Back pain: what to do? (In chronological order)

low back pain9 back pain what to do

You have back pain, and you're wondering what to do to heal as quickly (and effectively!) as possible.

You may have been told to avoid rest, take medication, go swimming, see a specialist, or have an MRI. These tips are certainly useful, but you would like to know other strategies to treat your back pain, and above all benefit from a structured method to resume your activities.

In the following article, I show you what to do after back pain chronologically (that is, from the onset of symptoms until they disappear).

1. Make sure it's nothing serious

The goal here is not to scare you. But you should know that back pain sometimes stems from a serious injury.

Obviously, these are extremely rare attacks which represent a proportion minime cases of lumbago.

On the other hand, you must consult urgently if you ever experience one of the symptoms mentioned in the infographic below:

If you ever want to make sure that your back pain is not serious, I invite you to consult the following article:

Back pain: When should you worry? (Is it cancer?)

In addition to serious conditions, back pain can sometimes come from another condition such as fibromyalgia, ankylosing spondylitis or any other inflammatory low back pain for example.

Another element to mention is theirradiation of pain in the leg. In general, the more the pain radiates (for example towards the foot), the less favorable the prognosis is (especially if it is associated with numbness and tingling).

2. Avoid things that will make the pain worse

We have now eliminated the risk of a serious injury that would require urgent medical intervention. That's good, but the pain still remains incapacitating and irritating!

Before taking any concrete action aimed at reducing your back pain, you should avoid actions that could potentially make it worse! In fact, several bad habits have the effect of delaying (or even completely preventing!) the healing of your lower back pain.

Typical example: If sitting aggravates your back pain, you will need to find strategies to limit this position during the day (if you have an office job, here are some tips to straighten your back).

I often suggest to my patients to get up regularly during the day to avoid immobilization caused by prolonged sitting position. Furthermore, there are adapted seats allowing dynamic sitting, and thereby improving your posture.

Click here to see seats suitable for people with back pain
Daccormax Ergonomic Office Chair, Comfortable Office Chair on Casters, Swivel Reclining Seat, Adjustable Armrests, Adjustable Headrest 11cm, Adjustable Lumbar Support, Black
  • 【Ergonomic office chair】The ergonomic design shows itself in various aspects: the headrest adjustable in angle of 120° and height of 11cm provides good support for your cervical spine; the armrests adjustable by 10 cm in height relieve the arms when resting; the 6cm variable lumbar support offers you reliable support for lumbar spine.
  • 【Backrest tilts up to 125°】The office chair can be tilted up to 125° angle, when you need a rest, you can pull the lever aside to tilt the backrest. The office chair rocker is designed to relieve back muscle pain and relax the mind. When you want the backrest to remain vertical, you can push the lever to lock the backrest at 90°.
  • 【Breathable Surface】The backrest made of breathable mesh allows air to circulate freely and gives you a good sitting experience in the bedroom especially in summer. The new sponge cushion is better in heat permeability than the recycled sponge cushion. The high resistance of the fabric makes the chair more durable and at the same time easy to clean.

Last updated on 2024-06-17 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

Promo
Office Stool, 360° Rotation Rolling Stool, for Massage Salon, Office, Clinic
  • 💡COMFORTABLE AND FUN: This bar stool features a 360 degree rotating design that allows you to relax while rotating it. The adjustable height can reach 50-64,5cm and the load capacity can be up to 150kg, making it suitable for most people.
  • 💡ERGONOMIC DESIGN: The 8 cm cushion, thicker and larger, is covered in PU leather and the base has a chrome design, with several silent moving wheels for greater stability and resistance to wear.
  • 💡BEAUTIFUL AND PRACTICAL: This office chair suitable for home, hair salon, clinic, office, bedroom, etc., wherever you need it, it can get the job done. The beautiful and neat design also fits perfectly with your home decoration.

Last updated on 2024-06-17 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

Promo
Devoko Sit Stand Desk 140×70cm with Monitor Stand Electric Height Adjustable Desk with 2 Memory Heights for Working
  • 【Perfect for the Office】: Alternating between standing and sitting allows you to keep your thoughts clear and be more productive at work. It improves the flexibility of the spine and avoid back pain after prolonged sitting. This desk is suitable for working, studying, drawing, reading, etc.
  • 【Height Adjustable Desk】: The height of the desk can be adjusted between 72 cm and 117 cm. Just press a button to adjust the desk to your desired height, allowing you to move freely from sitting to standing!
  • 【Sturdy Construction】: Devoko Desk are made from high quality metal frames, with motors that have been tested over 20 times to ensure durability, T-shaped legs for stability and a load capacity of 000 kg to provide you with a good working environment.

