Arnold-Chiari malformation: All you need to know about this disorder

Arnold chiari 1 Arnold-Chiari malformation

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine 

Arnold-Chiari malformation is a rare congenital or acquired malformation of the cerebellum that seems to affect more women than men. Although all populations are affected without distinction, it is often discovered by chance between the ages of 20 and 35 years. An individual can then live with the Arnold-Chiari malformation a lifetime without knowing it because it can be asymptomatic. But it can also manifest itself through multiple symptoms.

This popularized article will give a more precise definition of the Arnold-Chiari malformation, its symptoms and causes. It will also list the means of diagnosis and the means of treatment.

Definition

La Arnold-Chiari malformation is an abnormality due to the fact that the lower part of the cerebellum (cerebellar tonsils) engages in the foramen magnum called a large hole (hole located in the center of the vertebrae). So instead of the cerebellum resting on the base of the skull, its lower portion enters this foramen (hole) normally occupied by the brainstem.

A bit of anatomy

The cerebellum is located posterior to the brainstem, in the posterior fossa. The cerebellum is joined to the brainstem by three pairs of cerebellar peduncles:

  • the inferior cerebellar peduncles (restiform and juxtarestiform bodies), which join the cerebellum to the medulla oblongata.
  • the middle cerebellar peduncles (brachium pontis), which join the cerebellum to the annular pons.
  • the superior cerebellar peduncles (brachium conjunctivum), which join the cerebellum to the midbrain (upper part of the brainstem).

The brainstem is an element of the nervous system that is located between the brain and the beginning of the spinal cord, inside the skull. It consists of three distinct structures:

  • the medulla oblongata (which provides the junction with the cervical spinal cord)
  • the annular protuberance (or bridge)
  • the cerebral peduncles (connected to the hemispheres of the brain).

The brain, like the cerebellum, is made up of two lobes. There are also two cerebellar tonsils. These cerebellar tonsils are located in the anterior part of the underside of the cerebellum. They are closer to the foramen magnum and are related to the medulla oblongata of the brainstem.

Arnold-Chiari malformation is therefore characterized by cerebellar tonsils abnormally low pitches that engage through the foramen magnum. Because of this structural abnormality, the cerebellar tonsils interfere with the circulation of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF). This results in a collection of LCS in the meninges of the spinal cord and brain. This creates pressure on the brain and spinal cord resulting in hydrocephalus and intracranial hypertension (HTIC).

The different types of Arnold-Chiari malformation

Type I

We are talking about Arnold-Chiari malformation type I when there is a herniation of the cerebellar tonsils of more than 5 mm in the foramen magnum. A syringomyelia of the cervical or cervico-thoracic spinal cord can be observed. Also referred to as " ptosis of the cerebellar tonsils » greater than 5 mm. Furthermore, the term Ectopia is used if the tonsil herniation is between 3 mm to 5 mm. A ptosis of less than 3 mm is considered normal.

Type II 

La Arnold-Chiari malformation type II corresponds to a malformation that extends to the structures of the central nervous system. We observe a descent of the cerebellar vermis (part that separates the two lobes of the cerebellum) and elements of the brainstem. The fourth ventricle (cavity inside the brain in which the CSF circulates) changes, the whole forming a pouch-like elongation. There is a modification of the osteo-dural structures (bone and dura mater) which reduce the dimensions of the posterior cerebral fossa. Arnold-Chiari malformation type II is most often associated with a spina bifida.

There are the Arnold-Chiari malformations type II and IV which are described. They are exceptional and more severe. These malformations are no longer encountered either because they are lethal or because detected on ultrasound before birth. In these cases, the parents generally resort to medical termination of pregnancy.

Symptoms of the disease

The clinical manifestations of Arnold-Chiari malformation are highly variable. However, not all symptoms appear in all people with this pathology. Many have only one to 3 symptoms. The possible symptoms in the Arnold-Chiari disease are the following.

