Herniated Disc: Exercises to Avoid (and Other Common Mistakes)

Share with your concerned loved ones
4.6
(5)

Article reviewed and approved by Dr. Ibtissama Boukas, physician specializing in family medicine 

If you type " herniated disc on Google, you will probably find 1001 exercises and solutions to reduce your pain. The problem is that we never talk about exercises to avoid in the presence of this condition.

In the following article, we discuss exercises to avoid, but also 8 deadly sins not to commit when suffering from this condition.

I warn you, you will probably be guilty of one of these sins, and some may even go against what a practitioner has told you in the past. 

Let's get started without further ado!

Note: Above all, it is essential that you familiarize yourself with the diagnosis of herniated disc. To know everything about this condition (symptoms, subtleties of diagnosis, treatment approaches), see the following article.

Certainly, in the presence of a herniated disc, there are certain exercises to avoid. But more importantly, there are certain habits and even mindsets that many adopt towards their situation. 

Without realizing it, these sins affect the perception we have of our health, the attitude we deploy towards our condition, and ultimately the prognosis for recovery.

Let's take a detailed look at the 8 deadly sins featured in the infographic above, and how they directly (or indirectly) influence herniated disc.

1. Rest

Counterintuitive, I know. Normally, we imagine that by resting his back, it will allow him to heal better. Admittedly, a relative and temporary rest is sometimes necessary after an episode of lumbago. On the other hand, it must be understood that excessive rest has harmful consequences for the back.

The solution is therefore to stay active in a safe environment, while making sure to avoid movements that would aggravate the pain. Some physical activity could, for example, help to mobilize its vertebrae, activate circulation and tone muscles. Or, certain therapeutic exercises prescribed by a professional could also optimize the healing process.

2. Overloading your back

As mentioned previously, it is essential to remain active after an episode of back pain, and avoid excessive rest. On the other hand, that does not mean that you have to run a marathon, or join an acrobatics course!!! Yes, the benefits of exercise for the back no longer need bragging rights. But not every exercise is right for your diagnosis, your stage of recovery, or even your physical condition.

Basically, any exercise that aggravates pain and/or causes residual symptoms should be avoided initially. Again, it is preferable to opt for movements, activities or exercises that solicit the lumbar region (or related regions) without overloading the tissues.

I'll talk more about this in the Herniated Disc: Exercises to Avoid section later in the article.

3. Abuse drugs

This is the number one reflex of those who suffer from back pain. Pain reliever, anti-inflammatory, muscle relaxant, everyone has their own concoction to relieve their pain.

RECOMMENDED FOR YOU:  Microdiscectomy: Surgery for herniated disc (Indications)

Yes, the medications have their place in the treatment of herniated discs. But contrary to what you might imagine, they deal more with the consequences than the actual cause of the problem. They should therefore be complementary to an active approach, and consumed in certain specific situations. Always remember this premise:

“Ideally, you should take the minimum amount of medication, at the minimum dose, for the shortest time possible. »

4. Adopting “bad” posture

Did you think I was referring to a hunched forward posture, with the neck thrown forward, the shoulders rolled up and the back rounded? NOPE ! Know that this demonized posture by many is not necessarily bad in itself. 

Instead of pointing the finger at a particular posture as the cause of herniated disc, we should rather question our "bad" lifestyle habits. Often, it is the sedentary lifestyle and the prolonged postures which increase the muscular tensions, and the discopathy.

So, if you have back pain after sitting for a long time, try getting up from your chair and taking a few steps instead. It's much more effective than trying to find the "perfect" posture that doesn't really exist!

5. Get infiltrated right away 

Like drugs,'infiltration has a place to play in the treatment of herniated discs. But as with medications, injections should be considered in specific situations (and often as a last resort before surgery!).

Unfortunately, I see many patients resorting to infiltration as soon as they feel the slightest symptom. The most unfortunate thing is that some doctors encourage this practice despite the abundant scientific evidence favoring a more “conservative” approach in the first place.

A qualified doctor will be able to guide you on the relevance of having recourse to the injection. It will also suggest the best type of infiltration to consider. Be aware, however, that this practice often offers temporary solutions, and in no way replaces an active approach.

6. Systematically wear a lumbar belt

Following a diagnosis of herniated disc, many people have the reflex to use a lumbar belt to protect their backs. After all, this extra feel-good support should ease our symptoms, and help us heal from our hernia, right? Not always…

Here's why most therapists don't encourage the use of these lumbar supports:

  • The lumbar belts make the muscles “lazy” (why work out when we are doing the work for us!)
  • Lumbar belts limit lumbar mobility (this one necessary to lubricate the joints!)
  • Lumbar belts limit diaphragmatic breathing (if there is less abdominal expansion, breathing will necessarily not be optimal!)

