Cyriax syndrome: what to do to cure? (Symptoms and Treatment)

cyriax syndrome

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine 

You feel a chest pain when you make a special effort like coughing, sneezing or lifting an object? It is perhaps the Cyriax syndrome. It is a condition that affects ribs and which leads to intercostal nerve compression.

Although there is no treatment to permanently get rid of this rib pain, there are various solutions to learn to live better with it. Discover them in this article.

Definition of Cyriax syndrome

Le Cyriax syndrome is a condition of low ribs. It is also referred to as the syndrome of slippery coast,  snapping coast or, costal end syndrome.

It mainly affects the 8eThe 9e and 10e ribs, most often on the right. The latter will undergo a subluxation at the level of their anterior cartilage.

As a reminder, these ribs are called "false ribs". because their point of attachment to the sternum is indirect. In fact, they are attached by the costal cartilage common to the last three ribs.

The cartilage that composes them has the particularity of being fragile, just like the interchondral ligaments. This makes the area more susceptible to malformation.

Thus, the Cyriax syndrome consists of a tilting of the cartilage that has become more mobile than normal (hypermobile). Indeed, this subluxation comes from a costal cartilage that is too flexible. Two cases are possible: either the cartilage tilts below, or it tilts above. This can lead to compression of a nearby nerve.

Specifically, the intercostal nerve located between two ribs is compressed or irritated, hence the appearance of strong and spontaneous pains, as well as other characteristic symptoms of Cyriax syndrome.

What are the causes of this syndrome?

Research shows that men are the most affected by Cyriax syndrome, regardless of their age. In the majority of cases, this syndrome is the result of physical trauma.

There can be different types of trauma that can cause this disorder. First, it can be direct trauma. In this case, the shock is made directly on the ribs. For example, we can cite:

  • certain sports such as boxing or rugby where there is always contact;
  • sports requiring sudden movements (golf, shot put, etc.);
  • falls (for example, while skiing);
  • work using force: pushing a vehicle by leaning on its ribs;
  • road accidents (often a collision with the steering wheel of the car);
  • traffic accidents.

Trauma can also be indirect. This is often the case of an unsuitable muscular effort such as:

  • particularly intense pushing efforts (such as childbirth);
  • tensile forces;
  • lifting heavy loads;
  • a sneeze louder than usual;
  • a bad posture habit.

What about the symptoms of Cyriax syndrome?

Most patients who suffer from this syndrome complain of localized pain, particularly in the chest. It can radiate to other areas of the body such as the back and abdomen. This pain can also be accompanied by snapping or jumping sensation in the ribs.

The characteristics of abdominal pain during the syndrome

In addition to rib pain which is the main complaint of the patient, the latter may also experience abdominal pain. These are explained by a intercostal nerve irritation. This nerve is compressed during subluxation. Sometimes the pain can be felt in the upper part of the stomach.

The painful sensation is not permanent. It is generally triggered by particular efforts or movements of the trunk (especially extreme and sudden movements), a cough, a laugh or even a deep inspiration. It is most often relieved by rest.

Digestive disorders

Le Cyriax syndrome can also be responsible for poor digestion when pain occurs in the back.

How is this disorder diagnosed?

Le diagnosis of Cyriax syndrome is performed following a physical examination. The latter is based on the palpation of the ribs. This is the "picking manoeuvre". The examiner's finger will be placed under the costal margin. He will gently pull his finger up. This movement pinches the overlying intercostal nerve, and will then cause a pain characteristic of Cyriax syndrome.

In some cases imaging is required to confirm the diagnosis.

Imaging examination in case of Cyriax syndrome

In principle, we often ask for x-rays if lesions of the ribs. Imaging tests will detect the presence of fracture or tumor on the ribs or cartilage. In fact, this kind of balance sheet is above all necessary to find the origin of the rib pain. It eliminates serious causes.

Note that it is important to consult a health professional as soon as you feel a chest pain or abdominal. Indeed, a clinical examination will make it possible to clarify the diagnosis, and to exclude an alternative attack (sometimes more serious) which can come from:

Differential diagnosis of Cyriax syndrome 

Treatment: Can Cyriax syndrome be cured?

There are various treatments to relieve Cyriax syndrome. They are all symptomatic, that is, they are aimed at relieving the syndrome. In fact, there is still no curative treatment for Cyriax syndrome. However, it should be noted that one can very well live with this condition.

There are drugs that relieve the pain felt by the patient. These include muscle relaxants and analgesics. The goal is to allow the intercostal muscles to not further sensitize the compressed nerve.

