Crouzon Syndrome: Definition and Prognosis (Is it Serious?)

crouzon syndrome crouzon syndrome

At birth, the human being is born with an immature cranium formed of bones which have not yet reached their total closure. This anatomical condition allows the brain to grow and mature with age.

However, in rare cases, the welding these bones is done prematurely and this anomaly affects both the morphology of the brain and the face giving an appearance of malformation very characteristic. This is what defines the Crouzon's syndrome, a pathology rare genetics which affects approximately 1/50000 births.

What is Crouzon syndrome?

The name of Crouzon syndrome comes from the French neurologist Louis Edouard Crouzon, who described it for the first time at the beginning of the 20th century.

It's about a congenital malformation (present at birth), of genetic origin, linked to a immigration of the FGFR2 gene located on chromosome 10. On the anatomo-pathological level, this anomaly is characterized by a premature suturing of the bones of the skull (craniosynostosis), causing atypical growth of the brain and the organs that make up the face.

The child carrying this syndrome can manifest more or less serious neurological and functional complications as he grows up. However, these complications can be prevented or significantly reduced as long as the disease is diagnosed and treated in time.

From an epidemiological point of view, Crouzon syndrome is the most common rare genetic abnormality affecting the bones of the skull.

How to recognize Crouzon syndrome?

It is obvious that Crouzon syndrome is identified at birth, but most of the symptoms defining this syndrome are evident during the first year of life.

In general, infants who are affected present a picture essentially bony, which manifests itself, most often, by:

  • A brachycephaly: which corresponds to an enlargement of the skull at the parietal level and a flattening of the back of the head, giving the impression that the back of the head is higher than the forehead.
  • A proptosis: term designating an excavation of the eyes which results from the premature ossification of the bones composing the eyeballs. This protrusion could induce vision problems in the child.
  • A Horbital hypertelorism ou ythem discarded : symptom characterized by an abnormal increase in the distance separating the two eyes. This malformation is observed in many genetic diseases such as trisomy 18, Apert syndrome, etc.
  • Un beak-shaped nose : if not surgically treated, this symptom may be responsible for breathing difficulties, ranging from simple respiratory discomfort to obstructive sleep apnea syndrome.
  • A pprojection of the mandible (lower jaw) forward, which is more evident when paired with a upper jaw hypoplasia. This changes the anatomy of the oral cavity and sometimes affects mastication and phonation.

In addition, other less common symptoms and complications may occur inconsistently in children with Crouzon. Among these signs are:

  • Personalized hearing problems: 55% of children with Crouzon syndrome have a greatly reduced acoustic capacity due to the fact that they were born without auditory canals.
  • Personalized joint problems : at the cervical level, reported in 30% of patients.
  • Acanthosis Nigricans: this dermatological condition, which is most often a marker of insulin resistance in children, can also be included in Crouzon's syndrome, where it is characterized by thicker and darker skin.

What are the causes of this condition?

As mentioned in the definition, Crouzon syndrome is a genetic disease whose origin resides on the “FGFR2” gene where there is "error" or "mutation".

This gene is involved in controlling the production of proteins responsible for bone development and growth. Its mutation will therefore cause a acceleration of the ossification process of all or part of cranial sutures.

The mode of transmission of the disease is autosomal dominant. That is to say, a person carrying the mutation has a 50% risk of transmitting it to their future children.

What about the prognosis?

You should know that this disease, although it is incurable, is generally always good prognosis ! A child with this syndrome can lead an almost normal life, provided that his illness is diagnosed as early as possible and surgery is done in time.

In addition, if it can be reassuring, apart from the various complications that we have already mentioned above, a child with this syndrome has intellectual capacities similar to those of a healthy individual. The cognitive faculties et intellectual are not affected.

Treatment of Crouzon syndrome 

Although there are several studies and researches that have been conducted with the aim of genetically curing Crouzon syndrome, none have resulted in human trials.

The treatment of this disease is therefore essentially symptomatic, and aims to prevent its complications and thus improve the quality of life of the affected child.

For a better prognosis of the disease, the child must benefit from a multidisciplinary care, involving professionals from different specialties, such as general practitioners, paediatricians, craniofacial surgeons, speech therapists, psychologists or child psychiatrists, etc.

The main therapies are:

surgery 

Most children with this syndrome are candidates for surgery because it represents one of the most important steps in their care.

It allows them to correct their craniofacial dysmorphism and, thus, will give their brains the chance to develop as normally and with as few complications as possible.

One of these interventions is the cranioplasty which surgeons use to treat or prevent a possible hydrocephalus, and also lighten the signs byintracranial hypertension (nausea, vomiting, headache, etc.).

Similarly, surgery of the nasal passages and oral cavity appears to be equally important in order to prevent respiratory problems such as sleep apnea.

Exophthalmos can also be treated surgically, this will not only improve the aesthetic side of the child, but will also minimize the risk of drying and infection of the eyes.

Maxillofacial interventions to improve the protrusion of the mandible and the deformity of the upper jaw.

In the face of major respiratory problems, a tracheotomy can be done urgently.