Well, okay, I agree that the lumbar belt can provide temporary security, and help us manage an acute attack of pain. It indeed has several benefits, especially if it is used intelligently and sparingly.

For the opinion of a health professional on the lumbar belt, see the following article.

7. Not consulting

“I thought the pain would go away on its own! » 

"I don't think you can cure my herniated disc. »

“I consulted a forum, and I deal with myself. »

Many people choose not to consult for their herniated disc. The problem is that the pain doesn't always go away over time (it can even get worse, unfortunately!). And the worst part is that an absence of pain does not necessarily mean that our back problem has disappeared!

RECOMMENDED FOR YOU:  Lumbar sprain or herniated disc: How to differentiate?

In case of acute lumbar pain, consult. In case of persistent pain, consult. If in doubt…consult! A qualified professional will listen to you, guide you, and help you get better.

8. Have a negative attitude

Yes, herniated disc is an anatomical and mechanical problem. But did you know that your state of mind, your emotions and your socio-economic situation can influence your symptoms back pain. Instead of denying this reality (proven time and time again by science!), why not integrate it into the strategies put in place to treat your herniated disc.

Find ways to manage your daily stress (you may need psychological help). Improve your quality of sleep. Integrate meditation to your morning routine. Take the time to breathe the “right way”.

Take time for yourself. You deserve it!

9. BONUS: Being certain that the hernia is the cause of our back problem

Sensitive souls refrain! What if I told you that a herniated disc diagnosed by MRI was not necessarily the real cause of your back pain?

Did you know that a significant proportion of the asymptomatic population presents disc degenerations and disc protrusions? In other words, even people with NO lower back pain can also experience changes in themedical imaging.

Even if your magnetic resonance shows a herniated disc L4-L5, it may be that it was present long before the incidence of your pain, and therefore that your herniation is not necessarily THE cause of your low back pain.

However, some herniated discs can be symptomatic. It is through an exhaustive evaluation that we will be able to determine the influence of your herniated disc on your symptoms, and the consequent management to be adopted.

Herniated disc: what exercises to avoid?

If you have a herniated disc, you've probably heard of the benefits of exercise for treating your condition. The problem is that you don't know which exercises are best for your condition. And above all, you are afraid of making your symptoms worse by doing the wrong thing.

Worse still, you may have made a false move only to realize that your pain had increased!

Is exercise actually good for your back? And above all, what are the exercises to avoid so as not to aggravate the herniated disc? Answering these questions requires first understanding some key concepts.

First, the pain caused by an exercise is most often related to an inability of your body to support the requested load. In other words, your lack of strength, stability, or flexibility can cause a particular exercise to cause lower back pain when you perform it.

Add to that the fact that your back is possibly more fragile due to a history of pain, or a previous injury. This explains why you see some people (on Youtube for example) doing exercises called “bad” for the back, without complaining of back pain!

In their case (and unlike you perhaps!), their back is able to tolerate the effort required by the exercise in question, which explains the absence of pain.

RECOMMENDED FOR YOU:  Herniated disc and paralysis of the leg: what is the link?

 

So what are the exercises to avoid? The answer is unfortunately very complex insofar as, with some exceptions, there is no “bad” exercise as such! Certain exercises increase pressure on the discs, such as movements involving bending and twisting your core. Other exercises put more pressure on the joints of the spine, such as movements in hyperextension.

Depending on the fragility of your tissues, certain exercises should be modified - at least temporarily - so as not to aggravate your symptoms. In general, your body will show pain if you irritate a structure that is fragile. The key is to take it gradually and make sure you don't cause lingering post-exercise pain.

In summary, exercise has repeatedly been shown to be effective in the treatment of low back pain. The problem is that many people perform exercises without having the strength, flexibility or lower back stability necessary to perform these exercises safely, which leads to pain.

Instead of prohibiting a particular movement, it is better to adjust the exercise to minimize stress on the lumbar vertebrae by adopting better posture or body mechanics. Note, however, that in certain specific cases, relative rest must be observed and certain exercises may be completely contraindicated (contact your healthcare professional if in doubt).

To find out all about herniated disc and sport (sports proposal, prohibited sports, return to sport), see the following article:

Herniated disc and sport: do they go together?

Conclusion

You are now aware of the exercises to avoid in the presence of herniated disc (and other deadly sins). I hope with the information shared, you will correct some of your misconceptions, and attack your back problem with more confidence.

There is always something to do to get better. And a proactive approach will always be the best long-term solution.

Good recovery!

