Cervical Scoliosis: Definition and Management

cervico-brachial neuralgia symptoms

Little known, the cervical scoliosis is a three-dimensional deformation of the spine located at the neck. It can become potentially dangerous due to the various nerve and vascular structures in this area. In this article we will discuss this form of scoliosis that affects the vertebrae cervical.

Focus on scoliosis

 

Scoliosis means permanent deformation of the spine (or vertebral column) in the three planes of space. The spine can deviate in the frontal (right to left), sagittal (forward or backward) or transverse (horizontal) plane. This deformation comes from a rotation of the vertebrae relative to each other. Basically, the spine twists into an S or C shape, as the case may be.

Attention ! Scoliosis should not be confused withscoliotic attitude. In case of scoliotic attitude, the deformation of the spine can be corrected by specific postures (for example, a lying position). It is said to be reducible. On the other hand, scoliosis is not reducible.

There are generally 4 types of scoliosis:

  • lumbar scoliosis ;
  • thoracic scoliosis;
  • cervical scoliosis;
  • double scoliosis.

In the majority (approximately in 80% of cases), scoliosis is idiopathic. This means that we do not know exactly its origin. It develops during childhood and adolescence, that is to say during growth. In general, its evolution accelerates during the period of puberty.

Otherwise, scoliosis can also be congenital. In this case, the child was born with this anomaly, certainly linked to a vertebral malformation. Sometimes, certain neuromuscular or bone diseases such as myopathy or osteoporosis cause scoliosis.

In adults, it is idiopathic scoliosis that appeared in untreated or unstabilized childhood that continues to progress. But also, scoliosis can be the consequence of a degeneration of the intervertebral discs related to age.

The most common symptoms of scoliosis are:

  • spinal pain;
  • uneven shoulder height;
  • humpback;
  • disruption of daily life (functional limitation);
  • difficulty breathing;
  • psychological impact;
  • neurological disorders.

Since scoliosis is most often idiopathic, no one can help prevent it. However, an early diagnosis can facilitate management and reduce the risk of aggravation of the disease.

For more details, see in this article all about scoliosis in children.

Cervical scoliosis, what is it?

When we talk about scoliosis, we often think of thoracolumbar scoliosis. We forget that there is also cervical scoliosis. As its name suggests, scoliosis appears in the cervical area. It affects the vertebrae located at the level of the neck.

 

Symptoms of Cervical Scoliosis are little different. When you have scoliosis at this level, you may have headaches and feel pain in your arms and shoulders.

How to treat cervical scoliosis?

To treat cervical scoliosis, the approaches remain the same as for the other forms of the disease.

Physiotherapy sessions are carried out with the aim of strengthening the muscles, maintaining the joint mobility of the spine and improving the respiratory capacities. In addition, you can do physical activity such as swimming.

In more severe cases, wearing a corset or neck brace is recommended. This will limit the progression of scoliosis when the patient is still growing. This equipment can also help you avoid surgery.

Surgery is not common in the treatment of scoliosis. It consists of placing rods and metal plates at the level of the spine in order to straighten it. This is a complex procedure that is only recommended when Cobb's angel is beyond 50°.

To conclude, whether it is a lumbar, thoracic dorsal or cervical scoliosis, it is necessary to act as soon as possible to limit the complications of the pathology. Check in with your doctor regularly if you have a family history.

References

https://www.ameli.fr/assure/sante/themes/scoliose/definition-causes?fbclid=IwAR0A1ibO4gQkjyyTKKi5rLGWGqWHqUrwuJdfLje6ABJH2vmH-K4ULVs2n3I

https://lucilewoodward.com/blog/scoliose/?fbclid=IwAR1-chqWCRjvVInBrQSQIV057TuMt5O21m_5IWXNFq2P0Dos_o1XZfbrCgk

Back to top

Scoliose cervicale : Définition et prise en charge

Scoliose cervicale : Définition et prise en charge

Peu connue, la scoliose cervicale est une déformation tridimentionnelle de la colonne vertébrale située au niveau du cou. Elle peut devenir potentiellement dangereuse en raison des diverses structures nerveuses et vasculaires dans cette région. Dans cet article nous allons discuter de cette forme de scoliose qui touche les vertèbres cervicales.

Zoom sur la scoliose

 

La scoliose désigne une déformation permanente du rachis (ou colonne vertébrale) dans les trois plans de l’espace. Le rachis peut se dévier dans le plan frontal (de la droite vers la gauche), sagittal (vers l’avant ou l’arrière) ou transversal (horizontal). Cette déformation vient d’une rotation des vertèbres les unes par rapport aux autres. En gros, la colonne vertébrale se déforme sous forme de S ou de C, selon le cas.

