Temporomandibular Osteoarthritis: Causes and Management

jaw pain

The temporomandibular joint is one of the most stressed joints in daily life. It is useful to us especially for food and for speaking. Due to these many functions, this joint is exposed to multiple pathologies that can cause discomfort and pain when opening the mouth. And in this article we are going to talk about thetemporomandibular osteoarthritis. Discover the causes and the different ways to manage this joint pathology.

Definition and anatomy

What is temporomandibular osteoarthritis?

THEOsteoarthritis temporomandibular corresponds to a osteoarthritis of the jaw joint. It reflects the degradation of all joint structures (cartilage, bone and meniscus).

jaw joint anatomy

THEjoint temporomandibular also known by the abbreviated term ATM is the joint that connects the upper jaw and the mandible.

It is a diarthrosis (or synovial) joint of the bi-condylar type. She is extremely mobile. It is held together by ligaments, tendons and muscles.

Like all synovial joints, ATM lodges inside a joint capsule. It unites the mandibular fossa of the temporal bone with the condyle of the mandible (jaw) through an articular disc formed of fiber and cartilage.

There are two TMJs located in both sides of the face, in front of each ear. These two joints always work in sync, and perform two types of movement.

  • The opening of the mouth which is carried out by a rotation of the condyle of the mandible with the articular disc.
  • The lateralization of the jaw which occurs when there is translation between the articular disc and the temporal bone.

They thus allow the movements of the mandible in relation to the skull and offer several functions:

  • salivary or prandial (food) swallowing;
  • chewing;
  • phonation;
  • the yawn.

What is the difference between osteoarthritis and temporomandibular arthritis?

It is true that temporomandibular osteoarthritis and temporomandibular arthritis are very similar. They both affect ATM. The manifestations are very similar, because as with osteoarthritis, arthritis also manifests itself by inflammation of the joint area and by pain and limitation of movement of the jaw. However, it is not the same pathology.

THEOsteoarthritis temporomandibular is a mechanical, degenerative joint disease characterized by wear and tear on all structures of the jaw joint. Osteoarthritis in general refers to the disease of the cartilage. On the contrary, thearthritis temporomandibular encompasses all inflammations at the ATM level.

Temporomandibular arthritis includes inflammation of the tissues located on the ATM generally caused by the presence of foreign microorganisms in this part.

The origin of arthritis is often unknown, but in most cases it comes from an autoimmune reaction. In this self-defense mechanism, the human body attacks its own tissues and leads to arthritis in general.

There are several types of temporomandibular arthritis depending on the origin.

The only way to tell temporomandibular osteoarthritis apart from temporomandibular arthritis is by X-ray imaging.

Probable causes of the development of temporomandibular arthrosis

The causes of temporomandibular osteoarthritis can be many. The most important are those that lead to wear and tear of the cartilage. The articular cartilage deteriorates leading to inflammation of the TMJ.

In TMJ osteoarthritis, the fibrous disc and bone structure undergo remodeling and change shape. These are called degenerative changes. Once the disc shifts or perforates, symptoms of osteoarthritis appear.

There are also other causes of temporomandibular osteoarthritis:

  • abnormalities of the dental articulation;
  • facial trauma and fractures;
  • stress and prolonged anxiety;
  • parafunctions: unconscious hyperactivity or bob of the jaw often associated with grinding during sleep and dental wear;
  • hyperlaxity due to the presence of ligaments that are too loose or too relaxed;
  • a rheumatic disease...

Characteristic symptoms of temporomandibular osteoarthritis

The main signs that indicate the presence of osteoarthritis of the jaw concern both the mechanism, the pain and the functioning of the ATM.

For mechanical signs, the most characteristic are crackles or crackles when opening the mouth (cracking jaw), difficulty in chewing, limitation of the opening of the mouth as well as blockages or recurrent dislocation of the jaw.

