Gluteus medius tendonitis: symptoms and treatment (complete guide)

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

The hip pain are quite common in both men and women. The causes are variable and multiple, and include the gluteus medius tendonitis. What is this pathology? What is it due to? What are his symptoms ? What treatments are recommended? This article will allow you toLearn more about gluteus medius tendonitis.

What is gluteus medius tendonitis?

In medical terms, tendinitis is defined by theinflammation of a tendon. A gluteus medius tendonitis is therefore the attack of the tendon of the gluteus medius. It happens that inflammation of the tendon of the small gluteus muscle occurs at the same time.

Remember that a tendon is a structure that allows the attachment of the bone to a muscle. In this pathology, the affected muscle is the one that provides walking, for the most part. This muscle allows the unipodal station by exerting a significant force on the pelvis. The gluteus medius muscle or gluteal medium is located in the outer part of the hip. It is inserted over the iliac bone and over the greater trochanter. This is located at the top of the femur.

What causes gluteus medius tendonitis?

The causes of this condition are often unknown. However, we observe more gluteus medius tendonitis in athletes. Runners of marathons and various jumps are the most affected. The latter are often in monopodal support. The following sports may be involved:

  • Ski ;
  • Rollerblading ;
  • Figure skating ;
  • Martial arts.

This also suggests an origin linked to repetitive strain injuries. Overexertion can cause gluteus medius tendonitis.

It is reported that the number of women with gluteus medius tendonitis is higher, compared to men. This is explained by the woman's pelvis which is wider. Constraints at the gluteal level are increased.

Fluoroquinolones (a family of antibiotics) promote tendon ruptures. Surgical treatment, with nail or screw placement, may also cause pain. This is explained by a conflict between the gluteal muscles and the osteosynthesis material.

In addition, various infections are risk factors for gluteus medius tendonitis:

  • A scleroderma (a dermatological pathology);
  • Diabetes;
  • A drop ;
  • A rheumatoid arthritis: an autoimmune pathology;
  • Gonococcal infection.

We must not forget that age influences tendon structures. Also, gluteus medius tendonitis is more likely to appear when the person is a smoker or obese.

What are the symptoms ?

The symptoms of gluteus medius tendonitis boil down to pain when the gluteus medius muscle is used. This pain can be located in different areas:

  • on the hip;
  • on the outer side of the hip: both sides may be painful;
  • on the back of the buttocks.

The pain may radiate to the outer part of the thigh, and even to the foot.

Also, the triggers of pain are:

  • climbing stairs;
  • the race;
  • standing: especially when it is prolonged;
  • an inappropriate position at the office.

The journey of pain reminds us of a sciatica. However, it is different from sciatica by its origin. Sciatica is often the manifestation of a herniated disc. Thus, the source of the trouble comes from a lumbar problem and not a tendon.

Gluteus medius tendonitis can lead to lameness. This is the case when the pain becomes permanent, monopodal support being painful.

Le diagnosis of gluteus medius tendonitis is made following a clinical examination. The doctor will palpate the tendon and trigger a characteristic pain. We are talking about exquisite pain. He may also ask you to stand on the painful leg. This position will awaken the same pain.

There are a few maneuvers that can also cause this pain. This is a counter-resistance movement made by the examiner. Moreover, any passive mobilization at the level of the hip also arouses pain. It can for example be:

  • a bending;
  • external rotation;
  • or an abduction.

Other paraclinical examinations are often prescribed in case of doubt:

  • an X-ray: of the pelvis and hip, in front and profile view;
  • an ultrasound;
  • an MRI.

They make it possible to specify the attack and to appreciate the signs of complications. They are also intended to rule out other differential diagnoses.

What are the treatments for gluteus medius tendonitis?

Rest is recommended in case of severe pain. However, absolute rest is not recommended. Improving the strength and flexibility of the gluteal muscles is possible, but it must be done gradually. The more the injured tendon is used, the more the pain will be unbearable.

What exercises can be done in case of gluteus medius tendonitis?

In the acute phase, gentle stretching and isometric contractions are the most suitable. Once the pain becomes bearable, the duration and intensity of the exercises can be increased until a return to normal activities. It is important to control pain throughout the process to avoid inflammatory reactivation.

