Visceral osteopathy: Effective alternative therapy? (notice)

therapist relaxing his patient's psoas muscle

For several millennia, healers have been practicing techniques that have an impact on viscera, that is to say the organs contained in our cavities thoracic et abdominal (liver, heart, lungs, kidneys, intestines, pancreas…).

Osteopathy visceral is a practice of medicine alternative which considers that our organs can accumulate tensions, present irritations, suffer from restrictions in their movements and disturbances in the interactions they have with the organs and tissues which surround them. According to her, the different parts of the body are interconnected, and by acting on a given area, we obtain an effect on another area located nearby or at a distance.

For example, by treating a blockage at the vertebral level, we could obtain an improvement in digestive symptoms!

What is visceral osteopathy?

Osteopathy visceral is a set of technical manual which aim to improve the functioning of the viscera.

Some define it as an alternative therapy that aims to restore mobility to an organ or to reduce the abnormal stresses it imposes on its environment.

Indeed, osteopathy considers the système visceral as a whole. The different organs that articulate with each other. Some have fibrous membranes (ligaments, omentums) that connect them to neighboring structures. They are constantly in motion, in particular due to respiratory movements. This is why they are compared to joints.

The osteopath specialized in visceral osteopathy, thanks to precise manual techniques, acts on the tensions which are created at the level of the fascias (membranes such as the ligaments and omentums) in order to relax them and restore the freedom of movement of the viscus and its neighboring structures. 

It should be remembered that osteopathy considers the human body as a whole. In addition to the links that exist between the different organs, there are systems that attach them to the walls: these are fascia. They make it possible to anchor the viscera to the musculoskeletal thoracic framework and to the abdominal wall.

For example, with regard to the thoracic cavity, it is the last ribs, the dorsal spine (spine dorsal) and sternum; and with regard to the abdominal cavity, it is the iliac bones, the sacrum and the coccyx.

Visceral osteopathy: mechanical or fluidic approach?

Visceral osteopathy has two main approaches, which are often complementary:

The mechanical approach

According to this current of visceral osteopathy, the intra-thoracic and intra-abdominal organs have a mobility punctuated by respiratory movements and influenced by the structures that unite them with other organs.

Anomalies in the functioning of organs are then considered to be the consequence of a loss of this physiological mobility.

The treatment will therefore consist in implementing manual techniques on different organs in order to restore their freedom of movement, and thus their normal running.

In practice, the techniques of this approach can be painful. Nevertheless, the results are often quick and significant.

The fluidic approach

This approach focuses on the organ motility. It takes into account the movements of small amplitude, slow and invisible to the naked eye of the various organs, particularly digestive.

The practitioner looks for these movements by testing the viscera one by one in order to treat them accordingly (motility test).

The fluidic approach is softer than the mechanical approach. His techniques are generally painless, even pleasant.

At present, there is no scientific study that explains the mechanism of these organ motility movements. However, the empirical effects of the fluidic approach observed in many patients are very promising.

What are the indications for visceral osteopathy?

There are many indications for visceral osteopathy. Thanks to precise manual techniques, she participates in the treatment:

  • Musculoskeletal disorders: visceral osteopathy is able to correct the anomalies of interaction between the viscera and the rest of the body. In particular, it would be able to participate in the treatment of chronic dysfunction of the spine, headaches, joint pain, sciatica, carpal tunnel syndrome…
  • Digestive disorders: by improving the mobility of the digestive organs, visceral osteopathy could treat the problems of bloating, postprandial heaviness, chronic constipation, chronic diarrhea, nausea, gastroesophageal reflux and swallowing disorders.
  • Gynecological disorders: visceral osteopathy is sometimes useful in case of pelvic pain chronic conditions, endometriosis or ovarian cysts. It also presents a complement in the management of dysmenorrhea (painful menstruation) and the effects of menopause.
  • Urinary disorders: such as recurrent urinary tract infections and urinary incontinence.
  • Urological disorders: it would have a positive effect on certain dysfunctions of the prostate, certain types of testicular pain and urinary incontinence.
  • Pediatric problems: visceral osteopathy represents an interesting complementary treatment in certain pediatric pathologies such as gastritis, chronic constipation, persistent vomiting, colic, torticollis and vesicoureteral reflux (upflow of urine from the bladder to the ureters and kidneys).
  • Emotional issues: visceral osteopathy would find indications in certain conditions such as anxiety, depression and post-traumatic stress disorder.
  • Sleep disorders: thanks to the treatment of certain functional digestive, nervous or psychic anomalies, visceral osteopathy can allow a return to normal sleep function.

