hip fracture4 hip fracture

Hip fracture: management

THEhip joint consists of therounded upper end of the femur (head of the femur) and the cavity (acetabulum) which receives this head. Together, these two parts allow the hip to move freely. They provide stability so that the person can stand et support one's own weight. In this article, discover the management measures in the event of a fracture of the upper end of the femur or a fracture of the hip.

Definition

 

Le femur is the long thigh bone. Its upper end is composed of a ball-shaped head. The latter is connected to trochanter by a narrow zone called femoral neck. The trochanter (bulge) is a bony mass making the link between the femoral neck and the long part of the femur. The head of the femur articulates with the pelvic bone at a joint called hip joint.

 

hip anatomy explaining pain

 

La hip fracture is a broken femur bone, more specifically of theupper end of the femur. In other words, it corresponds to all the fractures that can affect the upper part of the femur (thigh bone). It can occur in three different places:

 

  • At the level of the neck of the femur, we then speak of cervical fracture;
  • At the level of the trochanter, we then speak of intertrochanteric fracture
  • Either at the level of the head of the femur or under the large bulge (trochanter), we then speak of subtrochanteric fracture.

 

 

The causes of a hip fracture

 

At the people under 50, the fracture of the upper end of the femur usually occurs  after severe trauma (road accident, fall from a high place, practice of a contact sport…).

 

At a Old person, hip fracture most often results from banal fall in 95% of cases. It overwhelmingly affects women.

 

THEosteoporosis is one of risk factors major of a hip fracture. This disease causes the loss of bone mass in the neck of the femur and its fragility.

 

Alcohol abuse, prolonged use of corticosteroids or psychotropic drugs, smoking, thinness (because being overweight cushions the fall) and visual disturbances are also important risk factors. In addition, there are also pathologies occurring with age that promote falls, such as:

 

  • visual and auditory disturbances,
  • muscle weakness,
  • balance problems
  • other diseases that impair mobility (Parkinson's disease, stroke, etc.).

 

 

What are the symptoms of a fracture of the upper part of the femur?

 

Whatever the mode of onset, hip fractures lead in most cases to pain important and theimpossibility to get up or lean on the leg.

 

The person eventually perceives a creak and feel a pain lively, localized at the level of the hip, in the groin crease or in the buttock. It can't walk, neither stand nor move the leg (functional impotence). Any support on the leg concerned is impossible. Palpation and mobilization of the thigh will cause pain. Sometimes the pain seems to be coming from the knee rather than the hip. This sensation is due to the fact that the knee and the hip have certain nerve pathways in common. This pain is called radiated pain.

 

La leg affected may seem shorter (shortened) and times positioned (At external rotation). In other words, the patient will turn their foot outward. It is a reflex attitude, in order to avoid a painful posture. The thigh is deformed upwards.

 

leg position during a hip fracture
Source

 

If a large amount of blood leaks from the fracture, the person may feel dizziness or if feel weak. The area may swell (oedematous), and a purplish bruise may appear on the skin. This case is a surgical emergency.

 

 

How is the diagnosis made?

 

Le diagnostic is often posed on clinical examination. In general, the pains, the functional impotence and the deformity of the thigh allow the doctor to establish a diagnosis. In addition, in the event of a hip fracture, palpation and mobilization of the thigh cause pain.

 

Le initial radiological assessment includes a AP and lateral hip X-rays, the x-ray of the lower limb in internal rotation of 10˚ as well as a x-ray of the femoral neck in surgical profile. It is systematically associated with a pelvic x-ray face in search of a pelvic fracture associated.

 

hip fracture hip fracture

 

X-rays will display le line of femur fracture. It will determine the type of fracture line (transverse, oblique, spiral, etc.), location of the fracture line (cervical, intertrochanteric and subtrochanteric), angulation (in degrees) and displacement bone fragments (in millimetres).

 

If the symptoms are present and the X-ray does not reveal a fracture line in the femur, it will be necessary to make a IRM (Magnetic resonance imaging) in order to refine the diagnosis and rule out any doubts (small fractures or fissures). The computed tomography (CT) is sometimes used, but is less accurate in detecting minor hip fractures.

 

 

How to treat a hip fracture?