Some sports can be done, especially when the pain has subsided. Prefer the different discharge sports, as they are adaptable to the intensity of your pain. The goal is to maintain physical activity. You have the choice between cycling or swimming, among others. They put less strain on your gluteus medius muscles.

What is the place of physiotherapy and osteopathy?

Le physiotherapist contributes to pain relief. To do this, he can opt for massages directly on the tendon. We are talking about deep transverse massages. Electrotherapy treatments, although they do not demonstrate convincing efficacy in scientific studies, can be used to speed up recovery.

After the treatment sessions, the physiotherapist will typically suggest exercises to stabilize your pelvis, strengthen the muscles around the hip, stretch stiff structures, etc. This rehabilitation will help you resume your activities without pain, and reduce the risk of recurrence.

As for theosteopathy, it aims to find the causes of tendonitis within the different systems of the human body, such as:

  • An influence of the sympathetic, parasympathetic system or of the various organs
  • Muscle or joint imbalance
  • muscle tension
  • Etc

Adjuvant measures are undertaken according to the etiology found. 

Tools and accessories

In addition to the treatments mentioned above, there are several products and accessories available on the market to relieve the symptoms related to gluteus medius tendonitis. It should be remembered that these tools generally provide temporary relief, and should be used sparingly. Among the products recommended by our professionals, we have:

Acupressure Kit Acupressure Mat Cushion - Massage Ball + Pillow + Bag Relieve Back and Neck Pain Muscle Relaxation Acupuncture Post Sport Recovery Anti Stress
  • 【Multifunctional Physiotherapy】The acupressure kit set includes an acupressure mat and pillow, and 2 massage balls. You can use the acupressure set in different ways and on different parts of the body, such as lower back pain, insomnia, chronic stress, fatigue, tension, circulatory disorders, etc.
  • 【Safe and Premium Material】The acupressure mat massager, cushion cover and storage bag are made of 100% cotton, the inside is 21D high-density eco-friendly sponge. The massage nail is made of non-toxic ABS plastic. 100% natural without side effects, hypoallergenic.
  • 【Natural Ancient Indian Healing】 The acupressure mat has 230 massage nails, 6210 massage points, the pillow has 73 massage nails, 1971 massage points. Your weight is evenly distributed into thousands of small pieces to stimulate countless acupuncture points. Ideal for relaxation and promoting circulation. The size of the acupressure mat is 68*42cm, the size of the massage pillow is 37 x 15 x 10cm.

Last updated on 2024-06-18 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

ALDOM Muscle Massage Gun Massage Device Deep Muscle Massager with 30 Adjustable Levels 6 Massage Heads and LCD Display Relieve Aches and Stiffness
  • 30 LEVELS Massage Gun:ALDOM massage gun Choose the speed and massage heads that best suit your needs can quickly eliminate lactic acid produced after exercise, and for everyday relieve muscle pain, back and neck aches and stiffness, greatly reducing the time muscle recovery.
  • Long Battery Life: Equipped with high quality battery, the muscle massager can keep working about 6-8 hours after charging, while the cooling system can effectively remove excess heat, if the battery is low, there will be a red prompt.
  • Less than 45 dB Ultra Low Noise: ALDOM muscle massager gun which features high performance and low noise. features advanced technology and high-torque non-brushed electric motor, Featuring the high-precision mold which tightly connects the machine head and the body, The high-torque motor rotates 1800-4800 times per minute and achieves your tissue to loosen the fascia (connective tissue)

Last updated on 2024-06-18 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

Core Balance Nipple Massage Roller for Deep Muscle Massage – Gridded Foam Massage Roller – Fitness Foam Roller Ideal for Trigger Point…
  • BACK MASSAGE ROLLER TO RELIEVE YOUR MUSCLE PAIN: relieve your muscle pain and tension with the Core Balance pimpled foam roller. Roll the muscle massage roller placed under your muscles to break up soft tissue adhesions and target painful trigger points (muscle knots).
  • DEEPER MYOFASCIAL RELEASE: Our back massage roller features a hollow plastic body with a nubbed foam exterior for deeper myofascial release. The nubs on this back roller act like the hands and fingers of a massager to target, relax and release tight muscle knots much more effectively.
  • IMPROVE YOUR PERFORMANCE: Rolling the back roller over your muscles releases toxins, and increases the flow of blood and oxygen to the target area. Massage your muscles with our fitness roller before or after a workout to boost your performance, speed up your recovery time and protect you from injury.

