Torticollis: Blocked neck, what to do? (practical advice)

cervico-brachial neuralgia due to work

Le torticollis is a frequent cause of cervicalgia, that is to say pain in the neck. It is usually due to a contraction or a spasm of one or more muscles of the cervical region. It can also be of skin, bone or joint origin.

Torticollis most often progresses to healing spontaneous. Sometimes, a drug treatment will be necessary in front of the persistence or the intensity of the symptoms.

Although benign et passenger in the vast majority of cases, torticollis can turn out to be very painful and severely handicapping. Fortunately, simple measures can relieve it effectively and prevent its recurrence.

What is torticollis?

Le torticollis, from the Latin “collum distorsum” meaning "twisted neck", is a deformity characterized by an involuntary and permanent tilting, congenital or acquired, of the head and neck.

The inclination of the head and neck can be done in various directions: backwards, forwards or laterally, hence the names: posterior, anterior or lateral torticollis, the torticollis lateral being the most common variety.

Le torticollis is a clinical manifestation common to many medical or surgical conditions. Its origin can be skin, bone or muscle:

  • Cutaneous: retraction of the skin and of the subcutaneous cellular tissue, for example following a burn or an abscess, can be complicated by so-called scarring torticollis.
  • Bone: in many cases torticollis is the consequence of a joint or bone (vertebral) injury. The latter is then either directly responsible for torticollis by causing a deformation of the cervical spine, or indirectly by causing painful reflex muscle contractures responsible for vicious attitudes of the head.
  • Muscular: the neck is made up of many muscles which play a vital role in the balance of the head thanks to their tone, and in its mobility by ensuring movements in the different planes of space. This balance can be broken by the occurrence of contractures, spasms, retractions or paralysis.

From a surgical point of view, the torticollis by muscular retraction, usually congenital, is the most common. However, the most common cause of this neck deformity, one that the vast majority of us will experience at some point in our lives, is the torticollis due to muscle spasm.

This results in the sudden appearance of pain more or less intense at the level of the neck and by a limitation of head movements in certain planes of space (depending on the muscle affected). We have the feeling that our neck is literally blocked!

This type of torticollis is usually benign and very quickly resolvable in a way spontaneous. The fact remains that it is highly handicapping.

What are the causes of torticollis?

There are many causes of torticollis. A distinction is mainly made between congenital torticollis and chronic torticollis:

Congenital torticollis

Le torticollis congenital is a deformity of the neck found at birth during the first clinical examinations of the baby. According to data from the literature, this condition affects boys more often than girls, usually affects the right side of the neck, is very frequently héréditaire et often associated with other birth defects such as cleft lip and palate (hare beak), clubfoot, LCH (congenital hip dislocation)…

In order to explain the genesis of congenital torticollis, multiple theories have been put forward by scientists. Here are the main ones:

  1. Incorrect position of the fetal neck intrauterine: for example due to oligohydramnios (reduction in the amount of amniotic fluid, which is the liquid in which the fetus bathes), malformations of the uterus, adhesions which hold the head of the fetus in a bad position against the wall of the uterus… Basically, the baby being cramped in the belly of the future mother, her whole body is under pressure and her neck twists.
  2. Muscle or nerve damage during intrauterine development: may be of inflammatory origin or secondary to anomalies of fetal development.
  3. Asymmetry of facial development during fetal life: one of the sides stops developing, which creates muscle tension in the neck.
  4. Traumatic lesions of the sternocleidomastoid muscle during childbirth: especially in case of difficult vaginal delivery, especially in breech presentations (theory disputed by many authors).

To learn more about congenital torticollis, see the following article.

Acquired torticollis

As mentioned above, torticollis can have several origins: skin, bone and joint, muscle, etc. We will detail in this part the causes of the torticollis muscular " common ".

Muscle torticollis is caused by a spasm ou contraction involuntary unilateral (usually) one or more of the muscles of the neck (the most affected being the trapezius and the sterno-cleido-mastoid).