Was this article helpful to you?

Indicate your appreciation of the article

Readers rating 4.6 / 5. Number of votes 5

If you have benefited from this article

Please share it with your loved ones

thank you for your comeback

How can we improve the article?

Back to top

Hernie discale: Exercices à éviter (et autres erreurs courantes)

Hernie discale: Exercices à éviter (et autres erreurs courantes)
"Êtes-vous coupable d'un de ces péchés capitaux?"

 

Si vous tapez “hernie discale” sur Google, vous trouverez probablement 1001 exercices et solutions pour diminuer votre douleur. Le problème, c’est qu’on ne parle jamais d’exercices à éviter en présence de cette condition.

 

Dans l’article suivant, nous discutons des exercices à éviter, mais aussi de 8 péchés capitaux à ne pas commettre lorsqu’on souffre de cette affection.

 

Je vous avertis, vous serez probablement coupable de l’un de ces péchés, et certains pourront même aller à l’encontre de ce qu’un praticien vous a dit par le passé. 

 

Commençons sans plus tarder!

 

erreurs à éviter hernie discale

Note : Avant tout, il est primordial que vous vous familiarisez avec le diagnostic de hernie discale. Pour tout savoir sur cette condition (symptômes, subtilités du diagnostic, approches de traitement), consultez l’article suivant.

 

Certes, en présence de hernie discale, il y a certains exercices à éviter. Mais de manière plus importante, il existe certaines habitudes et même mentalités que plusieurs adoptent à l’égard de leur situation. 

 

Sans que l’on s’en rende compte, ces péchés affecte la perception qu’on a de notre santé, l’attitude qu’on déploie à l’égard de notre condition, et ultimement le pronostic de guérison.

 

Regardons en détail les 8 péchés capitaux présentés dans l’infographie ci-dessus, et comment ils influencent directement (ou indirectement) la hernie discale.

 

1. Se reposer

 

Contre-intuitif, je sais. Normalement, on imagine qu’en reposant son dos, ça lui permettra de mieux guérir. Certes, un repos relatif et temporaire est parfois nécessaire après un épisode de lumbago. Par contre, il faut comprendre que le repos excessif engendre des conséquences néfastes pour le dos.

 

La solution est donc de demeurer actif dans un cadre sûr, tout en s’assurant d’éviter les mouvements qui aggraveraient la douleur. Certaines activités physiques pourraient par exemple aider à mobiliser ses vertèbres, activer la circulation et tonifier ses muscles. Ou encore, certains exercices thérapeutiques prescrits par un professionnel pourrait également optimiser le processus de guérison.

 

2. Surcharger son dos

 

Tel que mentionné précédemment, il est essentiel de demeurer actif après un épisode de mal de dos, et éviter le repos excessif. Par contre, ça ne veut surtout pas dire qu’il faille courir un marathon, ou rejoindre un cours d’acrobatie !!! Oui, les bienfaits de l’exercice pour le dos n’ont plus besoin d’être vantés. Mais tout exercice n’est pas forcément adapté à votre diagnostic, votre stade de guérison, ou encore à votre condition physique.

 

En gros, tout exercice qui aggrave la douleur et/ou qui cause des symptômes résiduels devrait être à proscrire initialement. Encore une fois, il est préférable d’opter pour des mouvements, activités ou exercices qui sollicitent la région lombaire (ou les régions connexes) sans pour autant surcharger les tissus.

 

J’en parlerai davantage dans la section Hernie discale : Exercices à éviter plus bas dans l’article.

 

lumbago soulevement charge

 

3. Abuser des médicaments

 

C’est le réflexe numéro un de ceux qui souffrent du dos. Anti-douleur, anti-inflammatoire, décontractant musculaire, chacun y va de sa concoction pour soulager sa douleur.

 

Oui, les médicaments ont leur place dans le traitement des hernies discales. Mais contrairement à ce que vous puissiez imaginer, ils traitent davantage les conséquences que la cause réelle du problème. Ils devraient donc être complémentaires à une approche active, et consommés dans certaines situations précises. Rappelez-vous toujours de cette prémisse :

 

“Idéalement, il faudrait prendre le minimum de médicaments, à la dose minimale, pendant le moins de temps possible.”

médication et mal de dos

 

4. Adopter une “mauvaise” posture

 

Pensiez-vous que je faisais référence à une posture voûtée vers l’avant, avec le cou projetée vers l’avant, les épaules enroulées et le dos arrondi ? NON ! Sachez que cette posture diabolisée par plusieurs n’est pas nécessairement mauvaise en soi. 

