Percutaneous hydrotomy: Everything you need to know (Benefits and risks)

percutaneous hydrotomy

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine 

To relieve the discomfort or pain related to particular diseases, there are various alternative treatments. L'percutaneous hydrotomy is an example. We are also talking about a extracellular hydration.

What does this method consist of? What are the main indications for this therapy? What about its cost? Is it reimbursed by health insurance? Are there any risks and side effects associated withpercutaneous hydrotherapy?

We have it covered for you in this article.

Definition of percutaneous hydrotomy

THEpercutaneous hydrotomy is a medical practice based on the mesotherapy. Developed by Dr. Bernard Guez, it consists of inject saline (or 0,9% sodium chloride) to a patient in order to treat their painful symptoms.

The injection area varies depending on the disorder to be treated. It can be inside the dermis (intradermal), or inside the subcutaneous layer of the skin.

Percutaneous hydrotherapy consists in bringing useful elements to the patient. For instance :

  • mineral salts;
  • trace elements (to speed up natural chemical reactions);
  • magnesium (for its regulation of neuromuscular transmission);
  • silicon;
  • vitamins reserved for injection (for their regenerative and neurotropic properties;
  • certain drugs.

The act can be performed by “state-certified nurses”. However, the prescription must always be made by a doctor. Before it is carried out, a general health check on the patient must be established. This may include blood tests and X-ray workups.

THEhydrotomy percutaneous is based on three techniques: la mesochelation , mesovaccination and  mesoperfusion.

La mesochelation corresponds to the injection of two products which are saline solution and EDTA (or Ethyl-Diamino-Tetra-Acetic acid). Above all, it allows hydration and detoxification of the bone. EDTA will also promote the elimination of excess calcium around the joint, and provide tissue detoxification. This technique also allows stimulation of the small blood circulation.

About the mesvacination, it has the same principle as the usual vaccination. Its purpose is to stimulate the mucous membranes of the subject to improve the immune defense.

The last technique is mesoperfusion. As the name suggests, it is an infusion (intradermal or subcutaneous injection). This infusion can only be a physiological saline solution. It can also be combined with one or more other molecules. The main molecules concerned are:

  • vitamins;
  • vasodilators (products that promote the dilation of blood vessels);
  • analgesics or painkillers;
  • the minerals.

The mesoperfusion technique is mainly distinguished by its action which remains limited on the area to be treated. Some doctors prescribe it because it has almost no side effects. 

Procedure

Once it is determined that the patient can benefit from percutaneous hydrotomy, they are placed in a comfortable position for treatment. For back pain, it is often prone position (on the stomach) with the lumbar region exposed.

The technique involves the slow injection using several fine needles (4 mm) of a solution containing saline on the area to be treated. To ensure patient comfort, procaine, a local anesthetic, can be injected beforehand. In all, theThe duration of a session is approximately one hour.

What are the indications for this medical technique?

The indications for percutaneous hydrotherapy are numerous, the main ones being joint pain, chronic pain and back pain. The effects of this treatment would be particularly rapid. Patients report being relieved after a few days of the first session. The most affected joints are the knees, back and hips. 

This practice is also indicated in case of herniated disc, degenerative disc disease ou disc protrusion. According to the theory, the physiological injection of the serum would make it possible to rehydrate the intervertebral disc, to make it return to its normal size, to increase blood circulation locally, and to make the pain disappear.

It should be noted, however, that each case is different, and that this hypothesis is not supported by enough scientific evidence. You will have to consult your doctor and see what is going on to know the most appropriate treatment.

Hydrotherapy is also effective in the treatment of migraines. It relieves the pain felt in the jaws or temples.

Percutaneous hydrotherapy has its place in the management of tinnitus. This is the misperception that we hear in the ear. They can manifest themselves in different ways: buzzing, whistling, crackling...

It is also effective against nerve pain including lower back pain, radiculalgia, sciatic et cruralgia. This technique is used to relieve sciatic pain and other neuralgia.

THEextracellular hydration intervenes in several digestive affections. These are in particular pathologies of the colon, in particular colitis and Crohn's disease.

Percutaneous hydrotherapy is also involved in the treatment of various inflammations of the ENT tract. It is effective against rhinitis, bronchitis, or even sinusitis.

For psychological conditions, percutaneous hydrotherapy alleviates symptoms of anxiety and minimal depressions. Likewise, it could eliminate feelings of stress.