As for the pain, it manifests itself especially during the opening and closing of the jaw. The patient may experience temple pain, sinus pain, headache, migraines, feeling of pressure or otitis in the ears, facial neuralgia, neck pain or shoulder pain… Some people also feel burning on the tongue during this joint disease.

In TMJ osteoarthritis, the patient also has difficulty chewing and is sometimes confronted with hearing problems. We mainly talk about tinnitus (an erroneous sensation of noise in the ear).

Diagnosis of temporomandibular osteoarthritis

The diagnosis of this pathology must be made with a doctor or a dentist. The procedure always begins with a palpation examination of the TMJ as the patient opens and closes their mouth. The practitioner thus observes any abnormal movements, pathological noises, inflammatory or painful reactions, etc. It should be noted that he must at the same time check for any other possible causes arising from other ENT or dental problems.

In case of perceptible cracking during the opening of the mouth, the diagnosis is oriented towards temporomandibular osteoarthritis. To confirm this, the doctor usually uses an X-ray.

Depending on the doctor's opinion, additional examinations such as CT scan, cone-beam type 3D digital radiography or MRI may be necessary. They are used to detect the presence of other pathologies that may be responsible for temporomandibular disorders such as:

Treatment of temporomandibular osteoarthritis

Treatment with analgesics, anti-inflammatories and sometimes muscle relaxants can relieve the symptoms of temporomandibular osteoarthritis. In case of failure, it is possible to make intra-articular injections based on betamethasone (AIS) and sodium hyaluronate. Intra-articular corticosteroid injections generally promise great effectiveness in reducing joint pain.

Botulinum toxin, in addition, also seems to be effective in the treatment of pain. Injected directly into the masticatory muscles (masseters and/or temporal and/or pterygoid), it helps them to relax which calms muscle and joint pain.

Functional TMJ treatment is also necessary to restore optimal dental occlusion. There are two main possibilities.

  • Orthodontic treatment (grinding of teeth…).
  • Wearing an occlusal device to stop pain and contractures. This is a relatively smooth bite plate over where the teeth rest, to allow them and the jaw to move unrestricted at rest.

Surgery is needed when there is a blockage in the opening of the mouth. Also, we must consider the prosthetic rehabilitation of posterior edentulism (loss of posterior teeth), frequently associated with temporomandibular osteoarthritis.

Physical therapy (physiotherapy) is also indicated to optimize the mechanics of the temporomandibular joint, strengthen the muscles involved in the stabilization and dynamics of the jaw, and to improve function.

References

https://www.msdmanuals.com/fr/accueil/troubles-bucco-dentaires/troubles-et-dysfonctions-temporo-mandibulaires/troubles-et-dysfonctions-temporo-mandibulaires

https://www.msdmanuals.com/fr/professional/troubles-dentaires/troubles-de-l-articulation-temporomandibulaire/arthrite-de-articulation-temporomandibulaire

Back to top

Arthrose temporo-mandibulaire : Causes et prise en charge

Arthrose temporo-mandibulaire : Causes et prise en charge

L’articulation temporo-mandibulaire fait partie des articulations les plus sollicitées dans la vie quotidienne. Elle nous est utile surtout pour nous alimenter et pour parler. Due à ces nombreuses fonctions, cette articulation s’expose à de multiples pathologies pouvant entraîner des gênes et de la douleur à l’ouverture de la bouche. Et dans cet article, nous allons parler de l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire. Découvrez les causes et les différents moyens pour prendre en charge de cette pathologie articulaire.

Définition et anatomie

 

Qu’est-ce que l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire ?

 

L’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire correspond à une arthrose de l’articulation de la mâchoire. Elle traduit la dégradation de toutes les structures articulaires (cartilage, os et ménisque).

 

Anatomie de l’articulation de la mâchoire

 

L’articulation temporo-mandibulaire aussi connue sous le terme abrégé ATM est l’articulation qui relie le maxillaire supérieur et la mandibule.

