Lumbar recalibration: The solution to the narrow lumbar canal?

lumbar arthrodesis surgery

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

Narrowing of the spinal canal refers to a condition called narrow lumbar canal. This decrease in space can compress the spinal cord and the nerve roots emerging from the spine.

Among the treatments available, surgery to widen the diameter of the spinal canal can be done: this is lumbar recalibration. This article discusses this operation by mentioning its procedure, the associated risks, and the convalescence allowing the resumption of activities.

Definition

To better understand lumbar recalibration, you must first become familiar with the narrow lumbar canal.

As mentioned, this is a reduction in the size of the Spinal canal (also called vertebral canal) at the level of the vertebrae lumbar (qualified from L1 to L5). Normally this channel is about 15mm in diameter, but it is considered 'narrow' when it is less than 13mm.

To learn all about narrow spinal canal (including symptoms, causes, and management), see the following article.

Indications for surgery

Treatment options include conservative techniques such as medication and exercises. If there is no relief, then more drastic options such as surgery are considered.

More specifically, surgery is considered in the presence of the following situations:

  • Presence of red flags indicating a potentially serious injury
  • cauda equina syndrome
  • Persistent pain and disability (between 3 and 6 months) despite well-conducted conservative treatment

Lumbar recalibration

Lumbar recalibration is a surgical technique that precisely widens the spinal canal in the treatment of narrow lumbar canal. Essentially, we will seek to remove a small part (corresponding to the excess and the cause of nerve compression) of ligament or posterior joints in order to free the passage of nerves.

The results of a prospective series of patients confirmed the effectiveness of the method both on stenosis and on postoperative spinal stability.

Indications

First of all, you need to know what causes the narrowing of the lumbar vertebral canal to see in which case lumbar recalibration is suitable.

La spine extends from your neck to your lower back. The bones in your spine form what is called the spinal canal, which protects your spinal cord. There are many people who are born with a small spinal canal (congenital cause). But most spinal stenoses or strictures occur when something happens to narrow the space in the spinal canal.

Causes may include:

Bony growth 

The damage caused by lumbar osteoarthritis ou zygapophyseal on the bones of the spine can cause the formation of bone spurs (or osteophytes), which can grow into the spinal canal. Paget's disease, a bone disease that usually affects adults, can also cause bone overgrowth in the spine.

herniated disc

We all have a kind of soft cushion between our vertebrae. These cushions are like shock absorbers, but with age they dry out. When there are cracks on the outside of a disc, the soft inner material leaks out of the spinal cord and begins to press on it or on the nerves.

The thickened ligaments

The tough cords that help hold the bones in your spine together can become stiff and thickened over time. Which causes them to bulge in your spinal canal. For example, a yellow ligament hypertrophy can reduce the size of the spinal canal.

Tumors

Surpluses or growths that are abnormal form in the spinal cord. Specifically in the membranes covering the spinal cord (the space between your spinal cord and your vertebrae).

Injuries to the vertebral column 

When you are the victim of a car accident, dislocations or fractures of the vertebrae can be provoked. Indeed, a fragment of bone that has moved can damage the inside of your spinal canal. Swelling of surrounding tissues immediately after back surgery can also put pressure on the spinal cord or nerves.

To know other causes of narrow lumbar canal, see the following article.

Procedure

Lumbar recalibration is an operation that takes place under general anesthesia. It is usually necessary to place a drain which will be worn for 2-3 days, in order to reduce the risk of formation of a hematoma. The procedure itself takes less than 90 minutes, depending on the case and the surgical procedure.

Essentially, the goal will be to increase the space in the spinal canal narrowed by one of the causes mentioned above. The orthopedic doctor can carry out one of the following operations:

The first survey can usually be done the same day. In all, the length of hospitalization is 2-4 days, although some patients leave the next day. In case of complications, we will use a different approach where the patient will remain bedridden while healing.

The goal of the operation is to reduce pain and other symptoms (such as paresthesias) due to nerve compression. However, like any operation, there can be complications. This is what we will see in the next section.

to have more space can reduce the symptoms of your stricture. However, for other people the symptoms may get worse with surgery. And there are also other risks that you may face: such as infection, tearing of the spinal cord membrane, blood clot and neurological deterioration, etc.

Complications and risks

Possible complications include:

  • an infection
  • a tear in the membrane of the spinal cord
  • a blood clot
  • neurological deterioration, etc.

Unfortunately, surgery is not always successful. This depends in particular on the pre-operative condition of the patient, and his prognosis. Thus, the symptoms experienced before the operation may persist, such as:

  • Numbness of the lower limbs
  • Leg weaknesses
  • Balance issues
  • Incontinence disorders
  • Paralysis

After the operation, it is essential to contact your doctor if you ever observe any of the following signs:

  • Redness, swelling or foul odor near the incision site.
  • Swelling or tenderness in the legs.
  • Worsening of pain near the incision site, shoulder or stomach.
  • Fever.
  • Difficulty breathing or swallowing.
  • Bowel or bladder control problems.