As for dermatological problems, this therapy is often used to solve problems of cellulite and hair loss.

What practice to use?

Of the three percutaneous hydrotherapy techniques, mesoperfusion is the most used. It intervenes in particular in the treatment of digestive diseases, osteoarthritis and cellulite. It is also the one that is the most common in the treatment of low back pain.

Mesovaccination, on the other hand, intervenes in infections and inflammations. Doctors prescribe it in particular for ENT problems as well as gastritis and colitis.

For mesochelation, it mainly relieves joint ailments. It is also the most suitable in the face of bone degeneration. Indeed, it is effective against osteoporosis, osteochondritis and osteoarthritis, with the proposed mechanism eliminating excess calcium around the affected joint.

The benefits of hydrotomy percutaneous are numerous and interesting. If performed by competent practitioners, one can be confident of having favorable results. These are usually satisfying and quick. There are patients who do not hesitate to testify to excellent fitness. They report being able to perform their daily routines such as housework and gardening. Others have even assured that they can play sports again.

With the action of various techniques, percutaneous hydrotherapy intervenes in the treatment of the causes of the affection. This is reflected above all in its actions on the articular apparatus. This therapy promotes tissue regeneration of the joints by nourishing the cells.

What about price and refund?

In percutaneous hydrotherapy, we often speak of “very low economic cost”. The price range varies between 30 and 80 euros. You should know that this price depends on the practitioner. In other words, it is not the same for a doctor and a nurse.

The cost of the procedure also depends on the hydrotherapy technique performed by the practitioner. It should also be noted that a single session may be sufficient. If the cases are more difficult to treat, they will be carried out several times. The estimated maximum number of sessions is twelve. The cost is often different between the first session and the following ones. It is more expensive during the first consultation because of the initial evaluation and the implementation of the treatment.

Although this practice is recognized and has an AMM (Marketing Authorization), it is not part of the regulated techniques in terms of care. Also, Social Security will not reimburse you percutaneous hydrotherapy sessions.

However, some practitioners do not hesitate to adjust their tariff according to certain situations. If the patient has, for example, a financial difficulty, he can benefit from a discount. In return, he must provide supporting documents on the reasons for this difficulty.

Risks: Is percutaneous hydrotherapy a danger?

Percutaneous hydrotherapy can have side effects like any type of treatment. However, they are minimal, mainly because this technique uses small doses and highly diluted solutions. Injections, for example, can give rise to localized infection, although this is relatively rare.

After injection sessions, the patient may feel some minimal side effects of percutaneous hydrotherapy.

We can cite :

  • pain, warmth, or redness at the injection site
  • a passing fever;
  • transient edema;
  • temporary tremors.

For the cons-indications of this practice, none is acclaimed to date. Nevertheless, doses can be readjusted in some people. These are particularly the elderly and pregnant or breastfeeding women. This technique can be used for children under the age of 15. These dose adjustments should be decided by physicians.

For those who cannot tolerate injections, an alternative solution would be the Quinton plasma. Based on thalassotherapy, this practice uses the medicinal properties of seawater to treat health problems.

Percutaneous hydrotomy: Opinion of a health professional

Reading the many indications for percutaneous hydrotomy, one could imagine that this practice can relieve almost all ailments. Similarly, the many favorable testimonials seem encouraging, and many people have seen an improvement in their condition after opting for this type of injection.

On the other hand, it should be kept in mind that at the present time, there is no scientific research demonstrating the effectiveness beyond any doubt of percutaneous hydrotomy. This leads us to question the implication of the placebo effect in terms of the therapeutic effects observed. Ideally, clinical studies should be conducted to assess the effect of this treatment on various conditions, and compare them with other available modalities.

As a health professional, it is therefore difficult to recommend this practice from the outset. For back pain, for example, it is best to start with solutions that have already proven themselves from a scientific point of view. We think for example of:

  • Exercises and physical activity
  • Stress management
  • Sleep management
  • Manual therapy
  • Etc

To know 36 solutions to relieve back pain, see the following article.

On the other hand, considering the low risk of side effects and complications, it may be interesting to try percutaneous hydrotomy when conventional methods have not borne fruit. Moreover, this technique seems promising if it manages to prove itself, whether from an economic or even environmental point of view.

Obviously, it is preferable to communicate with your doctor to ensure that you can benefit from this approach, and to guarantee optimal follow-up.