Last updated on 2024-06-18 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

  • Compex
Compex Mixte Sp 4.0 Electrostimulator, Black, One Size EU
  • Muscle stimulator offering 30 programs: 10 physical preparation programs, 8 pain relief programs, 5 recovery programs, 2 rehabilitation programs and 5 fitness programs.
  • The partner of your sports preparation, allowing you to prevent injuries, recover better but also relieve your pain.
  • 4 independent channels allowing you to work 2 muscle groups simultaneously.

Last updated on 2024-06-18 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

Infiltration to relieve gluteus medius tendonitis

When the usual analgesics are ineffective against tendonitis, doctors resort to anti-inflammatories. In case of failure, local drug infiltration is possible. Cortisone is mainly used, combined with other anti-inflammatories. It considerably reduces the pain ofgluteus medius tendonitis. Infiltrations are effective, but they must be performed several times.

What about natural remedies?

Although they are not supported by solid scientific evidence, several natural products and home remedies are used to treat various body pains, especially for their anti-inflammatory power.

Here is a non-exhaustive list of plants and essential oils that are effective in controlling pain and inflammation:

  • Turmeric : Thanks to its antioxidant and anti-inflammatory powers very powerful, turmeric is one of the most used plants in a culinary and therapeutic context. The composition of turmeric is essentially made of essential oils, vitamins (B1, B2, B6, C, E, K) and trace elements. But it is to its composition rich in curcumin and curcuminoids that we owe them and calm skin of this spice.
Powerful Turmeric Capsules 500mg with 95% Curcumin Extract – 180 Vegan Capsules (6 Months) – Turmeric (50:1), Black Pepper (30:1) and Ginger – High Absorption Turmeric Capsules – Made in EU
  • WHY CHOOSE OUR TURMERIC AND BLACK PEPPER CAPSULES? – Turmeric is a very well-known plant…
  • POWERFUL TURMERIC CAPSULES - Turmeric is an excellent source of Vitamin C, antioxidants,…
  • IDEAL AND PRACTICAL FORMULA – The powders we use are delicately harvested,…

Last updated on 2024-06-18 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

  • Ginger : In addition to the special flavor it brings to the kitchen and its aphrodisiac properties, ginger is a root well known for its anti-inflammatory powers. THE gingerol gives it its anti-inflammatory action. It is an active component acting on the inflammatory pain related to chronic joint inflammatory diseases, including rheumatoid arthritis, lupus, rheumatic diseases, etc. It has been proven that this active element is also effective in acting on the inflammation linked to arthritis and sciatica. Ginger also has other benefits thanks to its high potassium content and its richness in trace elements (calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, sodium) and vitamins (provitamin and vitamin B9).
Ginger Foot Patches, Pack of 30 Ginger Detox Patches, Anti Swelling Ginger Detox Patch, Foot Detox Patch for Deep Cleansing, Improve Sleep
  • 【Natural Ginger Foot Patches】: Natural Foot Detox Patch with Ginger and…
  • 【Ginger Anti Swelling Detox Patch】: Ginger Detox Patches are natural,…
  • 【Removes Body Toxins】: Ginger Foot Patches helps reduce the buildup of…

Last updated on 2024-06-18 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

  • Omega-3s : Omega-3 are polyunsaturated fatty acids that play a very important role in the functioning of our body. They are provided by food in three natural forms: docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), alpha linolenic acid (ALA) and eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA). Beyond their action on the brain and the cardiovascular system, omega-3s prove very effective against inflammation. Indeed, they have the ability to act on the inflammatory mechanisms in osteoarthritis by slowing down cartilage destruction, thus they reduce the intensity of osteoarthritis pain. Since sciatica is most often linked to inflammation secondary to a herniated disc, it can also respond to omega-3s if you consume them regularly. 

No product found.

  • Lemon eucalyptus: Eucalyptus is a plant most often used in the form of herbal tea or essential oil. She would have anti-inflammatory effects which give it the ability to act on the bone and joint pain in general and the pain of sciatica in particular.
Promo
Mystic Moments Lemon Eucalyptus Essential Oil – 100ml – 100% Pure
  • Eucalyptus Citriodora Essential Oil.
  • 100% pure.
  • Botanical name: eucalyptus citriodo.

