Tissue osteopathy: reviving the circulation of energy

osteopathy as a solution to lumbago

Tissue osteopathy is a innovative therapeutic approach. It's a particular concept which uses methods different from those of traditional osteopathy. Nowadays, this technique is more and more practiced by osteopaths. But why and on whom is it recommended? Like any other therapy, does it present therapeutic failures? What are the dangers? Find out in this article everything you need to know about tissue osteopathy.

What is the origin of tissue osteopathy?

To better understand tissue osteopathy, let's talk about its origin first.

THEosteopathy is not only a therapeutic method, it is also a medical philosophy. It was developed by an American therapist called Andrew Taylor Still. It was created towards the end of the XNUMXthe century, in 1874.

Thanks to his reflections, his intuitions, his knowledge in medicine (in terms of anatomy and applied physiology) as well as in ancient philosophies, he was able to establish this concept. In his theory, the occurrence of diseases is explained by a disorder of body structures such as vessels, nerves, muscles or viscera. This conception is based on four fundamental ideas.

  1. The human body is a specific entity in which each component is interdependent towards each other. This means that achieving one element has repercussions on the others.
  2. Each organization is a separate entity.
  3. The body has a specific asset: self-healing. He has the ability to maintain good health and ward off various diseases.
  4. The musculoskeletal system (bones, ligaments, fascias, muscles, etc.) is an integral part of the body. Therefore, he is affected by this rule. Thus, its attack will lead to disorders in various regions of the body. According to Still in his writings: "This effect may be produced by the irritation and abnormal response of blood reaching other parts of the organism."

In Kirksville, Still created in 1892, the first American college of osteopathy called: "The American School of Osteopathy". Students who graduate obtain the title of "Doctor of Osteopathy" and not "Doctor of Medicine". Then on his death in 1917, JM Littlejohn, one of his students, took over and founded the British School of Osteopathy in London. And it was only after that that this manual therapy gradually spread to Europe.

In the 80s, thetissue approach was deployed in France by Pierre Tricot.

Tissue osteopathy: what is it exactly?

osteopathy or osteopathic medicine is a natural therapeutic science. It is based on manual mobilization techniques. Its purpose is to assess the patient's condition, make a diagnosis and treat the various dysfunctions affecting the balance of his health. Moreover, it is mainly aimed at prevent these problems. This therapeutic approach takes into account not only the individual in his physical wholeness, but also in its environmental wholeness.

THETissue osteopathy is a specific branch of osteopathy. It is an osteopathic medicine that works on the fabrics.

The tissue refers to the set of several cells. Also called fascia, it serves as an envelope protecting and connecting each structure of the body such as bones, muscles, organs...

Tissue osteopathy is a gentle therapeutic approach et painless. Using only his hands, the therapist will work on the tissue dysfunction through theattention and intention.

Thus, this approach will act on the cells at the level of which information circulates.. In reality, cells are considered to have primary consciousness. They are able to circulate between them a certain energy. In addition, cells can also retain information. This is particularly the case during a trauma or shock to protect the other intact cell parts.

It consists of coming into contact with the density of the structures while applying pressure or tension, with a specific speed, to the area concerned.

The goal of this manual therapy is then put tissue structures back in motion while improving the arterial, venous and lymphatic circulation. In other words, she will revive intercellular energy communication.

What are the indications for tissue osteopathy??

Tissue osteopathy is indicated in the supported de many pathologies. It can be of great use except for cases that are contraindicated.

In the digestive tract, this manual therapy is indicated in the transit disorders like constipation. The therapist will use visceral therapy to give back tissue vitality which maintain and form the visceral organs.

In the joints or bones, pain is the main indication for this therapy. For example, in case of pain caused by a sprain, specific myofascial techniques will be implemented. Among these techniques, there is the technique "of the fixed point and the mobile point" in the sprain of the ankle. It will allow restore mobility and elasticity of stretched fabrics.

At the level of the pelvic region, this therapy will relieve ailments like menstrual pain.

This manual therapy also facilitates wound healing et helps prevent adhesions.

Furthermore, she is of great help with stress. It relieves various disorders related to it such as migraines or anxiety. Moreover, its practice is interesting for people recovering from surgery or a debilitating disease as well as those who are undergoing cancer treatment (chemotherapy).

Who can it be applied to?

Everybody can benefit from tissue osteopathy. In other words, this manual therapy can concern the newborn to the elderly.

This tissue approach can also be practiced in pregnant women. Nevertheless, the advice of a doctor is recommended before following the first session. It can relieve the small repercussions of pregnancy on the woman's body: changes in posture, effects of weight gain on the joints...

Postpartum women may also benefit from tissue osteopathic treatment a cas de lower back pain. It is also possible to do rehabilitation.

What are the dangers that can be encountered?

