxication (par l’oxyde de carbone, le mercure, le plomb, etc.)
  • Une carence en vitamine B12
  • Une intervention chirurgicale au niveau de  la moelle épinière

 

Plus rarement, la myélopathie peut survenir suite à :

 

– Une hernie discale

– Des inflammations de la colonne vertébrale (spondylarthrite ankylosante, polyarthrite rhumatoïde)

 

hernie discale centrale

 

La suite de notre article mettra plus l’accent sur la myélopathie cervicarthrosique.

 

Qu’est ce que la myélopathie cervicarthrosique ou myélopathie cervicale dégénérative?

 

La myélopathie cervicarthrosique est engendrée par le vieillissement et est donc retrouvée chez les personnes âgées. Les modifications arthrosiques liées au vieillissement des vertèbres avec l’âge entrainent un rétrécissement du canal cervical dans lequel passe la moelle épinière.

 

En effet, le vieillissement entraîne des changements des structures osseuses, ligamentaires et discales du rachis cervical. Ces modifications touchent les articulations postérieures du rachis  qui grossissent ainsi que les disques intervertébraux qui se fragilisent et se déforment. Les ligaments quant à eux s’épaississent. Tous ces remaniements anatomiques mènent à une diminution du diamètre du canal rachidien. La moelle épinière contenue dans ce canal se trouve donc comprimée de façon chronique y compris avec les racines nerveuses.

 

Symptômes

 

Les symptômes de la myélopathie, surtout cerviocarthrosique, apparaissent au fur et à mesure que les lésions de la colonne vertébrale se constituent. Ils peuvent donc évoluer sur plusieurs mois. Parfois ces symptômes peuvent être déclenchés par un traumatisme au cou ou par un mouvement brusque du cou. On retrouve :

 

symptômes de névralgie cervico-brachiale

 

– Un syndrome rachidien qui se manifeste par des douleurs dans la région cervicale (myélopathie cervicale) dorsale ou lombaire (myélopathies dorsale et lombaire), spontanées ou provoquées par la palpation. On note aussi une raideur et des déformations en regard de la portion du rachis atteinte.

 

– Un syndrome lésionnel à cause de la compression des racines nerveuses par les déformations des éléments anatomiques de la colonne vertébrale. Il s’agit de douleurs et de paresthésies (picotements, fourmillements) dans un ou les deux bras. Elles peuvent s’accompagner de troubles de la motricité, d’une abolition d’un ou de plusieurs réflexes neurologiques, d’une amyotrophie (fonte musculaire), de crampes, des contractions spontanées et irrégulières des muscles au repos (fasciculations musculaires). Cependant, il faut noter que  les troubles sensitifs sont plus rares.

 

– Un syndrome sous-lésionnel dû à la souffrance des racines nerveuses qui passent dans la moelle épinière, se manifestant par des :

 

  • Des troubles moteurs : claudication, troubles de la motricité des membres inférieurs, signe de Babinski bilatéral, hyperréflexie ostéotendineuse (exagération des réponses réflexes lors de l’examen neurologique), steppage (démarche particulière où la pointe du pied est constamment abaissée ou bien le patient traîne le pied au sol).
  • Des troubles sensitifs, variables selon la topographie de la myélopathie.

 

En général, ces anomalies sont bilatérales, sans véritable limite supérieure.

 

–  Des troubles sphinctériens : Dans la myélopathie, ils sont modérés et surviennent tardivement. On peut observer des mictions impérieuses (besoin urgent d’uriner voire incontinence urinaire) une dysurie (gêne ou douleur quand le patient urine).

 

Le signe de Babinski

 

Le signe de Babinski (ou réflexe cutané plantaire) est utilisé en examen neurologique pour déceler une éventuelle lésion du système nerveux central (cerveau et moelle épinière). Il consiste à stimuler la plante du pied à l’aide d’un objet pointu en allant du talon vers les orteils de l’extérieur vers l’intérieur du pied.