Last updated on 2024-06-18 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

  • wintergreen : Wintergreen is a shrub from which a very interesting essential oil is extracted. It is one of the most used essential oils in aromatherapy. This oil extracted from the shrub bearing the same name, is used in massage to relieve sciatica and act like a analgesic. Indeed, it provides a heating effect thanks to its ability toactivate blood circulation locally.
Promo
Puressentiel – Wintergreen Essential Oil – Organic – 100% pure and natural – HEBBD – 30 ml
  • PROPERTIES ORGANIC WINTERGOOD ESSENTIAL OIL: Wintergreen essential oil is…
  • DIRECTIONS FOR USE: Refer to the instructions or ask your pharmacist for advice, This…
  • PURESSENTIEL DNA: A range of 55 essential oils essential for well-being in the…

Last updated on 2024-06-18 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

Other treatments

As a last resort, doctors can turn to surgery to treat gluteus medius tendonitis. It is considered when the tendon is provided with calcifications. These can lead to disinsertion of the bone. Surgical treatment is performed arthroscopically. The goal is to remove the calcifications. If the tendon is torn, surgery can reinsert it. Inflammatory areas will be cleaned at the same time.

How to sleep with gluteus medius tendonitis?

It is easy to conceive that if our buttock pain make us suffer at night, our quality of sleep will inevitably be affected. That's why it's important to find a comfortable sleeping position that can optimize your sleep and reduce stress on the buttock area.

In the presence of tendonitis of the gluteus medius, I often recommend that my clients adopt one of the following positions to see if there is a beneficial effect on the level of symptoms.

Lying on your side with a pillow between your legs

Keeping a pillow between the legs allows for a reduction in hip adduction movement. This is more comfortable for many people with buttock pain, because the tensioning of the gluteal muscles is reduced.

For added comfort, many of my patients opt for a knee pillow such as thereof from the French brand Cervi-care.

3. Lying on your stomach

If you are used to sleeping on your stomach, this position can avoid pressure on the gluteal region, especially if the latter is painful on palpation. A pillow placed under the belly can also improve comfort.

Consult the products of Cervi-Care if you are looking for a orthopedic, ergonomic or shape memory pillow to reduce stress on the cervical region.

Are you looking for solutions to relieve your pain?

Discover the opinion of our team of health professionals on various products available on the market (posture, sleep, physical pain), as well as our recommendations.

References

Back to top

Tendinite du moyen fessier: symptômes et traitement (guide complet)

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

Les douleurs au niveau de la hanche sont assez fréquentes aussi bien chez les hommes que les femmes. Les causes sont variables et multiples, et inclut la tendinite du moyen fessier. Quelle est cette pathologie ? À quoi est-elle due ? Quels sont ses symptômes ? Quels traitements sont préconisés ? Cet article vous permettra d’en savoir plus sur la tendinite du moyen fessier.

Qu’est-ce qu’une tendinite du moyen fessier ?

En terme médical, une tendinite se définit par l’inflammation d’un tendon. Une tendinite du moyen fessier est donc l’atteinte du tendon du moyen fessier. Il arrive qu’une inflammation du tendon du muscle petit fessier survienne en même temps.

Rappelons qu’un tendon est une structure qui permet l’attachement de l’os à un muscle. Dans cette pathologie, le muscle touché est celui qui assure la marche, en grande partie. Ce muscle permet la station unipodale en exerçant une force importante sur le bassin. Le muscle moyen fessier ou moyen glutéal est situé dans la partie externe de la hanche. Il est inséré sur l’os iliaque et sur le grand trochanter. Ce dernier se trouve en haut du fémur.

muscle fessier
Source

À quoi est due une tendinite du moyen fessier ?

Les causes de cette affection sont souvent inconnues. Toutefois, on observe davantage de tendinite du moyen fessier chez les sportifs. Les coureurs de marathons et de divers sauts sont les plus concernés. Ces derniers sont souvent en appui monopodal. Les sports suivants peuvent être impliqués :

  • Le ski ;
  • Le roller ;
  • Le patinage artistique ;
  • Les arts martiaux.