  • headaches posterior (at the back of the head) and neck pain, nuchalgia (neck pain). These pains are reinforced during Valsalva maneuvers (exertion with the mouth closed) during coughing, defecation effort for example, etc.
  • Balance disorders in association with sensory and motor disorders which occur in such a way unilateral (one side only) and distal (of the extremities). These disorders can affect an upper limb or the hand.
  • achievement of cranial nerves (especially lower) and brainstem creating diplopia (sensation of seeing double), a nystagmus (involuntary eye movement), ataxia (lack of coordination of movements), a dysarthria (motor speech disorders), a dysphagia (difficulty swallowing). Involvement of the cranial nerves is linked to the compression of the structures at the level of the foramen magnum.
  • Swallowing and speech disorders (difficulty speaking).
  • Achievement of the lower limbs with paraparesis (mild difficulty in movement) and spasticity
  • Sphincter and sexual disorders

Other disorders sometimes associated with Chiari malformation include:

  • hydrocephalus
  • la syringomyelia
  • connective tissue disorders such as Ehlers-Danlos syndrome and Marfan syndrome
  • la scoliotic deformity which may precede the onset of neurological signs by several years
  • Studies have highlighted the frequency and potential aggravation of disorders such as: sleep apnea, respiratory arrest, syncope, even sudden death.

Causes

The causes of the occurrence of Arnold-Chiari malformation are theoretical. Three main theories are described:

Theory 1 

Abnormal circulation of Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) would push the cerebellum out of the cranial box (hydrocephalus, intracranial hypertension...).

Theory 2

This is the most commonly accepted pathophysiological mechanism for the Arnold-Chiari malformation based on a reduction or absence of development of the posterior fossa. The undersized posterior fossa is poorly closed to ensure normal brain development. It can be of congenital or acquired origin.

  • Congenital causes are:hydrocephalus, craniosynostosis  (sutures of the skull closing too soon), thehyperostosis (abnormal thickening of the bones), the rickets resistant to vitamin D and type I neurofibromatosis.
  • Acquired causes are: brain tumor, hematoma, traumatic brain injury.

Theory 3

This is the tethered marrow theory. The abnormal anchoring of the spinal cord at the base of the spine generates the hernia and is also the source of other symptoms.

Diagnostic

THEmedical imaging is essential to confirm the diagnosis of Arnold-Chiari malformation. THE scanner in bone window allows the analysis of bone abnormalities of the cranio-vertebral junction.

Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) in sagittal section, associated with other incidences, allows a complete analysis of lesions, topographical relationships between the spinal cord and the other anatomical elements of the spine, fluid and vascular compartments.

Treatment

surgery

The only known treatment for Arnold-Chiari malformation is surgery. The decision to operate is made by a neurosurgeon taking into account the fact that the symptoms are indeed due to the Chiari malformation.

Surgery is only considered if the symptoms are sufficiently disabling. The objective of this surgery will be to lift the compression of the posterior fossa to free up enough space around the malformation. This will allow the Cerebro-Spinal Fluid to regain normal circulation and thus reduce or at least stabilize neurological disorders.

The different stages of this surgical procedure include, depending on the case:

  • A craniectomy: opening of part of the cranial vault
  • A laminectomies : removal of part of one or more vertebrae
  • A duroplasty (plasty of the dura mater): incision of the dura mater and placement of a patch to widen it.
  • Tissue removal : cerebral tonsils are sometimes cauterized
  • Closure of the cranial vault
  • No specific treatment for syringomyelia (if associated) because it is a consequence of CSF circulation disorders.
  • After the operation, a re-education may be necessary and must be supervised by specialized nursing staff.

 

Pain management

  • Analgesics can be administered: levels 2, morphine derivatives.
  • La Transcutaneous Electrical Neuro Stimulation (Tens)
  • Hypnosis, acupuncture, physiotherapy

Management of other symptoms

  • A urinary catheter can be placed in case of urinary incontinence
  • Specific medications can be given to treat sexual impotence
  • Speech therapy sessions can help preserve phonation and swallowing
  • Physiotherapy (physiotherapy), balneotherapy and massage exercises can be useful to preserve maximum mobility of the arms and hands as well as walking
  • Psychological support could be considered

Conclusion

La Arnold-Chiari malformation is a congenital or acquired malformation of the cerebellum due to herniation of the tonsils of the cerebellum into the foramen magnum.

Types I and II are the best known and can be asymptomatic or symptomatic. The clinical manifestations of Arnold-Chiari malformation are multiple which makes the diagnosis not obvious.