 

In general, a hip fracture requires a intervention surgical. It's about a surgical emergency. Ideally, this should be done within 24 hours of diagnosis to prevent the patient's general condition from deteriorating. The intervention can, however, be postponed in certain cases. The need to stop a contraindicated treatment during surgery such as certain oral anticoagulants is an example.

 

back pain surgery

 

At a young person, the purpose of the processing is to consolidate the fracture and preserve vitality of the femoral head. While at a Old person, his goal is to restore independence the most quickly as possible, in order to avoid the complications linked to prolonged bed rest and the deterioration of his state of health.

 

Some non-displaced fractures can however be managed without surgery, subject to strict bed rest.

 

It exists several types of surgical techniques the choice of which will depend on certain factors such as:

 

  • type of fracture;
  • shift ;
  • the age of the patient;
  • general state of health;
  • the importance ofosteoporosis ;
  • the patient's activity (profession, practiced sport, hobbies, etc.).

 

La hip prosthesis is especially recommended for elderly patients. This technique limits the duration of bed rest and allows the patient to recover more quickly.

 

The screws, pins, nails and plates on the other hand, are indicated for young patients. This with the aim of preserving the head of the femur and avoiding the installation of a hip prosthesis.

 

The different types of interventions to treat a broken hip

 

The hip prosthesis

 

La hip prosthesis involves replacing the head of the femur. When the roof of the hip joint (acetabulum) turns out to be in poor condition, the surgeon may have to replace it with a synthetic cup.

 

total hip prosthesis

 

The prosthesis makes it possible to recover more quickly. It is indicated in particular after the age of 70 when it is essential to limit the duration of bed rest and therefore the appearance of complications.

 

The intervention varies according to the state of the capsule: a set of fabrics in the form of a sleeve which encloses the joint.

 

Before replacing the hip joint, doctors remove the broken pieces of bone.

 

If a partial hip prosthesis is needed, surgeons use a prosthesis designed to fit in the socket of the pelvic bone joint. The prosthesis has a solid stem that fits in the center of the femur. It is intended for elderly people who walk very little, and therefore put very little stress on the hip joint.

 

A total hip prosthesis is sometimes necessary, especially in the event of a femoral neck fracture which can disrupt the blood supply to the hip. It allows you to find a better function. It is increasingly common in older active people. During the placement of a total hip prosthesis, the femoral head and the surface of the corresponding cavity are replaced.

 

To learn more about hip prosthesis, see the following article.

 

Screws, pins, nails and plates

 

Screws, pins, nails and plates are preferred before age 70.

 

Femoral neck fractures can be repaired by inserting metal pins through the neck and into the head of the femur.

 

Intertrochanteric fractures can be repaired by attaching a sliding compression screw and a metal side plate to hold the bone fragments in their normal position while the fracture heals. It takes at least 6 months before people feel as comfortable and strong as before the incident and can walk as before. 

 

How is rehabilitation going?

 

Whatever treatment is chosen, rehabilitation must be quickly put implemented after the intervention.

 

The day after the operation, the patient is encouraged to take a few steps, with the help of canes or crutches, under the close supervision of a physiotherapist. You have to walk, but without forcing.

 

Possible complications after the procedure

 

General complications

 

They are favored by hospitalization and prolonged bed rest.

 

  • Phlebitis : A blood clot forms in the veins of the leg.
  • Pulmonary embolism : the clot can pass through the veins and reach the lungs.
  • Confusion mental.
  • Aggravation of an already existing disease (aggravation of diabetes, heart problem, etc.).
  • Bedsores (wound of the skin related to its prolonged compression).

 

Orthopedic complications

 

Several situations can arise.

 

  • Displacement of a fracture after osteosynthesis, often linked to osteoporosis.
  • Necrosis (destruction) of the femoral head. It is often the result of a displaced fracture of the femoral neck.
  • Infection bone or joint.
  • Pseudarthrosis that is to say the non-union of the fracture.

 

Complications related to the prosthesis

 

La most common complication of a hip replacement is the dislocation. The femoral part comes out of the cavity of the acetabular part. This situation generally occurs shortly after the intervention, following an accidental movement.

 

To learn more about hip dislocation, see the following article.