Un elastic bandage can also be used to support the trunk area and stabilize the ribs. This will provide an optimal environment for healing, and the avoidance of sudden or extreme trunk movements.

You can also make a botulinum toxin infiltration to calm the symptoms of a Cyriax syndrome. This technique is indicated if the pain becomes unbearable for the patient and interferes with the exercise of daily tasks. This is not a trivial intervention. The toxin will paralyze the intercostal muscle for some time. This relieves the compression of the nerve during this time. The effects of botulinum toxin can last for a few weeks or a few months.

La physiotherapy also has a place in the treatment of Cyriax syndrome. It is based in particular on the stimulation of the abdominal, dorsal and intercostal muscles.

You can also consult an osteopath to help you manage this painful rib syndrome. Osteopathy will work on your costal cartilage through various osteopathic manipulations. One of the objectives will also be to work on the posture if it influences the symptoms. At the same time, osteopathy will reduce inflammation in the ribs. The recommended exercises will also reduce tension and pressure on your rib cage.

Among the natural methods, yoga is often used. The goal is always to relieve compression in the nerve. We recommend two postures in particular to improve the opening of the rib cage:

  • sheathing;
  • and chest extensions.

When the usual drug treatments and natural medicine have not shown efficacy, it is possible to resort to surgery. Although rarely used to treat Cyriax syndrome, it is sometimes indicated when the pain felt becomes unbearable or debilitating.

The principle of surgical treatment of Cyriax syndrome is simple: it consists of removing the ribs in question (costectomy). The goal is to lift the compression on the nerve in order to relieve the pain. It should only be noted that the risk of compression at the level of the lower ribs is not ruled out.

To live with Cyriax syndrome, you can adopt certain habits. First, think about working on your posture. You have to learn to stand up straight, but surtout Vary your position regularly so as not to cause more pressure on your chest.

To know 6 tips from the physio to straighten your back (including exercises), see the following article.

La rib pain or abdominal related to a Cyriax syndrome is triggered by the efforts. Stop torturing your mind that this is a incurable syndrome at the risk of worrying you all the time. This will only accentuate the painful sensation. Think about managing your stress. You have many breathing exercises to help you.

What about natural remedies?

Although they are not supported by solid scientific evidence, several natural products and home remedies are used to treat rib pain, in particular for their anti-inflammatory properties. It is essential to consult a doctor beforehand, mainly to avoid drug interactions and side effects.

Here is a non-exhaustive list of plants and essential oils that are effective in controlling pain and inflammation. The products are available on the site Country. Use promo code LOMBAFIT15 if you wish to obtain one of the following products, or any remedy aimed at relieving your symptoms and improving your quality of life:

  • Turmeric. Thanks to its antioxidant and anti-inflammatory powers very powerful, turmeric is one of the most used plants in a culinary and therapeutic context. The composition of turmeric is essentially made of essential oils, vitamins (B1, B2, B6, C, E, K) and trace elements. But it is to its composition rich in curcumin and curcuminoids that we owe them and calm skin of this spice.
  • Ginger. In addition to the special flavor it brings to the kitchen and its aphrodisiac properties, ginger is a root well known for its anti-inflammatory powers. the gingerol gives it its anti-inflammatory action. It is an active component acting on the inflammatory pain related to chronic joint inflammatory diseases, including rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, rheumatic diseases, etc. It has been proven that this active element is also effective in acting on the inflammation linked to arthritis and sciatica. Ginger also has other benefits thanks to its high potassium content and its richness in trace elements (calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, sodium) and vitamins (provitamin and vitamin B9).
  • Omega-3s. Omega-3s are polyunsaturated fatty acids that play a very important role in the functioning of our body. They are provided by food in three natural forms: docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), alpha linolenic acid (ALA) and eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA). Beyond their action on the brain and the cardiovascular system, omega-3s prove very effective against inflammation. Indeed, they have the ability to act on the inflammatory mechanisms in osteoarthritis by slowing down cartilage destruction, thus they reduce the intensity of osteoarthritis pain. Sciatica, being most often linked to an inflammation secondary to a herniated disc, it can also respond to omega-3 provided it is consumed regularly. 
  • Lemon eucalyptusEucalyptus is a plant most often used in the form of herbal tea or essential oil. She would have anti-inflammatory effects which give it the ability to act on the bone and joint pain in general and the pain of sciatica in particular.
  • wintergreen. Wintergreen is a shrub from which a very interesting essential oil is extracted. It is one of the most used essential oils in aromatherapy. This oil extracted from the shrub bearing the same name, is used in massage to relieve sciatica and act like a analgesic. Indeed, it provides a heating effect thanks to its ability toactivate blood circulation locally.