Ceci laisse aussi supposer une origine liée à des microtraumatismes répétés. Des efforts excessifs peuvent causer une tendinite du moyen fessier.

On rapporte que le nombre de femmes présentant une tendinite du moyen fessier est plus élevé, comparé aux hommes. Ceci s’explique par le bassin de la femme qui est plus large. Les contraintes au niveau glutéal s’en retrouvent augmentées.

Les fluoroquinolones (une famille d’antibiotiques) favorisent les ruptures tendineuses. Un traitement chirurgical, avec pose de clou ou de vis, risque également de provoquer une douleur. Ceci s’explique par un conflit entre les muscles fessiers et le matériel d’ostéosynthèse.

Par ailleurs, diverses infections sont des facteurs de risque de tendinite du moyen fessier :

  • Une sclérodermie (une pathologie dermatologique) ;
  • Un diabète ;
  • Une goutte ;
  • Une polyarthrite rhumatoïde: une pathologie auto-immune ;
  • Une infection à gonocoque.

Il ne faut pas oublier que l’âge influe sur les structures tendineuses. Également, une tendinite du moyen fessier risque d’apparaitre davantage quand la personne est tabagique ou obèse.

Quels sont les symptômes ?

Les symptômes d’une tendinite du moyen fessier se résument en une douleur lorsque le muscle moyen fessier est sollicité. Cette douleur peut se localiser sur différentes zones :

  • sur la hanche ;
  • sur la face externe de la hanche : les deux côtés pouvant être douloureux ;
  • sur la partie postérieure des fesses.

La douleur peut irradier vers la partie externe de la cuisse, et même jusqu’au pied.

À LIRE :   Combien de temps dure une tendinite du moyen fessier ? (explications)
irradiation de douleur en présence d'une tendinite du moyen fessier
Source

Aussi, les facteurs déclenchants de la douleur sont :

  • la montée d’escaliers ;
  • la course ;
  • la station debout : surtout quand elle est prolongée ;
  • une position inappropriée au bureau.

Le trajet de la douleur nous fait penser à une sciatique. Toutefois, elle est différente d’une sciatalgie par son origine. Une sciatique est souvent la manifestation d’une hernie discale. Ainsi, la source du trouble provient d’un problème lombaire et non d’un tendon.

La tendinite du moyen fessier peut engendrer une boiterie. C’est le cas quand la douleur devient permanente, l’appui monopodal étant pénible.

Le diagnostic d’une tendinite du moyen fessier est posé à la suite d’un examen clinique. Le médecin va palper le tendon et déclencher une douleur caractéristique. On parle de douleur exquise. Il peut également vous demander de se tenir sur la jambe douloureuse. Cette position va réveiller la même douleur.

Il existe quelques manœuvres qui peuvent également provoquer cette douleur. Il s’agit d’un mouvement de contre-résistance effectué par l’examinateur. Par ailleurs, toute mobilisation passive au niveau de la hanche éveille aussi la douleur. Il peut par exemple s’agir :

  • d’une flexion ;
  • d’une rotation externe ;
  • ou d’une abduction.

D’autres examens paracliniques sont souvent prescrits en cas de doute :

  • une radiographie : du bassin et de la hanche, en incidence face et profil ;
  • une échographie ;
  • une IRM.
tendinite du moyen fessier à l'IRM
Source

Ils permettent de préciser l’atteinte et d’apprécier les signes de complications. Ils ont également pour but d’éliminer les autres diagnostics différentiels.

Quels sont les traitements d’une tendinite du moyen fessier ?

Le repos est préconisé en cas de douleur vive. Toutefois, un repos absolu est déconseillé. Améliorer la force et la souplesse des muscles fessiers est envisageable, mais il faut procéder progressivement. Plus le tendon lésé sera utilisé, plus la douleur sera insupportable.

Quels exercices peut-on faire en cas de tendinite du moyen fessier ?

En phase aigue, les étirements doux et contractions isométriques sont les plus adaptés. Une fois que la douleur devient supportable, on peut progresser la durée et l’intensité des exercices jusqu’au retour aux activités normales. Il est important de contrôler la douleur tout au long du processus pour éviter une réactivation inflammatoire.

