infiltration

Cervical infiltration: Indication and management

The spinal infiltrations corticosteroids are routinely used in the treatment of many pain root canals et neuralgia cervico-brachial. Their primary objective is to suppress any inflammation involved in the genesis of pain, and therefore to relieve or even eliminate the latter.

 

THEcervical infiltration may be effective in the treatment of certain chronic neck pain. However, its analgesic effect is of short duration, even sometimes absent… It is therefore important to know the indications and the dangers of this procedure; a precise assessment of the risk-benefit ratio is required before resorting to it.

What is cervical infiltration?

 

In the medical field, theinfiltration refers to the injection of a liquid substance (containing an active ingredient) directly into the area to be treated, outside the blood vessels. This method is used in particular in anesthesia (injection of an anesthetic substance near a nerve to block nerve impulses), and in rheumatology with the injection of anti-inflammatories (corticosteroids) in certain joints.

 

THEcervical infiltration is therefore a medical procedure that consists of injecting an active ingredient, usually corticosteroids (anti-inflammatories), directly at the source of neck pain. Thus, the drug acts locally by reducing inflammation and pain sensations without diffusing to the whole body as when receiving an intravenous injection or an oral treatment (general or systemic route).

 

The cervical infiltration is done at the level of the epidural fatty space of the Spinal canal (between the bone and the dura mater, the outermost envelope of the central nervous system). For example, this makes it possible to reduce the inflammatory phenomena at the level of a nerve root compressed by a cervical disc herniation, and thus relieve pain.

 

 

What are the indications for cervical infiltration?

 

Cervical infiltration is considered in certain chronic neck pain in the event of failure of the various first-line drug treatments (analgesics, anti-inflammatories, physiotherapy, etc.).

 

It is offered in the radiculalgia of the upper limb in connection with a conflict between the intervertebral disc and a cervical nerve root. Often as part of a herniated disc.

 

According to the latest recommendations, neck pain should persist for more than 7 weeks despite well-conducted medical treatment before considering cervical infiltration.

 

Obviously, there must not be a significant neurological deficit, as this would require different management (surgery).

 

In certain situations, cervical infiltration may be considered even if the pain has lasted for less than 7 months, particularly in the case of neck pain hyperalgesic of root origin (very intense pain resistant to morphine).

 

 

What are the contraindications of cervical infiltration?

 

Cervical spinal infiltration is contraindicated in the following situations:

 

  • Hemodynamic instability: we do not perform cervical infiltration in a patient with acute heart failure, for example…
  • Platelet dysfunction syndrome: a condition characterized by an inability of platelets to aggregate to form a platelet plug. There is therefore a hemorrhagic risk in the event of the procedure being carried out.
  • Severe thrombocytopenia: insufficient number of platelets. The risk here too is the occurrence of bleeding that is difficult to control.
  • Bleeding disorder: hemophilia, Von Willebrand disease, taking anticoagulant treatment.
  • History of trauma cervical.
  • Intercurrent infection (fever, chills…).
  • Sepsis (presence of bacteria in the blood).
  • Local infection: at the injection site.

 

There are also relative contraindications, that is, it is possible to perform cervical infiltration despite their presence (provided that they are corrected or the patient is closely monitored). Among them, we can cite theallergy to contrast medium and taking treatment antiplatelet platelet (aspirin, clopidogrel, etc.).

 

 

What are the risks of cervical infiltration?

 

Cervical infiltration, despite being widely used in the treatment of root pain, is not without risks and complications.

 

Infectious risk

 

As with any invasive procedure, there is a risk infectious. In fact, despite rigorous aseptic measures, infection is always possible at the injection site. The latter can subsequently spread to neighboring structures or cause sepsis (presence of bacteria in the blood).

 

Fortunately, these infections are relatively rare (1-2%) and are usually minor.

 

However, more serious infections have been reported:

 

 

Bleeding risk

 

The epidural space is a richly vascularized structure. Thus, during a cervical infiltration, there is a possibility of injuring a blood vessel, which can result in a spinal hematoma (i.e. pooling of blood) in the cervical region.

 

The hemorrhagic risk is obviously higher in patients with a hemostasis anomaly or a coagulation disorder (hemophilia, current anticoagulant treatment, etc.).

 

Allergic risk

 

There is a risk of réactions allergic ou anaphylactic contrast product, anesthetic product or corticosteroids. They can appear within two hours of the injection, but they are quite rare.

 

Detailed questioning, close monitoring of hemodynamic parameters and a trained team ready to intervene if necessary are always necessary when performing this procedure.