Remember that these products do not replace medical treatment. Do not hesitate to consult for support adapted to your condition.

Are you looking for solutions to relieve your pain?

Discover the opinion of our team of health professionals on various products available on the market (posture, sleep, physical pain), as well as our recommendations.

References 

Back to top

Syndrome de Cyriax : que faire pour guérir ? (Symptômes et traitement)

syndrome de cyriax

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille 

Vous ressentez une douleur au thorax lors que vous faites un effort particulier comme tousser, éternuer ou soulever un objet ? Il s’agit peut-être du syndrome de Cyriax. C’est une affection qui touche les côtes et qui entraine une compression du nerf intercostal.

Bien qu’il n’existe pas de traitement pour se débarrasser définitivement de cette douleur costale, il existe diverses solutions pour apprendre à mieux vivre avec. Découvrez-les dans cet article.

Définition du syndrome de Cyriax

Le syndrome de Cyriax est une affection de côtes basses. Il est également qualifié de syndrome de la côte glissante, de la côte claquante ou encore syndrome de l’extrémité costale.

Il touche principalement les 8e, la 9e et la 10e côtes, le plus souvent à droite. Ces dernières vont subir une subluxation au niveau de leur cartilage antérieur.

Pour rappel, ces côtes sont qualifiées de « fausses côtes » car leur point d’attache au sternum est indirect. En effet, elles s’attachent par le cartilage costal commun aux trois dernières côtes.

Le cartilage qui les compose a la particularité d’être fragile, tout comme les ligaments interchondraux. Ceci rend la zone plus susceptible à une malformation.

Ainsi, le syndrome de Cyriax consiste en un basculement du cartilage devenu plus mobile que la normale (hypermobile). En effet, cette subluxation provient d’un cartilage costal trop souple. Deux cas sont possibles : soit le cartilage bascule en dessous, soit il bascule au-dessus. Ceci peut entrainer la compression d’un nerf avoisinant.

Plus précisément, le nerf intercostal situé entre deux côtes est comprimé ou irrité, d’où l’apparition de douleurs fortes et spontanées, ainsi que d’autres symptômes caractéristiques du syndrome de Cyriax.

Quelles sont les causes de ce syndrome ?

Les recherches montrent que les hommes sont les plus touchés par le syndrome de Cyriax, et ce peu importe leur âge. Dans la majorité des cas, ce syndrome est la conséquence d’un traumatisme physique.

Il peut y avoir différents types de traumatismes susceptibles de provoquer ce trouble. En premier lieu, il peut s’agir d’un traumatisme direct. Dans ce cas, le choc se fait directement sur les côtes. On peut par exemple citer :

  • certains sports comme la boxe ou le rugby où il y a toujours un contact ;
  • des sports nécessitant des mouvements brusques (golf, lancer de poids, etc.) ;
  • les chutes (par exemple, en ski) ;
  • un travail utilisant la force : pousser un véhicule en s’appuyant sur ses côtes ;
  • les accidents de la voie publique (souvent, un choc contre le volant de la voiture) ;
  • les accidents de circulation.

Le traumatisme peut également être indirect. C’est souvent le cas d’un effort musculaire inadapté comme :

  • des efforts de poussée particulièrement intenses (comme un accouchement) ;
  • des efforts de traction ;
  • le soulèvement de charges lourdes ;
  • un éternuement plus fort que d’habitude ;
  • une mauvaise habitude sur la posture.

Qu’en est-il des symptômes du syndrome de Cyriax ?

La plupart des patients qui souffrent de ce syndrome se plaignent d’une douleur localisée notamment sur le thorax. Elle peut irradier vers d’autres régions du corps comme le dos et l’abdomen. Cette douleur peut également être accompagnée de claquement ou de sensation de ressaut au niveau des côtes.

Les caractéristiques d’une douleur abdominale au cours du syndrome

En plus de la douleur costale qui constitue la principale plainte du patient, ce dernier peut aussi ressentir des douleurs abdominales. Ces dernières s’expliquent par une irritation du nerf intercostal. Ce nerf est comprimé lors de la subluxation. Parfois, le mal peut se sentir sur la partie haute du ventre.

La sensation douloureuse n’est pas permanente. Elle est généralement déclenchée par des efforts ou des mouvements particuliers du tronc (surtout les mouvements extrêmes et brusques), une toux, un rire ou encore une inspiration profonde. Elle est le plus souvent calmée par le repos.