Relationship between visceral damage and low back pain

Lower back pain can be the result of an abnormality in one or more abdominal viscera. This relationship is explained by two mechanisms according to the visceral osteopathic approach:

The first is a mechanism nervous. When an abdominal viscus is the seat of pain, the nervous system interprets the pain signal not only at the level of the zone concerned (the viscus), but also at the level of the dermatome, the myotome, the angiotome and the sclerotome (represented by the skeleton, here vertebrate) corresponding to the territory affected.

NB:

  • Dermatome: skin area innervated by nerves from a single spinal nerve root.
  • Myotome: set of muscles innervated by the same spinal nerve root.
  • Angiotome: set of blood vessels innervated by the same spinal nerve root.

This is how a stomach ache can cause lower back pain. In particular by reflex contraction and muscle tension at the level of the myotome.

The second mechanism is the action of attachment means viscera on bony structures. To better understand, let's take the example of low back pain secondary to menstruation.

Indeed, during menstruation, the uterus is the seat of strong contractions which aim to eliminate blood and tissues. It then causes forces of attraction on nearby bony structures through its means of attachment (ligaments and other supporting tissues from the uterus to neighboring organs). This causes muscle tension in the lumbar region, causing pain.

Visceral Osteopathy: Dangers and Side Effects

There is only very few absolute contraindications visceral osteopathy treatment. But certain techniques and manipulations are contraindicated in specific conditions.

If the osteopath detects signs of acute infection, recent trauma or inflammation, he will prefer to postpone the session to allow the body to heal; or possibly refer the patient to his attending physician to benefit from adequate care.

Osteopaths generally act with great caution. When they suspect in their patients a disease reaction, they do not hesitate to talk to them about it and advise them to go to a general practitioner or specialist.

The only danger of resorting to visceral osteopathy is to cause a delay in the management of a potentially serious pathology or one requiring urgent treatment. It is therefore important to always go through the “medical consultation” box before considering other alternatives for treatment.

Here are some absolute contraindications of visceral osteopathy:

  • Pregnancy (no technique will be used in a pregnant woman).
  • Cancer digestive (cancer of the liver, colon, stomach, etc.).
  • Cancer osteophile (i.e. a cancer with a high risk of becoming complicated by bone metastases cancers of the breast, prostate, kidney, lung and thyroid).
  • Recent digestive surgery.
  • Fever or other sign of infection.

Before any session, the osteopath will carefully check the absence of any contraindication. He can give you some instructions to follow to make the treatment easier and less of a source of inconvenience (good hydration, empty stomach, etc.).

The number of visceral osteopathy sessions required for the treatment of a common functional disorder generally does not exceed three. It is customary to space out the sessions by two to three weeks.

Our opinion on visceral osteopathy

Visceral osteopathy seems to be an interesting solution in the treatment of a large number of symptoms functional in addition to traditional medical treatments. It can in no way replace conventional medicine.

The osteopath is certainly capable of diagnosing many organ dysfunctions, but he can easily miss certain potentially serious organic pathologies. It is therefore essential to have a precise diagnosis from a doctor before turning to visceral osteopathy.

References

[1] P. Curtil and A. Métra, Practical treatise of visceral osteopathy, flight. 3. Frison-Roche, 2002.

