Butterfly vertebra: Anomaly of the spine

butterfly vertebra

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

First described in 1844, the vertebrate butterfly is an uncommon birth defect of the spine. Often asymptomatic, it is sometimes responsible for lumbar or back pain. In this article, we will discover the characteristics of this type of vertebra, and how the diagnosis is generally made.

Definition

The vertebrae butterfly is a rare congenital malformation resulting from a defect in ossification of the vertebral body normally accomplished between the third and sixth week of gestation. As a result, the vertebrae and intervertebral discs located above and below the affected vertebra compensate by adjusting their shape.

Moreover, it is sometimes confused with a metastatic tumor, a compression fracture traumatic cause or due to osteoporosis, or an infection.

The anomaly mainly affects the lumbar region, then the back, and rarely affects the cervical vertebrae. As it is often asymptomatic, it is often discovered incidentally during an examination ofmedical imaging. On the other hand, the butterfly vertebra can modify the normal biomechanics of the spine, and cause lower back pain. Also, it increases the risk of herniated disc.

Due to the rarity of this condition, there are no epidemiological data linking butterfly vertebra and low back pain (or other spinal pain).

Despite being generally benign, butterfly vertebra can sometimes coexist with other birth defects. Indeed, congenital malformations of the spine are often associated with cardiac and urogenital abnormalities. We can also find abnormalities such as:

  • other spinal abnormalities
  • anal atresia
  • heart abnormalities
  • a tracheoesophageal fistula
  • kidney abnormalities
  • limb abnormalities
  • etc.

In addition, intraspinal abnormalities (such as those related to spinal cord) may coincide with vertebral malformations such as butterfly vertebrae. This represents more than a third of adolescents with congenital scoliosis.

Diagnostic

On the anteroposterior X-ray, the butterfly vertebra is easily detected because it is divided into two hemi-vertebrae. The latter are generally symmetrical, but can also be of different size in the case of scoliosis. These two hemi-vertebrae also resemble the wings of a butterfly, hence the name.

If in doubt about the diagnosis, a CT scan and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) are recommended to rule out other birth defects. One thinks for example of the supernumerary lumbar vertebrae, the spina bifida, scoliosis, etc.

Furthermore, we mentioned that the butterfly vertebra was sometimes accompanied by cardiac or urogenital abnormality. It is therefore common for the doctor to continue the investigation via a cardiac and renal evaluation when a butterfly vertebra is discovered on imaging. 

References

  • https://pubs.asahq.org/anesthesiology/article/129/3/582/22261/Butterfly-Vertebrae
  • https://www.reumatologiaclinica.org/en-butterfly-vertebra-articulo-S2173574314000550
Back to top

vertèbre papillon

Vertèbre papillon : Anomalie de la colonne vertébrale

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

Décrite pour la première fois en 1844, la vertèbre papillon est une anomalie congénitale peu fréquente de la colonne vertèbrale. Souvent asymptomatique, elle est parfois responsable de douleurs lombaires ou dorsales. Découvrons dans cet article les caractéristiques de ce type de vertèbre, et comme le diagnostic est généralement posé.

 

Rectitude du rachis cervical : Que...
Rectitude du rachis cervical : Que faire ? (Explications)

Définition

 

Les vertèbres papillon est une rare malformation congénitale résultant d’un défaut d’ossification du corps vertébral normalement accompli entre la troisième et la sixième semaine de gestation. En conséquence, les vertèbres et disques intervertébraux situés au-dessus et au-dessous de la vertèbre atteinte compensent en ajustant leur forme.

 

D’ailleurs, elle est parfois confondue avec une tumeur métastatique, une fracture par tassement de cause traumatique ou due à l’ostéoporose, ou encore une infection.

 

L’anomalie touche principalement la région lombaire, puis dorsale, et touche rarement les vertèbres cervicales. Comme elle est souvent asymptomatique, elle est souvent découverte de manière fortuite lors d’un examen d’imagerie médicale. Par contre, la vertèbre papillon peut modifier la biomécanique normale de la colonne vertébrale, et provoquer des lombalgies. Également, elle augmente le risque de hernie discale.

 

En raison de la rareté de cette affection, il n’existe pas de données épidémiologiques reliant la vertèbre papillon et la lombalgie (ou autre douleur vertébrale).

 

Malgré le fait qu’elle soit généralement bénigne, la vertèbre papillon peut parfois coexister avec d’autres malformations congénitales. En effet, les malformations congénitales de la colonne vertébrale sont souvent associées à des anomalies cardiaques et urogénitales. On peut également retrouver des anomalies telles que :

 

  • d’autres anomalies vertébrales
  • une atrésie anale
  • des anomalies cardiaques
  • une fistule trachéo-oesophagienne
  • des anomalies rénales
  • des anomalies des membres
  • etc.

 

Par ailleurs, les anomalies intraspinales (comme celles reliées à la moelle épinière) peuvent coïncider avec des malformations vertébrales telles que les vertèbres papillon. Ceci représente d’ailleurs plus d’un tiers des adolescents atteints de scoliose congénitale.

 

Diagnostic

 

Sur la radiographie antéro-postérieure, la vertèbre papillon est facilement détectée car la celle-ci est divisée en deux hémi-vertèbres. Ces dernières sont généralement symétriques, mais peuvent également être de taille différente en cas de scoliose.  Ces deux hémi-vertèbres ressemblent d’ailleurs aux ailes d’un papillon, d’où le nom.

 

En cas de doute sur le diagnostic, un scanner et une imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) sont recommandés pour exclure d’autres anomalies congénitales. On pense par exemple aux vertèbres lombaires surnuméraires, au spina bifida, à la scoliose, etc.

 

Par ailleurs, nous avons mentionné que la vertèbre papillon était parfois accompagnée d’anomalie cardiaque ou urogénitale. Il est donc fréquent que le médecin poursuivre l’investigation via une évaluation cardiaque et rénale lorsqu’on découvre une vertèbre papillon à l’imagerie. 

 

Références

 

  • https://pubs.asahq.org/anesthesiology/article/129/3/582/22261/Butterfly-Vertebrae
  • https://www.reumatologiaclinica.org/en-butterfly-vertebra-articulo-S2173574314000550

Cet article vous-a-t-il été utile ?

Indiquez votre appréciation de l'article

Note des lecteurs 5 / 5. Nombre de votes 1

Si vous avez bénéficié de cet article...

Suivez-nous sur Youtube et Facebook

Navré que vous n'ayez pu trouver réponse à vos questions !

Aidez-nous à améliorer cet article !

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l'article ?

FORMATION 100% OFFERTE

Découvrez ce qu'on ne vous jamais dit sur vos douleurs chroniques...