Medical imaging, mainly MRI, confirms the diagnosis. The fundamental treatment to remove the malformation remains surgery. In addition, treatment of pain and other associated symptoms is necessary.

References

  1. https://www.apaiser.org/la-malformation-de-chiari/
  2. https://www.c-mavem.fr/spip.php?article7
  3. https://www.concilio.com/neurologie-malformation-darnold-chiari/
  4. http://www.chups.jussieu.fr/ext/neuranat/morphologie/cervelet/index.html

If you liked the article, please share it on your social networks (Facebook and others, by clicking on the link below). This will allow your relatives and friends suffering from the same condition to benefit from advice and support.

Back to top

Malformation d’Arnold-Chiari : Tout savoir sur ce trouble

Malformation d’Arnold-Chiari : Tout savoir sur ce trouble

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille 

La malformation d’Arnold-Chiari est une malformation congénitale rare ou acquise du cervelet qui semble atteindre plus les femmes que les hommes. Bien que toutes les populations soient touchées sans distinction, elle est souvent de découverte fortuite entre l’âge de 20 ans et 35 ans. Un individu peut alors vivre avec la malformation d’Arnold-Chiari toute une vie sans le savoir car elle peut être asymptomatique. Mais elle peut aussi se manifester à travers de multiples symptômes.

 

Cet article vulgarisé donnera une définition plus précise de la malformation d’Arnold-Chiari, ses symptômes et ses causes. Il énumèrera aussi les moyens de diagnostic et les moyens de traitement.

 

Définition

 

La malformaton d’Arnold-Chiari est une anomalie due au fait que la partie inférieure du cervelet (amygdales cérébelleuses) s’engage dans le trou occipital appelé foramen magnum (trou situé au centre des vertèbres). Donc au lieu que le cervelet se repose sur la base du crâne, sa portion inférieure s’introduit dans ce foramen (trou) normalement occupé par le tronc cérébral.

 

Source

 

Un peu d’anatomie

 

Le cervelet est situé en arrière du tronc cérébral, dans la fosse postérieure. Le cervelet est réuni au tronc cérébral par trois paires de pédoncules cérébelleux :

 

  • les pédoncules cérébelleux inférieurs (corps restiforme et juxtarestiforme), qui réunissent le cervelet au bulbe rachidien.
  • les pédoncules cérébelleux moyens (brachium pontis), qui réunissent le cervelet à la protubérance annulaire.
  • les pédoncules cérébelleux supérieurs (brachium conjonctivum), qui réunissent le cervelet au mésencéphale (partie supérieure du tronc cérébral).

 

Le tronc cérébral est un élément du système nerveux qui se situe entre le cerveau et le début de la moelle épinière, à l’intérieur du crâne. Il se compose de trois structures distinctes :

 

  • le bulbe rachidien (qui assure la jonction avec la moelle épinière cervicale)
  • la protubérance annulaire (ou pont)
  • les pédoncules cérébraux (connectés aux hémisphères du cerveau).

 

Le cerveau, comme le cervelet, est composé de deux lobes. Il existe également deux amygdales cérébelleuses. Ces amygdales cérébelleuses sont situées dans la partie antérieure de la face inférieure du cervelet. Elles sont plus proches du foramen magnum et sont en rapport avec le bulbe rachidien du tronc cérébral.

 

 

Source

 

La malformation d’Arnold-Chiari se caractérise donc par des amygdales cérébelleuses anormalement basses qui s’engagent au travers du trou occipital. À cause de cette anomalie structurelle, les amygdales cérébelleuses entrent en interférence avec la circulation du liquide cérébro-spinal (LCS). Il en résulte une collection de LCS dans les méninges de la moelle épinière et du cerveau. Cela crée une pression sur le cerveau et la moelle épinière entraînant une hydrocéphalie et une hypertension intra crânienne (HTIC).

 

Les différents types de malformation d’Arnold-Chiari

 

Type I

 

On parle de malformation d’Arnold-Chiari de type I lorsqu’il y a une hernie des amygdales cérébelleuses de plus de 5 mm dans le foramen magnum. Une syringomyélie de la moelle épinière cervicale ou cervico-thoracique peut être observée. On parle également de « ptôse des amygdales cérébelleuses » supérieure à 5 mm. Par ailleurs, le terme Ectopie est utilisé si la hernie des amygdales se situe entre 3 mm à 5 mm. Une ptose de moins de 3 mm est considérée comme normale.