 

anatomie de la mâchoire
Source

 

C’est une articulation diarthrose (ou synoviale) de type bi-condylaire. Elle est extrêmement mobile. Elle est maintenue par des ligaments, des tendons et des muscles.

 

Comme toutes les articulations synoviales, l’ATM se loge à l’intérieur d’une capsule articulaire. Elle unit la fosse mandibulaire de l’os temporal avec le condyle de la mandibule (mâchoire) par l’intermédiaire d’un disque articulaire formé de fibre et de cartilage.

 

Il existe deux ATM situées dans les deux côtés du visage, en avant de chaque oreille. Ces deux articulations fonctionnent toujours de façon synchronisée, et effectuent deux types de mouvement.

 

  • L’ouverture de la bouche qui s’effectue par une rotation du condyle de la mandibule avec le disque articulaire.
  • La latéralisation de la mâchoire qui se produit lorsqu’il y a translation entre le disque articulaire et l’os temporal.

 

Elles permettent ainsi les mouvements de la mandibule par rapport au crâne et offrent plusieurs fonctions :

 

  • la déglutition salivaire ou prandiale (alimentaire) ;
  • la mastication ;
  • la phonation ;
  • le bâillement.

 

 

Quelle différence entre l’arthrose et l’arthrite temporo-mandibulaire ?

 

Il est vrai que l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire et l’arthrite temporo-mandibulaire sont très similaires. Elles affectent toutes les deux l’ATM. Les manifestations se ressemblent beaucoup, car comme pour l’arthrose, l’arthrite se manifeste également par l’inflammation de la zone articulaire et par des douleurs et une limitation du mouvement de la mâchoire. Il ne s’agit cependant pas de la même pathologie.

 

L’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire est une maladie mécanique et dégénérative de l’articulation caractérisée par l’usure de toutes les structures de l’articulation de la mâchoire. L’arthrose en général désigne la maladie du cartilage. Par contre, l’arthrite temporo-mandibulaire englobe toutes les inflammations au niveau de l’ATM.

 

L’arthrite temporo-mandibulaire regroupe les inflammations des tissus se trouvant sur l’ATM causée généralement par la présence de microorganismes étrangers dans cette partie.

 

L’origine de l’arthrite est souvent inconnue, mais dans la plupart des cas, elle vient d’une réaction auto-immune. Dans ce mécanisme d’autodéfense, le corps humain s’attaque à ses propres tissus et entraîne l’arthrite en général.

 

Il existe plusieurs types d’arthrite temporo-mandibulaire selon l’origine.

 

Le seul moyen qui permet de distinguer l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire et l’arthrite temporo-mandibulaire est le résultat d’une imagerie par rayon X.

 

 

Les causes probables du développement de l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire

 

Les causes de l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire peuvent être nombreuses. Les plus importantes sont celles qui conduisent à l’usure du cartilage. Le cartilage articulaire se détériore entraînant ainsi l’inflammation de l’ATM.

 

Dans le cadre d’une arthrose de l’ATM, le disque fibreux et la structure osseuse subissent un remodelage et changent de forme. On parle de modifications dégénératives. Une fois que le disque se déplace ou se perfore, les symptômes de l’arthrose apparaissent.

 

Il existe également d’autres causes de l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire :

 

  • les anomalies de l’articulé dentaire ;
  • les traumatismes et fractures de la face ;
  • le stress et l’anxiété prolongée ;
  • les parafonctions : hyperactivités inconscientes ou bob de la mâchoire souvent associée à des grincements pendant le sommeil et l’usure dentaire ;
  • l’hyperlaxité due à la présence de ligaments trop lâches ou trop détendus ;
  • une maladie rhumatismale…

 

 

Les symptômes caractéristiques de l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire

 

Les principaux signes qui indiquent la présence d’une arthrose de la mâchoire concernent à la fois le mécanisme, la douleur et le fonctionnement de l’ATM.

