back pain surgery

Flavectomy: Everything you need to know about this operation

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

A flavectomy is the surgical removal of the yellow ligament. This operation reduces the pressure exerted by an enlarged or dysfunctional yellow ligament on the level of the Spinal canal, and thus reduce pain.

 

This article explains everything you need to know about flavectomy.

 

Definition and anatomy

 

The yellow ligaments are ligaments that run between the laminae of the vertebrae of the spine. They are found all along the spine (on both sides), from the vertebrate cervical C2, up to vertebra S1.

 

yellow ligament
Source

 

They have elastic fibers that allow them to contract naturally, in a way. Therefore, they help in the extension of the spine and maintaining the upright posture. In addition, the yellow ligaments prevent excessive flexion of the spine by their tension.

 

The yellow ligament can undergo degeneration with age, or after repeated trauma. Under these circumstances, it loses elastic capacity, and increases in thickness. Due to hypertrophy (called yellow ligament hypertrophy), other related structures may be irritated, pinched or even compressed. We think in particular of the spinal cord and emerging nerve roots.

 

This can lead to potentially serious spinal injuries, such as cauda equina syndrome, for an narrow lumbar canal, or a spinal cord compression.

 

Procedure

 

A flavectomy is performed to decompress the spinal canal. Whether due to hypertrophy of the yellow ligament, or herniated disc forcing the yellow ligament to sink into the Spinal canal, excision of this ligament will release pressure on the spinal cord and spinal nerves.

 

Flavectomy is sometimes associated with laminectomies to better free the spinal canal.

 

 

Other types of decompressive surgery

 

Alternatives to flavectomy include:

 

 

It should be noted that the optimal surgical technique for treating the spinal compression or nerve roots remains controversial. One approach is not necessarily superior in all circumstances, and the best option will depend on patient-specific anatomical and symptomatic factors.

 

Was this article helpful to you?

Indicate your appreciation of the article

Readers rating 3 / 5. Number of votes 3

If you have benefited from this article...

Follow us on Youtube and Facebook

Sorry you couldn't find an answer to your questions!

Help us improve this article!

How can we improve the article?

Flavectomie : Tout savoir sur cette opération

Flavectomie : Tout savoir sur cette opération

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

Une flavectomie consiste en l’excision chirurgicale du ligament jaune. Cette opération permet de réduire la pression exercée par un ligament jaune hypertrophié ou dysfonctionnel au niveau du canal rachidien, et ainsi réduire les douleurs.

 

Cet article explique tout ce qu’il faut savoir sur la flavectomie.

 

Définition et anatomie

 

Les ligaments jaunes sont des ligaments qui s’étendent entre les lames des vertèbres de la colonne vertébrale. Ils se trouvent tout au long du rachis (de par et d’autre), depuis la vertèbre cervicale C2, jusqu’à la vertèbre S1.

 

ligament jaune
Source

 

Ils comportent des fibres élastiques leur permettent de se contracter naturellement, en quelques sortes. Par conséquent, ils aident à l’extension de la colonne vertébrale et le maintien de la posture debout. Par ailleurs, les ligaments jaunes empêchent la flexion excessive de la colonne vertébrale de par leur tension.

 

Le ligament jaune peut subir une dégénérescence avec l’âge, ou après des traumatismes répétés. Dans ces circonstances, il perd en capacité élastique, et et augmente en épaisseur. En raison de l’hypertrophie (appelée hypertrophie du ligament jaune), les autres structures connexes peuvent se voir irritées, pincées ou même comprimées. On pense notamment à la moelle épinière et les racines nerveuses émergentes.

 

Ceci peut mener à des atteintes potentiellement sérieuses de la colonne vertébrale, comme un syndrome de la queue de cheval, un canal lombaire étroit, ou encore une compression de la moelle épinière.

 

Procédure

 

La flavectomie est réalisée pour décompresser le canal rachidien. Que ce soit en raison d’une hypertrophie du ligament jaune, ou d’une hernie discale forçant le ligament jaune à s’enfoncer dans le canal rachidien, l’excision de ce ligament va libérer de la pression au niveau de la moelle épinière et des nerfs spinaux.

 

La flavectomie est parfois associée à une laminectomie pour mieux libérer le canal rachidien.

 

 

Autres types de chirurgie décompressives

 

Parmi les alternatives à la flavectomie, on compte :

 

 

Il est à noter que la technique chirurgicale optimale pour traiter la compression médullaire ou des racines nerveuses reste controversée. Une approche n’est pas forcément supérieure dans toutes les circonstances, et la meilleure option dépendra de facteurs anatomiques et symptomatiques spécifiques à chaque patient.