 

 

References

 

https://www.msdmanuals.com/fr/accueil/l%C3%A9sions-et-intoxications/fractures/fractures-de-la-hanche

https://www.sfmu.org/upload/70_formation/02_eformation/02_congres/Urgences/urgences2008/donnees/pdf/078_lestavel.pdf

 

Was this article helpful to you?

Indicate your appreciation of the article

Readers rating 0 / 5. Number of votes 0

If you have benefited from this article...

Follow us on Youtube and Facebook

Sorry you couldn't find an answer to your questions!

Help us improve this article!

How can we improve the article?

fracture hanche4 fracture de la hanche

Fracture de la hanche : prise en charge

L’articulation de la hanche se compose de l’extrémité supérieure arrondie du fémur (tête du fémur) et de la cavité (acétabulum) qui reçoit cette tête. Ensemble, ces deux parties permettent à la hanche de bouger librement. Elles fournissent de la stabilité afin que la personne puisse se tenir debout et supporter son propre poids. Dans cet article, découvrez les mesures de prise en charge en cas de fracture de l’extrémité supérieure du fémur ou fracture de la hanche.

Définition

 

Le fémur est l’os long de la cuisse. Son extrémité supérieure est composée d’une tête en forme de boule. Cette dernière est reliée au trochanter par une zone étroite appelée col du fémur. Le trochanter (renflement) est un massif osseux faisant le lien entre le col fémoral et la partie longue du fémur. La tête du fémur s’articule avec l’os du bassin au niveau d’une articulation appelée articulation coxo-fémorale.

 

anatomie de la hanche expliquant les douleurs

 

La fracture de la hanche est une cassure de l’os du fémur, plus précisément de l’extrémité supérieure du fémur. En d’autres termes, il correspond à l’ensemble des fractures pouvant toucher la partie supérieure du fémur (os de la cuisse). Elle peut survenir à trois endroits différents :

 

  • Au niveau du col du fémur, on parle alors de fracture cervicale;
  • Au niveau du trochanter, on parle alors de fracture inter-trochantérienne
  • Ou bien au niveau de la tête du fémur ou sous le gros renflement (trochanter), on parle alors de fracture sous-trochantérienne.

 

 

Les causes d’une fracture de la hanche

 

Chez les personnes de moins de 50 ans, la fracture de l’extrémité supérieure du fémur survient généralement  après un traumatisme violent (accident de la route, chute d’un lieu élevé, pratique d’un sport de contact…).

 

Chez une personne âgée, la fracture de la hanche résulte le plus souvent d’une chute banale dans 95% des cas. Elle touche très majoritairement les femmes.

 

L’ostéoporose constitue l’un des facteurs de risque majeurs d’une fracture de la hanche. Cette maladie occasionne la perte de la masse osseuse du col du fémur et sa fragilité.

 

L’abus d’alcool, l’usage prolongé de corticoïdes ou de psychotropes, le tabagisme, la maigreur (car la surcharge pondérale amortit la chute) et les troubles de la vision sont également des facteurs de risque importants. À cela, s’ajoutent aussi les pathologies survenant avec l’âge qui favorisent les chutes comme :

 

  • les troubles visuels et auditifs,
  • la faiblesse musculaire,
  • les problèmes d’équilibre
  • d’autres maladies qui portent atteinte à la mobilité (maladie de Parkinson, AVC…).

 

 

Quels sont les symptômes d’une fracture de la partie haute du fémur ?

 

Quel que soit son mode de survenue, les fractures de la hanche entraînent dans la plupart des cas des douleurs importantes et l’impossibilité de se relever ou de s’appuyer sur la jambe.

 

La personne perçoit éventuellement un craquement et ressent une douleur vive, localisée au niveau de la hanche, dans le pli de l’aine ou dans la fesse. Elle ne peut pas marcher, ni se tenir debout, ni bouger la jambe (impotence fonctionnelle). Tout appui sur la jambe concernée est impossible. La palpation et la mobilisation de la cuisse provoqueront de la douleur. Des fois, la douleur semble venir du genou plutôt que de la hanche. Cette sensation est due au fait que le genou et la hanche ont certaines voies nerveuses en commun. Cette douleur est appelée douleur irradiée.