 

Pour les signes mécaniques, les plus caractéristiques sont les craquements ou crépitements lors de l’ouverture de la bouche (mâchoire qui craque), la difficulté à mastiquer, la limitation de l’ouverture de la bouche ainsi que les blocages ou la luxation récidivante de la mâchoire.

 

Quant à la douleur, elle se manifeste surtout pendant l’ouverture et la fermeture de la mâchoire. Le patient peut ressentir une douleur aux tempes, une douleur aux sinus, une céphalée, des migraines, une sensation de pression ou d’otite au niveau des oreilles, une névralgie faciale, une douleur cervicale ou une douleur à l’épaule… Certaines personnes ressentent aussi des brûlures sur la langue au cours de cette maladie articulaire.

 

Lors d’une arthrose de l’ATM, le patient a aussi du mal à macher et est parfois confronté à des problèmes d’audition. On parle surtout d’acouphènes (une sensation erronée de bruit dans l’oreille).

 

 

Le diagnostic de l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire

 

Le diagnostic de cette pathologie doit se faire auprès d’un médecin ou d’un dentiste. La procédure commence toujours par un examen de palpation de l’ATM pendant que le patient ouvre et ferme la bouche. Le praticien observe ainsi les éventuels mouvements anormaux, les bruits pathologiques, les réactions inflammatoires ou douloureuses… À noter qu’il doit par la même occasion vérifier toutes autres causes possibles provenant d’autres problèmes ORL ou dentaires.

 

En cas de craquement perceptible au cours de l’ouverture de la bouche, le diagnostic s’oriente vers l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire. Pour le confirmer, le médecin recourt généralement à une radiographie.

 

Selon l’avis du médecin, des examens supplémentaires comme le scanner, la radiographie numérique 3D type cone-beam ou l’IRM peuvent être nécessaires. Ils servent à détecter la présence d’autres pathologies pouvant être responsables de troubles temporo-mandibulaires telles que :

 

 

 

Traitement de l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire

 

Un traitement à base d’antalgiques, d’anti-inflammatoires et parfois de myorelaxants permet de soulager les symptômes de l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire. En cas d’échec, il est possible de faire des injections intra-articulaires à base de bétaméthasone (AIS) et d’hyaluronate de sodium. Les injections de corticoïde intra-articulaire promettent généralement une grande efficacité dans la réduction de la douleur au niveau de l’articulation.

 

La toxine botulique, en complément, paraît aussi avoir son efficacité sur le traitement de la douleur. Injectée directement dans les muscles masticateurs (masséters et/ou temporaux et/ou ptérygoïdiens), elle les aide à se détendre ce qui calme les douleurs musculaires et articulaires.

 

Un traitement fonctionnel de l’ATM est également nécessaire pour rétablir une occlusion dentaire optimale. Il existe deux grandes possibilités.

 

  • Traitement orthodontique (meulage de dents…).
  • Port d’un dispositif occlusal pour stopper les douleurs et les contractures. Il s’agit d’une plaque occlusale relativement lisse sur l’endroit où les dents se reposent, pour leur permettre ainsi qu’à la mâchoire de se déplacer sans restriction au repos.

 

La chirurgie est nécessaire lorsqu’il y a un blocage de l’ouverture de la bouche. Aussi, il faut songer à la réhabilitation prothétique des édentements postérieurs (pertes des dents postérieures), fréquemment associés à l’arthrose temporo-mandibulaire.

 

La kinésithérapie (physiothérapie) est également indiquée pour optimiser la mécanique de l’articulation temporo-mandibulaire, renforcement les muscles impliqués dans la stabilisation et la dynamique de la mâchoire, et pour améliorer la fonction.

 

 

Références

 

https://www.msdmanuals.com/fr/accueil/troubles-bucco-dentaires/troubles-et-dysfonctions-temporo-mandibulaires/troubles-et-dysfonctions-temporo-mandibulaires

https://www.msdmanuals.com/fr/professional/troubles-dentaires/troubles-de-l-articulation-temporomandibulaire/arthrite-de-articulation-temporomandibulaire