Are you looking for solutions to relieve your pain?

Discover the opinion of our team of health professionals on various products available on the market (posture, sleep, physical pain), as well as our recommendations.

Resource

Explanatory video of percutaneous hydrotomy:

References

International Society of Percutaneous Hydrotomy

Back to top

Hydrotomie percutanée : Tout ce qu’il faut savoir (Bénéfices et risques)

Hydrotomie percutanée : Tout ce qu’il faut savoir (Bénéfices et risques)

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille 

Pour soulager les gênes ou les douleurs liées à des maladies particulières, il existe différents traitements alternatifs. L’hydrotomie percutanée en est un exemple. On parle également d’une hydratation extracellulaire.

 

En quoi consiste cette méthode ? Quelles sont les principales indications de cette thérapie ? Qu’en est-il de son coût ? Est-elle remboursée par les assurances santé ? Existe-t-il des risques et des effets secondaires liés à l’hydrothérapie percutanée ?

 

On fait le point pour vous dans cet article.

Définition de l’hydrotomie percutanée

 

L’hydrotomie percutanée est une pratique d’ordre médicale basée sur la mésothérapie. Mise au point par le Dr. Bernard Guez, elle consiste à injecter du sérum physiologique (ou du chlorure de sodium à 0,9 %) à un patient afin de traiter ses symptômes douloureux.

 

La zone d’injection varie selon le trouble à traiter. Il peut être à l’intérieur du derme (intradermique), ou l’intérieur de la couche sous-cutanée de la peau.

 

hydrotomie percutanée
Source

 

L’hydrothérapie percutanée consiste à apporter des éléments utiles au patient. Par exemple :

 

  • les sels minéraux ;
  • les oligo-éléments (pour accélérer les réactions chimiques naturelles) ;
  • du magnésium (pour sa régulation de la transmission neuromusculaire) ;
  • du silicium ;
  • les vitamines réservées à l’injection (pour leur propriétés régénératrices et neurotropes;
  • certains médicaments.

 

L’acte peut être effectué par « des infirmiers ou infirmières diplômé(e)s d’État ». Toutefois, la prescription doit toujours être réalisée par un médecin. Avant sa réalisation, un bilan de santé général sur le patient doit être établi. Ceci peut inclure des bilans sanguins et des bilans radiologiques.

 

L’hydrotomie percutanée se base sur trois techniques : la mésochélation , la mésovaccination et la  mésoperfusion.

 

La mésochélation correspond à l’injection de deux produits qui sont la solution saline et l’EDTA (ou Ethyl-Diamino-Tétra-Acétique). Elle permet surtout l’hydratation et la détoxification de l’os. L’EDTA va également favoriser l’élimination de l’excédent de calcium autour de l’articulation, et apporter une détoxification des tissus. Cette technique permet en outre une stimulation de la petite circulation sanguine.

 

Quant à la mésovaccination, elle a le même principe que la vaccination habituelle. Son but consiste à stimuler les muqueuses du sujet pour améliorer la défense immunitaire.

 

La dernière technique est la mésoperfusion. Comme son nom l’indique, il s’agit d’une perfusion (injection intradermique ou sous-cutanée). Cette perfusion peut être seulement une solution saline physiologique. On peut également l’associer avec une ou plusieurs autres molécules. Les principales molécules concernées sont :

 

  • les vitamines ;
  • les vasodilatateurs (produits qui favorisent la dilatation des vaisseaux sanguins) ;
  • les antalgiques ou antidouleurs ;
  • les minéraux.

 

La technique de mésoperfusion se distingue principalement par son action qui reste limitée sur la zone à traiter. Certains médecins la prescrivent parce qu’elle ne présente quasiment pas d’effets secondaires. 

 

Procédure

 

Une fois qu’on a déterminé que le patient pouvait bénéficié de l’hydrotomie percutanée, on le place dans une position confortable dans le cadre du traitement. Pour le mal de dos, il s’agit souvent du décubitus ventral (sur le ventre) avec la région lombaire exposée.

 

La technique implique l’injection lente utilisant plusieurs aiguilles fines (4 mm) d’un soluté contenant le sérum physiologique sur la zone à traiter. Pour assurer le confort du patient, on peut préalablement injecter de la procaïne, un anesthésique local. En tout, la durée d’une séance est d’environ une heure.