Recovery and rehabilitation after lumbar recalibration

After a lumbar recalibration operation, convalescence and rehabilitation are essential to regain a normal lifestyle. Indeed, you must follow rehabilitation sessions which will last on average 3 to 4 weeks at least.

You should know that the first objectives of rehabilitation after a recalibration are to help you manage your pain and limit any inflammation you may feel. It is also important to minimize muscle spasms. Painkillers, anti-inflammatories, or muscle relaxants may help control your symptoms.

Un physiotherapist (physiotherapist) will show you exercises that strengthen the muscles and stabilize the back. Reducing pain and restoring full range of motion so you can be fully active again are the long-term goals of your therapy.

There are many exercise choices available to patients. If a therapist and patient work together, they can come up with alternatives that will greatly benefit the patient's physical condition and ability to return to activity on almost any level.

Patients often wonder if and when they will be able to resume certain activities after a recalibration. Much depends on how they respond to exercise and can prepare the muscles to protect the spine during this activity. The patient/therapist team works well in this situation because the therapist has the opportunity to observe the patient's movement and strength tolerances over time.

Back to top

Recalibrage lombaire : La solution au canal lombaire étroit ?

Recalibrage lombaire : La solution au canal lombaire étroit ?

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

Le rétrécissement du canal rachidien réfère à une condition appelée canal lombaire étroit. Cette diminution d’espace peut comprimer la moelle épinière et les racines nerveuses émergents du rachis.

 

Parmi les traitements disponibles, une chirurgie visant à élargir le diamètre du canal rachidien peut se faire : il s’agit du recalibrage lombaire. Cet article discute de cette opération en mentionnant sa procédure, les risques associés, et la convalescence permettant la reprise des activités.

Définition

 

Pour mieux comprendre le recalibrage lombaire, il faut préalablement se familiariser avec le canal lombaire étroit. Tel que mentionné, il s’agit d’une diminution de taille du canal rachidien (également appelé canal vertébral) au niveau des vertèbres lombaires (qualifiées de L1 à L5). Normalement, ce canal est d’environ 15 mm de diamètre, mais il est considéré «étroit» lorsqu’il est inférieur à 13 mm.

 

canal lombaire étroit à l'IRM

 

Pour tout savoir sur le canal lombaire étroit (incluant les symptômes, les causes, et la prise en charge), consultez l’article suivant.

 

Indications chirurgicales

 

Parmi les options thérapeutiques, on compte des techniques conservatrices telles que la médication et les exercices. Si on constate une absence de soulagement, on envisage alors des options plus drastiques telles que l’opération.

 

Plus précisément, on considère la chirurgie en présence des situations suivantes :

 

 

Recalibrage lombaire

 

Le recalibrage lombaire est une technique chirugicale permettant justement d’élargir le canal rachidien dans le traitement du canal lombaire étroit. Essentiellement, on va chercher à enlever une petite partie (correspondant à l’excédent et la cause de compression nerveuse) de ligament ou d’articulations postérieures afin de libérer le passage des nerfs.

 

Les résultats d’une série prospective des patients ont confirmé l’efficacité de la méthode tant sur la sténose que sur la stabilité rachidienne postopératoire.

 

 

Indications

 

Avant tout, il faut savoir ce qui cause le rétrécissement du canal vertébral lombaire pour voir dans quel cas le recalibrage lombaire est adapté.

 

La colonne vertébrale s’étend de votre cou au bas du dos. Les os de votre colonne vertébrale forment ce qu’on nomme le canal rachidien, qui protège votre moelle épinière. Il y a de nombreuses personnes qui sont nées avec un petit canal rachidien (cause congénitale). Mais la plupart des sténoses vertébrales ou rétrécissements surviennent lorsque quelque chose se produit pour réduire l’espace au niveau du canal rachidien.

 

Les causes peuvent inclure :

 

Excroissance osseuse 

 

Les dommages causés par l’arthrose lombaire ou zygapophysaire sur les os de la colonne vertébrale peuvent provoquer la formation d’éperons osseux (ou ostéophytes), qui peuvent se développer dans le canal rachidien. La maladie de Paget, une maladie osseuse qui affecte généralement les adultes, peut également provoquer une prolifération osseuse dans la colonne vertébrale.

 

La hernie discale

 

On a tous une sorte de coussin moelleux entre nos vertèbres. Ces coussins sont comme des amortisseurs, mais avec l’âge, ils se dessèchent. Lorsqu’il y a des fissures extérieures d’un disque, le matériau intérieur qui est mou s’échappe de la moelle épinière et commence à s’appuyer sur cette dernière ou sur les nerfs.

 

Les ligaments épaissis

 

Les cordes résistantes qui aident à maintenir les os de votre colonne vertébrale ensemble peuvent devenir raides et épaissies avec le temps. Ce qui fait qu’ils gonflent dans votre canal rachidien. Par exemple, un hypertrophie du ligament jaune peut réduire la taille du canal rachidien.

