Herniated disc and car: Driving without pain (5 tips)

car ride and herniated disc

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine

Most of us have to drive to get to work or go about our business. When we suffer from herniated disc, it can happen that traveling by car is difficult, so that sometimes you have to give up certain hobbies or trips because of the pain.

How to optimize car journeys in the presence of a herniated disc? Can you drive after an operation? What positions should be preferred? This article explains how to drive when you suffer from disc disease.

Herniated disc: Reminder

Let's start with a short reminder about the herniated disc. The more you understand the diagnosis and the resulting symptoms, the more effective the treatment will be. To learn all about herniated disc and its impact on sports and professional activities, see the following article:

Herniated disc from A to Z: Better understand your diagnosis (symptoms and causes)

Essentially, the discs deform and bulge out of their shells as part of a herniated disc. Since there are several nerve roots around these discs, an inflammatory process and nerve irritation may ensue, causing the symptoms (low back pain, radiation, numbness, tingling, etc.).

Although not always the case, symptoms are often aggravated by prolonged sitting. This is because this posture promotes the migration of the disc backwards, which causes the characteristic symptoms of a herniated disc.

This makes long trips particularly difficult for people with the disease, even more so if the seat is not comfortable or space is limited. Not ideal when you have to use the car frequently to go to work!

Can you drive after a herniated disc operation?

After one surgical intervention aimed at correcting the herniated disc, the doctor will prescribe a rehabilitation protocol. This will depend on the condition of the patient and the type of surgery performed. In some cases, prolonged sitting at 90 degrees may be contraindicated for a while.

Thus, it is essential to obtain the green light from the surgeon before resuming driving. Moreover, the same principles apply if you want to fly in the presence of a herniated disc. 

5 tips to make car journeys easier

As a large majority of cases of herniated disc are not operated on, you have to learn to live with the symptoms, and adjust activities so as not to aggravate the condition.

Here are 5 tips that can be applied to reduce car pain when suffering from herniated disc.

1. Be as comfortable as possible even before departure

If you have pain as soon as you get into the driver's or passenger's seat, there's probably something wrong.

Start by adjusting your seat, especially if you're sharing the car with your spouse. Also, try to position the rearview mirror as high as possible. This will force you to stand up straight, which will prevent you from slouching.

2. Place a pillow or towel in the small of your back

 If your back pain is relieved by standing up straighter, you could use a lumbar cushion in the lower back. This increase in lordosis is often favorable for reducing symptoms, and reducing the radiation of pain in the leg.

Promo
Everlasting Comfort Lumbar Support - Lumbar Pillow for Desk, Office Chair or Car Seat - Memory Foam Back Cushion - Black
  • Improve unsupportive chairs: The comfort cushion in memory foam material uses body heat to adapt to the curves of the back and provide the lumbar support that is sorely lacking in office chairs
  • Against back pain: Most chairs do not support the back, which causes tension. The ergonomic cushion supports the upper, middle and lower back, for complete comfort
  • Breathable Cover: The chair cushion features a breathable mesh cover that allows air to circulate, preventing heat build-up. Finally enjoy a perfectly fresh seat all day long
KOYOSO Lumbar Cushion Car Back Support Leather Back Cushion for Office Chair Car Seat - Black
  • ✔Lumbar Support Pillow is used at the base of the seat to relieve lower back pain and fatigue, making it comfortable for you to write on your desk or gain better visibility in the car
  • ✔Lumbar pillow made with soft memory foam suitable for people working in the office or driving in the car.
  • ✔ Excellent for adjusting your sitting position and relieving muscle tension, which will prevent pain or discomfort

Last updated on 2024-06-14 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

An alternative would be to place a rolled up towel on your lower back for similar support. Adjust the thickness of the towel so as not to create a hyperlordose which would be painful in the long run.

3. If possible, use cruise control

If you are driving long distances on the highway, cruise control will allow you to strain your nerve less sciatica (since you won't be extending the leg as much). This can often soothe radiating pain in the legs.

4. Get moving in the car

Often, back pain worsens when one adopts a prolonged posture or remains inactive. Thus, by performing a few movements such as the pelvic tilt, cervical retractions and the recruitment of deep muscles, your muscles and joints will remain in motion and avoid stiffening!

5. Just get moving!

Moving around in the car to relieve his symptoms is good. But it is even more important to stay active at all times as far as possible. 

Physical exercise has been shown to be one of the most effective methods for treating back problems and herniated discs. Whether it's aerobic exercises or lumbar stabilization, maintaining a physical routine can greatly help you treat your pain... not to mention the benefits to your general health!

A kinesitherapist (physiotherapist) can help you build a suitable program that will help reduce your symptoms, improve your functional abilities (including car journeys), and prevent the risk of recurrence.

Here is a proposal for 5 sports to practice safely in the presence of a herniated disc.

Good recovery !

Are you looking for solutions to relieve your pain?

Discover the opinion of our team of health professionals on various products available on the market (posture, sleep, physical pain), as well as our recommendations.

Back to top

Hernie discale et voiture : Conduire sans douleur (5 conseils)

Hernie discale et voiture : Conduire sans douleur (5 conseils)

 

La plupart d’entre nous devons conduire pour aller au travail ou vaquer à nos occupations. Lorsqu’on souffre de hernie discale, il peut arriver que les déplacements en voiture soient difficiles, si bien qu’il faut parfois renoncer à certains loisirs ou voyages en raison de la douleur.