 

Risk of neurological complication

 

Surveys of radiologists have identified a worrying number spinal cord infarction which occur as a result of cervical spinal infiltrations.

 

Other neurological complications related to this procedure have been reported:

 

  • Vascular accidents: that can affect the brain (CVA), spinal cord or the cerebellum.
  • Epidural hematomas (accumulation of blood in the epidural space).
  • Spinal cord injury.
  • Infarction medullary ou central by embolism.
  • convulsions (rare).
  • Pneumencephaly (presence of air in the cranial box following a breach).
  • Blindness (temporary or long-lasting due to retinal necrosis or chorioretinopathy).
  • tetraplegia with risk of death from cardiac arrest.

 

 

How is a cervical infiltration performed?

 

When you suffer from neck pain chronic, several drug treatments can be offered to you depending on the pathology that causes them. Only if these treatments fail will your attending physician consider other alternatives such as cervical infiltration, or even surgery as a last resort.

 

cervical infiltration
Source

 

Once the cervical infiltration is proposed, you will go through different stages.

 

First, you will be referred to an operator radiologist for a specialized consultation. The latter will question you, examine you and consult your medical file (containing the various examinations carried out: x-rays, scanners, MRI, biological assessment, etc.) in order to, among other things:

 

  • Make sure that there is indeed an indication to perform the gesture.
  • Check the absence of contraindications (infection, coagulation disorder, etc.).
  • Identify the precise site of the conflict and its nature (possibly by carrying out a new scanner).

 

Then, once all these checks have been made, you will be explained the different stages of the procedure that you will undergo as well as its risks and side effects. If you are taking antiplatelet treatments, you will be asked, in agreement with your doctor or cardiologist, to stop them at least 5 days before the procedure.

 

Finally, you will be called for the realization of the cervical infiltration. This procedure is performed in an x-ray office. It only lasts about twenty minutes and includes the following steps:

 

  1. Installation on the scanner table: your radiologist or one of his team members will place you on the scanner table in a prone position. Indeed, cervical infiltration is performed with CT guidance to very precisely reach the pathological site while avoiding damage to the various neighboring structures.
  2. Identification of the site to infiltrate: the target of the infiltration is identified precisely and in real time thanks to the scanner.
  3. Preparing the injection site: the skin area is carefully disinfected then anesthetized locally. The entire procedure will be carried out with the greatest respect for aseptic measures in order to reduce the risk of infection as much as possible.
  4. Introduction of the needle : up to the site to be treated (posterior joint, etc.), always under CT guidance.
  5. Injection of the contrast product : the radiologist injects a small quantity of iodine (contrast product) which will confirm the correct position of the needle and avoid damaging the various organs.
  6. Injection of corticosteroids : once the needle is in the right position, we inject corticosteroids (infiltration itself).
  7. Needle removal : once the infiltration has been performed, the needle is carefully withdrawn by the radiologist, still under CT guidance. A dressing will be applied to prevent the risk of infection.4

 

During the infiltration, you may feel pain similar to what you usually feel (reproduction of pain).

 

Once the procedure is complete, you will be asked to stay for around XNUMX minutes under observation to ensure that there are no abnormal signs. You can then go home with the matters made cervical infiltration and your medical records.

 

 

Cervical infiltration: Aftermath

 

After performing a cervical infiltration, a resurgence of neck pain can be felt during the first two days. Do not worry, just take a painkiller and rest, they usually give in 24 to 48 hours. A work stopping may be prescribed to you by your GP.

 

The response to cervical infiltration varies from one patient to another and depending on the indication, the nature of the lesions... The reduction in pain is noticeable 3 7 days in after the gesture on average.

 

However, the result is not always there. It is sometimes necessary to reschedule a second session of cervical infiltration (usually after a month). The maximum number of cervical infiltrations that can be performed is 3 per year.

 

In case of non-response to cervical infiltrations, the patient is referred to surgery for a specialist consultation (as a last resort).

 

 

References

 

[1] P. Brunner et al., “Percutaneous infiltrations of cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine”, in Seminars in interventional radiology, 2002, vol. 19o 03, p. 219-228.

[2] E. Masson, “Cervical and lumbar foraminal infiltrations under scanner”, EM-Consult. https://www.em-consulte.com/article/751576/les-infiltrations-foraminales-cervicales-et-lombai (accessed March 17, 2022).

[3] Evangelia Passia and Stéphane Genevay, “Complications of spinal infiltrations”, Swiss Medical Review. https://www.revmed.ch/revue-medicale-suisse/2017/revue-medicale-suisse-553/complications-des-infiltrations-rachidiennes (accessed March 16, 2022).

