Cervical corpectomy: Everything you need to know about this operation

corpectomy

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

Cervical corpectomy is a surgery used when the spinal cord and the spinal nerves are compromised, causing pain and disabling symptoms in the affected patient.

This article explains everything you need to know about this type of surgery (difference with other types of surgeries, the procedure, recovery, complications, etc.).

Definition

Cervical corpectomy is a surgical operation to remove one or more vertebrae (bone) of the cervical spine. Its main objective is to decompress nerve roots and/or spinal cord irritated by degeneration or other phenomena.

More specifically, this intervention consists of removing the front part of the vertebrate, namely the vertebral bodyAnd the intervertebral disc that can compromise the integrity of the nerves. The rear part of the vertebra, called the posterior arch, is preserved.

Un bone graft is then inserted into the space freed up by removing the vertebral body. This graft will stimulate bone growth which will eventually connect the vertebrae above and underlying by merger.

Difference with discectomy

Corpectomy is similar to a related procedure called discectomy. Indeed, these two types of surgeries can be used to treat similar conditions.

The main difference is thata corpectomy is a more invasive procedure, and is generally used when the condition is more complex. For example, the discectomy will only remove the damaged disc, whereas the corpectomy frees the vertebrae in addition to the discs.

Other types of decompressive surgery

Alternatives to corpectomy include:

It should be noted that the optimal surgical technique for treating the spinal compression or nerve roots remains controversial. One approach is not necessarily superior in all circumstances, and the best option will depend on patient-specific anatomical and symptomatic factors.

Indications

Before considering surgery, the doctor may recommend conservative strategies such as medication and physical therapy (physiotherapy). These measures can sometimes be effective in avoiding an operation. However, surgery is usually the recommended treatment lwhen the spinal cord is at risk of damage.

Most often, important and advanced issues spinal cord must be present for corpectomy to be considered. For example, severe neck pain, significant upper extremity weakness, near-constant numbness, lack of coordination, urinary or fecal incontinence, and general loss of function may be observed.

Some medical conditions that can sometimes lead to a corpectomy include:

Procedure

As mentioned, corpectomy involves removing the vertebral body from the vertebrae that put pressure on the spinal cord and spinal nerves.

The intervention is mainly under general anesthesia, anteriorly at the cervical level. An incision is made in the front of the neck, just next to the trachea. The anterior cervical muscles are moved to the side. Particular attention is paid to the surrounding arteries and nerves, so as not to damage them during the surgery.

The operation is done under radiographic guidance, to ensure that affected vertebrae and discs are removed without irritating the spinal cord and spinal nerves. Once the vertebral bodies removed, a bone graft is used to fill the remaining space. This graft can be taken from another part of the body (such as a bone in the leg), or even come from an allograft.

A certain type of internal fixation is usually needed to hold the vertebra and bone graft in place. To do this, a metal plate is generally placed in front of the cervical spine, and it is fixed to the above and underlying vertebrae using metal screws.

Recovery and recovery

Patients usually spend the night in the hospital after the operation, and are discharged the following day. In some cases, the patient can be kept for up to 7 days post-operatively.

In the majority of cases, the surgeon will recommend that the patient wear a cervical collar for several weeks. The role of this neck brace will be to support the cervical muscle, limit extreme movements, and promote healing. It can be removed for eating, washing or sleeping.

In pediatric patients, on the other hand, it is possible that the medical team opts for a halo vest, which is a brace designed to immobilize the neck and head in order to stabilize the injury and aid healing.

On discharge from the hospital, the incision is usually covered with a surgical dressing or sterile bandages. You will be told when to remove them, usually seven days after the operation.

Personalized painkillers and/or muscle relaxants will usually be prescribed to control pain and reduce muscle tension. The medication will then be weaned off gradually.

A follow-up visit will usually be fixed 4 to 6 weeks after surgery. X-rays will be taken to observe progress, monitor healing and ensure bone fusion.

Overall, it is estimated that the total recovery period is 6-8 weeks for a corpectomy.

Re-education

Patients are generally encouraged to increase their level of physical activity as tolerated, while refraining from strenuous exercise (eg, activities involving jumping).