Although natural, tissue osteopathy can cause adverse effects. Most often we encounter the adjustment pains. The objective of osteopathy is to put motionless areas back into motion. These pains are due to the stress suffered by the tissues or joints during manual therapy. But despite this, these pains are inherent to the benefits of osteopathy and therefore do not constitute not a hazard.

Sometimes an osteopath can miss the correct diagnosis. Instead of noticing an improvement, there may therefore be a worsening of the causative disease underlying. In the context of cancer, the disease is manifested early by simple pain and discomfort. A loss of chance of cure can therefore occur if the diagnosis is not established correctly.

To know the situations where it is essential to consult after an episode of back pain, see the following article.

This is also the case in lumbar pain where there may be confusion between renal colic and pain of purely articular origin. However, in the case of renal colic, there will be the possibility of migration of the lithiasis or calculation between the kidney and the bladder. So, in the slightest doubt, you should consult a doctor who can carry out clinical and paraclinical examinations (biology and imaging).

References

https://osteo04.fr/articles/45-l-osteopathie-tissulaire.html

https://www.medoucine.com/pratiques/osteopathie/tissulaire

Back to top

Ostéopathie tissulaire : relancer la circulation d’énergie

Ostéopathie tissulaire : relancer la circulation d’énergie

L’ostéopathie tissulaire est une approche thérapeutique innovante. C’est un concept particulier qui utilise des méthodes différentes de celles de l’ostéopathie traditionnelle. De nos jours, cette technique est de plus en plus pratiquée par les ostéopathes. Mais pourquoi et sur qui est-elle recommandée ? Comme toute autre thérapie, présente-t-elle des échecs thérapeutiques ? Quels en sont les dangers ? Découvrez dans cet article tout ce qu’il faut savoir sur l’ostéopathie tissulaire.

Quelle est l’origine de l’ostéopathie tissulaire ?

 

Afin de mieux comprendre l’ostéopathie tissulaire, parlons d’abord de son origine.

 

L’ostéopathie est non seulement une méthode thérapeutique, c’est également une philosophie médicale. Elle a été mise au point par un thérapeute américain appelé Andrew Taylor Still. Elle a été créée vers la fin du XIXe siècle, en 1874.

 

Grâce à ses réflexions, ses intuitions, ses connaissances en médecine (en termes d’anatomie et de physiologie appliquée) ainsi qu’en philosophies anciennes, il a pu établir ce concept. Dans sa théorie, la survenue de maladies s’explique par un désordre des structures du corps telles que les vaisseaux, les nerfs, les muscles ou les viscères. Cette conception se base sur quatre idées fondamentales.

 

  1. Le corps humain est une entité spécifique dans lequel chaque composant est interdépendant l’un envers l’autre. Cela veut dire que l’atteinte d’un élément a des répercussions sur les autres.
  2. Chaque organisme est une entité distincte.
  3. Le corps a un atout spécifique : l’autoguérison. Il a la capacité de se maintenir en bonne santé et d’écarter les maladies diverses.
  4. Le système locomoteur (os, ligaments, fascias, muscles…) fait partie intégrante de l’organisme. Par conséquent, il est concerné par cette règle. Ainsi, son atteinte va entraîner des troubles dans diverses régions de l’organisme. Selon Still dans ses écrits : « Cet effet peut être produit par l’irritation et la réponse anormale du sang qui arrive aux autres parties de l’organisme ».

 

À Kirksville, Still a créé en 1892, le premier collège américain d’ostéopathie appelé : « The Américain School of Osteopathy ». Les étudiants qui en sortent obtiennent le titre de « Docteur en ostéopathie » et non de « Docteur en médecine ». Puis à sa mort en 1917, J.M. Littlejohn, un de ses élèves, a pris le relai et a fondé le British School of Ostéopathy à Londres. Et c’est seulement après cela que cette thérapie manuelle s’est répandue progressivement en Europe.

 

Dans les années 80, l’approche tissulaire a été déployée en France par Pierre Tricot.

 

 

Ostéopathie tissulaire : c’est quoi exactement ?

 

L’ostéopathie ou la médecine ostéopathique est une science thérapeutique naturelle. Elle se base sur des techniques manuelles de mobilisation. Son but est d’évaluer l’état du patient, de poser un diagnostic et de traiter les divers dysfonctionnements nuisant à l’équilibre de sa santé. Par ailleurs, elle vise surtout à prévenir ces troubles. Cette approche thérapeutique prend en compte non seulement l’individu dans sa globalité physique, mais aussi dans sa globalité environnementale.

 

L’ostéopathie tissulaire est une branche spécifique de l’ostéopathie. C’est une médecine ostéopathique qui travaille sur les tissus.

