Which pillow to choose in case of cervical osteoarthritis? (Physio opinion)

sleep optimized for cervical osteoarthritis thanks to the memory foam pillow

Cervical spondylosis is one of the conditions that could be responsible for your neck pain, and which could push you to get a suitable pillow.

Indeed, this pathology affects more than 7 million French (mostly people over 50). And when we know that we spend more than 1/3 of our life lying down either 25 years of our life, the question that we did not ask ourselves before " do i need to take care of my neck » no longer arises, it is obvious. Whether by opting for a more suitable pillow or any other method aimed at improving the symptoms.

Let me give you a quick reminder of this pathology, then we'll see how to find a pillow/cushion suitable for cervical osteoarthritis, and how to use it well!

Understanding Cervical Osteoarthritis 

Before you start looking for a pillow to relieve your cervical spondylosis, so here is a little reminder about this pathology in order to better understand what it is…

La cervical spine consists of 7 overlapping bones (called vertebrae), numbered from C1 to C7. Between the vertebrae, there are intervertebral discs to absorb shocks and support movements.

Furthermore, each vertebrate is composed of articular facets called “zygapophyseal joints” which connect 2 vertebrae via their posterior arch. Cartilage lines these joints, allowing movement between the vertebrae and avoiding excessive friction.

What is cervical osteoarthritis?

Cervical osteoarthritis (cervicarthrosis) is therefore a cartilage degeneration at the joints of the cervical vertebrae.

Over time this degeneration mainly affects the lower vertebrae (C4-C5, C5-C6, C6-C7), it sits at the level of the discs, the articular facets as well as at the level of the uncus (lateral hooks of the cervical vertebrae, located between the 3rd and 7th cervical vertebra).

Result ? The patient feels severe pain in the neck, stiffness in the neck, as well as migraines in some cases. If a nerve is affected, paresthesias may appear in the upper limb (like ants in hands). It is therefore important to find treatments, especially while sleeping with a pillow designed specifically to reduce the onset and worsening of symptoms.

To know everything about cervical osteoarthritis, see the following article.

What type of pillow to use in case of cervical osteoarthritis?

Here we go, what type of pillow do I need for my cervical osteoarthritis? How to choose it? What to expect? etc

The firmness

The firmness of a pillow refers to its density (soft or firm) and how deep a sleeper's head will sink into the pillow relative to their height. The firmness of the pillow therefore depends directly on the density of the materials that compose it.

In general, a belly sleeper will prefer a soft or soft pillow while a side sleeper will prefer the firmer pillow. Otherwise you will have to test for yourself.

The sleeping position in case of cervical spondylosis (use)

Is there a sleeping position to prioritize when suffering from cervical osteoarthritis, neck pain, headaches, etc.? Let me share some untold facts with you!

Contrary to popular belief, there is not necessarily a "best" sleeping posture properly said. Similarly, there is no contraindicated posture that would be systematically “bad” for the cervical spine.

On the other hand, there are certain postures that reduce the stress on the cervical vertebrae. In the presence of pain, whether due to cervical osteoarthritis or other, I often recommend that my patients opt for a pillow specially designed for the cervical.

Although there is no "perfect" sleeping position, some of these pillows are not ideal for certain types of sleepers.

  • On the window

Some of these pillows will unfortunately not be more suitable for cervical osteoarthritis than a traditional pillow, or even worse! For the position on the belly it is preferable to opt for a light pillow, with shape memory or not, more "classic" soft, breathable and thin, in order to limit the torticollis, neck stiffness on waking and pain due to osteoarthritis.

If you have no preference, avoid sleeping on your stomach, especially in cases of cervical osteoarthritis. This will also promote good breathing because the position on the stomach compresses the rib cage leaving it less amplitude (the same for the trachea).

  • On the back

If you sleep on your back, a memory foam orthopedic pillow with neck support will be very good for your cervical osteoarthritis. It will keep your neck and cervical aligned during your sleep. Its memory foam will take care to follow the curvature your cervical region to limit pressure on the vertebrae. Its shape also makes it warmer than others and strikes the right balance between firmness and comfort.

  • On the side

A wave-shaped memory foam pillow will be ideal. Because its shape makes it possible to marry the curvature of the neck, thus reducing the overloads on the vertebrae. Its shape allows you to use it on the side without concession for your cervical. It is however necessary to take a cushion which has the right height so that it gives you real benefits. It should keep your cervical spine aligned with the rest of the spine.