 

test de babinski
Source

 

La réponse réflexe normale (lorsqu’il n’y a pas une atteinte neurologique) est une flexion des orteils, le gros orteil se dirigeant vers la plante du pied et la voûte plantaire se creusant. En cas de lésion neurologique avérée on note une extension du gros orteil de façon majestueuse avec  l’écartement des autres orteils.

 

 

Diagnostic

 

Le diagnostic est déterminé par la présence d’au moins un symptôme de chacun des syndromes de la triade syndrome rachidien-syndrome lésionnel- syndrome sous lésionnel ou un trouble sphinctérien.

 

L’imagerie par résonance magnétique est l’examen de choix pour poser le diagnostic d’une myélopathie. Cet examen paraclinique permet de visualiser la moelle épinière et les racines nerveuses en relation avec le liquide céphalo-rachidien. Il peut montrer une déformation de la moelle épinière.

 

myélopathie cervicarthrosique
Source

 

La tomodensitométrie (scanner) et les radiographies standards ne permettent pas de voir avec précision la moelle épinière afin de détecter une myélopathie. Toutefois, elles peuvent objectiver les signes indirects dont les modifications dynamiques de la colonne vertébrale, la qualité et l’alignement des vertèbres.

 

L’électromyographie est souvent réalisée pour éliminer d’autres troubles neurologiques. Les potentiels évoqués somesthésiques et moteurs ne constituent pas des examens à visée diagnostique mais permettent d’apprécier l’état fonctionnel de la moelle épinière.

 

 

Traitement : Que faire ?

 

En fonction de la symptomatologie présentée par le patient, le traitement de la myélopathie peut se faire suivant deux modalités. Si le patient a des symptômes modérés et peu invalidants il faut adopter un traitement médical et physique.

 

minerve suite à une entorse cervicale

 

– Mise au repos de la colonne vertébrale par le port d’un collet cervical ou minerve par exemple (en cas d’atteinte du rachis cervical)

– Eviction des activités à grand impact sur le rachis (tâches ménagères pénibles, sports) et prescrire un arrêt de travail si possible

Kinésithérapie structurée et minutieuse, massages doux tout en évitant les manipulations et tractions surtout cervicales

– Médicaments : anti douleurs, anti inflammatoires non stéroïdiens, décontracturants musculaires, corticoïdes (par voie orale ou en infiltration). Si la cause de la myélopathie est une infection, il faudra un traitement antibiotique.

– Surveillance du patient afin de détecter au plus tôt des signes d’aggravation de la myélopathie

– Informer le patient sur les facteurs de risque pouvant entrainer une aggravation

 

Si le patient présente des symptômes sévères et invalidants, il faut proposer la chirurgie:

 

chirurgie mal de dos

 

– Faire une laminectomie lorsque plusieurs étages rachidiens sont touchés pour élargir le canal rachidien

– Faire une discectomie ou arthrodèse en cas d’atteinte limitée à seulement un ou deux étages rachidiens

– Faire une réduction des ostéophytes

 

 

Conclusion

 

La myélopathie est le nom donné à toute pathologie de la moelle épinière. Toutes les portions de la moelle épinière peuvent être atteintes mais la forme topographique la plus grave est la myélopathie cervicale. La cause la plus fréquente de myélopathie cervicale est celle due au vieillissement appelée myélopathie cervicarthrosique.

 

Le tableau clinique est variable, allant d’un discret dysfonctionnement, comme un engourdissement ou des problèmes de dextérité, à un dysfonctionnement grave comme la paralysie et les troubles urinaires. La constatation d’une paresthésie des membres ne doit donc pas être ignorée par les patients et les professionnels de santé.

 

Une imagerie par résonance magnétique doit être effectuée pour faire le diagnostic. Les moyens médicamenteux et physiques sont la règle en cas de signes non invalidants. La chirurgie sera faite en cas de symptomatologie sévère.

 

Le repos et la surveillance doivent être de rigueur.