Burning sensation in the middle of the back and shoulder blade: What to do? (causes)

back pain and back pain

Do you have a feeling of burn in the middle of your back and shoulder blade? If so, you are not alone. This is a common problem that can be caused by many different factors.

In this article, we will discuss the causes of this problem and what you can do to get relief.

Dorsal Spine Anatomy

La dorsal column (or thoracic) is directly connected to the rib cage and helps protect major organs such as the heart, lungs and liver. The vertebrae thoracic do not have the same characteristics as those present at the cervical and lumbar level. Let's start by reviewing certain notions of anatomy that will help to better understand back osteoarthritis.

Le dorsal spine account 12 vertebrae superimposed on each other, and numbered from D1 to D12. These vertebrae are located between the cervical spine and Lumbar spine, and include several structures (discs, facet joints, discs, nerves, muscles, ligaments, etc.).

Dorsalgia: what is it?

La back pain is a type of back pain that refers to pain in the back region (middle back ou between the shoulder blades). It can be caused by a number of different factors, ranging from muscle tension to poor posture.

La pain can be sharp (short-lived) or chronic (long-lived), and it can be mild or severe. Back pain is one of the most common types of pain, and it affects people of all ages.

There are many treatment options for back pain, but the best treatment varies depending on the severity of each case. Whatever the case, it is important to consult a doctor to determine the best treatment.

Burning sensation in the middle of the back and shoulder blade: Possible causes?

The feeling of burn in the middle of the back and the scapula has many possible causes. Among the most common causes are:

  • Scoliosis: It is a condition in which the spine bends to one side. It can be caused by birth defects, muscle imbalances, or spinal injuries.
  • Kyphosis: This is a condition in which the spine curves excessively forward. It can be caused by poor posture, osteoporosis or other degenerative diseases of the spine.
  • Osteoarthritis: This is a condition in which the joints of the spine degenerate. It can be caused by aging, repetitive movements or obesity.
  • Dorsal hernia : This is a condition in which the discs in the spine bulge or rupture. It can be caused by heavy lifting, pregnancy, or other spinal injuries.
  • Stress: Stress can be a contributing factor to feelings of burn in the middle of the back and the scapula. Stress can cause muscle tension, which in turn can lead to inflammation of nerves and blood vessels.
  • Intercostal neuralgia : This is a condition in which the nerves in the spine are swollen or damaged. It can be caused by spinal injury or degenerative spinal disease.

Burning sensation in the back and chest

A feeling of burn in the back and chest can be caused by various factors. In some cases, it may be due to burns stomach or acid reflux, in which case antacids may provide relief.

It is also common to experience this feeling after eating spicy foods. Sometimes, however, the feeling of burn may be a sign of something more serious, such as a heart attack or pneumonia.

If the sensation is accompanied by shortness of breath, coughing, or chest pain, it is important to consult a doctor immediately.

When to worry

A burning pain in the middle of the back or the scapula is generally not a cause for concern. However, if the pain is accompanied by other symptoms, it may be a sign of a more serious condition.

For example, non-mechanical pain that persists for more than a few weeks could be a sign of cancer. Night sweats, weight loss and fatigue are also common symptoms of cancer.

Inflammatory conditions such as arthritis can also cause burning pain in the back or the scapula. However, these conditions are usually accompanied by other symptoms, such as stiffness and swelling.

Although these conditions are rarer, it is important to see a doctor if you have any of these symptoms.

Diagnosis of a burning sensation in the middle of the back and shoulder blade

The diagnosis of a feeling of burn in the middle of the back or the scapula usually begins with a physical exam and discussion of symptoms. If needed, other tests may be done to make a diagnosis.

Physical exams

A physical examination is usually sufficient to establish the diagnosis of a feeling of burn in the middle of the back or the scapula. During the examination, the doctor will look for signs of injury or illness. He or she will also examine the area for tender spots.

Additional tests

In some cases, other tests may be needed to make a diagnosis. For example, A neurological examination can be done, especially if the pain radiates or is associated with paresthesias.