Last updated on 2024-06-17 / Affiliate links / Images from the Amazon Partners API

3. Control pain and inflammation

You suffer, and your pain prevents you from going about your daily business.

Fortunately, there are several ways to control pain and inflammation. On the other hand, most of the proposed strategies act in the short term, and do not constitute a lasting solution.

If you feel significant pain, try this:

  • Apply ice to your lower back area for 15 minutes. Place a wet towel between the ice and your back to protect the skin. Repeat every 2 hours.
  • After 24-48 hours of ice application, you can use a heated bag instead of cold. This will allow to act more on the muscular tensions in particular responsible for your back pain.
  • Then determine whether it is the heat or the ice that gives you the most good, and use the modality of your choice. To learn more about the difference between hot and cold, see the following article.
  • If the pain is too severe, medications will need to be considered. Talk with your doctor to determine the right medications, doses, etc.
  • Some people hate medication, and prefer to opt for essential oils for their back pain. If this is your case, know that there are many natural products available on the market (the best known are covered in this article). However, your doctor should be informed if you opt for these options, simply because these products sometimes have side effects and interactions with certain pharmacological products.
  • If you ever see a therapist (such as a physio or an osteo), he may use manual techniques such as mobilizations, massages and others aimed at relieving pain. machines like the TENS can also emit an electric current for analgesic purposes.

4. Reduce muscle tension

We mentioned that heat could reduce muscle tension, which is particularly responsible for back pain. Indeed, many patients feel relief from their symptoms after a massage, or even a hot shower. It is the same with manual techniques from a qualified therapist.

However, you should know that muscle tension is generally not the main cause of your back pain, but rather a consequence. It is with this in mind that the solutions proposed generally work in the short term only, and must be combined with a global (and active!) therapeutic approach.

Now, what can we do to reduce muscle tension, “untie” knots and relieve stiffness? Here are some strategies that can be practiced from the comfort of your home.

  • Take a tennis ball and place it on a stress point in the lower back. Lean your back against the wall so you can feel the pressure of the ball. Hold the position for a minute, then make mini-movements back and forth allowing the ball to massage your lower back.
  • Breathing exercises like diaphragmatic breathing can also relax tense muscles.
  • Believe it or not, meditation could also help you reduce muscle tension. Because it relaxes the mind and reduces stress, mindfulness (Mindfulness in English) is a very interesting strategy when you suffer from back pain. To learn more about this type of meditation (and benefit from exercises to integrate into your daily life), see the following article.

5. Minimize rest (yes, but how?)

You've probably already heard that you should stay active after back pain. Easy to say, you might say. How to move when the majority of movements are painful?

The secret boils down to one key concept: The progressive overload. Essentially, you have to find movements (no matter how small) that are well tolerated, then progress them by adjusting the intensity and amplitudes.

Your body is stronger than you can imagine, and has an impressive capacity for resilience. The same movement may seem impossible one day, but become possible through repetition (all within a safe and progressive framework).

6. Adapt your bedding and optimize your sleep

The quality of your sleep is linked to back pain. Whether it is the pain that prevents you from sleeping well, or the lack of sleep that contributes to the pain, it is clear that sub-optimal sleep is harmful for your back.

There is not necessarily an ideal position for sleeping well. However, some positions are better tolerated than others. For example, if you usually sleep on your back, put a pillow under your knees (and even under the sheets to make sure it doesn't move during the night). Also use a proper pillow to protect your neck.

To know my opinion as a physiotherapist on the memory foam pillows, see the following article:

Shape memory pillow: Opinion of a health professional

If you're used to sleeping on your side, a pillow between your knees can also reduce spinal twists that potentially cause increased pain.

Regarding the prone position, it is often considered “bad” for the back. It's a myth. Certainly, it forces the neck to rotate and accentuates the lumbar lordosis, but it's all about adaptation. If your spine is able to support this position, there is no harm in adopting this position.

On the other hand, in the presence of back pain or neck pain, a pillow under the belly is often better tolerated for people who are used to the prone position. It's up to you to see what's best for your back.

To benefit from advice allowing you to sleep like a baby despite your back pain, I invite you to see the following article.

7. Incorporate cardiovascular activity

It is often recommended to do cardio to stay in shape, and lose those extra pounds. Let me tell you that we underestimate the benefits of cardiovascular activity on back pain!