Des troubles de la digestion

Le syndrome de Cyriax peut également être responsable d’une mauvaise digestion quand la douleur se manifeste au niveau du dos.

Comment se fait le diagnostic de ce trouble ?

Le diagnostic du syndrome de Cyriax est effectué à la suite d’un examen physique. Ce dernier est basé sur la palpation des côtes. Il s’agit de la « manœuvre du crochetage ». Le doigt de l’examinateur va se placer sous le rebord costal. Il va tirer doucement son doigt vers le haut. Ce mouvement pince le nerf intercostal sus-jacent, et fera apparaitre alors une douleur caractéristique du syndrome de Cyriax.

Dans certains cas une imagerie est demandée pour confirmer le diagnostic.

L’examen d’imagerie en cas de syndrome de Cyriax

En principe, on demande souvent des radiographies si on suspecte des lésions des côtes. Les examens d’imagerie permettront de détecter la présence de fracture ou de tumeur sur les côtes ou les cartilages. En effet, ce genre de bilan est surtout nécessaire pour rechercher l’origine de la douleur costale. Il permet d’éliminer les causes graves.

Soulignons qu’il est important de consulter un professionnel de santé aussitôt qu’on ressent une douleur thoracique ou abdominale. En effet, un examen clinique permettra de clarifier le diagnostic, et exclure une atteinte alternative (parfois plus sérieuse) pouvant provenir de :

Diagnostic différentiel du syndrome de Cyriax 

Traitement : Peut-on guérir du syndrome de Cyriax ?

Il existe divers traitements pour soulager le syndrome de Cyriax. Ils sont tous symptomatiques, c’est-à-dire qu’ils visent à soulager le syndrome. En effet, il n’existe pas encore de traitement curatif pour le syndrome de Cyriax. Il faut toutefois noter qu’on peut très bien vivre avec cette condition.

Il existe des médicaments qui soulagent les douleurs ressenties par le patient. Ce sont notamment des décontractants musculaires et des antalgiques. Le but est de permettre aux muscles intercostaux de ne pas sensibiliser davantage le nerf comprimé.

Un bandage élastique peut également être utilisé pour supporté la région du tronc et stabiliser les côtes. Ceci permettra d’offrir un environnement optimal à la guérison, et l’évitement de mouvements brusques ou extrêmes du tronc.

On peut également faire une « infiltration de toxine botulique » pour calmer les symptômes d’un syndrome de Cyriax. Cette technique est indiquée si la douleur devient insupportable pour le patient et qu’elle gêne à l’exercice des tâches quotidiennes. Il ne s’agit pas d’une intervention banale. La toxine va paralyser le muscle intercostal pendant un certain temps. Ceci permet de lever la compression du nerf durant ce temps. Les effets de la toxine botulique peuvent durer quelques semaines ou quelques mois.

La kinésithérapie a également une place dans le traitement du syndrome de Cyriax. Elle repose notamment sur la stimulation des muscles abdominaux, dorsaux et intercostaux.

Vous pouvez aussi consulter un ostéopathe pour vous aider à gérer ce syndrome de côte douloureuse. L’ostéopathie va travailler sur votre cartilage costal via divers manipulations ostéopathiques. Un des objectifs sera également de travailler sur la posture si elle influence les symptômes. En même temps, l’ostéopathie permettra de réduire les inflammations au niveau des côtes. Les exercices préconisés vont aussi réduire les tensions et les pressions sur votre cage thoracique.

Parmi les méthodes naturelles, on a souvent recours au yoga. Le but reste toujours de soulager la compression au niveau du nerf. On préconise deux postures en particulier pour améliorer l’ouverture de la cage thoracique :

  • le gainage ;
  • et les extensions du thorax.

Quand les traitements médicamenteux habituels et la médecine naturelle n’ont pas montré d’efficacité, il est possible de faire recours à la chirurgie. Bien que rarement utilisée pour traitement le syndrome de Cyriax, celle-ci se trouve parfois indiquée lorsque la douleur ressentie devient insupportable ou invalidante.

Le principe du traitement chirurgical du syndrome de Cyriax est simple : il consiste à enlever les côtes en question (costectomie). Le but est de lever la compression sur le nerf afin de soulager la douleur. Il faut seulement noter que le risque de compression au niveau des côtes inférieures n’est pas écarté.

Pour vivre avec un syndrome de Cyriax, vous pouvez adopter certaines habitudes. En premier lieu, pense à travailler votre posture. Vous devez apprendre à vous tenir droit, mais surtout de varier régulièrement de position en vue de ne pas entrainer davantage de pression sur votre thorax.

