Lumbar traction: Indications and risks (physiotherapist advice)

lumbar tractions to relieve symptoms of sciatica

Lumbar traction is a form of decompression therapy that reduces pressure on the spine. It can be performed manually or mechanically to treat various spinal pathologies. This article explains several benefits and risks associated with this technique, and shares the opinion of a physiotherapist on its relevance for relieving pain in the lower back.

Definition and benefits

The term "traction" is derived from the Latin word "tractico", which refers to a pulling process. Thus, lumbar traction consists of applying a stretch along the axis of the spine through the weight of the body, an external force (such as the hands of a therapist), or even adapted devices.

The objective is to create a pulling force at the level of the Lumbar spine, more precisely by enlarging the space between the vertebrae and the spinal joints. The targeted therapeutic effects are as follows:

  • pain relief
  • better spinal alignment
  • stimulate blood circulation
  • reduce compressive forces on the spine
  • release pressure on nerves
  • reduction of paresthesias (numbness, tingling, etc.) in the lower limb
  • disc decompression
  • muscle stretching
  • improvement in function
  • avoid the use of medications, infiltrations or surgeries

Note: Certain therapeutic virtues conveyed by therapists or sellers of traction devices are devoid of scientific evidence, and remain to be demonstrated by studies. Moreover, there are even itself that traction would not be effective, although many therapists continue to use the technique for its empirically observed beneficial effects.

Indications

People suffering from low back pain or other problems of the lumbar spine can benefit from this form of therapy. Spinal traction is used regularly by healthcare professionals for the following conditions:

Risks and contraindications

Although often effective in relieving pain, lumbar traction can sometimes make symptoms worse. Likewise, the body sometimes reacts to pull-ups by causing muscle spasms, especially if the techniques are aggressive and unpredictable.

Thus, certain conditions constitute precautions (even contraindications) to spinal traction. We think, for example, of osteopenia, some forms of arthritis, infection, cervical vascular disease, osteoporosis, some cancers with bone metastases, or any impairment of spinal cord. Traction should also be avoided immediately after surgery involving the lumbar region, or in the presence oflumbar instability.

Finally, lumbar traction must be adapted in the acute phase (for example after a lumbago). Indeed, the traction will have the effect of stretching the lumbar structures such as muscles or ligaments. If they are inflamed or irritated by the trauma, the patient might feel more pain instead of relief.

If lumbar traction causes an increase in symptoms, it will be important to communicate the information to your healthcare professional. This one to adjust the parameters of the traction, or stop administering it altogether to focus on another treatment approach.

Procedure

Spinal tractions can be administered manually or mechanically, depending on the patient's condition and the therapist's preference.

Manual lumbar traction

In the case of manual traction, the healthcare professional (often a physiotherapist, physiotherapist, osteopath or chiropractor) uses his hands to perform the technique. It exerts a manual force aimed at enlarging the space between the vertebrae and the spinal joints.

One can even adopt certain positions oneself which aim to eliminate the effect of gravity on the spine, and exert a lumbar traction which would relieve the symptoms. For example, the use of a Swiss ball makes it possible to create a slight pulling force when balancing on the belly, or the use of 2 chairs making it possible to use the weight of one's body to widen the intervertebral space:

It should be noted that pull-ups can be applied according to various parameters. One can adjust the intensity of the traction (referred to as grades in manual therapy) to have to have the desired therapeutic effect.

Similarly, vibratory movements can be performed to modulate the pain and provide a relaxation effect. Finally, lumbar traction can be performed just before a joint manipulation to prepare the back for a crack.

Mechanical lumbar traction

Lumbar traction can also be done using adapted tools or devices (such as a inversion table). We then speak of mechanical traction. Here are examples of instruments used to decompress the lumbar vertebrae:

Traction can be held for an extended period, or held for short periods (between 10-20 seconds) repeatedly. One can also apply spinal traction several times a day to relieve its symptoms.

Opinion of the physiotherapist

If performed by an expert, lumbar tractions can greatly relieve symptoms and improve quality of life. As a physiotherapist (physiotherapist), I use them regularly in the practice to treat the neck pain of many patients.