[2] JL Boutin, “SDO 4 – About the study on the reliability of visceral osteopathy”, 2019.

[3] A. Guillaud, N. Darbois, R. Monvoisin, and N. Pinsault, “SDO 3 – Diagnostic reliability and clinical effectiveness of visceral osteopathy”.

[4] C. Barry and B. Falissard, "Evaluation of the effectiveness of the practice of osteopathy", INSERM U669, 2012.

Back to top

Ostéopathie viscérale : Thérapie alternative efficace ? (avis)

Ostéopathie viscérale : Thérapie alternative efficace ? (avis)

Depuis plusieurs millénaires, les guérisseurs pratiquaient des techniques ayant un impact sur les viscères, c’est-à-dire les organes contenus dans nos cavités thoracique et abdominale (le foie, le cœur, les poumons, les reins, les intestins, le pancréas…).

 

L’ostéopathie viscérale est une pratique de médecine alternative qui considère que nos organes peuvent cumuler des tensions, présenter des irritations, souffrir de restrictions dans leurs mouvements et de perturbations dans les interactions qu’ils ont avec les organes et tissus qui les entourent. Selon elle, les différentes parties du corps sont interconnectées, et en agissant sur une zone donnée, on obtient un effet sur une autre zone située à proximité ou à distance.

 

Par exemple, en traitant un blocage au niveau vertébral, on pourrait obtenir une amélioration de symptômes digestifs !

Qu’est-ce que l’ostéopathie viscérale ?

 

L’ostéopathie viscérale est un ensemble de techniques manuelles qui ont pour objectif d’’améliorer le fonctionnement des viscères.

 

Certains la définissent comme une thérapie alternative qui vise à redonner sa mobilité à un organe ou à réduire les contraintes anormales qu’il fait subir à son environnement.

 

En effet, l’ostéopathie considère le système viscéral comme un tout. Les différents organes s’articulant entre eux. Certains possèdent des membranes fibreuses (ligaments, épiploons) qui les relient aux structures voisines. Ils sont en mouvement de manière permanente, notamment du fait des mouvements respiratoires. C’est pourquoi on les compare aux articulations.

 

L’ostéopathe spécialisé dans l’ostéopathie viscérale, grâce à des techniques manuelles précises, agit sur les tensions qui se créent au niveau des fascias (membranes telles que les ligaments et épiploons) afin de les détendre et restituer la liberté de mouvement du viscère et de ses structures voisines. 

 

Il faut rappeler que l’ostéopathie considère le corps humain dans sa globalité. En plus des liens qui existent entre les différents organes, il y a des systèmes qui attachent ces derniers aux parois : ce sont les fascias. Ils permettent d’amarrer les viscères aux cadre thoracique musculo-squelettique et à la paroi abdominale.

 

Par exemple, en ce qui concerne la cavité thoracique, il s’agit des dernières côtes, du rachis dorsal (colonne vertébrale dorsale) et du sternum ; et en ce qui concerne la cavité abdominale, il s’agit des os iliaques, du sacrum et du coccyx.

 

 

Ostéopathie viscérale : approche mécanique ou fluidique ?

 

L’ostéopathie viscérale comporte deux principales approches, qui sont souvent complémentaires :

 

L’approche mécanique

 

Selon ce courant de l’ostéopathie viscérale, les organes intra-thoraciques et intra-abdominaux possèdent une mobilité rythmée par les mouvements respiratoires et influencée par les structures qui les unissent avec les autres organes.

 

Les anomalies de fonctionnement des organes sont alors considérées comme la conséquence d’une perte de cette mobilité physiologique.

 

Le traitement consistera donc à mettre en œuvre des techniques manuelles sur différents organes afin de leur restituer leur liberté de mouvement, et ainsi leur fonctionnement normal.

 

En pratique, les techniques de cette approche peuvent être douloureuses. Néanmoins, les résultats sont souvent rapides et significatifs.