This contraction muscular reflex settles under the influence of various causes:

  • Sleep in a bad position (especially the prone position).
  • Poor posture at work (especially office work).
  • Exposure to cold or cooling.
  • Sudden movement or trauma to the neck.
  • Physical overwork.
  • Intellectual overwork.
  • Reflex local irritation.
  • Lesion of one of the organs in the vicinity of a neck muscle (cervical adenitis, damage to the thyroid gland, dental damage, damage to the ear, furuncle, etc.).
  • Depression and stress.
  • Strong emotions (sorrow, fear, etc.).
  • Menopause.

Many other causes of muscular torticollis are possible such as infections (meningitis, typhoid fever, etc.), rheumatic diseases, inflammatory diseases, certain medications, certain tumours, etc. A opinion medical is always desired in order to make sense of things.

What are the symptoms of torticollis?

The two main symptoms of torticollis are pain at the level of the neck, or “neck pain”, and the movement blocking of the head. Depending on the variety of torticollis (posterior, anterior or lateral), the pain may sit behind, in front or on the side of the neck. As for the blockage, it boils down to an inability or difficulty in moving the head fluidly and painlessly.

In its typical form, torticollis is characterized by a lateral tilt of the neck with rotation of the head contralaterally.

For example: right lateral torticollis = pain on the right side, inclination of the neck to the right (on the same side) and rotation of the head to the left (contralateral, that is to say towards the side opposite the lesion). 

Other symptoms may occur:

  • Neck stiffness.
  • Elevation of one shoulder relative to the other (contracture of the trapezius muscle).
  • Headache.
  • Shoulder pain.
  • Pain in the arm (simple irradiation or secondary to inflammation of a nerve root linked to a herniated disc or an cervical spondylosis).
  • Dorsalgia (pain in the back).
  • Fever.
  • Joint pain elsewhere (location other than the neck).

How is torticollis diagnosed?

Diagnosis is easy when it comes to a torticollis typical. Indeed, the questioning of the doctor supplemented by a meticulous physical examination is enough to strongly evoke the diagnosis of torticollis.

The doctor's questioning will specify the characteristics of neck pain (the medical history, in particular those concerning the cervico-facial region, the mode and the circumstances of occurrence, evolution over time in an acute or chronic manner, the precise location of the pain and its possible irradiations, the associated symptoms, etc.).

In a second step, or in parallel with the interrogation, the physical examination will show pain on passive and active mobilization of the head, rigidity in the muscles of the neck and a limitation of movement.

When the doctor concludes that it is a typical acute and benign torticollis, no exam complementary will not be necessary.

In some cases, before the character atypical symptoms, additional examinations may be prescribed by the doctor. He may then request an X-ray, a computed tomography (scanner), an MRI, a biological assessment, etc. This is to highlight certain bone and muscle abnormalities or other lesions that may explain the symptomatology.

When to consult?

In typical cases, the occurrence of torticollis does not necessarily require a medical consultation. It's a love benign which, in the vast majority of cases, heals spontaneously in a few hours to a few days.

However, there are certain circumstances that require a consultation medical :

  • Persistence of neck pain (several days or weeks).
  • Radiating arm pain.
  • Burning sensation or tingling in the arm.
  • Frequent recurrences (the torticollis comes back several times a month or a year).
  • Symptoms indicating an infection (fever, aches, headaches, photophobia, etc.).
  • Baby or child torticollis.
  • Pain associated with signs of shock (pallor, sweating, coldness of the extremities, ringing in the ears, cyanosis, dizziness, anxiety, impaired consciousness, palpitations, etc.).

What is the treatment for torticollis?

Torticollis does not require treatment. He cures spontaneously in a few hours to a few days. Time is therefore the main treatment for this benign condition.

