Thomas test: procedure and interpretation (positive test)

thomas test

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

Named after British orthopedic surgeon Hugh Thomas, the Thomas test is used by healthcare professionals to measure the flexibility of the hip flexor muscles. This article handles it in detail, and explains the various interpretations related to a positive test.

Definition and anatomy

The hip joint is a joint formed by the head of the femur which articulates with the acetabulum of the pelvis. It serves as the main link between the lower limb and the trunk.

The hip flexor muscles are a group of muscles having a point of attachment at the level of the hip, and which allow the movement of hip flexion. They also participate in other movements such as hip external rotation, hip abduction, knee flexion or extension.

Some of the major hip flexor muscles include:

  • the iliopsoas (iliac psoas)
  • the rectus femoris
  • pectineus
  • the slender
  • the tensor fascia latae
  • the sartorius

The Thomas test tests the flexibility of the muscles mentioned above. It should be known that an alteration of the amplitudes and the flexibility of the hip can be an underlying cause of musculoskeletal disorders such as low back pain, femoro-patellar syndrome (knee pain), hip osteoarthritis, psoas tendonitis, etc.

This retraction is often present in runners, dancers, gymnasts, or anyone complaining of hip stiffness (often in the anterior or oldest boy).

Procedure

  • The patient is positioned in the supine position (on the back) on an examination table
  • Using his arms, the patient flexes his knees as much as possible bringing them towards his chest. This avoids a hyperlordose at the level of lumbar spine
  • The patient then lowers the tested limb to the end of the table so that it hangs down. The contralateral hip and knee (untested), meanwhile, are always kept in maximum flexion to stabilize the pelvis
  • Using a goniometer, the angle of hip flexion is then measured, which corresponds to the flexibility of the hip flexors (in comparison with the healthy side). The angle of flexion of the knee is also measured to determine if there is contracture of the rectus femoris.

Performance

Thomas' test is negative when the subject's lumbar spine (lower back) and sacrum are able to remain flat on the table during the maneuver. The hip should be able to reach 10 degrees of extension, and the knee should be able to flex 90 degrees.

Conversely, a Thomas test is said to be positive when:

  • The patient is unable to hold the lower back and the sacrum against the table (there is compensatory lumbar hyperlordosis)
  • The subject's leg is not able to touch the bed (we then observe a flexum indicating a retraction or contracture of the hip flexor muscles)
  • The knee is unable to reach a flexion of more than 80°

Depending on the final position of the leg tested, one can suspect a dysfunction of certain key muscles. For example, a knee that remains in extension suggests a contracture of the quadriceps (rectus femoris) muscle. A hip kept in flexion potentially indicates a lack of flexibility of the psoas muscle. If the leg remains in abduction, then we think of a retraction of the ilio-tibial band or the tensor fascia lata. In addition, an external rotation of the tibia can indicate a contracture of the femoral biceps (one of the muscles of the hamstring).

In short, depending on the results, the healthcare professional will decide whether it is appropriate to pursue the investigation via other clinical tests and/ormedical imaging if needed. He may also prescribe suitable exercises such as psoas stretches.

References

  • https://www.physio-pedia.com/Thomas_Test
  • https://www.pthaven.com/page/show/157779-thomas-test
  • https://www.sandc.worldrugby.org/?module=77&section=275&subsection=525
Back to top

Test de Thomas: déroulement et interprétation (test positif)

Test de Thomas: déroulement et interprétation (test positif)

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

Nommé d’après le chirurgien orthopédique britannique Hugh Thomas, le test de Thomas est utilisé par les professionnels de santé pour mesurer la flexibilité des muscles fléchisseurs de hanche. Cet article la manoeuvre en détail, et explique les diverses interprétations reliées à un test positif.

 

Définition et anatomie

 

L’articulation de la hanche est une articulation formée par la tête du fémur qui s’articule avec l’acétabulum du bassin. Elle sert de lien principal entre le membre inférieur et le tronc.