 

L’approche fluidique

 

Cette approche s’intéresse à la motilité des organes. Elle tient compte des mouvements de faible amplitude, lents et invisibles à l’œil nu des différents organes, particulièrement digestifs.

 

Le praticien recherche ces mouvements en testant les viscères un par un afin de les traiter en conséquence (test de motilité).

 

L’approche fluidique est plus douce que l’approche mécanique. Ses techniques sont généralement indolores, voire agréables.

 

A l’heure actuelle, il n’y a aucune étude scientifique qui explique le mécanisme de ces mouvements de motilité des organes. Toutefois, les effets empiriques de l’approche fluidique observés chez de nombreux patients sont très prometteurs.

 

 

Quelles sont les indications de l’ostéopathie viscérale ?

 

Les indications de l’ostéopathie viscérale sont nombreuses. Grâce à des techniques manuelles précises, elle participe au traitement :

 

  • Des troubles musculo-squelettiques : l’ostéopathie viscérale est capable de corriger les anomalies d’interaction entre les viscères et le reste du corps. Elle serait notamment en mesure de participer au traitement des dysfonctionnement chroniques de la colonne vertébrale, des céphalées, des douleurs articulaires, de la sciatique, du syndrome du canal carpien…
  • Des troubles digestifs : en améliorant la mobilité des organes digestifs, l’ostéopathie viscérale pourrait traiter les problèmes de ballonnements, lourdeur postprandiale, constipation chronique, diarrhée chronique, nausées, reflux gastro-œsophagien et de troubles de la déglutition.
  • Des troubles gynécologiques : l’ostéopathie viscérale est parfois utile en cas de douleurs pelviennes chroniques, d’endométriose ou de kystes ovariens. Elle présente également un complément dans la prise en charge des dysménorrhées (règles douloureuses) et des effets de la ménopause.
  • Des troubles urinaires : tels que les infections urinaires à répétition et l’incontinence urinaire.
  • Des troubles urologiques : elle aurait un effet positif sur certaines dysfonctions de la prostate, certains types de douleurs testiculaires et les incontinences urinaires.
  • Des problèmes pédiatriques : l’ostéopathie viscérale représente un traitement complémentaire intéressant dans certaines pathologies pédiatriques telles que la gastrite, la constipation chronique, les vomissements persistants, les coliques, le torticolis et le reflux vésico-urétéral (remontée des urines de la vessie vers les uretères et les reins).
  • Des problèmes émotionnels : l’ostéopathie viscérale trouverait des indications dans certaines affections telles que l’anxiété, la dépression et le syndrome de stress post-traumatique.
  • Des troubles du sommeil : grâce au traitement de certaines anomalies fonctionnelles digestives, nerveuses ou psychiques, l’ostéopathie viscérale peut permettre un retour à la normale de la fonction du sommeil.

 

 

Relation entre atteintes des viscères et lombalgies

 

Les douleurs du bas du dos peuvent être la conséquence d’une anomalie au niveau d’un ou plusieurs viscères abdominaux. Cette relation est expliquée par deux mécanismes selon l’approche ostéopathique viscérale :

 

Le premier est un mécanisme nerveux. Lorsqu’un viscère abdominal est le siège de douleur, le système nerveux interprète le signal douloureux non seulement au niveau de la zone concernée (le viscère), mais également au niveau du dermatome, du myotome, de l’angiotome et du sclérotome (représenté par le squelette, ici la vertèbre) correspondant au territoire touché.

 

NB :

  • Dermatome : territoire cutanée innervé par des nerfs provenant d’une seule racine nerveuse rachidienne.
  • Myotome : ensemble de muscles innervés par la même racine nerveuse rachidienne.
  • Angiotome : ensemble de vaisseaux sanguins innervés par la même racine nerveuse rachidienne.

 

C’est ainsi qu’un mal de ventre peut causer des douleurs lombaires. Notamment par la contraction réflexe et les tensions musculaires au niveau du myotome.