While waiting for spontaneous healing, there are certain therapeutic measures to put in place to relieve the pain:

  1. Medicine analgesic simple (paracetamol, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs such as ibuprofen or ketoprofen).
  2. Medicine muscle relaxant (which allows muscle relaxation and a reduction of painful tension).
  3. Applying heat (hot water bottles or heating patches).
  4. Temporary wearing of a necklace cervical in foam (neck brace) to support the head and limit painful movements. Seek advice from a healthcare professional first.
  5. Sessions massage, stretching sweet and / or therapeutic exercises with a professional such as a physiotherapist, a chiropractor or an osteopath. It is also possible to perform self-massages to relieve pain.

Attention, the total immobilization of the neck is not recommended during torticollis. It is necessary to keep a certain mobility, even minimal, so as not to delay healing.

In all cases, and particularly in certain circumstances (mentioned earlier in the article), it will be necessary to have a doctor's opinion or another healthcare professional so as not to miss a potentially severe pathology that could mimic the clinical picture of benign torticollis.

How to sleep with torticollis?

Sleeping with a torticollis is not an easy task! The pains being frequently very intense, it is very difficult to obtain a position which makes it possible to relieve them to finally rest.

Fortunately, there are some tricks:

  1. Before to sleep : Take an analgesic to relieve pain and help you fall asleep. It is also beneficial to perform self-massages of the cervical region using massage oil to reduce muscle tension and pain.
  2. Sleep on the side: lateral decubitus is a position suitable for sleeping, as it respects the natural alignment of the spine (respecting its physiological curvatures). You just need to place a pillow thick enough to fill the space between the head and the plane of the bed in order to keep the cervical spine well aligned with the rest of the spine. This is to ensure that all the muscles of the spine are relaxed, and therefore less pain.
  3. Sleep on your back: Supine position is also a very good position for sleeping. It ensures muscle relaxation of the whole body for optimal rest. For this position, a thin pillow at the level of the neck is enough to ensure a good alignment of the vertebrae.
  4. Avoid sleeping on your stomach: the prone position does not respect the physiological curvatures and the alignment of the spine. It therefore promotes deformations of the spine and the appearance of painful tensions, especially at the cervical level.

To benefit from a orthopedic pillow ideal shape memory in the presence of torticollis, see the following article.

How to prevent torticollis?

To prevent the installation of a torticollis or its recurrences, it is enough to adopt the good habits on a daily basis:

  • Maintain good posture at all times : standing, sitting, lying down, at work, at home, in front of the screen…
  • Have suitable bedding: orthopedic mattress, pillows adapted to the sleeping position (thick for the position on the side, thin for the position on the back).
  • Sleep in the right position: avoid sleeping on your stomach, especially in the presence of chronic neck stiffness. The alignment of the vertebral column is not optimized in these circumstances, which favors the appearance of pathologies of the cervico-dorsal spine and muscular tensions.
  • Cover yourself well: it is necessary to protect oneself from the cold (in particular by wearing a scarf or a scarf around the neck), because it represents one of the frequent causes of acute torticollis.
  • Practice regular physical activity: strengthening and gentle stretching of the neck muscles can prevent various musculoskeletal pathologies, including torticollis.
  • Reduce stress: stress is one of the contributing factors of torticollis.

References

[1] P. Peyrou and D. Moulies, “Child torticollis: diagnostic approach”, Arch. Pediatrics, flight. 14, no 10, p. 1264-1270, 2007.

[2] N. Lutz and PY Zambelli, “Torticollis”, Vade-Mecum Pediatrics, p. 344-347, 2014.

[3] P. Redard, “ Torticollis and its treatment ». Carré and Naud, 1898.

[4] P. Pitron, “Torticollis”, Cah. Bioth, p. 41-44, 2002.

[5] M. François, “What to do in front of a torticollis? », Arch Pediatrician, flight. 20, p. 22‑3, 2013.