 

Au lieu de pointer du doigt une posture en particulier comme cause de la hernie discale, il faudrait plutôt remettre en question nos “mauvaises” habitudes de vie. Souvent, c’est la sédentarité et les postures prolongées qui augmentent les tensions musculaires, et la discopathie.

 

Ainsi, si vous avez mal au dos après être assis durant une longue période, essayez plutôt de vous lever de votre chaise et de faire quelques pas. C’est beaucoup plus efficace que tenter de trouver la posture «parfaite» qui n’existe pas vraiment!

posture

 

5. Se faire infiltrer d’emblée 

 

Comme les médicaments, l‘infiltration a une place à jouer dans le traitement des hernies discales. Mais comme pour les médicaments, les injections doivent être considérés dans des situations précises (et souvent en dernier recours avant la chirurgie!).

Malheureusement, je vois de nombreux patients avoir recours à l’infiltration aussitôt qu’ils ressentent le moindre symptôme. Le plus malheureux, c’est que certains médecins encouragent cette pratique malgré les nombreuses évidences scientifiques favorisant une approche plus “conservatrice” en premier lieu.

 

Un médecin qualifié saura vous guider sur la pertinence d’avoir recours à l’injection. Il vous suggèrera également le meilleur type d’infiltration à considérer. Sachez toutefois que cette pratique offre des solutions souvent temporaires, et ne substitue aucunement une approche active.

infiltration de cortisone complications

 

6. Porter systématiquement une ceinture lombaire

 

Suite à un diagnostic de hernie discale, plusieurs personnes ont le réflexe d’utiliser une ceinture lombaire pour protéger leur dos. Après tout, ce support additionnel qui fait du bien devrait soulager nos symptômes, et nous aider à guérir de notre hernie, non? Pas toujours…

 

Voici pourquoi la plupart des thérapeutes n’encouragent pas l’utilisation de ces supports lombaires:

 

  • Les ceintures lombaires rendent les muscles “paresseux” (pourquoi travailler quand on fait le travail pour nous!)
  • Les ceintures lombaires limitent la mobilité lombaire (celle-ci nécessaire pour lubrifier les articulations!)
  • Les ceintures lombaires limite la respiration diaphragmatique (s’il y a moins d’expansion abdominale, la respiration ne sera forcément pas optimale!)

 

Bon, d’accord, je consens que la ceinture lombaire peut procurer une sécurité temporaire, et nous aider à gérer  une crise aigue de douleur. Elle détiennent en effet plusieurs bénéfices, surtout si elle est utilisée de façon intelligente et avec parcimonie.

 

Pour connaître l’avis d’un professionnel de santé sur la ceinture lombaire, consultez l’article suivant.

 

ceinture lombaire contre le mal de dos

 

7. Ne pas consulter

 

“Je pensais que la douleur allait disparaître seule!” 

“Je ne pense pas qu’on puisse guérir ma hernie discale.”

“J’ai consulté un forum, et je me traite seul(e).”

 

Plusieurs personnes choisissent de ne pas consulter pour leur hernie discale. Le problème, c’est que la douleur ne disparaît pas toujours avec le temps (elle peut même s’aggraver, malheureusement!). Et le pire, c’est qu’une absence de douleur ne signifie pas forcément une disparition de notre problème de dos!

 

En cas de douleur lombaire aigue, consultez. En cas de douleur persistante, consultez. En cas de doute…consultez ! Un professionnel qualifié saura vous écouter, vous guider, et vous aider à aller mieux.

Visite médicale jeune femme

 

8. Avoir une attitude négative

 

Oui, la hernie discale est un problème anatomique et mécanique. Mais saviez-vous que votre état d’esprit, vos émotions et votre situation socio-économique pouvait influencer vos symptômes de mal de dos. Au lieu de nier cette réalité (démontrée maintes et maintes fois par la science!), pourquoi ne pas l’intégrer aux stratégies mises en place pour traiter votre hernie discale.

 

Trouvez des moyens de gérer votre stress au quotidien (il vous faudra peut-être de l’aide psychologique). Améliorez votre qualité de sommeil. Intégrez de la méditation à votre routine matinale. Prenez le temps de respirer de la “bonne façon”.

 

Prenez du temps pour vous. Vous le méritez!

 

stress fibromyalgie

 

9. BONUS: Être certain que la hernie est la cause de notre problème de dos

 

Âmes sensibles, s’abstenir! Et si je vous disais qu’une hernie discale diagnostiquée par IRM n’était pas forcément la cause réelle de vos maux de dos?

 

Saviez-vous qu’une proportion importante de la population asymptomatique présente des dégénérescences discales et des protrusions discales? En d’autres termes, même les gens n’ayant AUCUNE douleur lombaire peuvent également présenter des changements à l’imagerie médicale.