 

Source

 

Type II 

 

La malformation d’Arnold-Chiari de type II correspond à une malformation qui s’étend aux structures du système nerveux central. On observe une descente du vermis cérébelleux (partie qui sépare les deux lobes du cervelet) et des éléments du tronc cérébral. Le quatrième ventricule (cavité à l’intérieur du cerveau dans laquelle circule le LCS) se modifie, le tout formant une élongation en forme de poche. Il se produit une modification des structures ostéo-durales (os et dure mère) qui réduisent les dimensions de la fosse cérébrale postérieure. La malformation d’Arnold-Chiari de type II est le plus souvent associée à un spina bifida.

 

Source

 

Il existe les Malformations d’Arnold-Chiari de type II et IV qui sont décrites. Elles sont exceptionnelles et plus sévères. Ces malformations ne sont plus rencontrées soit parce qu’elles sont létales, soit parce que détectées à l’échographie avant la naissance. Dans ces cas, les parents font généralement recours à l’interruption médicale de grossesse.

 

 

Symptômes

 

Les manifestations cliniques de la malformation d’Arnold-Chiari sont très variables. Cependant, tous les symptômes n’apparaissent pas chez toutes les personnes atteintes de cette pathologie. Beaucoup ne présentent qu’un à 3 symptômes. Les symptômes possibles dans la maladie d’Arnold-Chiari sont les suivants.

 

  • Céphalées postérieures (à l’arrière de la tête) et cervicalgies, nuchalgies (douleurs à la nuque). Ces douleurs se renforcent à l’occasion de manœuvres de Valsalva (effort à bouche fermée) lors de toux, d’effort de défécation par exemple, etc.
  • Troubles de l’équilibre en association avec des troubles sensitifs et moteurs qui  surviennent de manière unilatérale (un seul coté) et distale (des extrémités). Ces troubles peuvent toucher un membre supérieur ou la main.
  • Atteinte des nerfs crâniens (surtout inférieurs) et du tronc cérébral créant une diplopie (sensation de voir double), un nystagmus (mouvement involontaire des yeux), une ataxie (manque de coordination des mouvements), une dysarthrie (troubles moteurs de la parole), une dysphagie (difficulté à avaler). L’atteinte des nerfs crâniens est liée à la compression des structures au niveau du foramen magnum.
  • Troubles de la déglutition et de la phonation (difficulté à parler).
  • Atteinte des membres inférieurs avec paraparésie (légère difficulté de mouvement) et spasticité
  • Troubles sphinctériens et sexuels

 

D’autres troubles associés parfois à la malformation de Chiari comprennent :

 

  • l’hydrocéphalie
  • la syringomyélie
  • les troubles du tissu conjonctif tels que le syndrome d’Ehlers-Danlos et le syndrome de Marfan
  • la déformation scoliotique qui peut précéder de plusieurs années l’apparition des signes neurologiques
  • Des études ont souligné la fréquence et l’aggravation potentielle des troubles comme : apnées du sommeil, arrêt respiratoire, syncopes, voire mort subite.

 

Causes

 

Les causes de la survenue de la malformation d’Arnold-Chiari sont théoriques.  On décrit trois principales théories que sont :

 

Théorie 1 

 

Une circulation anormale du Liquide Cérébro Spinal (LCS) pousserait le cervelet hors de la boîte crânienne (hydrocéphalie, hypertension intracrânienne,…).

 

Théorie 2

 

C’est le mécanisme physiopathologique le plus communément admis pour la malformation d’Arnold-Chiari reposant sur une réduction ou une absence de développement de la fosse postérieure. La fosse postérieure sous-dimensionnée est mal fermée pour garantir un développement normal du cerveau. Elle peut être d’origine congénitale ou acquise.

 

  • Les causes congénitales sont : l’hydrocéphalie, la craniosynostose  (sutures du crâne se refermant trop tôt), l’hyperostose (épaississement anormal des os), le rachitisme résistant à la vitamine D et la neurofibromatose de type I.
  • Les causes acquises sont : la tumeur cérébrale, l’hématome, une blessure traumatique du cerveau.