[6] P. Wicart, “Congenital torticollis”, Arch. Pediatrics, flight. 19, no 3, p. 335-339, 2012.

Back to top

Torticolis : Nuque bloquée, que faire ? (conseils pratiques)

Torticolis : Nuque bloquée, que faire ? (conseils pratiques)

Le torticolis est une cause fréquente de cervicalgies, c’est-à-dire de douleurs au niveau du cou. Il est généralement dû à une contracture ou un spasme d’un ou plusieurs muscles de la région cervicale. Il peut également être d’origine cutanée, osseuse ou articulaire.

 

Le torticolis évolue le plus souvent vers la guérison spontanée. Parfois, un traitement médicamenteux s’imposera devant la persistance ou l’intensité des symptômes.

 

Bien qu’il soit bénin et passager dans la grande majorité des cas, le torticolis peut se révéler très douloureux et fortement handicapant. Heureusement, des mesures simples peuvent le soulager efficacement et prévenir sa récidive.

Qu’est-ce qu’un torticolis ?

 

Le torticolis, du latin « collum distorsum » signifiant « cou tordu », est une difformité caractérisée par une inclinaison involontaire et permanente, congénitale ou acquise, de la tête et du cou.

 

L’inclinaison de la tête et du cou peut se faire dans divers sens : en arrière, en avant ou latéralement, d’où les dénominations : torticolis postérieur, antérieur ou latéral, le torticolis latéral étant la variété la plus fréquente.

 

Le torticolis est une manifestation clinique commune à de nombreuses affections médicales ou chirurgicales. Son origine peut être cutanée, osseuse ou musculaire :

 

  • Cutanée : une rétraction de la peau et du tissu cellulaire sous-cutané, par exemple suite à une brûlure ou un abcès, peut se compliquer d’un torticolis dit cicatriciel.
  • Osseuse : dans de nombreux cas, le torticolis est la conséquence d’une lésion articulaire ou osseuse (vertébrale). Cette dernière est alors soit directement responsable du torticolis en occasionnant une déformation du rachis cervical, soit indirectement en provoquant des contractures musculaires réflexes douloureuses responsables d’attitudes vicieuses de la tête.
  • Musculaire : le cou est constitué de nombreux muscles qui jouent un rôle primordial dans l’équilibre de la tête grâce à leur tonicité, et dans sa mobilité en assurant des mouvements dans les différents plans de l’espace. Cet équilibre peut être rompu par la survenue de contractures, de spasmes, de rétractions ou de paralysies.

 

D’un point de vue chirurgical, le torticolis par rétraction musculaire, généralement congénital, est le plus fréquent. Cependant, la cause la plus commune de cette difformité du cou, celle que la grande majorité d’entre nous connaîtra un jour ou l’autre de sa vie, est le torticolis par spasme musculaire.

 

Celui-ci se traduit par l’apparition brutale de douleurs plus ou moins intenses au niveau du cou et par une limitation des mouvements de la tête dans certains plans de l’espace (selon le muscle touché). On a la sensation que notre nuque est littéralement bloquée !

 

Ce type de torticolis est généralement bénin et très rapidement résolutif de manière spontanée. Il n’en demeure pas moins qu’il est fortement handicapant.

 

 

Quelles sont les causes du torticolis ?

 

Les causes de torticolis sont nombreuses. On distingue principalement les torticolis congénitaux et les torticolis chroniques :

 

Torticolis congénitaux

 

Le torticolis congénital est une difformité du cou constaté à la naissance lors des premiers examens cliniques du bébé. D’après les données de la littérature, cette affection touche plus souvent les garçons que les filles, concerne généralement le côté droit du cou, est très fréquemment héréditaire et s’associe souvent à d’autres malformations congénitales telles que la fente labio-palatine (bec de lièvre), le pied bot, la LCH (luxation congénitale de la hanche) …

 

torticolis congénital
Source

 

Afin d’expliquer la genèse du torticolis congénital, de multiples théories ont été émises par les scientifiques. En voici les principales :