 

 

Quelles sont les indications de cette technique médicale ?

 

Les indications de l’hydrothérapie percutanée sont nombreuses, les principales étant les douleurs articulaires, les douleurs chroniques et les maux de dos. Les effets de ce traitement seraient particulièrement rapides. Les patients déclarent être soulagés après quelques jours de la première séance. Les articulations les plus concernées sont les genoux, le dos et les hanches. 

 

Cette pratique est aussi indiquée en cas de hernie discale, discopathie dégénérative ou protrusion discale. Selon la théorie, l’injection physiologique du sérum permettrait de réhydrater le disque intervertébral, de lui faire retrouver sa taille normale, d’augmenter la circulation sanguine localement, et de faire disparaître la douleur.

 

Il faut noter par contre que chaque cas est différent, et que cette hypothèse n’est pas supportée par assez d’évidences scientifiques. Il faudra consulter son médecin et voir ce qui en est pour connaître le traitement le plus approprié.

 

traitement de la hernie discale par hydrotomie percutanée
Source

 

L’hydrothérapie est aussi efficace dans le traitement des migraines. Elle permet de soulager les douleurs ressenties au niveau des mâchoires ou des tempes.

 

L’hydrothérapie percutanée a sa place pour prendre en charge les acouphènes. Il s’agit de perception erronée que l’on entend dans l’oreille. Ils peuvent se manifester de différentes manières : bourdonnements, sifflements, craquements…

 

Elle est aussi efficace contre les douleurs nerveuses notamment les lombalgies, radiculalgies, sciatiques et cruralgies. Cette technique est utilisée pour soulager les douleurs de type sciatiques et d’autres névralgies.

 

L’hydratation extracellulaire intervient dans plusieurs affections digestives. Ce sont notamment les pathologies du côlon notamment les colites et la maladie de Crohn.

 

L’hydrothérapie percutanée est aussi impliquée dans le traitement de diverses inflammations du tractus ORL. Elle est efficace devant les rhinites, les bronchites, ou encore les sinusites.

 

Pour les affections psychologiques, l’hydrothérapie percutanée atténue les symptômes d’anxiété et les dépressions minimes. De même, elle pourrait éliminer les sensations de stress.

 

Quant aux problèmes dermatologiques, on fait souvent recours à cette thérapie pour résoudre les problèmes de cellulites et de chutes de cheveux.

 

Quelle pratique utiliser ?

 

Parmi les trois techniques d’hydrothérapie percutanée, la mésoperfusion est la plus utilisée. Elle intervient notamment dans le traitement des maladies digestives, de l’arthrose et de la cellulite. C’est également celle qui est la plus répandue dans le traitement des lombalgies.

 

La mésovaccination, quant à elle, intervient dans les infections et les inflammations. Les médecins la prescrivent notamment devant les problèmes ORL ainsi que les gastrites et les colites.

 

Pour la mésochélation, elle soulage surtout les affections des articulations. Elle est également la plus adaptée face à la dégénérescence des os. En effet, elle est efficace contre l’ostéoporose, les ostéochondrites et l’arthrose, avec comme mécanisme proposé l’élimination d’excédent de calcium autour de l’articulation atteinte.

 

Les avantages de l’hydrotomie percutanée sont nombreux et intéressants. Si elle est réalisée par des praticiens compétents, on peut être confiant d’avoir des résultats favorables. Ces derniers sont généralement satisfaisants et rapides. Il existe des patients qui n’hésitent pas à témoigner d’une excellente remise en forme. Ils déclarent être à nouveau aptes à effectuer leurs habitudes quotidiennes comme le ménage et le jardinage. D’autres ont même assuré qu’ils peuvent à nouveau faire du sport.

 

hydrotomie percutanée pour le mal de dos
Source

 

Avec l’action des diverses techniques, l’hydrothérapie percutanée intervient dans le traitement des causes de l’affection. Cela se reflète surtout sur ses actions sur l’appareil articulaire. Cette thérapie favorise la régénération tissulaire des articulations en nourrissant les cellules.

 

Qu’en est-il du prix et du remboursement ?

 

Dans l’hydrothérapie percutanée, on parle souvent de « coût économique très faible ». La fourchette de prix varie entre 30 et 80 euros. Il faut savoir que ce tarif dépend du praticien. En d’autres termes, il n’est pas le même pour un médecin et un infirmier.