Please note: : it should be noted that the best time to resort to surgery (cranioplasty) is the first 12 months of life, since at this age the bones are more easily modeled and adapt better to surgical corrections. Nevertheless, the risk of recurrence of the sutures is all the higher as the age of the child is low.

Speech therapy

The role of the speech therapist consists in minimizing the complications linked to malformations of the phonatory apparatus. It can help the child to swallow safely, teach them to improve their language and breathing. In some cases where there is an associated cognitive impairment, the speech therapist may opt for the appropriate therapy.

occupational therapy

This therapeutic approach deals primarily with problems of eating, dressing, learning to write, emotional management, as well as other personal care related to activities of daily living.

Psychotherapy

A child diagnosed with a rare pathology such as Crouzon's syndrome runs the risk of encountering socio-affective and emotional problems in childhood or later in adulthood that will only accentuate his suffering. It is therefore essential to focus on the mental health and well-being of these patients, but also of their parents, in order to help them better care for their children with Crouzon syndrome.

Back to top

Syndrome de Crouzon: Définition et pronostic (Est-ce grave?)

Syndrome de Crouzon: Définition et pronostic (Est-ce grave?)

À la naissance, l’être humain naît avec une boite crânienne immature formée d’os qui n’ont pas encore atteint leur fermeture totale. Cette condition anatomique permet au cerveau de grossir et de se murir avec l’âge.

 

Cependant, dans de rares cas, la soudure de ces os se fait prématurément et cette anomalie affecte à la fois la morphologie du cerveau et du visage donnant un aspect de malformation très caractéristique. C’est ce qui définit le syndrome de Crouzon, une pathologie génétique rare qui touche environ 1/50000 naissances.

Qu’est-ce que le syndrome de Crouzon ?

 

L’appellation du syndrome de Crouzon revient au neurologue Français Louis Edouard Crouzon, qui l’a décrit pour la première fois au début du 20éme siècle.

 

Il s’agit d’une malformation congénitale (qui se présente à la naissance), d’origine génétique, lié à une mutation du gène FGFR2 siégeant sur le chromosome 10. Sur le plan anatomo-pathologique, cette anomalie se caractérise par une suture prématurée des os du crane (craniosynostose), provoquant une croissance atypique du cerveau et des organes qui composent la face.

 

syndrome de crouzon
Source

 

L’enfant porteur de ce syndrome peut manifester des complications plus ou moins graves d’ordre neurologique et fonctionnel à mesure qu’il grandit. Toutefois, ces complications peuvent être prévenues ou réduites de manière considérable tant que la maladie est diagnostiquée et traitée à temps.

 

D’un point de vue épidémiologique, le syndrome de Crouzon est le plus fréquent des anomalies génétiques rares touchant les os du crâne.

 

 

Comment reconnaitre le syndrome de Crouzon ?

 

Il est évident que le syndrome de Crouzon s’identifie à la naissance, mais la plupart des symptômes définissant ce syndrome sont mis en évidence au cours de la première année de vie.

 

De manière générale, les nourrissons qui en sont atteints présentent un tableau essentiellement osseux, qui se manifeste, le plus souvent, par :

 

  • Une brachycéphalie: qui correspond à un élargissement du crâne au niveau pariétal et un aplatissement de l’arrière de la tête, donnant l’impression que l’arrière de la tête est plus haut que le front.
À LIRE :   Tendinite du moyen fessier: symptômes et traitements naturels

 

  • Une exophtalmie: terme désignant une excavation des yeux qui résulte de l’ossification prématurée des os composant les globes oculaires. Cette protrusion pourrait induire des problèmes de vision chez l’enfant.

 

  • Un hypertélorisme orbital ou yeux écartés : symptôme caractérisé par une augmentation anormale de la distance séparant les deux yeux. Cette malformation est observée dans de nombreuses maladies génétiques telles que la trisomie 18, le syndrome d’Apert, etc.

 

  • Un nez en forme de bec : s’il n’est pas traité chirurgicalement, ce symptôme peut être responsable de difficultés respiratoires, allant d’une simple gêne respiratoire au syndrome d’apnée obstructive du sommeil.

 

  • Une projection de la mandibule (mâchoire inférieure) en avant, qui est plus évidente lorsqu’elle est associée à une hypoplasie de la mâchoire supérieure. Cela modifie l’anatomie de la cavité buccale et se répercute, parfois, sur la mastication et la phonation.

 

Par ailleurs, d’autres symptômes et complications moins fréquents peuvent s’observer de manière inconstante chez les enfants porteurs de Crouzon. Parmi ces signes, on peut citer :

 

  • Des problèmes auditifs: 55% des enfants atteints du syndrome de Crouzon ont une capacité acoustique fortement réduite du fait qu’ils sont nés sans canaux auditifs.

 

  • Des problèmes articulaires : au niveau cervical, rapportés chez 30% des patients.

 

 

  • Acanthosis Nigricans: cette affection dermatologique qui est, le plus souvent, un marqueur d’insulino-résistance chez l’enfant, peut également être incluse dans le syndrome de Crouzon, où elle se caractérise par une peau plus épaisse et plus sombre.