 

Le deuxième mécanisme, c’est l’action des moyens d’attache des viscères sur les structures osseuses. Pour mieux comprendre prenons l’exemple des lombalgies secondaires aux menstruations.

 

En effet, durant les règles, l’utérus est le siège de fortes contractions qui ont pour but d’éliminer le sang et tissus. Il provoque alors des forces d’attraction sur les structures osseuses à proximité par l’intermédiaire de ses moyens d’attaches (ligaments et autres tissus de soutien de l’utérus aux organes voisins). Ceci provoque ainsi des tensions musculaires au niveau lombaire à l’origine de douleurs.

 

 

Ostéopathie viscérale : Dangers et effets secondaires

 

Il n’existe que très peu de contre-indications absolues au traitement par ostéopathie viscérale. Mais certaines techniques et manipulations sont contre indiquées dans des conditions précises.

 

Si l’ostéopathe dépiste des signes d’infection aiguë, de traumatisme récent ou d’inflammation, il préférera repousser la séance afin de permettre au corps de guérir ; ou éventuellement orienter le patient chez son médecin traitant pour bénéficier d’une prise en charge adéquate.

 

Les ostéopathes agissent généralement avec beaucoup de prudence. Lorsqu’ils soupçonnent chez leurs patients une maladie grave, ils n’hésitent pas à leur en parler et les conseiller de se rendre chez un médecin généraliste ou spécialiste.

 

Le seul danger de recourir à l’ostéopathie viscérale est d’entrainer un retard de prise en charge d’une pathologie potentiellement grave ou nécessitant un traitement urgent. Il est donc important de toujours passer par la case « consultation médicale » avant d’envisager d’autres alternatives pour se soigner.

 

Voici quelques contre-indications absolues de l’ostéopathie viscérale :

 

  • Grossesse (aucune technique ne sera utilisée chez une femme enceinte).
  • Cancer digestif (cancer du foie, du colon, de l’estomac…).
  • Cancer ostéophile (c’est-à-dire un cancer ayant un fort risque de se compliquer de métastases osseuses : cancer du sein, de la prostate, du rein, du poumon et de la thyroïde).
  • Chirurgie digestive récente.
  • Fièvre ou autre signe d’infection.

 

Avant toute séance, l’ostéopathe vérifiera minutieusement l’absence de toute contre-indication. Il pourra vous donner quelques directives à respecter pour rendre le traitement plus facile et moins source de désagréments (bonne hydratation, estomac vide…).

 

 

Le nombre de séances d’ostéopathie viscérale nécessaire pour le traitement d’un trouble fonctionnel courant ne dépasse généralement pas trois. Il est d’usage d’espacer les séances de deux à trois semaines.

 

 

Notre avis sur l’ostéopathie viscérale

 

L’ostéopathie viscérale parait être une solution intéressante dans le traitement d’un grand nombre de symptômes fonctionnels en complément aux traitements médicaux classiques. Elle ne peut en aucun cas se substituer à la médecine conventionnelle.

 

L’ostéopathe est, certes, capable de diagnostiquer de nombreux dysfonctionnements d’organes, mais il peut facilement passer à côté de certaines pathologies organiques potentiellement graves. Il est donc indispensable d’avoir un diagnostic précis auprès d’un médecin avant de se tourner vers l’ostéopathie viscérale.

 

 

Références

 

[1]  P. Curtil et A. Métra, Traité pratique d’ostéopathie viscérale, vol. 3. Frison-Roche, 2002.

[2]   J. L. Boutin, « SDO 4 – À propos de l’étude sur la fiabilité de l’ostéopathie viscérale », 2019.

[3]   A. Guillaud, N. Darbois, R. Monvoisin, et N. Pinsault, « SDO 3 – Fiabilité du diagnostic et efficacité clinique de l’ostéopathie viscérale ».

[4]   C. Barry et B. Falissard, « Evaluation de l’efficacité de la pratique de l’ostéopathie », INSERM U669, 2012.