Lymphatic drainage: indications and risks (pregnancy)

drainage lymphatique

Your doctor has prescribed lymphatic drainage for you. Or you are simply looking for information about this treatment. In this article, discover the realities of indications and achievements of lymphatic drainage.

Definition

Lymphatic drainage is a gentle massage theoretically aimed at stimulating lymphatic circulation, detoxifying the body and strengthening the immune system.

Drainage is ideally performed by a health professional. However, the masseur could teach you self-massage techniques to help you perform daily sessions in the comfort of your own home.

Duration of treatment

The duration of the treatment is approximately one hour. Obviously, the exact duration will depend on the pathology in question, and the objective targeted by the therapist.

Generally, the treatment lasts several months and includes a few weekly sessions. For pregnant women, drainage should begin in the third trimester of pregnancy. And must last until delivery. Or even beyond.  

What is lymphatic drainage used for?

Lymphatic drainage is used for therapeutic, medical or aesthetic purposes. Its purpose is to facilitate and promote the resorption of excess fluid in the subcutaneous tissues. It is also intended to prevent the occurrence of edema or discomfort following certain medical and surgical procedures.

The drainage of the lymph is also practiced to reduce the pains, to decrease the apparent oedemas, and to increase the lymphatic flow.

What is this lymphatic system?

The lymphatic system is a collection of lymphatic vessels, nodes and lymphoid organs. This system is completed with the other two circulatory systems (arterial circulation and venous circulation.)

The lymphatic vessels are used to convey the lymph, hormones, certain nutrients and defense cells (called lymphocytes.) It is a liquid composed of ions, proteins, minerals and defense cells. Lymph therefore has approximately the same composition as blood plasma. The lymphoid organs contribute to the development and maturation of our defense cells. And the lymph nodes serve as a filter.

If this system is disrupted, the lymph and fluids in our tissues are no longer properly drained. Therefore, these liquids stagnate. Thus, there will be swelling in these areas. This is called edema. This retention can be drained manually to allow normal circulation of the lymph. This is lymphatic drainage.

What are the indications for lymphatic drainage?

Lymphatic drainage is prescribed by the doctor in the following pathologies:

  • primary and secondary lymphedema,
  • phlebo-lymphedema,
  • hematomas,
  • scleroderma,
  • complex regional pain syndrome,
  • post-traumatic edema (fracture)
  • post-surgical edema,
  • inflammation due to rheumatic pathology,
  • la fibromyalgia

The drainage of the lymph can also be done to prevent edema and stretch marks during pregnancy. For aesthetic purposes, drainage is indicated to eliminate cellulite and stretch marks, to accelerate healing and for facial care.

How is lymphatic drainage performed?

There are many lymphatic drainage techniques. But, the following two methods are most applied in practice.

Vodder's method : the massage is carried out by circular movements of the hand, with a variation of the pressure with each maneuver.

Leduc's method : this type of lymphatic drainage uses the Vodder technique and completes it with pressure therapy devices.

Lymphatic drainage is divided into three phases:

The intensive treatment phase : this step consists of informing the patient and training him in self-massage, self-bandaging, the placement of restraints and skin care. This first stage lasts about 3 to 4 weeks and the sessions are done up to five times a week.

The maintenance phase : this stage consists of self-rehabilitation, self-massage and self-bandaging (carried out by the patient himself). The latter will also have to follow rigorous hygiene during the treatment. The duration will depend on the importance of the oedemas.

The recovery phase intensive treatment: this step will depend on the result and the evolution observed after the first two phases. Indeed, if the edema remains stable, there will be no resumption but continuation of phase 2. On the contrary, if the edema is unstable or recurrent, the intensive treatment must be repeated.    

Benefits of Lymphatic Drainage

As we have seen previously, lymphatic drainage is used for preventive, therapeutic and aesthetic purposes. Depending on its indication, this massage increases well-being on a daily basis. How ? By increasing the elements essential to the circulation of the lymph. It improves the quality of sleep, increases appetite, reduces fatigue and promotes emotional stability.

In case of lymphedema, lymphatic drainage stabilizes and reduces the volume of limb edema. It softens the skin and reduces the associated pain. Drainage reduces the functional consequences in the edematous areas. And it helps manage day-to-day discomfort. It significantly reduces the occurrence of infections.

As part of aesthetics, manually draining the lymph removes cellulite, promotes healing, eliminates toxins and regenerates the body. It helps greatly in relieving varicose vein pain.

Side effects and contraindications

Like any medical treatment, lymphatic drainage has contraindications. This is why it is performed under the advice of a health professional.