[4] C. Cyteval et al., “Cervical radiculopathy: open study on percutaneous periradicular foraminal steroid infiltration performed under CT control in 30 patients”, Am. J. Neuroradiol., flight. 25, no 3, p. 441-445, 2004.

Was this article helpful to you?

Indicate your appreciation of the article

Readers rating 5 / 5. Number of votes 2

If you have benefited from this article...

Follow us on Youtube and Facebook

Sorry you couldn't find an answer to your questions!

Help us improve this article!

How can we improve the article?

infiltration

Infiltration cervicale : Indication et prise en charge

Les infiltrations rachidiennes de corticoïdes sont utilisées en pratique courante dans le traitement de nombreuses douleurs radiculaires et névralgies cervico-brachiales. Leur objectif premier est de supprimer une éventuelle inflammation impliquée dans la genèse des douleurs, et donc de soulager, voire supprimer ces dernières.

 

L’infiltration cervicale peut se révéler efficace dans le traitement de certaines cervicalgies chroniques.  Toutefois, son effet antalgique est de courte durée, voire parfois absent… Il est donc important de connaître les indications et les dangers de cette procédure ; une évaluation précise du rapport bénéfice-risque est de rigueur avant d’y avoir recours.

Qu’est-ce que l’infiltration cervicale ?

 

Dans le domaine médical, l’infiltration fait référence à l’injection d’une substance liquide (contenant un principe actif) directement dans la zone à traiter, hors vaisseaux sanguins. Cette méthode est utilisée notamment en anesthésie (injection d’une substance anesthésique au voisinage d’un nerf pour bloquer l’influx nerveux), et en rhumatologie avec l’injection d’anti-inflammatoires (corticoïdes) au niveau de certaines articulations.

 

L’infiltration cervicale est donc une procédure médicale qui consiste à injecter un principe actif, généralement des corticoïdes (anti-inflammatoires), directement au niveau de la source de la douleur cervicale. Ainsi, le médicament agit au niveau local en réduisant l’inflammation et les sensations de douleur sans diffuser à l’ensemble du corps comme lorsqu’on reçoit une injection intraveineuse ou bien un traitement oral (voie générale ou systémique).

 

L’infiltration cervicale se fait au niveau de l’espace graisseux épidural du canal rachidien (entre l’os et la dure mère, enveloppe la plus externe du système nerveux central). Par exemple, cela permet de diminuer les phénomènes inflammatoires au niveau d’une racine nerveuse comprimée par une hernie discale cervicale, et donc de soulager les douleurs.

 

 

Quelles sont les indications de l’infiltration cervicale ?

 

L’infiltration cervicale est envisagée dans certaines cervicalgies chroniques en cas d’échec des différents traitements médicamenteux de première intention (antalgiques, anti-inflammatoires, kinésithérapie…).

 

Elle est proposée dans la radiculalgie du membre supérieur en rapport avec un conflit entre le disque intervertébral et une racine nerveuse cervicale. Souvent dans le cadre d’une hernie discale.

 

Selon les dernières recommandations, les cervicalgies doivent persister plus de 7 semaines malgré un traitement médical bien conduit avant d’envisager une infiltration cervicale.

 

Évidemment, il ne doit pas y avoir un déficit neurologique important, car cela nécessiterait une prise en charge différente (chirurgie).

 

Dans certaines situations, l’infiltration cervicale peut être envisagée même si la douleur dure depuis moins de 7 mois, notamment en cas de cervicalgies hyperalgiques d’origine radiculaire (douleurs très intenses résistant aux morphiniques).

 

 

Quelles sont les contre-indications de l’infiltration cervicale ?

 

L’infiltration rachidienne cervicale est contre-indiquée dans les situations suivantes :

 

  • Instabilité hémodynamique : on ne réalise pas d’infiltration cervicale chez un patient en insuffisance cardiaque aiguë par exemple…
  • Syndrome de dysfonction plaquettaire : affection caractérisée par une incapacité des plaquettes à s’agréger afin de former un clou plaquettaire. Il existe donc un risque hémorragique en cas de réalisation du geste.
  • Thrombocytopénie sévère : plaquettes en nombre insuffisant. Le risque est, là aussi, la survenue d’une hémorragie difficilement contrôlable.
  • Trouble de la coagulation : hémophilie, maladie de Von Willebrand, prise d’un traitement anticoagulant.
  • Antécédent de traumatisme cervical.
  • Infection intercurrente (fièvre, frissons…).
  • Septicémie (présence de bactéries dans le sang).
  • Infection locale: au niveau du site d’injection.
À LIRE :   Infiltration pour arthrose zygapophysaire : Efficace ?