To optimize rehabilitation, the doctor may prescribe physiotherapy (physiotherapy). This will speed healing, and promote a safe and effective recovery. The methods used will be:

  • Electrotherapy
  • Gentle massage
  • Soft mobilizations
  • Therapeutic exercises
  • Advice and education
  • Etc

Note: In some cases, the surgeon will prefer to wait 4 to 6 weeks before starting rehabilitation and exercises for the cervical region.

Complications

From a technical point of view, corpectomy is a fairly complex surgery. Although relatively rare, complications can include:

  • neurological deficits due to nerve damage
  • spinal cord damage
  • damage to the trachea or esophagus
  • wound infection
  • bleeding
  • displacement of the graft
  • lesion of thevertebral artery

Source

  • https://spine.keckmedicine.org/surgical-treatments/anterior-cervical-corpectomy-and-fusion-accf/
  • https://www.neurosurgery.columbia.edu/patient-care/treatments/anterior-cervical-corpectomy#:~:text=A%20corpectomy%20is%20a%20procedure,the%20spine%20in%20the%20neck.
Back to top

Corpectomie cervicale : Tout savoir sur cette opération

Corpectomie cervicale : Tout savoir sur cette opération

Article revu et approuvé par Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, médecin spécialisée en médecine de famille

La corpectomie cervicale est une chirurgie auquel on a recours lorsque la moelle épinière et les nerfs spinaux sont compromis, provoquant des douleurs et symptômes incapacitants chez le patient atteint.

 

Cet article vous explique tout ce qu’il faut savoir sur ce type de chirurgie (différence avec les autres types de chirurgies, la procédure, la convalescence, les complications, etc.).

Définition

 

La corpectomie cervicale est une opération chirurgicale visant à retirer une ou plusieurs vertèbres (os) de la colonne cervicale. Son objectif principal est de décompresser les racines nerveuses et/ou la moelle épinière irritées par des phénomènes de dégénérescence ou autres.

 

Plus spécifiquement, cette intervention consiste à enlever la partie avant de la vertèbre, à savoir le corps vertébral, ainsi que le disque intervertébral pouvant compromettre l’intégrité des nerfs. La partie arrière de la vertèbre, appelée arc postérieur, est quant à elle préservée.

 

Un greffon osseux est ensuite inséré dans l’espace libéré par le retrait du corps vertébral. Ce greffon va stimuler la croissance osseuse qui permettra éventuellement de relier les vertèbres sus et sous-jacente par fusion.

 

Différence avec la discectomie

 

La corpectomie est similaire à une procédure apparentée appelée discectomie. En effet, ces deux types de chirurgies peuvent être utilisées pour traiter des conditions similaires.

 

La différence principale réside dans le fait qu’une corpectomie est une procédure plus invasive, et est généralement utilisée lorsque la condition est plus complexe. Par exemple, la discectomie va uniquement retirer le disque lésé, alors que la corpectomie dégage les vertèbres en plus des disques.

 

Autres types de chirurgie décompressives

 

Parmi les alternatives à la corpectomie, on compte :

 

 

Il est à noter que la technique chirurgicale optimale pour traiter la compression médullaire ou des racines nerveuses reste controversée. Une approche n’est pas forcément supérieure dans toutes les circonstances, et la meilleure option dépendra de facteurs anatomiques et symptomatiques spécifiques à chaque patient.

 

 

Indications

 

Avant d’envisager une intervention chirurgicale, le médecin peut recommander des stratégies conservatrices telles que des médicaments et de la kinésithérapie (physiothérapie). Ces mesures peuvent parfois être efficaces pour éviter une opération. Cependant, la chirurgie est généralement le traitement recommandé lorsque la moelle épinière risque d’être endommagée.

 

Le plus souvent, des problèmes importants et avancés de la moelle épinière doivent être présents pour que la corpectomie soit envisagée. Par exemple, on peut observer une douleur cervicale intense, une faiblesse significative des membres supérieurs, un engourdissement presque constant, un manque de coordination, une incontinence urinaire ou fécale, et une perte de fonction générale.

 

Parmi les conditions médicales qui peuvent parfois mener à une corpectomie, on compte :

 

 

 

Procédure

 

Tel que mentionné, la corpectomie consiste à retirer le corps vertébral des vertèbres qui exercent une pression sur la moelle épinière et les nerfs spinaux.

