Parkinson's disease and back pain: the link (explained)

back pain and parkinson

There are different reasons that can cause back pain. It can be linked to bad postures just as it can follow osteoarthritis, herniated disc or a lumbago. THE back pain may also be associated with Parkinson's disease. It is a very common neurodegenerative disease in people between the ages of 55 and 65. In this article, discover the link between Parkinson's disease and back pain.

Definition of Parkinson's disease

Parkinson's disease reflects a degeneration of dopamine neurons. It's about a progressive and irreversible destruction. This is why it is classified in the category of neurodegenerative diseases like Alzheimer's disease.

As a reminder, dopaminergic neurons are nerve cells located in the brain stem, in the substantia nigra of the brain. They ensure the production of dopamine. The latter is a chemical substance that acts as a neurotransmitter in the brain. This is also involved in attention, pleasure, motivation, sleep, cognition, making movements… This chemical substance is sometimes called “pleasure hormone” or “motivation hormone”.

Parkinson's disease is a chronic disease. It evolves slowly and for a long time. Over time, it worsens until it affects the patient's quality of life. However, it is possible to alleviate the symptoms and slow the progression of the pathology with appropriate treatment.

The causes of Parkinson's disease

The cause of this neurodegenerative disease is often unknown. Through scientific research, some risk factors have nevertheless been identified.

  • 5% of cases of degeneration of neurons dopaminergic are associated with factors genetic. 13 genes can cause this disease. In case of genetic predisposition, this disease can affect people under 45 years old.
  • Other cases may be related to factors environmental, some of which are related to theEthnicity or presence of motor complications, sleep disorders or signs of depression in the subject. It also seems that this disease is more common in men than in women.

What are the symptoms of this neurodegenerative disease?

 

The signs of Parkinson's disease begin to appear after half of the nerve cells have disappeared. Different symptoms may appear, they may vary from patient to patient. The same is true for their intensity.

The symptoms of this pathology are initially unilateral. In other words, they only appear in one side of the body. It is only during the course of the disease that they become bilateral. Nevertheless, they still remain more pronounced on one side.

tremors

Tremors are among the first symptoms of this disease. This concerns approximately 70% of cases. In 30% of cases, patients do not suffer from any tremor.

These are rhythmic tremors that the patient cannot control. They mainly affect the hands or arms, then the head and finally the legs; and sometimes the chin and lips. They usually occur under stress or at rest.

It should be noted that the tremors which appear with the action do not correspond to a sign of this neurodegenerative disease. The tremors only appear when the muscles are completely relaxed and stop when there is movement.

hypertension

Hypertonia is also a very common symptom of permanent destruction of dopamine neurons. It designates a rigidity of movements. The muscles are under excessive tension. This leads to a feeling of stiffness. This can be painful.

Hypertonia can affect all muscles of the body, but particularly affects along the spine. This often leads the patient to adopt a leaning forward posture.

Akinesia

Along with tremors and hypertonia, akinesia is among the first symptoms of this neurodegenerative disease. It corresponds to a slowness in the movements. This sign occurs when the patient tries to initiate and coordinate their movements.

Akinesia can therefore impact various activities of daily living such as:

  • walk ;
  • getting up from a chair;
  • go back to bed;
  • buttoning clothes;
  • open a jar;
  • to write…

Musculoskeletal pain

Only half of the patients suffer from pain. It can appear at all stages of the pathology and can range from moderate to severe. It is due to the fact that this neurodegenerative disease disrupts pain-relieving self-defense systems. People who suffer from this disease are particularly sensitive to pain.

With regard to musculoskeletal pain, it consists of muscle pain, joint pain or pain on the vertebral axis. They can concern different parts of the body: neck, calves, shoulders... Depending on the age of the patient, chronic low back pain can occur.

Neuropathic pain

Neuropathy designates all the affections of the motor and sensory nerves of the central nervous system. There are two kinds of neuropathic pain:

  • neuritic pain in case of nerve inflammation;
  • radicular pain in case of compression of the nerve root.

Concretely, these neuropathic pain may manifest as tingling or burning on the most affected part. Other patients may also suffer from postural or sciatic secondary.

Other symptoms

In addition to the signs already mentioned, here are other symptoms of Parkinson's disease:

  • anxiety or depression;
  • attention disorders;
  • absence or reduction of eyelids;
  • difficulty in articulating;
  • lack of facial expression;
  • excessive salivation followed by difficulty in containing saliva;
  • swallowing disorders;
  • urinary incontinence ;
  • sleep disorder ;
  • constipation ;
  • dystonia (pain due to intense muscle contractions);
  • dyskinesia (decreased voluntary movements)…

Parkinson's disease and back pain

Le relationship between back pain and Parkinson's disease becomes evident when the pain is associated with stiffness, stiffness or nerve damage caused by the disease.

Treatment of Parkinson's disease

Before prescribing the appropriate treatment, the neurologist or general practitioner makes a diagnosis. This is based on a clinical examination and symptoms. Sometimes laboratory tests or imaging tests may be necessary to confirm the diagnosis and rule out other disorders.