These pillows are usually of a different height on each side to accommodate the majority. The disadvantage is that your cervical will be a little less well maintained during sleep than with the pillow for sleeping on your back (supports at the level of the neck).

For use, nothing really complicated, however, make sure that a small adaptation time be necessary for some people in order to be really comfortable or comfortable. If the pillow exacerbates your pain, please consult a healthcare professional.

Other details

For the rest it is mainly a question of personal preference, brands, materials (gel, feathers, latex…), colors, etc.

As for “anatomical”, or even “ergonomic”, or “approved” pillows, these are generally the same principles and it is often more about marketing than pillows with specific benefits.

Conclusion

Pillows designed for the cervical spine have many benefits for cervical osteoarthritis, they are just as useful when you suffer from neck pain, headaches, repeated torticollis, and morning aches.

Used properly, these pillows can improve the symptoms of cervical osteoarthritis and optimize our sleep, and thus improve our quality of life and our mood.

Good night, and good recovery!

Back to top

Quel oreiller choisir en cas arthrose cervicale ? (Avis kiné)

Quel oreiller choisir en cas arthrose cervicale ? (Avis kiné)

L’arthrose cervicale est l’une des conditions qui pourraient être responsables de vos douleurs à la nuque, et qui pourrait vous pousser à vous procurer un oreiller adapté.

 

En effet, cette pathologie touche plus de 7 millions de français (majoritairement les personnes de plus de 50 ans). Et lorsque l’on sait que l’on passe plus d’1/3 de notre vie allongée soit 25 ans de notre vie, la question que l’on ne se posait pas avant « faut-il que je prenne soin de mes cervicales » ne se pose plus, c’est une évidence. Que ce soit en optant pour un oreiller plus adapté ou tout autre méthode visant à améliorer les symptômes.

 

Laissez-moi vous donner une petite piqure de rappel sur cette pathologie, puis nous verrons comment trouver un oreiller/coussin adapté à l’arthrose cervicale, et comment bien l’utiliser !

 

 

Comprendre l’arthrose cervicale 

 

Avant de se lancer dans la recherche d’un oreiller pour soulager votre arthrose cervicale, voici donc un petit rappel sur cette pathologie afin de mieux comprendre de quoi il s’agit…

 

La colonne cervicale est constituée de 7 os superposés (appelés vertèbres), numérotées de C1 à C7. Entre les vertèbres, il existe des disques intervertébraux permettant d’absorber les chocs et accompagner les mouvements.

 

Par ailleurs, chaque vertèbre est composée de facettes articulaires appelées « articulations zygapophysaires » qui relient 2 vertèbres via leur arc postérieur. Un cartilage tapisse ces articulations, permettant le mouvement entre les vertèbres et l’évitement de friction excessive.

 

nerfs spinaux cervicaux causant des fourmis dans les mains
Source

L’arthrose cervicale c’est quoi ?

 

L’arthrose cervicale (cervicarthrose) est donc une dégénérescence du cartilage au niveau des articulations des vertèbres cervicales.

 

Avec le temps cette dégénération touche majoritairement les vertèbres basses (C4-C5, C5-C6, C6-C7), elle siège au niveau des disques, des facettes articulaires ainsi qu’à niveau des uncus (crochets latéraux des vertèbres cervicales, situés entre la 3e et la 7e vertèbre cervicale).

 

Résultat ? Le patient ressent de fortes douleurs au niveau de la nuque, des raideurs au cou, ainsi que des migraines dans certains cas. Il est donc important de trouver des traitements, notamment pendant le sommeil avec un oreiller conçu spécialement pour réduire l’apparition et l’aggravation des symptômes.

 

Pour tout savoir sur l’arthrose cervicale, consultez l’article suivant.

 

 

Quel type d’oreiller utiliser en cas d’arthrose cervicale ?

 

Nous y voilà, quel type d’oreiller ai-je besoin pour mon arthrose cervicale ? Comment le choisir ? A quoi m’attendre ? etc.

 

La fermeté

 

La fermeté d’un oreiller fait référence à sa densité (moelleux ou ferme) et à la profondeur à laquelle la tête d’un dormeur va s’enfoncer dans l’oreiller par rapport à sa hauteur. La fermeté de l’oreiller dépend donc directement de la densité des matériaux qui la compose.