 

Il existe également des contre-indications relatives, c’est-à-dire qu’il est possible de réaliser une infiltration cervicale malgré leur présence (à condition de les corriger ou de surveiller étroitement le patient). Parmi elles, on peut citer l’allergie au produit de contraste et la prise d’un traitement antiagrégant plaquettaire (aspirine, clopidogrel…).

 

 

Quels sont les risques de l’infiltration cervicale ?

 

L’infiltration cervicale, malgré le fait qu’elle soit largement utilisée dans le traitement des douleurs radiculaires, n’est pas dénuée de risques et de complications.

 

Risque infectieux

 

Comme c’est le cas pour tout geste invasif, il existe un risque infectieux. En effet, malgré les mesures rigoureuses d’asepsie, une infection est toujours possible au niveau du site d’injection. Cette dernière peut par la suite se propager aux structures voisines ou provoquer une septicémie (présence de bactéries dans le sang).

 

Heureusement, ces infections sont relativement rares (1 à 2%) et sont généralement mineures.

 

Toutefois, des infections plus graves ont été rapportées :

 

 

Risque hémorragique

 

L’espace épidural est une structure richement vascularisée. Ainsi, au cours d’une infiltration cervicale, il existe une possibilité de léser un vaisseau sanguin, ce qui peut se solder par un hématome rachidien (c’est-à-dire l’accumulation de sang) au niveau de la région cervicale.

 

Le risque hémorragique est évidemment plus élevé chez les patients présentant une anomalie de l’hémostase ou un trouble de la coagulation (hémophilie, traitement anticoagulant en cours…).

 

Risque allergique

 

Il existe un risque de réactions allergiques ou anaphylactiques au produit de contraste, au produit anesthésique ou aux corticoïdes. Elles peuvent se manifester dans les deux heures qui suivent l’injection, mais elles sont assez rares.

 

Un interrogatoire détaillé, une surveillance étroite des paramètres hémodynamiques et une équipe entrainée prête à intervenir en cas de besoin sont toujours nécessaires lors de la réalisation de ce geste.

 

Risque de complication neurologique

 

Des enquêtes réalisées auprès de radiologues ont recensé un nombre inquiétant d’infarctus médullaires qui surviennent dans les suites d’infiltrations rachidiennes cervicales.

 

D’autres complications neurologiques liées à cette procédure ont été rapportées :

 

  • Accidents vasculaires : pouvant toucher le cerveau (AVC), la moelle épinière ou le cervelet.
  • Hématomes épiduraux (accumulation de sang dans l’espace épidural).
  • Lésion de la moelle épinière.
  • Infarctus médullaires ou centraux par embolie.
  • Convulsions (rares).
  • Pneumencéphalie (présence d’air dans la boite crânienne suite à une brèche).
  • Cécité (temporaire ou durable par nécrose de la rétine ou choriorétinopathie).
  • Tétraplégie avec risque de décès par arrêt cardiaque.
À LIRE :   Infiltration cervicale et arrêt de travail : Tout savoir

 

 

Comment se déroule une infiltration cervicale ?

 

Lorsque vous souffrez de cervicalgies chroniques, plusieurs traitements médicamenteux peuvent vous être proposés selon la pathologie qui les cause. Ce n’est qu’en cas d’échec de ces traitements que votre médecin traitant envisagera d’autres alternatives telles que l’infiltration cervicale, voire la chirurgie comme dernier recours.

 

infiltration cervicale
Source

 

Une fois l’infiltration cervicale proposée, vous passerez par différentes étapes.

 

D’abord, vous serez orientés vers un radiologue opérateur pour une consultation spécialisée. Ce dernier vous interrogera, vous examinera et consultera votre dossier médical (contenant les différents examens réalisés : radiographies, scanners, IRM, bilan biologique…) afin de, entre autres :

 

  • S’assurer qu’il existe bien une indication à la réalisation du geste.
  • Vérifier l’absence de contre-indications (infection, trouble de la coagulation…).
  • Repérer le site précis du conflit et sa nature (éventuellement en réalisant un nouveau scanner).

 

Ensuite, une fois toutes ces vérifications faites, on vous expliquera les différentes étapes de la procédure que vous allez subir ainsi que ses risques et effets secondaires. Si vous prenez des traitements antiagrégants plaquettaires, on vous demandera, en accord avec votre médecin traitant ou cardiologue, de les arrêter au moins 5 jours avant le geste.