A medical imaging, such as an MRI or CT scan, may also be ordered to rule out other causes for the sensation of burn. An EMG may also be ordered to assess nerve function in the affected area. Ultimately, a medical professional can help clarify the diagnosis and offer treatment options.

What to do when you have a burning sensation in the middle of the back and shoulder blade?

The feeling of burn in the middle of the back and the scapula is usually treated with conservative measures such as over-the-counter pain relievers, ice, and heat therapy.

Rehabilitation exercises can greatly help relieve symptoms, improve strength and function, and also improve posture.

Some people use alternative treatments such as acupuncture or natural products and observe beneficial effects, although these modalities have not been proven from a scientific point of view.

Tools and accessories can also be used independently. They do not address the cause of the pain, but may provide temporary relief. Obviously, they are not as effective as an individualized approach from a healthcare professional.

Among the recommended products we have:

In some rare cases, invasive measures such as injections or surgery may be necessary. However, they are generally only recommended if other treatments have failed to provide relief, and the symptoms greatly affect daily activities.

What about natural remedies?

Although they are not supported by solid scientific evidence, several natural products and home remedies are used to treat back pain, especially for their anti-inflammatory properties.

Here is a non-exhaustive list of plants and essential oils that are effective in controlling pain and inflammation. The products are available on the site Country. Use promo code LOMBAFIT15 if you wish to obtain one of the following products, or any remedy aimed at relieving your symptoms and improving your quality of life:

  • Turmeric. Thanks to its antioxidant and anti-inflammatory powers very powerful, turmeric is one of the most used plants in a culinary and therapeutic context. The composition of turmeric is essentially made of essential oils, vitamins (B1, B2, B6, C, E, K) and trace elements. But it is to its composition rich in curcumin and curcuminoids that we owe them and calm skin of this spice.
  • Ginger. In addition to the special flavor it brings to the kitchen and its aphrodisiac properties, ginger is a root well known for its anti-inflammatory powers. the gingerol gives it its anti-inflammatory action. It is an active component acting on the inflammatory pain related to chronic joint inflammatory diseases, including rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, rheumatic diseases, etc. It has been proven that this active element is also effective in acting on the inflammation linked to arthritis and sciatica. Ginger also has other benefits thanks to its high potassium content and its richness in trace elements (calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, sodium) and vitamins (provitamin and vitamin B9).
  • Omega-3s. Omega-3s are polyunsaturated fatty acids that play a very important role in the functioning of our body. They are provided by food in three natural forms: docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), alpha linolenic acid (ALA) and eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA). Beyond their action on the brain and the cardiovascular system, omega-3s prove very effective against inflammation. Indeed, they have the ability to act on the inflammatory mechanisms in osteoarthritis by slowing down cartilage destruction, thus they reduce the intensity of osteoarthritis pain. Sciatica, being most often linked to an inflammation secondary to a herniated disc, it can also respond to omega-3 provided it is consumed regularly. 
  • Lemon eucalyptusEucalyptus is a plant most often used in the form of herbal tea or essential oil. She would have anti-inflammatory effects which give it the ability to act on the bone and joint pain in general and the pain of sciatica in particular.
  • wintergreen. Wintergreen is a shrub from which a very interesting essential oil is extracted. It is one of the most used essential oils in aromatherapy. This oil extracted from the shrub bearing the same name, is used in massage to relieve sciatica and act like a analgesic. Indeed, it provides a heating effect thanks to its ability toactivate blood circulation locally.

In short, the feeling of burn in the middle of the back and the scapula can be a debilitating condition, but fortunately there are many effective treatment options. Talk to your doctor to find out which option is best for you.

Back to top

mal de dos et douleur dorsale

Sensation de brûlure dans le milieu du dos et l’omoplate : Que faire ? (causes)

Avez-vous une sensation de brûlure au milieu de votre dos et de votre omoplate ? Si c’est le cas, vous n’êtes pas seul. Il s’agit d’un problème courant qui peut être causé par de nombreux facteurs différents.

 

Dans cet article, nous allons aborder les causes de ce problème et ce que vous pouvez faire pour être soulagé.