Under no circumstances can drainage be performed if the patient has the following pathologies:

  • renal failure,
  • heart failure,
  • carotid sinus sclerosis,
  • venous pathologies: deep vein thrombosis
  • acute infections (acute tuberculosis, acute toxoplasmosis, pneumonia, abscess, phlebitis, erysipelas, lymphangitis, filariasis)
  • fever,
  • bronchial asthma
  • organ transplant

According to the advice and prescription of your attending physician, lymphatic drainage can still be considered in the event of (with caution):

  • hyperthyroidism,
  • untreated high blood pressure,
  • skin cancer,
  • chronic inflammation,
  • hypotonia
  • first trimester of pregnancy
  • liver damage

What are the side effects of drainage?

During the treatment, during the first three weeks, some discomfort may occur: pain, bruising and insomnia. You may also feel swollen. Travel can also be difficult. But you don't have to worry about these inconveniences. They disappear quickly a few weeks after the start of treatment.

Lymphatic drainage does not present any side effects or harmful health risks. If all the contraindications are respected, this lymphatic massage does not constitute any danger. However, it is still recommended to drink plenty of water after the sessions.

Why ? Because it will facilitate the elimination of toxins by the body. And above all, it will avoid the occurrence and amplification of discomfort due to maneuvers.

Lymphatic drainage in pregnant women

Lymphatic drainage can only be performed in pregnant women in the third trimester of pregnancy. During this period, the volume of the baby increases significantly. Therefore, it is an obstacle to the normal return of lymph. This leads to a stasis of lymphatic fluids and interstitial fluids in the lymphatic vessels. Edema may occur due to disruption of lymph resorption and drainage. This is commonly referred to as water retention.

This water retention is uncomfortable, heavy and above all painful. It is seen in the face, hands, arms, pelvis, legs, ankles and feet. Lymphatic drainage is therefore recommended as soon as edema appears in pregnant women. It relieves pain and reduces the volume of edema.

Indications for drainage in pregnant women

During pregnancy, lymphatic drainage is indicated in case of edema of the lower limbs (lower back, legs.) It is also indicated in the prevention of stretch marks. After childbirth, breast engorgement problems or mastitis can be relieved with manual drainage.

The benefits of lymphatic drainage for pregnant women

With drainage maneuvers, excess lymph will be eliminated. This therapeutic massage improves circulation and helps the evacuation of lymphatic fluids. It greatly reduces pain and reduces fatigue due to the weight of the baby and edema. Lymphatic drainage improves the circulation of nutrients. Therefore, it ensures better nutrition of mother and fetus and better gas exchange.

Lymphatic drainage is an effective way to facilitate natural childbirth. Not only does it prevent stretch marks, scars and edema. But it also helps prevent difficult deliveries. To benefit from the long-term benefits of drainage, sessions must start early. And especially carried out once or twice a week.

Lymphatic drainage is certainly an effective way to treat discomfort and pain. Nevertheless, you need the authorization of your attending physician or your massage therapist.physiotherapist to benefit from it. Indeed, any contraindication should be eliminated to prevent possible complications.

References

  • Work : Lymphatic drainage: theory: basic and applied techniques and decongestant physiotherapy, D Tomson, C. Schuchhardt; Ed Ermes
  • Academy of massage and orthotherapy: orthotherapy.com
Back to top

drainage lymphatique

Drainage lymphatique : indications et risques (grossesse)

Votre médecin vous a prescrit un drainage lymphatique. Ou vous cherchez tout simplement des informations concernant ce traitement. Dans cet article, découvrez les réalités d’indications et de réalisations du drainage lymphatique.

Définition

 

Le drainage lymphatique est un massage doux visant théoriquement à stimuler la circulation lymphatique, détoxifier l’organisme et renforcer le système immunitaire.

 

Le drainage est idéalement pratiqué par un professionnel de santé. Toutefois, le masseur pourrait vous apprendre des techniques d’auto-massage afin de vous aider à effectuer des séances quotidiennes dans le confort de votre foyer.

 

Durée du traitement

 

La durée du traitement est d’environ une heure. Évidemment, la durée exacte sera en fonction de la pathologie en cause, et de l’objectif visé par le thérapeute.

 

Généralement, le traitement dure plusieurs mois et inclut quelques séances hebdomadaires. Pour les femmes enceintes, le drainage est à débuter au troisième trimestre de grossesse. Et doit durer jusqu’à l’accouchement. Voire même au-delà.  

 

À quoi sert un drainage lymphatique ?

 

Le drainage lymphatique est utilisé à des fins thérapeutiques, médicales ou esthétiques. Il a pour but de faciliter et favoriser la résorption de l’excès de liquide dans les tissus sous-cutanés. Il est également destiné à prévenir la survenue d’œdème ou d’inconfort suite à certains actes médicaux et chirurgicaux.

 

Le drainage de la lymphe est pratiqué également pour réduire les douleurs, diminuer les œdèmes apparents, et d’augmenter le flux lymphatique.

 

Qu’est-ce que ce système lymphatique ?