 

Le tissu désigne l’ensemble de plusieurs cellules. Aussi appelé fascias, il sert d’enveloppe protégeant et reliant chaque structure du corps comme les os, les muscles, les organes…

 

L’ostéopathie tissulaire est une approche thérapeutique douce et non douloureuse. Utilisant uniquement ses mains, le thérapeute va travailler sur le dysfonctionnement tissulaire par le biais de l’attention et de l’intention.

 

Ainsi, cette approche va agir sur les cellules au niveau desquelles circulent des informations. En réalité, on considère que les cellules sont dotées d’une conscience primaire. Elles sont capables de faire circuler entre elles une certaine énergie. En outre, les cellules peuvent aussi faire une rétention d’informations. C’est notamment le cas lors d’un traumatisme ou d’un choc pour protéger les autres parties cellulaires intactes.

 

Elle consiste à entrer en contact avec la densité des structures tout en réalisant une pression ou une tension, avec une vitesse spécifique, au niveau de la zone concernée.

 

Le but de cette thérapie manuelle est alors de remettre les structures tissulaires en mouvement tout en améliorant la circulation artérielle, veineuse et lymphatique. En d’autres termes, elle va relancer la communication intercellulaire d’énergie.

 

 

Quelles sont les indications d’une ostéopathie tissulaire?

 

L’ostéopathie tissulaire est indiquée dans la prise en charge de nombreuses pathologies. Elle peut être d’une grande utilité sauf pour les cas qui lui sont contre-indiqués.

 

Au niveau du tube digestif, cette thérapie manuelle est indiquée dans les troubles du transit comme la constipation. Le thérapeute va employer la thérapie viscérale pour redonner une vitalité aux tissus qui maintiennent et forment les organes viscéraux.

 

Au niveau des articulations ou des os, les douleurs sont les principales indications de cette thérapie. Par exemple, en cas de douleur provoquée par une entorse, des techniques myofasciales spécifiques seront mis en œuvre. Parmi ces techniques, il y a la technique « du point fixe et du point mobile » dans l’entorse de la cheville. Elle va permettre de rétablir la mobilité et l’élasticité des tissus étirés.

 

Au niveau de la région pelvienne, cette thérapie va soulager des maux à l’instar des douleurs menstruelles.

 

Cette thérapie manuelle facilite aussi la cicatrisation et permet d’éviter les adhérences.

 

En outre, elle est d’une grande aide face au stress. Elle soulage les divers troubles qui y sont liés comme les migraines ou les angoisses. Par ailleurs, sa pratique est intéressante chez les personnes en convalescence suite à une chirurgie ou une maladie invalidante ainsi que celles qui suivent des traitements contre les cancers (chimiothérapie).

 

 

Sur qui peut-on l’appliquer ?

 

Tout le monde peut bénéficier de l’ostéopathie tissulaire. Autrement dit, cette thérapie manuelle peut concerner le nouveau-né jusqu’au sujet âgé.

 

Cette approche tissulaire peut aussi être pratiquée chez les femmes enceintes. Néanmoins, l’avis d’un médecin est recommandée avant de suivre la première séance. Elle peut soulager les petites répercussions de la grossesse au niveau de l’organisme de la femme : changements de posture, effets de prise de poids au niveau des articulations…

 

Les femmes en post-partum peuvent également bénéficier du traitement ostéopathique tissulaire en cas de douleurs lombaires. Il est également possible de faire une rééducation.

 

 

Quels sont les dangers pouvant être rencontrés ?

 

Bien que naturelle, l’ostéopathie tissulaire peut entraîner des effets indésirables. Le plus souvent, on rencontre les douleurs d’adaptation. L’objectif de l’ostéopathie est de remettre en mouvement les zones immobiles. Ces douleurs sont dues au stress subi par les tissus ou articulations lors de la thérapie manuelle. Mais malgré cela, ces douleurs sont inhérentes au bienfait de l’ostéopathie et ne constituent donc pas un danger.

 

Parfois, un ostéopathe peut passer à côté du bon diagnostic. Au lieu de constater une amélioration, il peut donc y avoir une aggravation de la maladie causale sous-jacente. Dans le cadre d’un cancer, la maladie se manifeste précocement par des simples douleurs et malaises. Une perte de chance de guérison peut donc se produire si le diagnostic n’est pas établi correctement.

 

Pour connaître les situations où il est primordial de consulter après un épisode de mal de dos, consultez l’article suivant.

 

C’est aussi le cas dans les douleurs lombaires où il peut y avoir confusion entre une colique néphrétique et une douleur d’origine purement articulaire. Cependant, dans le cas d’une colique néphrétique, il y aura possibilité de migration de la lithiase ou calcul entre le rein et la vessie. Alors, au moindre doute, il faut consulter un médecin qui pourra réaliser des examens cliniques et paracliniques (biologies et imageries).

 

 

Sources

 

https://osteo04.fr/articles/45-l-osteopathie-tissulaire.html

https://www.medoucine.com/pratiques/osteopathie/tissulaire