 

scoliose radiographie

 

Attention ! On ne doit pas confondre la scoliose avec l’attitude scoliotique. En cas d’attitude scoliotique, la déformation de la colonne vertébrale peut être corrigée par des postures spécifiques (par exemple, une position allongée). On dit qu’elle est réductible. En revanche, la scoliose, elle, n’est pas réductible.

 

On distingue généralement 4 types de scoliose :

 

  • scoliose lombaire ;
  • scoliose thoracique ;
  • scoliose cervicale ;
  • scoliose double.

 

En majorité (environ dans 80 % des cas), la scoliose est idiopathique. Cela signifie que l’on ne connait pas exactement son origine. Elle se développe pendant l’enfance et l’adolescence, c’est-à-dire au cours de la croissance. En général, son évolution s’accélère durant la période de la puberté.

À LIRE :   IRM cervical : Tout savoir sur cette imagerie

 

Par ailleurs, la scoliose peut aussi être congénitale. Dans ce cas, l’enfant est né avec cette anomalie, certainement liée à une malformation vertébrale. Parfois, certaines maladies neuromusculaires ou osseuses comme la myopathie ou l’ostéoporose engendrent une scoliose.

 

evaluation medicale scoliose

 

Chez l’adulte, c’est la scoliose idiopathique apparue dans l’enfance non traitée ou non stabilisée qui continue à se progresser. Mais aussi, la scoliose peut être la conséquence d’une dégénérescence des disques intervertébraux liée à l’âge.

 

Les symptômes de la scoliose les plus fréquents sont :

 

  • une douleur rachidienne ;
  • l’inégalité de la hauteur des épaules ;
  • une gibbosité ;
  • une perturbation de la vie quotidienne (limitation fonctionnelle) ;
  • une gêne respiratoire ;
  • un retentissement psychologique ;
  • des troubles neurologiques.

 

Comme la scoliose est le plus souvent idiopathique, nul ne peut permettre de la prévenir. Pourtant, un diagnostic précoce peut faciliter la prise en charge et diminuer le risque d’aggravation de la maladie.

 

Pour plus de détails, découvrez dans cet article tout ce qui concerne la scoliose chez l’enfant.

 

 

Scoliose cervicale, c’est quoi ?

 

Lorsqu’on parle de scoliose, on pense souvent à la scoliose dorso-lombaire. On oublie qu’il y a également la scoliose cervicale. Comme son nom l’indique, la scoliose apparait au niveau des cervicales. Elle touche les vertèbres situées au niveau du cou.

 

scoliose cervicale
Source

 

Les symptômes de la scoliose cervicale sont peu différents. Lorsque vous souffrez de scoliose à ce niveau, vous pouvez avoir des maux de tête et ressentir une douleur dans les bras et les épaules.

 

 

À LIRE :   Scoliose : sports interdits et à éviter (explications)

Comment traiter une scoliose cervicale ?

 

Pour traiter une scoliose cervicale, les approches restent les mêmes que pour les autres formes de la maladie.

 

On procède à des séances de kinésithérapie dans le but de renforcer les muscles, entretenir la mobilité articulaire de la colonne vertébrale et améliorer les capacités respiratoires. En complément, vous pouvez faire une activité physique comme la natation.

 

Dans des cas plus sévères, le port d’un corset ou d’une minerve est recommandé. Ceci va limiter la progression de la scoliose lorsque le patient est encore en pleine croissance. Cet équipement peut vous aider également à éviter la chirurgie.

 

Une intervention chirurgicale n’est pas fréquente dans le cadre du traitement de la scoliose. Elle consiste à la mise en place de tiges et de plaques métalliques au niveau de la colonne vertébrale afin de la redresser. Il s’agit d’une intervention complexe qui n’est recommandée que lorsque l’ange de Cobb est au-delà de 50 °.

 

chirurgie pour scoliose cervicale
Source

 

Pour conclure, qu’il s’agisse d’une scoliose lombaire, dorsale thoracique ou cervicale, il faut agir le plus tôt possible pour limiter les complications de la pathologie. Faites un bilan régulier chez votre médecin si vous présentez des antécédents familiaux.

 

 

Références

 

https://www.ameli.fr/assure/sante/themes/scoliose/definition-causes?fbclid=IwAR0A1ibO4gQkjyyTKKi5rLGWGqWHqUrwuJdfLje6ABJH2vmH-K4ULVs2n3I

https://lucilewoodward.com/blog/scoliose/?fbclid=IwAR1-chqWCRjvVInBrQSQIV057TuMt5O21m_5IWXNFq2P0Dos_o1XZfbrCgk