Faber test: Definition and interpretation (positive test)

faber2 test faber test

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

Named after the American neurologist Hugh Patrick, the Faber test (also known as the Patrick test or figure 4) is a clinical pain provocation test aimed at diagnosing pathology in the hip, lumbar region or sacroiliac region. This article describes the indications for the test, its procedure and its interpretation.

Anatomy and definition

The hip joint is formed by the head of the femur which articulates with the acetabulum of the pelvis. This joint serves as the main link between the lower limb and the trunk, and generally operates in a closed kinematic chain (it regularly supports the weight of the body when the leg is anchored to the ground).

The possible movements of the hip joint are flexion, extension, abduction, adduction, internal rotation and external rotation. The ligaments in the hip joint work to increase stability, as does the acetabular labrum.

Faber is an acronym for flexion (F), abduction (AB) and external rotation (ER) of the hip where these three combined movements put stress on the previously mentioned joints.

Indications

The Faber test is mainly used to identify hip pathology by exerting stress on the coxo-femoral joint, in addition to soliciting the lumbar region and the sacroiliac joint. Musculoskeletal pathologies can cause pain during the test.

If the pain is felt at the sacroiliac level, this can lead to the following pathologies:

If the pain is felt in the groin, this can point to the following pathologies:

If the pain is felt in the lumbar or buttocks, this can point to the following pathologies:

  • Low back pain
  • Hip pathology

In conjunction with other tests such as mobility and hip strength, as well as other specific tests, the Faber test can prove to be a useful tool for the practitioner when making the decision to refer to a medical imaging or other more detailed assessments.

Procedure

The patient is placed in the supine position (on the back). The assessed leg is placed in position so as to form a 4 (more specifically, the hip is positioned in flexion, abduction and external rotation). The outer side of the assessed ankle should rest on the opposite thigh after positioning the leg for the Faber test.

While stabilizing the opposite side of the pelvis (at the level of the antero-superior iliac spine), the evaluator exerts a force aimed at pushing the knee of the affected leg towards the table. This is equivalent to a combined movement of flexion, abduction and external rotation. Mini oscillations of low amplitude can be applied at the end of the movement to check if there is provocation of pain.

A Faber test is qualified as positive if it reproduces a characteristic pain (that of which the patient normally complains), or if the range of motion is significantly limited compared to the healthy side.

Conclusion

The FABER test is used in the diagnosis of conditions related to the hip, lumbar or sacroiliac region. This is a quick and easy to perform pain provocation test. Above all, it guides the healthcare professional in their decision-making and clinical reasoning. For example, he can suggest that the practitioner prescribe hip mobility exercises, or refer him to medical imaging to obtain more information on the patient's condition.

References

  • https://www.physio-pedia.com/FABER_Test
  • https://fpnotebook.com/ortho/Exam/FbrTst.htm
  • https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick%27s_test
  • https://www.researchgate.net/figure/FAbER-test-the-ankle-of-the-side-to-be-tested-on-level-of-the-opposite-patella-the-hip_fig7_325435933
Back to top

Test de Faber : Définition et interprétation (test positif)

Test de Faber : Définition et interprétation (test positif)

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

Nommé après le neurologue américain Hugh Patrick, le test de Faber (également qualifié de test de Patrick ou figure en 4) est un test clinique de provocation de douleur visant à diagnostiquer une pathologie de la hanche, de la région lombaire ou sacro-iliaque. Cet article décrit les indications du test, son déroulement et son interprétation.

 

Anatomie et définition

 

L’articulation de la hanche est formée par la tête du fémur qui s’articule avec l’acétabulum du bassin. Cette articulation sert de lien principal entre le membre inférieur et le tronc, et fonctionne généralement en chaîne cinématique fermée (elle supporte régulièrement le poids du corps lorsque la jambe est ancrée au sol).

 

Les mouvements possible de l’articulation de la hanche sont la flexion, l’extension, l’abduction, l’adduction, la rotation interne et la rotation externe. Les ligaments de l’articulation de la hanche agissent pour augmenter la stabilité, de même que le labrum acétabulaire.

 

Faber est un acronyme désignant la flexion (F), abduction (AB) et rotation externe (ER) de la hanche où ces trois mouvements combinés exercent une stress sur les articulations mentionnées précédemment.

 

test de faber
Source

 

 

Indications

 

Le test de Faber est utilisé principalement pour identifier une pathologie de hanche en exerçant un stress sur l’articulation coxo-fémorale, en plus de solliciter la région lombaire et l’articulation sacro-iliaque. Des pathologies musculo-squelettiques peuvent générer des douleurs au test.

 

À LIRE :   Abcès épidural : Symptômes et prise en charge (Que faire ?)

Si la douleur est ressentie au niveau sacro-iliaque, ceci peut orienter vers les pathologies suivantes :

 

 

Si la douleur est ressentie au niveau de l’aine, ceci peut orienter vers les pathologies suivantes :

 

 

Si la douleur est ressentie au niveau lombaire ou de la fesse, ceci peut orienter vers les pathologies suivantes :

 

  • Lombalgie
  • Pathologie de hanche

 

En conjonction avec d’autres tests tels que la mobilité et la force de la hanche, ainsi que d’autres tests spécifiques, le test de Faber peut s’avérer un outil utile au praticien lorsqu’il doit prendre la décision d’orienter vers une imagerie médicale ou autres bilans plus poussés.

 

 

Procédure

 

 

Le patient est placé en décubitus dorsal (sur le dos). La jambe évaluée est placée en position de manière à former un 4 (plus spécifiquement, la hanche est positionnée en flexion, abduction et rotation exerne). Le côté externe de la cheville évaluée devrait reposer sur la cuisse opposée après avoir position la jambe pour le test de Faber.

 

Tout en stabilisant le côté opposé du bassin (au niveau de l’épine iliaque antéro-supérieure), l’évaluateur exerce une force visant à pousser le genou de la jambe atteinte vers la table. Ceci équivaut à une mouvement combiné de flexion, abduction et rotation externe. De mini oscillations de faible amplitude peuvent être appliquées en fin de mouvement pour vérifier s’il y a provocation de douleur.

 

Un test de Faber est qualifié de positif s’il reproduit une douleur caractéristique (celle dont se plaint normalement le patient), ou si l’amplitude de mouvement est limité de façon significative par rapport au côté sain.

À LIRE :   Sténose spinale: Le guide complet (comment la traiter ?)

 

 

Conclusion

 

Le test FABER est utilisé dans le diagnostic des conditions reliées à la hanche, la région lombaire ou sacro-iliaque. Il s’agit d’un test de provocation de douleur rapide et facile à effectuer. Par dessus tout, il guide le professionnel de santé dans sa prise de décision et son raisonnement clinique. Par exemple, il peut suggérer au praticien de prescrire des exercices de mobilité de hanche, ou encore le référer vers une imagerie médicale pour obtenir plus d’information sur la condition du patient.

 

 

Références

 

  • https://www.physio-pedia.com/FABER_Test
  • https://fpnotebook.com/ortho/Exam/FbrTst.htm
  • https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick%27s_test
  • https://www.researchgate.net/figure/FAbER-test-the-ankle-of-the-side-to-be-tested-on-level-of-the-opposite-patella-the-hip_fig7_325435933