Certains sports peuvent être effectués, surtout quand la douleur a diminué. Préférez les différents sports de décharge, car ils sont adaptables à l’intensité de votre douleur. Le but étant de maintenir une activité physique. Vous avez le choix entre faire du vélo ou de la natation, entre autres. Ils sollicitent moins vos muscles moyens fessiers.

Quelle est la place de la kinésithérapie et de l’ostéopathie ?

Le kinésithérapeute contribue au soulagement de la douleur. Pour ce faire, il peut opter pour des massages directement sur le tendon. On parle de massages transverses profonds. Des traitements d’électrothérapie, bien qu’ils ne démontrent pas une efficacité convaincante au sein des études scientifiques, peuvent être utilisées pour accélérer la récupération.

Après les séances de soins, le kiné vous proposera typiquement des exercices pour stabiliser votre bassin, renforcer les muscles autour de la hanche, étirer les structures raides, etc. Cette rééducation vous aider à reprendre vos activités sans douleur, et réduire le risque de récidive.

Quant à l’ostéopathie, elle vise à rechercher les causes de la tendinite au sein des différents systèmes du corps humain, comme par exemple :

  • Une influence du système sympathique, parasympathique ou des différents organes
  • Une déséquilibre musculaire ou articulaire
  • Des tensions musculaires
  • Etc.

Des mesures adjuvantes sont entreprises selon l’étiologie retrouvée. 

Outils et accessoires

Outre les traitements mentionnés ci-haut, il existe plusieurs produits et accessoires disponibles sur le marché permettant de soulager les symptômes reliées à la tendinite du moyen fessier. Il faut se rappeler que ces outils offrent généralement un soulagement temporaire, et doivent être utilisés avec parcimonie. Parmi les produits recommandés par nos professionnels, nous avons :

À LIRE :   Peut-on marcher avec une tendinite du moyen fessier ? (conseils)

L’infiltration pour soulager la tendinite du moyen fessier

Quand les antalgiques habituels sont inefficaces contre la tendinite, les médecins ont recours aux anti-inflammatoires. En cas d’échec, l’infiltration locale de médicaments est possible. On utilise surtout la cortisone, associée à d’autres anti-inflammatoires. Elle diminue considérablement les douleurs d’une tendinite du moyen fessier. Les infiltrations sont efficaces, mais il faut les effectuer à plusieurs reprises.

Qu’en est-il des remèdes naturels ?

Bien qu’ils ne soient pas supportés d’évidences scientifiques solides, plusieurs produits naturels et remèdes de grand-mère sont utilisés pour traiter les douleurs fessières, notamment pour leur pouvoir anti-inflammatoire.

Voici une liste non exhaustive de plantes et d’huiles essentielles efficaces pour contrôler la douleur et l’inflammation. Les produits sont disponibles sur le site Kalae. Utilisez le code promo LOMBAFIT15 si vous désirez vous procurer un des produits suivants, ou n’importe quel remède visant à soulager vos symptômes et améliorer votre qualité de vie :