 

L’intervention se fait principalement sous anesthésie générale, par voie antérieure au niveau cervical. Une incision est pratiquée à l’avant du cou, juste à côté de la trachée. Les muscles cervicaux antérieurs sont déplacés sur le côté. Une attention particulière est portée sur les artères et nerfs environnants, afin de ne pas les endommager durant la chirurgie.

 

L’opération se fait sous guidage radiographique, afin de s’assurer de retirer les vertèbres et disques affectées sans irriter la moelle épinière et les nerfs spinaux. Une fois les corps vertébraux retirés, une greffe osseuse est utilisée pour combler l’espace résiduel. Cette greffe peut être prélevée d’une autre partie du corps (comme un os de la jambe), ou encore provenir d’une allogreffe.

 

Un certain type de fixation interne est généralement nécessaire pour maintenir la vertèbre et la greffe osseuse en place. Pour ce faire, on place généralement une plaque métallique à l’avant de la colonne cervicale, et on la fixe aux vertèbres sus et sous-jacentes grâce à des vis métalliques.

 

 

Convalescence et récupération

 

Les patients passent généralement la nuit à l’hôpital après l’opération, et sont libérés le jour suivant. Dans certains cas, le patient peut être gardé jusqu’à 7 jours post-opératoires.

 

Dans la majorité des cas, le chirurgien recommandera au patient de porter un collier cervical pendant plusieurs semaines. Le rôle de cette minerve sera de soutenir la musculaire cervicale, limiter les mouvements extrêmes, et favoriser la cicatrisation. Il pourra être retiré pour manger, se laver ou dormir.

 

Chez les patients pédiatriques, par contre, il est possible que l’équipe médicale opte pour un gilet halo, qui est une orthèse visant à immobiliser le cou et de latête afin de stabiliser la blessure et aider à la guérison.

 

halo cervical
Halo cervical (Source)

 

Au congé de l’hôpital, l’incision est généralement recouverte d’un pansement chirurgical ou de bandes stériles. On vous indiquera quand les retirer, généralement sept jours après l’opération.

 

Des médicaments anti-douleurs et/ou des décontractants musculaires seront généralement prescrits pour contrôler la douleur et réduire les tensions musculaires. La médication sera ensuite sevrée progressivement au fur et à mesure.

 

Une visite de suivi sera généralement fixée 4 à 6 semaines après la chirurgie. Des radiographies seront prises pour observer le progrès, contrôler la guérison et s’assurer de la fusion osseuse.

 

En tout, on estime que la période de récupération totale est de 6 à 8 semaines pour une corpectomie.

 

Rééducation

 

Les patients sont généralement encouragés à augmenter leur niveau d’activité physique selon tolérance, tout en s’abstenant de faire des exercices intenses (par exemple, les activités impliquant des sauts).

 

Pour optimiser la rééducation, le médecin pourra prescrire de la kinésithérapie (physiothérapie). Ceci permettra d’accélérer la guérison, et de favoriser une reprise sûre et efficace. Les modalités utilisées seront :

 

  • Électrothérapie
  • Massages doux
  • Mobilisations douces
  • Exercices thérapeutiques
  • Conseils et éducation
  • Etc.

 

Note : Dans certains cas, le chirurgien préfèrera attendre 4 à 6 semaines avant de commencer la rééducation et les exercices pour la région cervicale.

 

 

Complications

 

D’un point de vue technique, la corpectomie est une chirurgie assez complexe. Bien que relativement rares, les complications peuvent inclure :

 

  • déficits neurologiques dûe à l’atteinte de nerfs
  • dommage au niveau de la moelle épinière
  • dommage au niveau de la trachée ou de l’oesophage
  • infection de la plaie
  • saignements
  • déplacement du greffon
  • lésion de l’artère vertébrale

 

 

Source

 

  • https://spine.keckmedicine.org/surgical-treatments/anterior-cervical-corpectomy-and-fusion-accf/
  • https://www.neurosurgery.columbia.edu/patient-care/treatments/anterior-cervical-corpectomy#:~:text=A%20corpectomy%20is%20a%20procedure,the%20spine%20in%20the%20neck.