As the degeneration of dopaminergic neurons is irreversible, there is no no cure for the disease. Treatments are aimed only at improving patients' quality of life and treating symptoms.

To relieve the pain, the doctor usually prescribes The dopa. It is a precursor molecule of dopamine: it is transformed into dopamine when it reaches the brain. If necessary, the doctor prescribes dopamine agonists.

L-dopa may be particularly effective in some patients just as it may be ineffective in others. In these cases, other treatments may be offered.

  • For muscoskeletal pain, the patient can take opioid analgesics and non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs.
  • For pain of central origin, he may administer duloxetine.
  • For dystonias, the doctor prescribes botulinum toxin A.
  • La brain stimulation, transcranial or deep, can be considered depending on the situation.
  • Non-drug approaches may also be beneficial in Parkinson's disease. This is particularly the case for Tai-Chi or certain aquatic activities.

References

https://www.orkyn.fr/maladie-parkinson/parkinson-douleurs-cette-maladie-neurodegenerative

https://institutducerveau-icm.org/fr/parkinson/

Back to top

Maladie de Parkinson et mal de dos : le lien (explications)

Maladie de Parkinson et mal de dos : le lien (explications)

Différentes raisons peuvent être à l’origine du mal de dos. Il peut être lié à de mauvaises postures tout comme il peut faire suite à une arthrose, une hernie discale ou un lumbago. Le mal de dos peut également être associé à la maladie de Parkinson. Il s’agit d’une maladie neurodégénérative très courante chez les personnes âgées entre 55 et 65 ans. Dans cet article, découvrez le lien entre la maladie de Parkinson et le mal de dos.

Définition de la maladie de Parkinson

 

La maladie de Parkinson traduit une dégénérescence des neurones à dopamine. Il s’agit d’une destruction progressive et irréversible. C’est pour cela qu’elle est classée dans la catégorie des maladies neurodégénératives au même titre que la maladie d’Alzheimer.

 

Pour rappel, les neurones dopaminergiques sont des cellules nerveuses localisées dans le tronc cérébral, au niveau de la substance noire du cerveau. Ils assurent la production de dopamine. Cette dernière est une substance chimique qui joue un rôle de neurotransmetteur dans le cerveau. Celle-ci est également impliquée dans l’attention, le plaisir, la motivation, le sommeil, la cognition, la réalisation de mouvements… Cette substance chimique est parfois appelée « hormone du plaisir » ou « hormone de la motivation ».

 

La maladie de Parkinson est une maladie chronique. Elle évolue lentement et longuement. Au fil du temps, elle s’aggrave jusqu’à affecter la qualité de vie du patient. Il est toutefois possible d’atténuer les symptômes et de ralentir la progression de la pathologie avec un traitement adapté.

 

 

Les causes de la maladie de Parkinson

 

La cause de cette maladie neurodégénérative est souvent inconnue. À travers les recherches scientifiques, certains facteurs de risque ont tout de même pu être identifiés.

 

  • 5 % des cas de dégénérescence des neurones dopaminergiques sont associés à des facteurs génétiques. 13 gènes peuvent provoquer de cette maladie. En cas de prédisposition génétique, cette maladie peut toucher les moins de 45 ans.
  • Les autres cas peuvent être liés à des facteurs environnementaux, dont certains sont liés à l’origine ethnique ou à la présence de complications motrices, de troubles du sommeil ou encore de signes dépressifs chez le sujet. Il semble aussi que cette maladie soit plus fréquente chez les hommes que chez les femmes.

 

 

Quels sont les symptômes de cette maladie neurodégénérative ?

 

Les signes de la maladie de Parkinson commencent à se manifester après la disparation de la moitié des cellules nerveuses. Différents symptômes peuvent apparaître, ils peuvent varier d’un patient à un autre. Il en est de même pour leur intensité.

 

Les symptômes de cette pathologie sont d’abord unilatéraux. En d’autres termes, ils n’apparaissent que dans un seul côté du corps. Ce n’est qu’au cours de l’évolution de la maladie qu’ils deviennent bilatéraux. Néanmoins, ils restent toujours plus prononcés sur un côté.

 

Tremblements

 

Les tremblements figurent parmi les premiers symptômes de cette maladie. Cela concerne environ 70 % des cas. Dans 30 % des cas, les patients ne souffrent d’aucun tremblement.

 

Il s’agit de tremblements rythmiques que le malade ne peut contrôler. Ils touchent principalement les mains ou les bras, puis la tête et enfin les jambes ; et parfois, le menton et les lèvres. Ils surviennent généralement en cas de stress ou au repos.

 

Il faut noter que les tremblements qui apparaissent à l’action ne correspondent pas à un signe de cette maladie neurodégénérative. Les tremblements se manifestent uniquement lors d’un relâchement total des muscles et cessent lors d’un mouvement.