 

La jambe affectée peut sembler plus courte (raccourcie) et mal positionnée (en rotation externe). En d’autres termes, le patient tournera son pied vers l’extérieur. C’est une attitude réflexe, afin d’éviter une posture douloureuse. La cuisse est déformée vers le haut.

 

position de la jambe pendant une fracture de la hanche
Source

 

Si une grosse quantité de sang fuit de la fracture, la personne peut ressentir des vertiges ou se sentir faible. La zone peut gonfler (œdématié), et une ecchymose violacée peut apparaître sur la peau. Ce cas est une urgence chirurgicale.

 

 

Comment se fait le diagnostic ?

 

Le diagnostic est souvent posé dès l’examen clinique. En général, les douleurs, l’impotence fonctionnelle et la déformation de la cuisse permettent au médecin d’établir un diagnostic. En plus, en cas de fracture de la hanche, la palpation et la mobilisation la cuisse provoquent de la douleur.

 

Le bilan radiologique initial comprend une radiographie de la hanche de face et de profil, une radiographie du membre inférieur en rotation interne de 10˚ ainsi qu’une radiographie du col du fémur en profil chirurgical. On y associe systématiquement une radiographie du bassin de face à la recherche d’une fracture du bassin associée.

 

fracture hanche fracture de la hanche

 

La radiographie permettra de visualiser le trait de fracture du fémur. Elle permettra de déterminer le type de trait de fracture (transverse, oblique, en spirale, etc.), la localisation du trait de fracture (cervicale, inter-trochantérienne et sous-trochantérienne), l’angulation (en degrés) et le déplacement des fragments osseux (en millimètre).

 

Si les symptômes sont bien présents et que la radiographie ne révèle pas de trait de fracture au fémur, il faudra faire une IRM (Imagerie par Résonance Magnétique) afin d’affiner le diagnostic et d’écarter d’éventuels doutes (petites fractures ou fissures). La tomodensitométrie (TDM) est parfois utilisée, mais elle est moins précise pour détecter les petites fractures de la hanche.

 

 

Comment traiter une fracture à la hanche ?

 

En général, une fracture de la hanche requiert une intervention chirurgicale. Il s’agit d’une urgence chirurgicale. Idéalement, celle-ci doit être réalisée dans les 24 heures suivant le diagnostic pour éviter que l’état général du patient se dégrade. L’intervention peut, néanmoins, être différée dans certains cas. La nécessité d’arrêter un traitement contre-indiqué lors de la chirurgie comme certains anticoagulants oraux est un exemple.

 

chirurgie mal de dos

 

Chez une personne jeune, le traitement a pour but de consolider la fracture et de préserver la vitalité de la tête fémorale. Tandis que chez une personne âgée, il a pour but de restaurer son autonomie le plus rapidement possible, afin d’éviter les complications liées à un alitement prolongé et à la dégradation de son état de santé.

 

Certaines fractures non déplacées peuvent cependant être prises en charge sans intervention chirurgicale, moyennant un alitement strict.

 

Il existe plusieurs types de techniques chirurgicales dont le choix dépendra de certains facteurs à l’instar du :

 

  • type de fracture ;
  • déplacement ;
  • l’âge du patient ;
  • l’état de santé général ;
  • l’importance de l’ostéoporose ;
  • l’activité du patient (profession, sport pratiqué, loisirs …).

 

La prothèse de hanche est surtout recommandée pour les patients âgés. Cette technique limite la durée de l’alitement et permet au patient de récupérer plus rapidement.

 

Les vis, broches, clous et plaques par contre, sont indiqués pour les patients jeunes. Ceci dans l’objectif de conserver la tête du fémur et d’éviter la pose d’une prothèse de hanche.

 

Les différents types d’interventions pour soigner une fracture des hanches

 

La prothèse de hanche

 

La prothèse de hanche consiste à remplacer la tête du fémur. Lorsque le toit de l’articulation de la hanche (cotyle) s’avère en mauvais état, le chirurgien peut être amené à lui substituer une cupule synthétique.

 

prothèse totale de hanche

 

La prothèse permet de récupérer plus rapidement. Elle est indiquée notamment après 70 ans lorsqu’il s’avère essentiel de limiter la durée de l’alitement et donc l’apparition de complications.