 

Le coût de l’intervention dépend également de la technique d’hydrothérapie effectuée par le praticien. Il faut également noter qu’une seule séance peut être suffisante. Si les cas sont plus difficiles à traiter, elles seront réalisées plusieurs fois. Le nombre maximal de séances estimé est de douze. Le coût est souvent différent entre la première séance et les suivantes. Il revient plus cher lors de la première consultation en raison de l’évaluation initiale et de la mise en place du traitement.

 

Malgré que cette pratique soit reconnue et dispose une AMM (Autorisation de Mise sur le Marché), elle ne fait pas partie des techniques réglementées en matière de soins. Aussi, la Sécurité Sociale ne va pas vous rembourser des séances d’hydrothérapie percutanée.

 

Toutefois, certains praticiens n’hésitent pas à ajuster leur tarif selon certaines situations. Si le patient a, par exemple, une difficulté financière, il peut bénéficier d’une remise. En contrepartie, il se doit d’apporter des justificatifs sur les raisons de cette difficulté.

 

 

Risques : L’hydrothérapie percutanée est-elle un danger ?

 

L’hydrothérapie percutanée peut présenter des effets secondaires comme tout type de traitement. Ils sont cependant minimes, principalement car cette technique utilise des petites doses et des solutions grandement diluées. Les injections, par exemple, peuvent donner lieu à une infection localisée, même si cette dernière est relativement rare.

 

Après des séances d’injections, le patient peut ressentir quelques effets secondaires minimes de l’hydrothérapie percutanée.

 

On peut citer :

 

  • une douleur, chaleur ou rougeur au point d’injection
  • une fièvre passagère ;
  • un œdème passager ;
  • des tremblements passagers.

 

Pour les contre-indications de cette pratique, aucune n’est plébiscitée jusqu’à ce jour. Néanmoins, on peut effectuer un réajustement de doses chez certaines personnes. Ce sont notamment les sujets âgés et les femmes enceintes ou allaitantes. Cette technique peut être employée chez les enfants de moins de 15 ans. Ces ajustements de doses doivent être décidés par des médecins.

 

Pour ceux qui ne tolèrent pas les injections, une solution alternative serait le plasma de Quinton. Basé sur la thalassothérapie, cette pratique utilise les propriétés médicinale de l’eau de mer pour traiter des problèmes de santé.

 

 

Hydrotomie percutanée : Avis d’un professionnel de santé

 

À lire les nombreuses indications de l’hydrotomie percutanée, on pourrait s’imaginer que cette pratique peut soulager presque tous les maux. De même, les nombreux témoignages favorables semblent encourageants, et plusieurs personnes ont vu une amélioration de leur état après avoir opté pour ce type d’injection.

 

Par contre, il faut garder à l’esprit qu’à l’heure actuelle, il n’existe pas de recherches scientifiques démontrant une efficacité hors de tout doute de l’hydrotomie percutanée. Ceci nous amène à nous questionner sur l’implication de l’effet placebo au niveau des effets thérapeutiques observés. Idéalement, il faudrait conduire des études cliniques permettant d’évaluer l’effet de ce traitement sur diverses conditions, et les comparer avec les autres modalités disponibles.

 

En tant que professionnel de santé, il est donc difficile de recommander d’emblée cette pratique. Pour le mal de dos par exemple, il est préférable de débuter par des solutions ayant déjà fait leurs preuves d’un point de vue scientifique. On pense par exemple à :

 

  • Exercices et activité physique
  • Gestion du stress
  • Gestion du sommeil
  • Thérapie manuelle
  • Etc.

 

Pour connaître 36 solutions permettant de soulager un mal de dos, consultez l’article suivant.

 

Par contre, considérant le faible risque d’effets secondaires et de complications, il peut être intéressant d’essayer l’hydrotomie percutanée lorsque les méthodes conventionnelles n’ont pas porté fruit. D’ailleurs, cette technique semble prometteuse si elle arrive à faire ses preuves, que ce soit d’un point de vue économique ou même environnemental.

 

Évidemment, il est préférable de communiquer avec son médecin pour s’assurer que vous puissiez bénéficier de cette approche, et pour garantir un suivi optimal.

 

 

Ressource

 

Vidéo explicative de l’hydrotomie percutanée :

 

 

 

Sources

 

Société internationale d’hydrotomie percutanée