 

Le système lymphatique est un ensemble de vaisseaux lymphatiques, de ganglions et d’organes lymphoïdes. Ce système se complète avec les deux autres appareils circulatoires (la circulation artériel et circulation veineuse.)

 

système lymphatique
Source

 

Les vaisseaux lymphatiques servent à véhiculer la lymphe, les hormones, certains nutriments et cellules de défense (appelées les lymphocytes.) C’est un liquide composé d’ions, de protéines, de minéraux et de cellule de défense. La lymphe a donc à peu près la même composition que le plasma sanguin. Les organes lymphoïdes contribuent à l’élaboration et à la maturation de nos cellules de défense. Et les ganglions servent de filtre.

 

En cas de perturbation de ce système, la lymphe et les liquides de nos tissus ne sont plus correctement drainés. Par conséquent, ces liquides stagnent. Ainsi, il va y avoir un gonflement au niveau de ces zones. C’est ce qu’on appelle œdème. Cette rétention peut être drainée manuellement pour permettre une circulation normale de la lymphe. C’est le drainage lymphatique.

 

lymphe gonflé
Source

 

 

Quelles sont les indications de drainage lymphatique ?

 

Le drainage lymphatique est prescrit par le médecin dans les pathologies suivantes :

 

  • les lymphoedèmes primaires et secondaires,
  • les phlébo-lymphoedèmes,
  • les hématomes,
  • les sclérodermies,
  • le syndrome douloureux régional complexe,
  • les œdèmes post-traumatiques (fracture)
  • les œdèmes post-chirurgicaux,
  • les inflammations dues à une pathologie rhumatismale,
  • la fibromyalgie

 

Le drainage de la lymphe peut s’effectuer également en prévention des œdèmes et des vergetures durant la grossesse. À des fins esthétiques, le drainage est indiqué pour éliminer les cellulites et les vergetures, pour accélérer la cicatrisation et pour les soins du visage.

 

 

Comment est réalisé un drainage lymphatique ?

 

Il existe de nombreuses techniques de drainage lymphatique. Mais, les deux méthodes suivantes sont les plus appliquées dans la pratique.

 

La méthode de Vodder : le massage s’effectue par des mouvements circulaires de la main, avec une variation de la pression à chaque manœuvre.

 

La méthode de Leduc : ce type de drainage lymphatique utilise la technique Vodder et la complète avec des appareils de pressothérapies.

 

Le drainage lymphatique se divise en trois phases :

 

La phase de traitement intensif : cette étape consiste à l’information du patient et à sa formation à l’automassage, à l’autobandage, à la mise en place des contentions et au soin de peau. Cette première étape dure environ 3 à 4 semaines et les séances se font jusqu’à cinq fois par semaines.

 

La phase d’entretien : cette étape consiste en des auto-rééducations, des automassages et des auto-bandages (réalisés par le patient lui-même). Ce dernier devra suivre également une hygiène rigoureuse pendant le traitement. La durée sera en fonction de l’importance des œdèmes.

 

La phase de reprise du traitement intensif : cette étape sera en fonction du résultat et de l’évolution constatée après les deux premières phases. En effet, si l’œdème reste stable, il n’y aura pas de reprise mais continuation de la phase 2. Au contraire, si l’œdème est instable ou récidivante, le traitement intensif est à refaire.    

 

 

Bienfaits du drainage lymphatique

 

Comme nous l’avons précédemment vu, le drainage lymphatique est utilisé à des fins préventives, thérapeutiques et esthétiques. En fonction de son indication, ce massage augmente le bien être au quotidien. Comment ? En augmentant les éléments indispensables à la circulation de la lymphe. Il améliore la qualité du sommeil, augmente l’appétit, diminue la fatigue et favoriserait la stabilité des émotions.

 

En cas de lymphœdèmes, le drainage lymphatique stabilise et réduit le volume des œdèmes des membres. Il assouplit la peau et diminue la douleur associée. Le drainage diminue les conséquences fonctionnelles au niveau des zones œdématiées. Et il aide à gérer l’inconfort au quotidien. Il réduit considérablement la survenue des infections.

 

Dans le cadre de l’esthétisme, drainer manuellement la lymphe enlève les cellulites, favorise la cicatrisation, élimine les toxines et régénère l’organisme. Il contribue grandement à soulager les douleurs variqueuses.

 

Effets secondaires et contre-indications

 

Comme tout traitement médical, le drainage lymphatique présente des contre-indications. C’est pour cela qu’il est exécuté sous avis d’un professionnel de santé.