The problem is that some medical professionals convey the message that tractions will correct disc problems "by returning the disc to its original position". This theory has not been scientifically proven, and it is not correct to assume that spinal tractions will correct his herniated disc, disc protrustion or other disc pathology.

Similarly, pull-ups most often provide a short-term effect only. Certainly, this creates an optimal environment for healing, but other approaches must be integrated to obtain lasting relief. Currently, studies show that progressive and adapted therapeutic exercises not only reduce long-term pain, but also prevent recurrences and improve function.

In summary, lumbar tractions are beneficial for treating many conditions, but they must be integrated within a global approach that takes into consideration all the facets of the person who contribute to the pain (physical, psychological, emotional, etc.) .

References

  • https://www.physio-pedia.com/Lumbar_Traction
  • https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/medicine-and-dentistry/lumbar-traction
Back to top

Traction lombaire : Indications et risques (avis kiné)

Traction lombaire : Indications et risques (avis kiné)

La traction lombaire est une forme de thérapie de décompression qui réduit la pression sur la colonne vertébrale. Elle peut être effectuée manuellement ou mécaniquement pour traiter diverses pathologies rachidiennes. Cet article explique plusieurs bénéfices et risques associés à cette technique, et partage l’avis d’un kiné sur sa pertinence pour soulager les douleurs dans le bas du dos.

Définition et bénéfices

 

Le terme “traction” est un dérivé du mot latin “tractico”, qui réfère à un processus de tirage. Ainsi, la traction lombaire consiste à appliquer un étirement suivant l’axe de la colonne vertébrale par le biais du poids du corps, d’une force externe (comme les mains d’un thérapeute), ou encore de dispositifs adaptés.

 

 

L’objectif est de créer une force de traction au niveau du rachis lombaire, plus précisément en agrandissant l’espace entre les vertèbres et les articulations spinales. Les effets thérapeutiques visés sont les suivants :

 

  • soulagement de la douleur
  • meilleur alignement de la colonne vertébrale
  • stimuler la circulation sanguine
  • réduire les forces compressives sur le rachis
  • libérer la pression sur les nerfs
  • réduction des paresthésies (engourdissements, picotements, etc.) au membre inférieur
  • décompression discale
  • étirement musculaire
  • amélioration de la fonction
  • éviter l’utilisation de médicaments, infiltrations ou chirurgies

 

Note : Certaines vertues thérapeutiques véhiculées par des thérapeutes ou vendeurs de dispositifs de traction sont dénuées d’évidences scientifiques, et restent à être démontrées par des études. D’ailleurs, il existe même des preuves comme quoi la traction ne serait pas efficaces, bien que plusieurs thérapeutes continuent d’utiliser la technique pour ses effets bénéfiques observés de façon empirique.

 

 

Indications

 

Les personnes souffrant de lombalgie ou autres problèmes de la colonne lombaire peuvent bénéficier de cette forme de thérapie. La traction vertébrale est utilisée régulièrement par les professionnels de santé pour les conditions suivantes :

À LIRE :   Pressothérapie : bienfaits et applications pratiques (avis)

 

 

 

Risques et contre-indications

 

Bien qu’elle est souvent effiace pour soulager les douleurs, la traction lombaire peut parfois aggraver les symptômes. De même, le corps réagit parfois aux tractions en provoquant des spasmes musculaires, surtout si les techniques sont aggressives et imprévisibles.

 

Ainsi, certaines conditions constituent des précautions (voire des contre-indications) aux tractions vertébrales. On pense par exemple à l’ostéopénie, certaines formes d’arthrite, une infection, une atteinte vasculaire au niveau cervical, l’ostéoporose, certains cancers avec métastases osseuses, ou toute atteinte de la moelle épinière. Les tractions sont également à éviter toute de suite après une chirurgie impliquant la région lombaire, ou encore en présence d’instabilité lombaire.

 

Finalement, la traction lombaire doit être adaptée en phase aigue (par exemple après un lumbago). En effet, la traction aura pour effet d’étirer les structures lombaire comme les muscles ou ligaments. S’ils sont inflammés ou irrités par le traumatisme, le patient pourrait ressentir plus de douleur au lieu d’être soulagé.