 

Même si votre résonance magnétique démontre une hernie discale L4-L5, il se peut qu’elle était présente bien avant l’incidence de votre douleur, et donc que votre hernies n’est pas nécessairement LA cause de votre lombalgie.

 

Certaines hernies discales peuvent par contre être symptomatiques. C’est à travers une évaluation exhaustive qu’on saura déterminer l’influence de votre hernie discale sur vos symptômes, et la prise en charge conséquente à adopter.

 

 

Hernie discale : quels sont les exercices à éviter ?

 

Si vous avez une hernie discale, vous avez probablement déjà entendu parler des bienfaits de l’exercice pour traiter votre condition. Le problème, c’est que vous ne savez pas quels exercices sont les plus appropriés pour votre condition. Et surtout, vous êtes craintif d’aggraver vos symptômes en faisant quelque chose qu’il ne faut pas.

 

Pire encore, il vous est peut-être déjà arrivé de faire un faux mouvement pour ensuite réaliser que votre douleur avait augmenté !

 

L’exercice est-il réellement bon pour votre dos? Et surtout, quels sont les exercices à évitez afin de ne pas aggraver la hernie discale ? Pour répondre à ces questions, il faut d’abord comprendre certains concepts clés.

 

exercices à éviter avec une hernie discale

 

D’abord, la douleur provoquée par un exercice est le plus souvent reliée à une incapacité de votre corps à soutenir la charge demandée. En d’autres termes, votre manque de force, de stabilité ou de souplesse peut faire en sorte qu’un exercice particulier engendre de la douleur lombaire lorsque vous l’exécutez.

 

Ajoutez à ça le fait que votre dos est possiblement plus fragile dû à des antécédents de douleurs, ou encore à une blessure antérieure. Ceci explique pourquoi vous voyez certaines personnes (sur Youtube par exemple) faire des exercices qualifiés de “mauvais” pour le dos, sans pour autant se plaindre de maux de dos !

 

Dans leur cas (et contrairement à vous peut-être !), leur dos est capable de tolérer l’effort demandé par l’exercice en question, ce qui explique l’absence de douleur.

 

Alors, quels sont les exercices à éviter? La réponse est malheureusement très complexe dans la mesure où, sauf exception, il n’y a pas de “mauvais” exercice comme tel ! Certains exercices augmentent la pression sur les disques, tel que les mouvements impliquant la flexion et la torsion de votre tronc. D’autres exercices mettent plus de pression sur les articulations de la colonne vertébrale, comme les mouvements en hyperextension.

 

En fonction de la fragilité de vos tissus, certains exercices devraient être modifiés -au moins temporairement- afin de ne pas aggraver vos symptômes. En général, votre corps va manifester de la douleur si vous irritez une structure qui est fragile. Le secret est d’y aller progressivement et de s’assurer qu’on ne cause pas de douleur persistante post-exercice.

 

En résumé, l’exercice a maintes fois été démontré comme efficace dans le traitement des lombalgies. Le problème, c’est que plusieurs personnes exécutent des exercices sans avoir la force, souplesse ou stabilité lombaire nécessaire à l’exécution sûre de ces exercices, ce qui provoque de la douleur.

 

Exercice en présence de hernie discale
Il n’y a pas forcément d’exercices à éviter en présence de hernie discale, tant que ceux-ci sont effectués de manière sûre et progressive.

 

Au lieu d’interdire de faire un mouvement particulier, il est préférable d’ajuster l’exercice afin de minimiser le stress sur les vertèbres lombaires en adoptant une meilleure posture ou mécanique corporelle. Soulignons toutefois que dans certains cas précis, un repos relatif doit être observé et certains exercices peuvent être complètement contre-indiqués (communiquez avec votre professionnel de santé en cas de doute).

 

 

Conclusion

 

Vous êtes désormais conscient(e) des exercices à éviter en présence de hernie disacle (et autres péchés capitaux). J’espère qu’avec l’information partagée, vous allez corriger certaines de vos fausses croyances, et attaquer votre problème de dos avec plus de confiance.

 

Il y a toujours quelque chose à faire pour aller mieux. Et une approche proactive restera toujours la meilleur solution à long terme.

 

Bonne guérison!

 

 


 

Vous n'avez toujours pas trouvé de réponses à vos questions ?

 

Et si je vous proposais 36 façons naturelles de soulager un mal de dos rapidement ? (Oui oui, 36 !!!)

 

soulager un mal de dos rapidement

 

Consultez l'article suivant : Comment soulager un mal de dos rapidement : 36 conseils