 

En aucun cas, le drainage ne peut être pratiqué si le malade présente les pathologies suivantes :

 

  • insuffisance rénale,
  • insuffisance cardiaque,
  • sclérose du sinus carotidien,
  • pathologies veineuses : thrombose veineuse profonde
  • infections aigues (tuberculose aiguë, toxoplasmose aiguë, pneumonie, abcès, phlébite, érysipèle, lymphangite, filariose)
  • fièvre,
  • asthme bronchique
  • greffe d’organe

 

Selon l’avis et l’ordonnance de votre médecin traitant, le drainage lymphatique peut tout de même être envisagé en cas (avec précaution) :

 

  • d’hyperthyroïdie,
  • d’hypertension artérielle non traité,
  • de cancer de la peau,
  • d’inflammations chroniques,
  • d’hypotonie
  • de premier trimestre de grossesse
  • d’atteinte hépatique

 

 

Quels sont les effets indésirables du drainage ?

 

Lors du traitement, pendant les trois premières semaines, quelques inconforts peuvent survenir : des douleurs, des hématomes et une insomnie. Vous pouvez également vous sentir tuméfié. Les déplacements aussi peuvent être difficiles. Mais vous ne devez pas vous inquiétez de ces désagréments. Ils disparaissent rapidement quelques semaines après le début du traitement.

 

Le drainage lymphatique ne présente pas d’effets secondaires ou de risques néfastes à la santé. Si toutes les contre-indications sont bien respectées, ce massage lymphatique ne constitue aucun danger. Cependant, il est quand même recommandé de boire beaucoup d’eau après les séances.

 

Pourquoi ? Parce que cela facilitera l’élimination des toxines par l’organisme. Et surtout, cela évitera la survenue et l’amplification des inconforts due aux manœuvres.

 

Drainage lymphatique chez la femme enceinte

 

Le drainage lymphatique ne peut être effectué chez la femme enceinte qu’au troisième trimestre de grossesse. Au cours de cette période, le volume du bébé augmente considérablement. Par conséquent, il constitue un obstacle au retour normal de la lymphe. Cela entraine une stase des liquides lymphatiques et des liquides interstitiels au niveau des vaisseaux lymphatiques. Des œdèmes peuvent apparaitre à cause de la perturbation de la résorption et du drainage de la lymphe. C’est ce qu’on appelle communément la rétention d’eau.

 

Cette rétention d’eau est inconfortable, lourde et surtout douloureuse. Elle se voit au niveau du visage, des mains, des bras, du bassin, des jambes, des chevilles et des pieds. Le drainage lymphatique est ainsi conseillé dès l’apparition des œdèmes chez les femmes enceintes. Il soulage les douleurs et réduit le volume des œdèmes.

 

Les indications de drainage chez les femmes enceintes

 

Au cours de la grossesse, le drainage lymphatique est indiqué en cas d’œdèmes des membres inférieurs (le bas du dos, les jambes.) Il est aussi indiqué dans la prévention des vergetures. Après l’accouchement, les problèmes d’engorgement mammaires ou les mastites peuvent être soulagés avec le drainage manuel.

 

Les bienfaits du drainage lymphatiques pour les femmes enceintes

 

Avec les manœuvres de drainage, les excès de lymphe vont être éliminés. Ce massage thérapeutique améliore la circulation et aide à l’évacuation des liquides lymphatiques. Il diminue grandement les douleurs et réduit les fatigues dues au poids du bébé et des œdèmes. Le drainage lymphatique améliore la circulation des nutriments. Par conséquent, il assure une meilleure nutrition de la mère et du fœtus et un meilleur échange gazeux.

 

Le drainage lymphatique est un moyen efficace pour faciliter les accouchements par voie naturelle. Non seulement, il prévient contre les vergetures, les cicatrices et les œdèmes. Mais il aide à prévenir également les accouchements difficiles. Pour bénéficier à long terme des bienfaits du drainage, les séances doivent commencer tôt. Et surtout effectuées une à deux fois par semaine.

 

Le drainage lymphatique est, certes, un moyen efficace pour traiter les inconforts et les douleurs. Néanmoins, il faut l’autorisation de votre médecin traitant ou de votre masso-kinésithérapeute pour en bénéficier. En effet, il faudrait éliminer toute contre-indication pour prévenir les complications éventuelles.

 

 

Références

 

  • Ouvrage : Drainage lymphatique : théorie : techniques de base et appliquées et physiothérapie décongestionnante, D Tomson, C. Schuchhardt ; Ed Ermes
  • Académie de massage et d’orthothérapie : orthothérapie.com

Cet article vous-a-t-il été utile ?

Indiquez votre appréciation de l'article

Note des lecteurs 0 / 5. Nombre de votes 0

Si vous avez bénéficié de cet article...

Suivez-nous sur Youtube et Facebook

Navré que vous n'ayez pu trouver réponse à vos questions !

Aidez-nous à améliorer cet article !

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l'article ?

Douleurs physiques : Mini consultation gratuite

Répondez à ce court questionnaire en ligne pour bénéficier de recommandations spécifiques à VOTRE situation.