 

Si la traction lombaire provoque une augmentation des symptômes, il sera important de communiquer l’information à son professionnel de santé. Celui-ci pour ajuster les paramètres de la traction, ou carrément cesser de l’administrer pour se concentrer sur une autre approche de traitement.

 

 

Procédure

 

Les tractions vertébrales peuvent être administrées manuellement ou mécaniquement, en fonction de la condition du patient et de la préférence du thérapeute.

 

Traction lombaire manuelle

 

Dans le cas de la traction manuelle, le professionnel de santé (souvent, un kinésithérapeute, physiothérapeute, ostéopathe ou chiropracticien) utilise ses mains pour réaliser la technique. Il exerce une force manuelle visant à agrandir l’espace entre les vertèbres et les articulations spinales.

À LIRE :   Méthode Mckenzie : Application pratique (se traiter soi-même)

 

On peut même adopter certaines positions soi-même qui visent à éliminer l’effet de la gravité sur la colonne vertébrale, et exercer une traction lombaire qui soulagerait les symptômes. Par exemple, l’utilisation d’un ballon suisse permet de créer une légère force de traction lorsqu’on se place en équilibre sur le ventre, ou encore l’utilisation de 2 chaises permettant d’utiliser le poids de son corps pour élargir l’espace intervertébral :

 

traction lombaire sur ballon suisse

 

traction lombaire entre 2 chaises

 

Il est à noter que les tractions peuvent être appliquées selon divers paramètres. On peut ajuster l’intensité de la traction (qualifié de grades en thérapie manuelle) avoir d’avoir l’effet thérapeutique escompté. De même, des mouvements vibratoires peuvent être effectués pour moduler la douleur et procurer un effet de détente. Finalement, la traction lombaire peut être réalisée juste avant une manipulation articulaire pour préparer le dos à se faire craquer.

 

Traction lombaire mécanique

 

La traction lombaire peut aussi se faire à l’aide d’outils ou de dispositifs adaptés (comme une table d’inversion). On parle alors de traction mécanique. Voici des exemples d’instruments utilisés pour exercer une décompression des vertèbres lombaires :

 

 

La traction peut être maintenue pendant une période prolongée, ou alors maintenues pendant de courtes périodes (entre 10-20 secondes) de manière répétée. On peut également appliquer la traction vertébrale plusieurs fois par jour pour soulager ses symptômes.

 

 

Avis du kiné

 

Si elles sont réalisées par un expert, les tractions lombaires peuvent grandement soulager les symptômes et améliorer la qualité de vie. En tant que kinésithérapeute (physiothérapeute), je les utilise régulièrement au cabinet pour traiter les cervicalgies de nombreux patients.

 

Le problème, c’est que certains professionnels de santé véhiculent le message que les tractions vont corriger les problèmes discaux “en ramenant le disque à sa position initiale”. Cette théorie n’a pas été démontré scientifiquement, et il n’est pas exact d’assumer que les tractions vertébrales vont corriger sa hernie discale, protrustion discale ou autre pathologie discale.

À LIRE :   Tapis d’acupression: Avis d’un professionnel de santé

 

De même, les tractions procurent le plus souvent un effet à court terme uniquement. Certes, ceci permet de créer un environnement optimal à la guérison, mais il faut intégrer d’autres approches pour obtenir un soulagement durable. À l’heure actuelle, les études démontrent que des exercices thérapeutiques progressifs et adaptés permettent non seulement de réduire la douleur à long terme, mais également de prévenir les récidives et améliorer la fonction.

 

En somme, les tractions lombaires sont bénéfiques pour traiter de nombreuses conditions, mais elles doivent être intégrées au sein d’une approche globale prenant en considération toutes les facettes de la personne qui participent à la douleur (physique, psychologique, émotionnelle, etc.).

 

 

Références

 

  • https://www.physio-pedia.com/Lumbar_Traction
  • https://www.sciencedirect.com/topics/medicine-and-dentistry/lumbar-traction