 

En général, un dormeur ventral préfèrera un oreiller souple ou moelleux alors qu’un dormeur latéral préfèrera l’oreiller plus ferme. Sinon il vous faudra tester par vous-même.

 

La position de sommeil en cas d’arthrose cervicale (utilisation)

 

Existe-t-il une position de sommeil à prioriser lorsqu’on souffre d’arthrose cervicale, cervicalgie, maux de tête, etc. Laissez-moi vous partager des faits inédits !

 

Contrairement aux croyances populaires, il n’existe pas nécessairement de « meilleure » posture de sommeil à proprement dit. De même, il n’y a pas de posture contre-indiquée qui serait systématiquement « mauvaise » pour les cervicales.

 

Par contre, il existe certaines postures qui diminuent le stress sur les vertèbres cervicales. En présence de douleurs, que ce soit à cause d’arthrose cervicale ou autre je recommande souvent à mes patients d’opter pour un oreiller spécialement conçu pour les cervicales.

 

Bien qu’il n’y ait pas de position de sommeil « parfaite » certains de ces oreillers ne sont pas idéals pour certains types de dormeurs.

 

  • Sur le ventre

 

Certains de ces oreillers ne seront malheureusement pas plus adapté pour l’arthrose cervicale qu’un oreiller traditionnel, voir pire ! Pour la position sur le ventre il est préférable d’opter pour un oreiller léger, à mémoire de forme ou non, plus « classique » moelleux, respirant et mince, afin de limiter les torticolis, problèmes de raideur de la nuque au réveil et douleurs dû à l’arthrose.

 

Si vous n’avez pas de préférence, éviter de dormir sur le ventre, notamment en cas d’arthrose cervicale. Cela favorisera également une bonne respiration car la position sur le ventre compresse la cage thoracique lui laissant moins d‘amplitude (de même pour la trachée).

 

  • Sur le dos

 

Si vous dormez sur le dos, un oreiller orthopédique à mémoire de forme avec un soutien au niveau de la nuque sera très bien pour votre arthrose cervicale. Il maintiendra votre cou et vos cervicales aligné au cours de votre sommeil. Sa mousse à mémoire de forme se chargera d’épouser la courbure de votre région cervicale afin de limiter les pressions sur les vertèbres. Sa forme le rend également plus chaud que les autres et présente le juste milieu entre fermeté et confort.

 

oreiller orthopédique
Pour en savoir plus sur cet oreiller de la marque Fleuralia, cliquez ici

 

  • Sur le côté

 

Un oreiller à mémoire de forme en forme de vague sera idéal. Car sa forme permet d’épouser la courbure du cou, diminuant ainsi les surcharges sur les vertèbres. Sa forme vous permet une utilisation sur le côté sans concession pour vos cervicales. Il faut cependant prendre un coussin qui ai la bonne hauteur afin qu’il vous procure de réels bienfaits. Il devrait maintenir vos cervicales alignées avec le reste de la colonne vertébrale.

 

Ces oreillers sont généralement d’une hauteur différente de chaque côté afin de s’adapter à la majorité. L’inconvénient est que vos cervicales seront un peu moins bien maintenues pendant le sommeil qu’avec l’oreiller pour dormir sur le dos (soutient au niveau de la nuque).

 

Pour l’utilisation rien de bien compliquer, cependant veillez à ce qu’un petit temps d’adaptation soit nécessaire pour certaines personnes afin d’être vraiment à l’aise ou confortable. Si l’oreiller exacerbe vos douleurs veuillez consulter un professionnel de santé.

 

Autres détails

 

Pour le reste il s’agit surtout de préférence personnelle, marques, matériaux (gel, plumes, latex…), couleurs, etc.

 

Pour ce qui est des oreillers « anatomiques », ou encore « ergonomique », ou « approuvé » ce sont généralement les mêmes principes et Il s’agit souvent davantage de marketing que d’oreillers ayant des bienfaits spécifiques.

 

 

Conclusion

 

Les oreillers conçus pour les cervicales comportent de nombreux bénéfices pour l’arthrose cervicale, ils sont tout aussi utile lorsqu’on souffre de cervicalgies, maux de tête, torticolis à répétition, et courbatures matinales.

 

Utilisés adéquatement, ces oreillers (comme celui de chez Fleuralia) peuvent améliorer les symptômes de l’arthrose cervicale et optimiser notre sommeil, et ainsi améliorer notre qualité de vie et notre humeur.

 

Bonne nuit, et bonne guérison !