 

  1. Mauvaise position du cou du fœtus en intra-utérin : par exemple à cause d’un oligoamnios (réduction de la quantité du liquide amniotique, qui est le liquide dans lequel baigne le fœtus), des malformations de l’utérus, des adhérences qui maintiennent la tête du fœtus dans une mauvaise position contre la paroi de l’utérus… En gros, le bébé étant à l’étroit dans le ventre de la future maman, tout son corps est sous pression et son cou se tord.
  2. Lésions musculaires ou nerveuses durant le développement intra-utérin : pouvant être d’origine inflammatoire ou secondaires à des anomalies du développement fœtal.
  3. Asymétrie du développement de la face lors de la vie fœtale : l’un des côtés arrête de se développer, ce qui crée des tensions musculaires au niveau du cou.
  4. Lésions traumatiques du muscle sterno-cléido-mastoïdien lors de l’accouchement : surtout en cas d’accouchement difficile par voie basse, notamment dans les présentations sièges (théorie contestée par de nombreux auteurs).

 

Pour en savoir plus sur le torticolis congénital, consultez l’article suivant.

 

Torticolis acquis

 

Comme mentionné plus haut, le torticolis peut avoir plusieurs origines : cutanée, osseuse et articulaire, musculaire, etc. Nous détaillerons dans cette partie les causes du torticolis musculaire « commun ».

 

Le torticolis musculaire est causé par un spasme ou contraction involontaire unilatérale (généralement) d’un ou plusieurs des muscles du cou (les plus touchés étant le trapèze et le sterno-cléido-mastoïdien).

 

Cette contracture musculaire réflexe s’installe sous l’influence de diverses causes :

 

  • Sommeil dans une mauvaise position (surtout la position ventrale).
  • Mauvaise posture au travail (surtout le travail de bureau).
  • Exposition au froid ou refroidissement.
  • Mouvement brutal ou traumatisme du cou.
  • Surmenage physique.
  • Surmenage intellectuel.
  • Irritation locale réflexe.
  • Lésion d’un des organes au voisinage d’un muscle du cou (adénite cervicale, atteinte de la glande thyroïde, atteinte dentaire, atteinte de l’oreille, furoncle…).
  • Dépression et stress.
  • Émotions fortes (chagrin, peur…).
  • Ménopause.

 

De nombreuses autres causes de torticolis musculaire sont possibles telles que des infections (méningite, fièvre typhoïde…), des maladies rhumatismales, des maladies inflammatoires, certains médicaments, certaines tumeurs, etc. Un avis médical est toujours souhaité afin de faire la part des choses.

 

 

Quels sont les symptômes du torticolis ?

 

Les deux principaux symptômes du torticolis sont la douleur au niveau du cou, ou « cervicalgie », et le blocage des mouvements de la tête. Selon la variété du torticolis (postérieur, antérieur ou latéral), la douleur peut siéger en arrière, en avant ou sur le côté du cou. Quant au blocage, il se résume en une incapacité ou difficulté à mobiliser la tête de manière fluide et indolore.

 

Dans sa forme typique, le torticolis se caractérise par une inclinaison latérale du cou avec rotation de la tête de manière controlatérale.

 

Exemple : torticolis latéral droit = douleurs au côté droit, inclinaison du cou à droite (du même côté) et rotation de la tête vers la gauche (en controlatéral, c’est-à-dire vers le côté opposé à la lésion). 

 

D’autres symptômes peuvent se rencontrer :

 

  • Raideurs au cou.
  • Surélévation d’une épaule par rapport à l’autre (contracture du muscle trapèze).
  • Céphalées.
  • Douleurs au niveau de l’épaule.
  • Douleurs au niveau du bras (simples irradiations ou secondaires à une inflammation d’une racine nerveuse en lien avec une hernie discale ou une arthrose cervicale).
  • Dorsalgies (douleurs au niveau du dos).
  • Fièvre.
  • Douleurs articulaires ailleurs (localisation autre que le cou).