Untitled - November 5, 2022
Untitled - November 5, 2022

Anatomie de la colonne dorsale

 

La colonne dorsale (ou thoracique) est directement reliée à la cage thoracique et contribue à protéger les principaux organes tels que le cœur, les poumons et le foie. Les vertèbres thoraciques n’ont pas les mêmes caractéristiques que celles présentes au niveau cervical et lombaire. Commençons par réviser certaines notions d’anatomie qui permettront de mieux comprendre l’arthrose dorsale.

 

Le rachis dorsal compte 12 vertèbres superposées les unes sur les autres, et numérotées de D1 à D12. Ces vertèbres se situent entre le rachis cervical et le rachis lombaire, et comportent plusieurs structures (disques, articulations facettaires, disques, nerfs, muscles, ligaments, etc).

 

 

anatomie du rachis dorsal (colonne thoracique)
Source

 

 

Dorsalgie : qu’est ce que c’est ?

 

La dorsalgie est un type de mal de dos qui fait référence à une douleur dans la région dorsale. Elle peut être causée par un certain nombre de facteurs différents, allant de la tension musculaire à une mauvaise posture.

 

Dorsalgie 2 Sensation de brûlure dans le milieu du dos et l'omoplate
Source

 

La douleur peut être aiguë (de courte durée) ou chronique (de longue durée), et elle peut être légère ou intense. La dorsalgie est l’un des types de douleur les plus courants, et elle touche des personnes de tous âges.

 

Il existe de nombreuses options de traitement d’une dorsalgie, mais le meilleur traitement varie en fonction de la gravité de chaque cas. Quel que soit le cas, il est important de consulter un médecin pour déterminer le meilleur traitement.

 

 

 

Sensation de brûlure dans le milieu du dos et l’omoplate : Causes possibles ?

 

La sensation de brûlure au milieu du dos et de l’omoplate a de nombreuses causes possibles. Parmi les causes les plus fréquentes, on trouve :

 

  • Scoliose : Il s’agit d’une affection dans laquelle la colonne vertébrale se courbe d’un côté. Elle peut être causée par des anomalies congénitales, des déséquilibres musculaires ou des blessures à la colonne vertébrale.

 

  • Cyphose : Il s’agit d’une affection dans laquelle la colonne vertébrale se courbe excessivement vers l’avant. Elle peut être causée par une mauvaise posture, l’ostéoporose ou d’autres maladies dégénératives de la colonne vertébrale.

 

  • Arthrose : Il s’agit d’une affection dans laquelle les articulations de la colonne vertébrale dégénèrent. Elle peut être causée par le vieillissement, les mouvements répétitifs ou l’obésité.

 

  • Hernie dorsale : Il s’agit d’une affection dans laquelle les disques de la colonne vertébrale se gonflent ou se rompent. Elle peut être causée par le soulèvement d’objets lourds, la grossesse ou d’autres blessures à la colonne vertébrale.

 

  • Stress : Le stress peut être un facteur contribuant à la sensation de brûlure au milieu du dos et de l’omoplate. Le stress peut provoquer des tensions musculaires, ce qui peut à son tour entraîner une inflammation des nerfs et des vaisseaux sanguins.

 

  • Névralgie intercostale : Il s’agit d’une affection dans laquelle les nerfs de la colonne vertébrale sont enflés ou endommagés. Elle peut être causée par une blessure à la colonne vertébrale ou une maladie dégénérative de la colonne vertébrale.

 

 

Sensation de brûlure dans le dos et la poitrine

 

Une sensation de brûlure dans le dos et la poitrine peut être causée par divers facteurs. Dans certains cas, elle peut être due à des brûlures d’estomac ou à un reflux acide, auquel cas les antiacides peuvent apporter un soulagement.

 

douleur à la poitrine et au sternum
Source

 

Il est également fréquent de ressentir cette sensation après avoir mangé des aliments épicés. Parfois, cependant, la sensation de brûlure peut être le signe de quelque chose de plus grave, comme une crise cardiaque ou une pneumonie.