 

L’intervention varie en fonction de l’état de la capsule : un ensemble de tissus en forme de manchon qui enserre l’articulation.

 

Avant de remplacer l’articulation de la hanche, les médecins retirent les morceaux d’os cassé.

 

Si une prothèse partielle de la hanche est nécessaire, les chirurgiens utilisent une prothèse conçue pour se loger dans la cavité de l’articulation de l’os pelvien. La prothèse est dotée d’une tige solide qui s’adapte au centre du fémur. Elle est destinée aux personnes âgées qui marchent très peu, et donc sollicitent très peu l’articulation de la hanche.

 

Une prothèse totale de hanche est parfois nécessaire surtout en cas de fracture du col du fémur qui peut perturber l’apport sanguin de la hanche. Elle permet de retrouver une meilleure fonction. Elle est de plus en plus fréquente chez les personnes plus âgées actives. Lors de la mise en place d’une prothèse totale de hanche, la tête fémorale et la surface de la cavité correspondante sont remplacées.

 

Pour en savoir plus sur la prothèse de hanche, consultez l’article suivant.

 

Les vis, les broches, les clous et les plaques

 

Les vis, les broches, les clous et les plaques sont préférés avant l’âge de 70 ans.

 

Les fractures du col du fémur peuvent être réparées en insérant des broches métalliques dans le col et dans la tête du fémur.

 

Les fractures intertrochantériennes peuvent être réparées en fixant une vis de compression coulissante et une plaque latérale en métal pour maintenir les fragments d’os dans leur position normale le temps de la guérison de la fracture. Il faut au moins 6 mois avant que les personnes se sentent aussi à l’aise et fortes qu’avant l’incident et qu’elles puissent marcher comme avant. 

 

Comment se passe la rééducation ?

 

Quel que soit le traitement choisi, une rééducation doit être rapidement mise en œuvre après l’intervention.

 

Dès le lendemain de l’opération, le patient est incité à faire quelques pas, en s’aidant de cannes ou de béquilles, sous l’étroite surveillance d’un kinésithérapeute. Il faut marcher, mais sans forcer.

 

Les complications possibles après l’intervention

 

Complications générales

 

Elles sont favorisées par l’hospitalisation et l’alitement prolongé.

 

  • Phlébite : un caillot sanguin se forme dans les veines de la jambe.
  • Embolie pulmonaire : le caillot peut passer par les veines et gagner les poumons.
  • Confusion mentale.
  • Aggravation d’une maladie déjà existante (aggravation d’un diabète, d’un problème cardiaque…).
  • Escarres (plaie de la peau liée à sa compression prolongée).

 

Complications orthopédiques

 

Plusieurs situations peuvent survenir.

 

  • Déplacement d’une fracture après ostéosynthèse, souvent lié à une ostéoporose.
  • Nécrose (destruction) de la tête fémorale. Elle est souvent consécutive à une fracture déplacée du col du fémur.
  • Infection osseuse ou articulaire.
  • Pseudarthrose c’est-à-dire la non-consolidation de la fracture.

 

Complications liées à la prothèse

 

La complication la plus courante d’une prothèse de la hanche est la luxation. La pièce fémorale sort de la cavité de la pièce cotyloïdienne. Cette situation survient en général peu de temps après l’intervention, suite à un mouvement accidentel.

 

Pour en savoir plus sur la luxation de hanche, consultez l’article suivant.

 

 

Références

 

https://www.msdmanuals.com/fr/accueil/l%C3%A9sions-et-intoxications/fractures/fractures-de-la-hanche

https://www.sfmu.org/upload/70_formation/02_eformation/02_congres/Urgences/urgences2008/donnees/pdf/078_lestavel.pdf

 

Cet article vous-a-t-il été utile ?

Indiquez votre appréciation de l'article

Note des lecteurs 0 / 5. Nombre de votes 0

Si vous avez bénéficié de cet article...

Suivez-nous sur Youtube et Facebook

Navré que vous n'ayez pu trouver réponse à vos questions !

Aidez-nous à améliorer cet article !

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l'article ?

Douleurs physiques : Mini consultation gratuite

Répondez à ce court questionnaire en ligne pour bénéficier de recommandations spécifiques à VOTRE situation.