 

 

Comment se pose le diagnostic de torticolis ?

 

Le diagnostic est facile lorsqu’il s’agit d’un torticolis typique. En effet, l’interrogatoire du médecin complété par un examen physique minutieux suffit à évoquer fortement le diagnostic de torticolis.

 

L’interrogatoire du médecin précisera les caractéristiques des cervicalgies (les antécédents médicaux, notamment ceux concernant la région cervico-faciale, le mode et les circonstances de survenue, évolution dans le temps de manière aiguë ou chronique, la localisation précise de la douleur et ses éventuelles irradiations, les symptômes associés…).

 

Dans un deuxième temps, ou parallèlement à l’interrogatoire, l’examen physique objectivera des douleurs à la mobilisation passive et active de la tête, des rigidités au niveau des muscles du cou et une limitation des mouvements.

 

Lorsque le médecin conclut qu’il s’agit d’un torticolis typique aigu et bénin, aucun examen complémentaire ne sera nécessaire.

 

Dans certains cas, devant le caractère atypique des symptômes, des examens complémentaires peuvent être prescrits par le médecin. Il pourra alors demander une radiographie, une tomodensitométrie (scanner), une IRM, un bilan biologique, etc. Cela afin de mettre en évidence certaines anomalies osseuses, musculaires ou autres lésions pouvant expliquer la symptomatologie.

 

Quand consulter ?

 

Dans les cas typiques, la survenue d’un torticolis ne nécessite pas forcément une consultation médicale. C’est une affection bénigne qui, dans la grande majorité des cas, guérit spontanément en quelques heures à quelques jours.

 

Toutefois, il existe certaines circonstances qui imposent une consultation médicale :

 

  • Persistance des cervicalgies (plusieurs jours ou semaines).
  • Irradiation des douleurs au bras.
  • Sensation de brûlure ou de fourmillements au niveau du bras.
  • Récidives fréquentes (le torticolis revient plusieurs fois dans le mois ou l’année).
  • Symptômes indiquant une infection (fièvre, courbatures, céphalées, photophobie…).
  • Torticolis du bébé ou de l’enfant.
  • Douleurs associées à des signes de choc (pâleur, sueurs, froideur des extrémités, bourdonnement d’oreilles, cyanose, vertiges, angoisse, troubles de la conscience, palpitations…).

 

 

Quel est le traitement du torticolis ?

 

Le torticolis ne nécessite aucun traitement. Il guérit spontanément en quelques heures à quelques jours. Le temps est donc le principal traitement de cette affection bénigne.

 

En attendant la guérison spontanée, il existe certaines mesures thérapeutiques à mettre en place afin de soulager la douleur :

 

  1. Médicament antalgique simple (paracétamol, anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens tels que l’ibuprofène ou le kétoprofène).
  2. Médicament myorelaxant (qui permet un relâchement musculaire et une réduction des tensions douloureuses).
  3. Application de chaleur (bouillottes ou patchs chauffants).
  4. Port temporaire d’un collier cervical en mousse (minerve) pour soutenir la tête et limiter les mouvements douloureux. Demandez conseil auprès d’un professionnel de santé au préalable.
  5. Séances de massage, d’étirements doux et/ou d’exercices thérapeutiques chez un professionnel tel qu’un kinésithérapeute, un chiropracteur ou un ostéopathe. Il est également possible de réaliser des automassages afin de soulager la douleur.

 

Attention, l’immobilisation totale du cou est déconseillée lors d’un torticolis. Il faut garder une certaine mobilité, même minime, afin de ne pas retarder la guérison.

 

Dans tous les cas, et particulièrement lors de certaines circonstances (citées plus haut dans l’article), il sera nécessaire d’avoir un avis de son médecin traitant ou d’un autre professionnel de la santé afin de ne pas passer à côté d’une pathologie potentiellement sévère pouvant mimer le tableau clinique du torticolis bénin.