Pour connaître 6 conseils du kiné visant à redresser votre dos (incluant des exercices), consultez l’article suivant.

La douleur costale ou abdominale liée à un syndrome de Cyriax est déclenchée par les efforts. Arrêter de vous torturer l’esprit à l’idée qu’il s’agit d’un syndrome incurable au risque de vous angoisser à longueur de temps. Cela ne fera qu’accentuer la sensation douloureuse. Pensez à gérer votre stress. Vous avez de nombreux exercices de respiration pour vous aider.

Qu’en est-il des remèdes naturels ?

Bien qu’ils ne soient pas supportés d’évidences scientifiques solides, plusieurs produits naturels et remèdes de grand-mère sont utilisés pour traiter les douleurs costales, notamment pour leur pouvoir anti-inflammatoire. Il est primordial de consulter un médecin au préalable, principalement pour éviter les interactions médicamenteuses et effets secondaires.

Voici une liste non exhaustive de plantes et d’huiles essentielles efficaces pour contrôler la douleur et l’inflammation. Les produits sont disponibles sur le site Kalae. Utilisez le code promo LOMBAFIT15 si vous désirez vous procurer un des produits suivants, ou n’importe quel remède visant à soulager vos symptômes et améliorer votre qualité de vie :

  • Le curcuma. Grâce à ses pouvoirs anti-oxydants et anti-inflammatoires très puissants, le curcuma est l’une des plantes les plus utilisées dans un cadre culinaire et thérapeutique. La composition du curcuma est essentiellement faite d’huiles essentielles, de vitamines (B1, B2,B6,C,E,K) et d’oligo-éléments. Mais c’est à sa composition riche en curcumine et curcuminoides que l’on doit les propriétés anti-inflammatoires de cette épice.
  • Le gingembre. Outre la saveur particulière qu’il apporte en cuisine et ses vertus aphrodisiaques, le gingembre est une racine très connue pour ses pouvoirs anti-inflammatoires. Le gingérol lui confère son action anti-inflammatoire. Il s’agit un composant actif agissant sur les douleurs inflammatoires liées aux maladies inflammatoires articulaires chroniques, notamment la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, le lupus, les maladies rhumatismales, etc. Il a été prouvé que cet élément actif est aussi efficace pour agir sur l’inflammation liée aux arthrites et à la sciatique.  Le gingembre possède également d’autres bienfaits grâce à sa haute teneur en potassium et à sa richesse en oligo-éléments (calcium, magnésium, phosphore, sodium) et en vitamines (provitamine et vitamine B9).
  • Les oméga-3. Les oméga-3 sont des acides gras polyinsaturés qui jouent un rôle très important dans le fonctionnement de notre organisme. Ils sont apportés par l’alimentation sous trois formes naturelles : l’acide docosahexaénoique (DHA), l’acide alpha linolénique (ALA) et l’acide éicosapentaénoique (EPA). Au-delà de leur action sur le cerveau et le système cardiovasculaire, les oméga-3 s’avèrent très efficaces contre l’inflammation. En effet, ils ont la capacité d’agir sur les mécanismes inflammatoires dans l’arthrose en freinant la destruction cartilagineuse, ainsi ils réduisent l’intensité des douleurs arthrosiques. La sciatique, étant le plus souvent liée à une inflammation secondaire à une hernie discale, elle peut aussi répondre aux oméga-3 à condition d’en consommer régulièrement. 
  • L’eucalyptus citronnéL’eucalyptus est une plante utilisée le plus souvent sous forme de tisane ou d’huile essentielle. Elle aurait des effets anti-inflammatoires qui lui conférent la capacité d’agir sur les douleurs ostéoarticulaires en générale et les douleurs de la sciatique en particulier.
  • La gaulthérie. La gaulthérie est un arbuste dont on extrait une huile essentielle très intéressante. C’est l’une des huiles essentielles les plus utilisées en aromathérapie. Cette huile extraite de l’arbuste portant le même nom, est utilisée en massage pour soulager la sciatique et agit comme un antalgique. En effet, elle procure un effet chauffant grâce à sa capacité d’activer localement la circulation sanguine.

Rappelons que ces produits ne remplacent pas un traitement médical. N’hésitez pas à consulter pour une prise en charge adaptée à votre condition.

Vous recherchez des solutions visant à soulager vos douleurs ?

Découvrez l’opinion de notre équipe de professionnels de santé sur divers produits disponibles sur le marché (posture, sommeil, douleurs physiques), ainsi que nos recommandations.

Références 

Retour en haut