 

Hypertonie

 

L’hypertonie est également un symptôme très fréquent de la destruction définitive des neurones à dopamine. Elle désigne une rigidité des mouvements. Les muscles sont soumis à une tension excessive. Ce qui entraîne une sensation de raideur. Celle-ci peut être douloureuse.

 

L’hypertonie peut affecter tous les muscles du corps, mais touche particulièrement le long de la colonne vertébrale. Ce qui amène souvent le malade à adopter une posture penchée vers l’avant.

 

Akinésie

 

Avec les tremblements et l’hypertonie, l’akinésie figure parmi les premiers symptômes de cette maladie neurodégénative. Elle correspond à une lenteur dans les mouvements. Ce signe se manifeste lorsque le patient tente d’initier et de coordonner ses mouvements.

 

L’akinésie peut donc impacter diverses activités de la vie quotidienne comme :

 

  • marcher ;
  • se lever d’une chaise ;
  • retourner au lit ;
  • boutonner les vêtements ;
  • ouvrir un bocal ;
  • écrire…

 

Douleurs musculosquelettiques

 

Uniquement la moitié des patients souffre de douleur. Elle peut apparaître à tous les stades de la pathologie et peut aller de modérée à sévère. Elle est due au fait que cette maladie neurodégénérative perturbe les systèmes d’autodéfense antidouleur. Les personnes qui souffrent de cette maladie sont particulièrement sensibles à la douleur.

 

En ce qui concerne les douleurs musculosquelettiques, elles consistent en des douleurs musculaires, des douleurs articulaires ou des douleurs sur l’axe vertébral. Elles peuvent concerner différentes parties du corps : cou, mollets, épaules… Selon l’âge du patient, des lombalgies chroniques peuvent survenir.

 

Douleurs neuropathiques

 

La neuropathie désigne l’ensemble des affections des nerfs moteurs et sensitifs du système nerveux central. On peut citer deux sortes de douleurs neuropathiques :

 

  • une douleur névritique en cas d’inflammation nerveuse ;
  • une douleur radiculaire en cas de compression de la racine nerveuse.

 

Concrètement, ces douleurs neuropathiques peuvent se manifester sous forme de picotements ou de brûlures sur la partie la plus atteinte. D’autres malades peuvent aussi souffrir de troubles de la posture ou de sciatiques secondaires.

 

Autres symptômes

 

Outre les signes déjà cités, voici d’autres symptômes de la maladie de Parkinson :

 

  • anxiété ou dépression ;
  • troubles de l’attention ;
  • absence ou diminution de battements des paupières ;
  • difficulté à articuler ;
  • absence d’expression faciale ;
  • salivation excessive suivie d’une difficulté à contenir la salive ;
  • troubles de la déglutition ;
  • incontinence urinaire ;
  • trouble du sommeil ;
  • constipation ;
  • dystonie (douleur due à des contractions musculaires intenses) ;
  • dyskinésie (diminution des mouvements volontaires)…

 

Maladie de Parkinson et mal de dos

 

Le rapport entre mal de dos et maladie de Parkinson devient évident lorsque la douleur est associée à la rigidité, la raideur ou l’affection nerveuse causée par la maladie.

 

 

Le traitement de la maladie de Parkinson

 

Avant de prescrire le traitement adéquat, le neurologue ou le médecin généraliste réalise un diagnostic. Celui-ci se base sur un examen clinique et les symptômes. Parfois, des examens biologiques ou des examens d’imagerie peuvent se révéler nécessaires pour confirmer le diagnostic et éliminer les hypothèses d’autres troubles.

 

Comme la dégénérescence des neurones dopaminergiques est irréversible, il n’existe aucun traitement curatif de la maladie. Les traitements visent seulement à améliorer la qualité de vie des patients et à traiter les symptômes.

 

Pour soulager la douleur, le médecin prescrit en général de la L-dopa. C’est une molécule précurseure de la dopamine : elle se transforme en dopamine lorsqu’elle atteint le cerveau. Au besoin, le médecin prescrit des agonistes dopaminergiques.

 

La L-dopa peut être particulièrement efficace chez certains patients tout comme elle peut être inefficace chez d’autres. Dans ces cas, d’autres traitements peuvent être proposés.

 

  • Pour les douleurs muscosquelettiques, le patient peut prendre des antalgiques opiacés et des anti-inflammatoires non-stéroïdiens.
  • Pour des douleurs d’origine centrale, il peut administrer de la duloxétine.
  • Pour les dystonies, le médecin prescrit de la toxine botulinique A.
  • La stimulation cérébrale, transcrânienne ou profonde, peut être envisagée en fonction de la situation.
  • Des approches non médicamenteuses peuvent également être bénéfiques dans le cadre de la maladie de Parkinson. C’est le cas notamment du Tai-Chi ou de certaines activités aquatiques.

 

 

Références

 

https://www.orkyn.fr/maladie-parkinson/parkinson-douleurs-cette-maladie-neurodegenerative

https://institutducerveau-icm.org/fr/parkinson/