 

Comment dormir avec un torticolis ?

 

Dormir en ayant un torticolis n’est pas une mince affaire ! Les douleurs étant fréquemment très intenses, il est très difficile d’obtenir une position qui permette de les soulager pour enfin se reposer.

 

Heureusement, il existe certaines astuces :

 

  1. Avant de dormir : prendre un antalgique pour soulager la douleur et favoriser l’endormissement. Il est également bénéfique de réaliser des automassages de la région cervicale à l’aide d’une huile de massage afin de réduire les tensions musculaires et les douleurs.
  2. Dormir sur le côté : le décubitus latéral est une position adaptée au sommeil, car elle respecte l’alignement naturel de la colonne vertébrale (respect de ses courbures physiologiques). Il faut juste placer un oreiller assez épais pour combler l’espace entre la tête et le plan du lit afin de maintenir le rachis cervical bien aligné avec le reste de la colonne vertébrale. Cela pour faire en sorte d’obtenir un relâchement de tous les muscles du rachis, et donc moins de douleurs.
  3. Dormir sur le dos : le décubitus dorsal est également une très bonne position pour le sommeil. Elle assure un relâchement musculaire de tout le corps pour un repos optimal. Pour cette position, un oreiller fin au niveau de la nuque suffit pour assurer un bon alignement des vertèbres.
  4. Éviter de dormir sur le ventre : la position ventrale ne respecte pas les courbures physiologiques et l’alignement de la colonne vertébrale. Elle favorise donc les déformations du rachis et l’apparition de tensions douloureuses, notamment au niveau cervical.

 

Pour bénéficier d’un oreiller orthopédique mémoire de forme idéal en présence de torticolis, consultez l’article suivant.

 

Comment prévenir le torticolis ?

 

Pour prévenir l’installation d’un torticolis ou ses récidives, il suffit d’adopter les bonnes habitudes au quotidien :

 

  • Maintenir une bonne posture en toute circonstance : debout, assis, allongé, au boulot, chez soi, devant l’écran…
  • Avoir une literie adaptée : matelas orthopédique, oreillers adaptés à la position du sommeil (épais pour la position sur le côté, fin pour la position sur le dos).
  • Dormir dans la bonne position : éviter de dormir sur le ventre, surtout en présence de raideurs cervicales chroniques. L’alignement de la colonne vertébrale n’est pas optimiser dans ces circonstances, ce qui favorise l’apparition de pathologies du rachis cervico-dorsal et des tensions musculaires.
  • Bien se couvrir : il faut se protéger du froid (notamment en portant un foulard ou une écharpe autour du cou), car il représente l’une des causes fréquentes de torticolis aigu.
  • Pratiquer une activité physique régulière : le renforcement et les étirements doux des muscles du cou permettent de prévenir diverses pathologies musculo-squelettiques, dont le torticolis.
  • Réduire le stress : le stress est l’un des facteurs favorisants du torticolis.

 

 

Références

 

[1]      P. Peyrou et D. Moulies, « Le torticolis de l’enfant : démarche diagnostique », Arch. Pédiatrie, vol. 14, no 10, p. 1264‑1270, 2007.

[2]       N. Lutz et P. Y. Zambelli, « Torticolis », Vade-Mecum Pédiatrie, p. 344‑347, 2014.

[3]       P. Redard, « Le torticolis et son traitement ». Carré et Naud, 1898.

[4]       P. Pitron, « Les torticolis », Cah. Bioth, p. 41‑44, 2002.

[5]       M. François, « Que faire devant un torticolis? », Arch Pediatr, vol. 20, p. 22‑3, 2013.

[6]       P. Wicart, « Torticolis congénital », Arch. Pédiatrie, vol. 19, no 3, p. 335‑339, 2012.