 

Les muscles fléchisseurs de hanche sont un groupe de muscles ayant un point d’attache au niveau de la hanche, et qui permettent le mouvement de flexion de hanche. Ils participents également à d’autres mouvements tels que la rotation externe de hanche, l’abduction de hanche, la flexion ou l’extension du genou.

 

Parmi les principaux muscles fléchisseurs de hanche, on compte :

 

  • l’iliopsoas (psoas iliaque)
  • le droit fémoral
  • le pectiné
  • le gracile
  • le tenseur du fascia latae
  • le sartorius

 

Le test de Thomas permet de tester la souplesse des muscles cités précédemment. Il faut savoir qu’une altération des amplitudes et de la souplesse de la hanche peuvent être une cause sous-jacente de troubles musculosquelettiques tels que la lombalgie, le syndrome fémoro-patellaire (douleur au genou), l’arthrose de la hanche, la tendinite du psoas, etc.

 

Cette rétraction est souvent présente chez les coureurs, danseursn gymnastes, ou toute personne se plaignant de raideur de la hanche (souvent au niveau de la face antérieur ou de l’aine).

À LIRE :   Déchirure du psoas : Définition et prise en charge

 

 

Procédure

 

 

  • Le patient est positionné en décubitus dorsal (sur le dos) sur une table d’examen
  • En utilisant ses bras, le patient fléchi ses genoux au maximum en les amenant vers sa poitrine. Ceci permet d’éviter une hyperlordose au niveau de la colonne lombaire
  • Le patient abaisse ensuite le membre testé en bout de table de sorte qu’elle soit pendante. La hanche et le genou controlatéraux (non testés), quant à eux, sont toujours maintenus en flexion maximale pour stabiliser le bassin
  • En utilisant un goniomètre, on mesure alors l’angle de flexion de hanche qui correspond à la souplesse des fléchisseurs de hanche (en comparaison avec le côté sain). On mesure également l’angle de flexion du genou pour déterminer s’il y a contracture du droit fémoral.

 

 

Interprétation

 

Le test de Thomas est négatif lorsque la colonne lombaire (le bas du dos) et le sacrum du sujet sont capables de rester à plat sur la table pendant la manoeuvre. La hanche devrait être capable d’atteindre 10 degrés d’extension, et le genou devrait être capable de fléchir à 90 degrés.

 

À l’inverse, un test de Thomas est qualifié de positif lorsque :

 

  • Le patient est incapable de maintenir le bas du dos et le sacrum contre la table (on observe une hyperlordose lombaire compensatrice)
  • La jambe du sujet n’est pas capable de toucher le lit (on observe alors un flexum témoignant d’une rétraction ou contracture des muscles fléchisseurs de hanche)
  • Le genou est incapable d’atteindre une flexion de plus de 80°
À LIRE :   Douleur au psoas et intestin : Quel lien ? (Explication)

 

En fonction de la position finale de la jambe testée, on peut soupçonner un dysfonctionnement de certains muscles clés. Par exemple, un genou qui demeure en extension suggère une contracture du muscle quadriceps (droit fémoral). Une hanche maintenue en flexion témoigne potentiellement d’un manque de souplesse du muscle psoas. Si la jambe demeure en abduction, on pense alors à une rétraction de la bandelette ilio-tibiale ou du tenseur du fascia lata. Par ailleurs, une rotation externe du tibia peut indiquer une contracture du biceps fémoral (un des muscles de l’ischio-jambier).

 

En somme, en fonction des résultats, le professionnel de santé décidera s’il est pertinent de pousser l’investigation via d’autres tests cliniques et/ou d’imagerie médicale au besoin. Il pourra également prescrire des exercices adaptés tels que des étirements du psoas.

 

 

Références

 

  • https://www.physio-pedia.com/Thomas_Test
  • https://www.pthaven.com/page/show/157779-thomas-test
  • https://www.sandc.worldrugby.org/?module=77&section=275&subsection=525