 

Les tumeurs

 

Des surplus ou excroissances qui sont anormaux se forment dans la moelle épinière. Plus précisément dans les membranes recouvrant la moelle épinière (espace qui se trouve entre votre moelle épinière et vos vertèbres).

 

Les blessures à la colonne de vertèbres 

 

Lorsque vous êtes victime d’un accident de voiture, des luxations ou des fractures, des vertèbres peuvent être provoquées. En effet, un fragment d’os qui s’est déplacé peut abîmer l’intérieur de votre canal rachidien. Le gonflement des tissus avoisinants immédiatement après une chirurgie du dos peut également exercer une pression sur la moelle épinière ou les nerfs.

 

Pour connaître d’autres causes de canal lombaire étroit, consultez l’article suivant.

 

 

Procédure

Le recalibrage lombaire est une opération qui se déroule sous anesthésie générale. Il faut généralement placer un drain qui sera porté pendant 2-3 jours, dans le but de réduire le risque de formation d’un hématome. L’intervention en tant que telle dure moins de 90 minutes, en fonction du cas et de la procédure chirurgicale.

 

Essentiellement, l’objectif sera d’augmenter l’espace au niveau du canal rachidien retréci par une des causes mentionnées ci-dessus. Le médecin orthopédiste peut procéder à une des interventions suivantes :

 

 

Le premier levé peut s’effectuer généralement le même jour. En tout, la durée d’hospitalisation est de 2-4 jours, bien que certains patients quitte le lendemain. En cas de complications, on va utiliser une approche différente où le patient restera alité le temps de guérir.

 

L’objectif de l’opération est de réduire la douleur et autres symptômes (comme les paresthésies) dus à la compression nerveuse. Cependant, comme toute opération, il peut y avoir des complications. C’est ce que nous verrons dans la prochaine section.

 

pour avoir plus d’espace peuvent réduire les symptômes de votre sténose. Cependant, pour d’autres personnes les symptômes peuvent s’aggraver avec la chirurgie. Et il y a aussi d’autres risques que vous pouvez encourir : tels qu’une infection, une déchirure de la membrane de la moelle épinière, un caillot sanguin et une détérioration neurologique, etc.

Complications et risques

 

Parmi les complications possibles, on compte :

 

  • une infection
  • une déchirure de la membrane de la moelle épinière
  • un caillot sanguin
  • une détérioration neurologique, etc.

 

Malheureusement, la chirurgie ne s’avère pas toujours un succès. Ceci dépend notamment de la condition pré-opératoire du patient, et de son pronostic. Ainsi, les symptômes ressentis avant l’opération peuvent persister, comme par exemple :

 

  • L’engourdissement des membres inférieurs
  • Les faiblesses des jambes
  • Problèmes d’équilibre
  • Troubles d’incontinence
  • Paralysie

 

Après l’opération, il est primordial de communiquer avec son médecin si jamais vous observez un des signes suivants :

 

  • Rougeur, gonflement ou odeur nauséabonde près du site d’incision.
  • Gonflement ou sensibilité des jambes.
  • Aggravation de la douleur près du site de l’incision, de l’épaule ou du ventre.
  • Fièvre.
  • Difficulté à respirer ou à avaler.
  • Problèmes de contrôle des intestins ou de la vessie.

 

 

Convalescence et rééducation après un recalibrage lombaire

 

Après une opération de recalibrage des lombaires, la convalescence et la rééducation sont primordiale pour retrouver un train de vie normal. En effet, vous devez suivre des séances de rééducation qui dureront en moyenne 3 à 4 semaines au minimum.

 

Il faut savoir que les premiers objectifs de la rééducation après un recalibrage sont de vous aider à gérer votre douleur et à limiter toute inflammation que vous pourriez ressentir. Il est également important de minimiser les spasmes musculaires. Des médicaments anti-douleurs, anti-inflammatoires ou décontractants musculaires pourraient vous aider à contrôler vos symptômes.

 

Un kinésithérapeute (physiothérapeute) vous montrera des exercices qui renforcent les muscles et stabilisent le dos. Réduire la douleur et restaurer une amplitude de mouvement complète afin que vous puissiez être à nouveau pleinement actif sont les objectifs à long terme de votre thérapie.

 

Il existe de nombreux choix d’exercices disponibles pour les patients. Si un thérapeute et un patient travaillent ensemble, ils peuvent trouver des alternatives qui bénéficieront grandement à la condition physique du patient et à sa capacité à reprendre ses activités à presque tous les niveaux.

 

Les patients se demandent souvent si et quand ils pourront reprendre certaines activités après un recalibrage. Cela dépend en grande partie de la façon dont ils réagissent à l’exercice et peuvent préparer les muscles à protéger la colonne vertébrale pendant cette activité. L’équipe patient/thérapeute travaille bien dans cette situation, car le thérapeute a la possibilité d’observer les tolérances de mouvement et de force du patient au fil du temps.