 

Enfin, vous serez convoqué pour la réalisation de l’infiltration cervicale. Cette procédure est réalisée dans un cabinet de radiologie. Elle ne dure qu’une vingtaine de minutes et comporte les étapes suivantes :

 

  1. Installation sur la table de scanner : votre radiologie ou l’un des membres de son équipe vous installera sur la table de scanner en position ventrale. En effet, l’infiltration cervicale s’effectue avec guidage scanographique pour atteindre très précisément le site pathologique tout en évitant de léser les différentes structures voisines.
  2. Repérage du site à infiltrer: la cible de l’infiltration est repérée de manière précise et en temps réel grâce au scanner.
  3. Préparation de la zone d’injection: la zone cutanée est soigneusement désinfectée puis anesthésiée localement. Toute la procédure sera réalisée dans le plus grand respect des mesures d’asepsie afin de réduire au maximum le risque infectieux.
  4. Introduction de l’aiguille : jusqu’au site à traiter (articulation postérieure…), toujours sous guidage scanographique.
  5. Injection du produit de contraste : le radiologue injecte une petite quantité d’iode (produit de contraste) qui permettra de confirmer la bonne position de l’aiguille et d’éviter de léser les différents organes.
  6. Injection des corticoïdes : une fois l’aiguille en bonne position, on injecte les corticoïdes (infiltration proprement dite).
  7. Retrait de l’aiguille : une fois l’infiltration réalisée, l’aiguille est précautionneusement retirée par le radiologue, toujours sous guidage scanographique. Un pansement sera mis en place afin de prévenir le risque d’infection.4

 

Durant la réalisation de l’infiltration, il est possible de ressentir des douleurs similaires à celles que vous ressentez habituellement (reproduction de la douleur).

À LIRE :   Infiltration cervicale sous scanner : procédure et risques

 

Une fois la procédure terminée, on vous demandera de rester une trentaine de minutes en observation afin de s’assurer de l’absence de signes anormaux. Vous pourrez ensuite repartir chez vous avec le compte rendu de l’infiltration cervicale et votre dossier médical.

 

 

Infiltration cervicale : Suites

 

Après la réalisation d’une infiltration cervicale, une recrudescence des cervicalgies peut être ressentie durant les deux premiers jours. Il ne faut pas s’inquiéter, il suffit de prendre un antalgique et de se reposer, elles cèdent généralement dans les 24 à 48 h. Un arrêt de travail peut vous être prescrit par votre médecin traitant.

 

La réponse à l’infiltration cervicale est variable d’un patient à un autre et selon l’indication, la nature des lésions… La diminution des douleurs se remarque 3 à 7 jours après le geste en moyenne.

 

Toutefois, le résultat n’est pas toujours au rendez-vous. Il est parfois nécessaire de reprogrammer une seconde séance d’infiltration cervicale (après un mois en général). Le nombre maximum d’infiltrations cervicales qu’il est possible de réaliser est de 3 par an.

 

En cas de non-réponse aux infiltrations cervicales, on oriente le patient en chirurgie pour une consultation spécialisée (en dernier recours).

 

 

Références

 

[1]  P. Brunner et al., « Percutaneous infiltrations of cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine », in Seminars in interventional radiology, 2002, vol. 19, no 03, p. 219‑228.

[2]  E. Masson, « Les infiltrations foraminales cervicales et lombaires sous scanner », EM-Consulte. https://www.em-consulte.com/article/751576/les-infiltrations-foraminales-cervicales-et-lombai (consulté le 17 mars 2022).

[3]  Evangelia Passia et Stéphane Genevay, « Complications des infiltrations rachidiennes », Revue Medicale Suisse. https://www.revmed.ch/revue-medicale-suisse/2017/revue-medicale-suisse-553/complications-des-infiltrations-rachidiennes (consulté le 16 mars 2022).

[4]  C. Cyteval et al., « Cervical radiculopathy: open study on percutaneous periradicular foraminal steroid infiltration performed under CT control in 30 patients », Am. J. Neuroradiol., vol. 25, no 3, p. 441‑445, 2004.

Cet article vous-a-t-il été utile ?

Indiquez votre appréciation de l'article

Note des lecteurs / 5. Nombre de votes

Si vous avez bénéficié de cet article...

Suivez-nous sur Youtube et Facebook

Navré que vous n'ayez pu trouver réponse à vos questions !

Aidez-nous à améliorer cet article !

Comment pouvons-nous améliorer l'article ?

Douleurs physiques : Mini consultation gratuite

Répondez à ce court questionnaire en ligne pour bénéficier de recommandations spécifiques à VOTRE situation.