 

Théorie 3

 

C’est la théorie de la moelle attachée. L’ancrage anormal de la moelle épinière à la base de la colonne vertébrale génère la hernie et est également source d’autres symptômes.

 

 

Diagnostic

 

L’imagerie médicale est fondamentale pour confirmer le diagnostic de la malformation d’Arnold-Chiari. Le scanner en fenêtre osseuse permet l’analyse des anomalies osseuses de la jonction crânio-vertébrale.

 

L’Imagerie par Résonance Magnétique (IRM) en coupe sagittale, associée aux autres incidences, permet une analyse complète des lésions, des rapports topographiques entre la moelle épinière et les autres éléments anatomiques du rachis, des compartiments liquidiens et vasculaires.

 

 

Traitement

 

Chirurgie

 

Le seul traitement connu de la malformation d’Arnold-Chiari est l’intervention chirurgicale. La décision d’opérer est prise par un neurochirurgien en prenant en compte le fait que les symptômes soient effectivement dus à la Malformation de Chiari.

 

La chirurgie n’est envisagée que si les symptômes sont suffisamment invalidants. L’objectif de cette chirurgie sera de lever la compression de la fosse postérieure pour dégager suffisamment d’espace autour de la malformation. Cela permettra au Liquide Cérébro-Spinal de retrouver une circulation normale et ainsi diminuer ou au moins stabiliser les troubles neurologiques.

 

Les différentes étapes de cette intervention chirurgicale comportent selon les cas :

 

  • Une craniectomie: ouverture d’une partie de la voute crânienne
  • Une laminectomie : retrait d’une partie d’une ou plusieurs vertèbres
  • Une duroplastie (plastie de la dure-mère) : incision de la dure mère et pose d’un patch pour élargir celle-ci.
  • Ablation des tissus : des amygdales cérébrales sont parfois cautérisées
  • Fermeture de la voute crânienne
  • Pas de traitement spécifique de la syringomyélie (si associée) car c’est une conséquence des troubles de la circulation du LCS.
  • Après l’opération, une rééducation peut être nécessaire et doit être encadrée par des personnels soignants spécialisés.

 

Source

Prise en charge de la douleur

 

  • Des antalgiques peuvent être administrés : paliers 2, dérivés de morphine.
  • La Neuro Stimulation Electrique Transcutanée (TENS)
  • L’hypnose, l’acupuncture, kinésithérapie

 

Prise en charge des autres symptômes

 

  • Une sonde urinaire peut être mise en place en cas d’incontinence urinaire
  • Des médicaments spécifiques peuvent être donnés pour traiter l’impuissance sexuelle
  • Des séances d’orthophonie peuvent aider à préserver la phonation et la déglutition
  • Des exercices de kinésithérapie (physiothérapie), de balnéothérapie et des massages peuvent s’avérer utiles pour préserver au maximum la mobilité des bras et des mains ainsi que la marche
  • Une prise en charge psychologique pourrait être envisagée

 

 

Conclusion

 

La Malformation d’Arnold-Chiari est une malformation congénitale ou acquise du cervelet due à une hernie des amygdales du cervelet  dans le trou occipital (foramen magnum).

 

Les types I et II sont les plus connus et peuvent être asymptomatiques ou symptomatiques. Les manifestations cliniques de la malformation d’Arnold-Chiari sont multiples ce qui rend le diagnostic pas évident.

 

L’imagerie médicale principalement l’IRM  permet de confirmer son diagnostic. Le traitement fondamental pour lever la malformation demeure la chirurgie. De plus, le traitement de la douleur et des autres symptômes associés est nécessaire.

 

 

Références

 

  1. https://www.apaiser.org/la-malformation-de-chiari/
  2. https://www.c-mavem.fr/spip.php?article7
  3. https://www.concilio.com/neurologie-malformation-darnold-chiari/
  4. http://www.chups.jussieu.fr/ext/neuranat/morphologie/cervelet/index.html

 

Si vous avez aimé l’article, merci de le partager sur vos réseaux sociaux (Facebook et autres, en cliquant sur le lien ci-dessous). Ceci permettra à vos proches et amis souffrant de la même condition de bénéficier de conseils et de support.