 

 

Quelles sont les causes de cette affection ?

 

Comme mentionné dans la définition, le syndrome de crouzon est une maladie génétique dont l’origine réside sur le gène « FGFR2 » où il y a « erreur » ou « mutation ».

 

Ce gène étant impliqué dans le contrôle de la production de protéines responsables du développement et de la croissance des os. Sa mutation va donc provoquer une accélération du processus d’ossification de tout ou partie des sutures crâniennes.

 

Le mode de transmission de la maladie est autosomique dominant. C’est-à-dire une personne porteuse de la mutation risque à 50% de la transmettre à ses futurs enfants.

À LIRE :   Sclérose en plaque et mal de dos : Causes et traitement

 

 

Qu’en est-il du pronostic ?

 

Il faut savoir que cette maladie, bien qu’elle soit incurable, est généralement toujours de bon pronostic ! Un enfant porteur de ce syndrome peut mener une vie presque normale, à condition que sa maladie soit diagnostiquée le plus tôt possible et qu’un recours à la chirurgie soit fait à temps.

 

syndrome de crouzon
Source

 

En plus, si cela peut rassurer, hormis les différentes complications que nous avons déjà évoquées plus haut, un enfant atteint ce syndrome est pourvu de capacités intellectuelles similaires à celles d’un individu sain. Les facultés cognitives et intellectuelles ne sont pas affectées.

 

 

Traitement du syndrome de Crouzon 

 

Bien qu’il existe plusieurs études et recherches qui ont été menées dans l’optique de guérir génétiquement le syndrome de Crouzon, aucune n’a abouti à des essais sur l’être humain.

 

Le traitement de cette maladie est donc essentiellement symptomatique, et vise à prévenir ses complications et à améliorer, ainsi, la qualité de vie de l’enfant qui en est atteint.

 

equipe multidisciplinaire dans le traitement du mal de dos

 

Pour un meilleur pronostic de la maladie, l’enfant doit bénéficier d’une prise en charge pluridisciplinaire, faisant intervenir des professionnels des différentes spécialités, tels que les généralistes, pédiatres, chirurgiens du crânio-facial, orthophonistes, psychologues ou pédopsychiatres, etc.

 

Les principales thérapeutiques sont :

 

Chirurgie 

 

La plupart des enfants porteurs de ce syndrome sont candidats à la chirurgie car celle-ci représente l’une des démarches les plus importantes de leur prise en charge.

 

chirurgie mal de dos

 

Elle permet de corriger leur dysmorphie crâniofaciale et, ainsi, donnera la chance à leur cerveau de se développer le plus normalement et avec le moins de complications possible.

 

Une de ces interventions est la cranioplastie à laquelle les chirurgiens font recours pour traiter ou prévenir une éventuelle hydrocéphalie, et aussi alléger les signes d’hypertension intracrânienne (nausées, vomissements, céphalées…).

 

De même, une intervention chirurgicale des voies nasales et de la cavité buccale semble être aussi importante afin de prévenir les problèmes respiratoires tels que l’apnée du sommeil.

 

L’exophtalmie peut également être traitée chirurgicalement, cela va non seulement améliorer le coté esthétique de l’enfant, mais réduira aussi au maximum le risque d’asséchement et d’infection des yeux.

 

Des interventions maxillo-faciales pour améliorer la protrusion de la mandibule et la déformation de la mâchoire supérieure.

À LIRE :   Coxa valga : trouble de la hanche (Que faire ?)

 

Devant des problèmes respiratoires majeurs, une trachéotomie peut être réalisée en urgence.

 

Remarque : il convient de noter que le meilleur moment pour avoir recours à la chirurgie (cranioplastie) est les 12 premiers mois de la vie, car à cet âge, les os se modélisent plus facilement et s’adaptent mieux aux corrections chirurgicales. Néanmoins, le risque de récidive des sutures est d’autant plus élevé que l’âge de l’enfant est bas.

 

Orthophonie

 

Le rôle de l’orthophoniste consiste à réduire au maximum les complications liées aux malformations de l’appareil phonatoire. Il peut aider l’enfant à avaler en toute sécurité, lui apprendre à améliorer sa langue et sa respiration. Dans certains cas où il y a une déficience cognitive associée, l’orthophoniste peut opter pour la thérapie appropriée.

 

Ergothérapie

 

Cette approche thérapeutique s’occupe essentiellement des problèmes d’alimentation, d’habillage, de l’apprentissage d’écriture, de la prise en charge émotionnelle, ainsi que d’autres soins personnels reliés aux activités de la vie quotidienne.

 

Psychothérapie

 

Un enfant chez qui on diagnostique une pathologie rare comme le syndrome de Crouzon risque de rencontrer dans son enfance ou plus tard à l’âge adulte des problèmes socioaffectifs et émotionnels qui ne feront qu’accentuer sa souffrance. Il est donc primordial de privilégier la santé mentale et le bien-être de ces malades, mais aussi de leurs parents, afin de les aider à mieux s’occuper de leurs enfants atteint du syndrome de Crouzon.