  • Le curcuma. Grâce à ses pouvoirs anti-oxydants et anti-inflammatoires très puissants, le curcuma est l’une des plantes les plus utilisées dans un cadre culinaire et thérapeutique. La composition du curcuma est essentiellement faite d’huiles essentielles, de vitamines (B1, B2,B6,C,E,K) et d’oligo-éléments. Mais c’est à sa composition riche en curcumine et curcuminoides que l’on doit les propriétés anti-inflammatoires de cette épice.
  • Le gingembre. Outre la saveur particulière qu’il apporte en cuisine et ses vertus aphrodisiaques, le gingembre est une racine très connue pour ses pouvoirs anti-inflammatoires. Le gingérol lui confère son action anti-inflammatoire. Il s’agit un composant actif agissant sur les douleurs inflammatoires liées aux maladies inflammatoires articulaires chroniques, notamment la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, le lupus, les maladies rhumatismales, etc. Il a été prouvé que cet élément actif est aussi efficace pour agir sur l’inflammation liée aux arthrites et à la sciatique.  Le gingembre possède également d’autres bienfaits grâce à sa haute teneur en potassium et à sa richesse en oligo-éléments (calcium, magnésium, phosphore, sodium) et en vitamines (provitamine et vitamine B9).
  • Les oméga-3. Les oméga-3 sont des acides gras polyinsaturés qui jouent un rôle très important dans le fonctionnement de notre organisme. Ils sont apportés par l’alimentation sous trois formes naturelles : l’acide docosahexaénoique (DHA), l’acide alpha linolénique (ALA) et l’acide éicosapentaénoique (EPA). Au-delà de leur action sur le cerveau et le système cardiovasculaire, les oméga-3 s’avèrent très efficaces contre l’inflammation. En effet, ils ont la capacité d’agir sur les mécanismes inflammatoires dans l’arthrose en freinant la destruction cartilagineuse, ainsi ils réduisent l’intensité des douleurs arthrosiques. La sciatique, étant le plus souvent liée à une inflammation secondaire à une hernie discale, elle peut aussi répondre aux oméga-3 à condition d’en consommer régulièrement. 
  • L’eucalyptus citronnéL’eucalyptus est une plante utilisée le plus souvent sous forme de tisane ou d’huile essentielle. Elle aurait des effets anti-inflammatoires qui lui conférent la capacité d’agir sur les douleurs ostéoarticulaires en générale et les douleurs de la sciatique en particulier.
  • La gaulthérie. La gaulthérie est un arbuste dont on extrait une huile essentielle très intéressante. C’est l’une des huiles essentielles les plus utilisées en aromathérapie. Cette huile extraite de l’arbuste portant le même nom, est utilisée en massage pour soulager la sciatique et agit comme un antalgique. En effet, elle procure un effet chauffant grâce à sa capacité d’activer localement la circulation sanguine.
À LIRE :   Un ostéopathe peut-il guérir une tendinite du moyen fessier ?

Les autres traitements

En dernier recours, les médecins peuvent s’orienter vers la chirurgie pour traiter la tendinite du moyen fessier. Elle est envisagée quand le tendon est pourvu de calcifications. Ces dernières peuvent entrainer une désinsertion de l’os. Le traitement chirurgical est effectué sous arthroscopie. Le but étant d’enlever les calcifications. Si le tendon est rompu, la chirurgie permet de le réinsérer. Les zones inflammatoires seront nettoyées par la même occasion.

Comment dormir avec une tendinite du moyen fessier ?

Il est facile de concevoir que si nos douleurs fessières nous font souffrir la nuit, notre qualité de sommeil sera forcément affectée. C’est pour cela qu’il est important de trouver une position de sommeil confortable qui puisse optimiser votre sommeil, et diminuer le stress sur la région de la fesse.

En présence de tendinite du moyen fessier, je recommande souvent à mes clients d’adopter une des positions suivantes pour voir s’il y a un effet bénéfique au niveau des symptômes.

Couché sur le côté avec un oreiller entre les jambes

posture de sommeil contre le mal de dos

Le fait de garder un oreiller entre les jambes permet une réduction du mouvement d’adduction de la hanche. Ceci s’avère plus confortable chez plusieurs personnes atteintes de douleur fessière, car la mise en tension des muscles glutéaux est réduite.

Pour plus de confort, plusieurs de mes patients optent pour un oreiller de genou tel que celui-ci de la marque française Cervi-care.

3. Couché sur le ventre

Si vous avez l’habitude de dormir sur le ventre, cette position peut éviter la pression sur la région fessière, surtout si cette dernière s’avère douloureuse à la palpation. Un oreiller placé sous le ventre peut également améliorer le confort.

sommeil sur le ventre

Consultez les produits de Cervi-Care si vous êtes à la recherche d’un oreiller orthopédique, ergonomique ou à mémoire de forme pour réduire les contraintes sur la région cervicale.

Vous recherchez des solutions visant à soulager vos douleurs ?

Découvrez l’opinion de notre équipe de professionnels de santé sur divers produits disponibles sur le marché (posture, sommeil, douleurs physiques), ainsi que nos recommandations.

Références

Cet article vous-a-t-il été utile ?

Indiquez votre appréciation de l'article

Note des lecteurs 4.5 / 5. Nombre de votes 4

Si vous avez bénéficié de cet article...

Suivez-nous sur Youtube et Facebook

Navré que vous n'ayez pu trouver réponse à vos questions !

Aidez-nous à améliorer cet article !

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l'article ?

FORMATION 100% OFFERTE

Découvrez une méthode unique vous permettant (ENFIN !) de mettre un terme à vos douleurs physiques...