 

Comment optimiser les trajets en voiture en présence de hernie discale ? Peut-on conduire après une opération ? Quelles positions faut-il privilégier ? Cet article vous explique comment conduire lorsqu’on souffre d’une pathologie discale.

 

Hernie discale : Rappel

 

Débutons par un court rappel sur la hernie discale. Plus on comprend le diagnostic et symptômes qui en découlent, plus le traitement sera efficace. Pour tout savoir sur la hernie discale et son impact sur les activités sportives et professionnelles, consultez l’article suivant :

 

Hernie discale de A à Z : Mieux comprendre votre diagnostic (symptômes et causes)

 

hernie discale cervicale provoquant des douleurs dans la nuque

 

Essentiellement, les disques se déforment et sortent de leur enveloppe dans le cadre d’une hernie discale. Comme il existe plusieurs racines nerveuses autour de ces disques, il peut s’ensuivre un processus inflammatoire et une irritation nerveuse responsable des symptômes (lombalgie, irradiation, engourdissements, picotements, etc.).

 

Bien que ce ne soit pas toujours le cas, les symptômes sont souvent aggravés en position assise prolongée. Ceci vient du fait que cette posture favorise la migration du disque vers l’arrière, ce qui provoque les symptômes caractéristiques d’une hernie discale.

 

Ceci rend les longs déplacements particulièrement difficiles pour les gens atteints, encore plus si le siège n’est pas confortable ou que l’espace est limité. Pas idéal quand on doit utiliser fréquemment la voiture pour aller au boulot !

 

Peut-on faire de la voiture après une opération hernie discale ?

 

Après une intervention chirurgicale visant à corriger la hernie discale, le médecin prescrira un protocole de rééducation. Celui-ci dépendra de la condition du patient et du type de chirurgie réalisée. Dans certains cas, il est possible que la position assise prolongée à 90 degrés soit contre-indiquée pendant un moment.

 

Ainsi, il est primordial d’obtenir le feu vert du chirurgien avant de reprendre la conduite. D’ailleurs, les même principes s’appliquent si vous souhaitez prendre l’avion en présence de hernie discale. 

 

Pour bénéficier de 7 conseils en avion lorsque vous souffrez de hernie discale, consultez l’article suivant.

 

 

5 conseils pour faciliter les trajets en voiture

 

Comme une grande majorité des cas de hernie discale ne sont pas opérés, il faut apprendre à vivre avec les symptômes, et ajuster les activités pour ne pas aggraver la condition.

 

Voici 5 astuces pouvant être appliquées pour réduire la douleur en voiture lorsqu’on souffre de hernie discale.

 

1. Soyez le plus confortable possible avant même le départ

 

Si vous avez de la douleur aussitôt dès que vous vous installez sur le siège conducteur ou passager, il y a probablement quelque chose qui cloche.

 

Commencez par ajuster votre siège, surtout si vous partagez la voiture avec votre conjoit(e). Également, essayer de placez le miroir du rétroviseur le plus haut possible. Ceci vous obligera à vous tenir droit, ce qui vous empêchera de vous affaisser.

 

2. Placez un coussin ou une serviette dans le creux de votre dos

 

 Si votre douleur au dos est soulagée par le fait de se tenir plus droit, vous pourriez utiliser un coussin lombaire dans le bas du dos. Cette augmente de lordose est souvent favorable pour réduire les symptômes, et diminuer les irradiations de douleur dans la jambe.

 

Une alternative serait de placer une serviette roulée dans le bas du dos pour bénéficier d’un support similaire. Ajuster l’épaisseur de la serviette pour ne pas créer une hyperlordose qui serait douloureuse à long terme.

 

3. Si possible, utilisez le régulateur de vitesse (“Cruise Control” en anglais)

 

Si vous parcourez de longues distances sur l’autoroute, le régulateur de vitesse vous permettra de moins mettre en tension votre nerf sciatique (étant donné que vous n’allongerez pas autant la jambe). Ceci peut souvent apaiser les douleurs irradiant dans les jambes.

 

4. Bougez dans la voiture

 

Souvent, les douleurs ont dos s’aggravent lorsqu’on adopte une posture prolongée ou qu’on demeure inactif. Ainsi, en effectuant quelques mouvements tels que la bascule du bassin, les rétractions cervicales et le recrutement des muscles profonds, vos muscles et articulations resteront en mouvement et éviteront de s’ankyloser !

 

5. Bougez, tout simplement !

 

Bouger dans la voiture pour soulager ses symptômes, c’est bien. Mais il est encore plus important de demeurer actif en tout temps dans la mesure du possible. 

 

L’exercice physique a été démontré comme une des méthodes les plus efficace pour traiter les problèmes de dos et les hernies discales. Que ce soit des exercices aérobiques ou de stabilisation lombaire, maintenir une routine physique pourra grandement vous aider à traiter vos douleurs… sans parlez des bienfaits sur votre santé générale !

 

Un kinésithérapeute peut vous aider à bâtir un programme adapté qui aidera à réduire vos symptômes, améliorer vos capacités fonctionnelles (incluant les trajets en voiture), et prévenir les risques de récidives.

 

Voici une proposition de 5 sports à pratiquer de façon sûre en présence de hernie discale.

 

Bonne guérison !