 

Si la sensation s’accompagne d’un essoufflement, d’une toux ou d’une douleur thoracique, il est important de consulter immédiatement un médecin.

 

 

Quand s’inquiéter ?

 

Une douleur brûlante au milieu du dos ou de l’omoplate n’est généralement pas une source d’inquiétude. Toutefois, si la douleur est accompagnée d’autres symptômes, elle peut être le signe d’une affection plus grave.

 

questionnaire médical
Source

 

Par exemple, une douleur non mécanique qui persiste pendant plus de quelques semaines pourrait être un signe de cancer. Les sueurs nocturnes, la perte de poids et la fatigue sont également des symptômes courants du cancer.

 

Les affections inflammatoires telles que l’arthrite peuvent également provoquer des douleurs brûlantes dans le dos ou l’omoplate. Toutefois, ces affections s’accompagnent généralement d’autres symptômes, comme la raideur et l’enflure.

 

Bien que ces affections soient plus rares, il est important de consulter un médecin si vous présentez l’un de ces symptômes.

 

 

Diagnostic d’une sensation de brûlure dans le milieu du dos et l’omoplate

 

Le diagnostic d’une sensation de brûlure au milieu du dos ou de l’omoplate commence généralement par un examen physique et une discussion des symptômes. Si nécessaire, d’autres tests peuvent être effectués pour établir un diagnostic.

 

consultation médicale chez le médecin
Source

 

Examens physiques

 

Un examen physique est généralement suffisant pour établir le diagnostic d’une sensation de brûlure au milieu du dos ou de l’omoplate. Lors de l’examen, le médecin cherchera des signes de blessure ou de maladie. Il ou elle examinera également la zone pour détecter des points sensibles.

 

Tests supplémentaires

 

Dans certains cas, d’autres tests peuvent être nécessaires pour établir un diagnostic. Par exemple, Un examen neurologique peut être effectué, en particulier si la douleur irradie ou est associée à des paresthésies.

 

irm
Source

 

Une imagerie médicale, telle qu’une IRM ou un scanner, peut également être demandée pour exclure d’autres causes de la sensation de brûlure. Un EMG peut également être demandé pour évaluer la fonction des nerfs dans la zone affectée. En définitive, un professionnel de la santé peut aider à clarifier le diagnostic et à proposer des options de traitement.

 

 

Que faire lorsqu’on a une sensation de brûlure dans le milieu du dos et l’omoplate ?

 

La sensation de brûlure au milieu du dos et de l’omoplate est généralement traitée par des mesures conservatrices telles que les analgésiques en vente libre, la glace et la thérapie par la chaleur.

 

 

Des exercices de rééducations peuvent grandement aider à soulager les symptômes, améliorer la force et la fonction, et également améliorer la posture.

 

 

Certaines personnes ont recours à des traitements alternatifs tels que l’acupuncture ou les produits naturels et observent des effets bénéfiques, bien que ces modalités n’ont pas faits leurs preuves d’un point de vue scientifique.

 

À LIRE :   Comment soulager un mal de dos rapidement? (36 conseils)

 

Dans certains cas rares, des mesures invasives telles que des injections ou une intervention chirurgicale peuvent être nécessaires. Cependant, elles ne sont généralement recommandées que si les autres traitements n’ont pas réussi à apporter un soulagement, et que les symptômes affectent grandement les activités quotidiennes.

 

En somme, la sensation de brûlure au milieu du dos et de l’omoplate peut être une condition débilitante, mais heureusement, il existe de nombreuses options de traitement efficaces. Discutez avec votre médecin pour savoir quelle option vous convient le mieux.

Cet article vous-a-t-il été utile ?

Indiquez votre appréciation de l'article

Note des lecteurs 0 / 5. Nombre de votes 0

Si vous avez bénéficié de cet article...

Suivez-nous sur Youtube et Facebook

Navré que vous n'ayez pu trouver réponse à vos questions !

Aidez-nous à améliorer cet article !

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l'article ?

FORMATION 100% OFFERTE

Découvrez ce qu'on ne vous jamais dit sur vos douleurs chroniques...