Among the benefits, we note a decrease in the sensitivity of the nerves (think of the sciatica and cruralgia !), improving the quality of sleep, optimizing the immune system, reducingchronic inflammation, improved mood, and so on!

Try to incorporate a "cardio" type activity into your routine. Brisk walking, swimming, cycling, any activity that helps to increase your heart rate without aggravating your low back pain can be practiced.

8. Identify a preferred direction

The concept of "preferential steering" is taken from the famous Mckenzie method.

Simply explained, there are usually specific movements and/or postures that aggravate back pain, and others that relieve it. The objective of the Mckenzie method is to identify a direction of movement that could relieve back pain, and provide exercises to incorporate into daily life.

Let's take a typical example: Mary has been suffering from back pain for several months. On MRI, he was diagnosed with disc herniation L5-S1. The sitting position is poorly tolerated, and any movement of flexion (leaning forward) increases lower back pain and causes radiation in the leg.

When assessed (by a Mckenzie therapist), it is observed that lumbar extension movements centralize symptoms. After several repetitions, the pain once in the calf resides only in the buttock.

It can therefore be concluded that the preferred direction is lumbar extension, and treatment should emphasize movements in this direction. Marie must therefore perform specific exercises regularly during her daily life in order to control the pain in the leg, and ultimately eliminate the pain.

For examples of exercises from the Mckenzie method, see the following article.

9. Become aware of psychological factors

Have you ever been told that back pain is in the head? Many take it as an insult, like being told your symptoms aren't real.

In fact, pain is a nervous message from the brain. So technically, yes, the pain is in the head (literally)! On the other hand, anyone who tells you that your pain is not real is wrong.

It is a fact. Pain can be affected by factors other than physical. Have you ever felt your back tense after a stressful day at work? Or, being afraid to move for fear of hurting yourself more?

These psychological and social factors contribute to the overall picture, and underestimating them is a mistake that many people – and even specialists! - make.

Morality ? Do not attribute your symptoms solely to physical causes, and integrate strategies allowing you to improve your state of mind, mood, relaxation, etc.

Avoid thesocial isolation which could lead to depression and Chronic Pain. If you feel stressed, diaphragmatic breathing and mindfulness meditation are an excellent starting point. Also, consult a shrink if ever your morale is down.

10. Consult a therapist

A health professional is someone who has seen a lot of cases like yours, and who knows what to do to get you better. Why not enjoy it?

Often, the first instinct of people with back pain is to talk to their doctor. But there are several therapists and back specialists who will be able to help you if needed.

An expert will be able to issue (or clarify) your diagnostic, either via clinical tests or via examinations ofmedical imaging. And above all, he will be able to offer you individualized solutions to improve the health of your back.

To find out who (and when) to consult, refer to next article.

Bonus: Don’t stop your good habits!

If you follow the advice mentioned above, there is a good chance that your symptoms will improve.

You will have understood by browsing the article that the reduction of pain requires an effort on your part. You have to be proactive, move, ask for help, work on yourself, define aims, etc.

Here is a problem that I often notice in my practice: Patients, as soon as the pain is under control, stop doing the activities that helped relieve their symptoms. They no longer take breaks after a long period of sitting. They let the stress of work affect their sleep. In short, they resume their bad habits.

Until the lower back pain comes back again!

Morality ? When your back pain is not incapacitating, this is the EXACT moment to maximize the treatment. Do your exercises and back stretches, improve your muscle strength and flexibility, correct bad postural habits, adopt good sleep hygiene, etc.

It's your turn!

Conclusion

The management of back pain is sometimes complex. Some treatments work for some, while they provide no benefit for others.

You have in this article a list of solutions to treat your back pain. The advantage is that they are listed in chronological order, which will give you some structure when it comes to treating your condition.

Remember that there are a multitude of treatments available. I also wrote an article that offers 36 ways to relieve back pain quickly (I promise you will be surprised by strategy #26!).

The important thing is not to give up when a treatment does not provide the expected results. Keep fighting, surround yourself with the right people, and don't hesitate to ask for help.

Good recovery!

Back to top

Mal de dos : Que faire? (En ordre chronologique)

Mal de dos : Que faire? (En ordre chronologique)

 

 

Vous avez mal au dos, et vous vous demandez ce qu’il faut faire pour guérir le plus rapidement (et efficacement!) possible.

 

douleur lombaire
Et si vos douleurs dans la cuisse provenaient du bas du dos?

 

On vous a déjà dit d’éviter le repos, de prendre des médicaments, de faire de la natation, de consulter un spécialiste et de passer un IRM. Ces conseils sont certes utiles, mais vous aimeriez connaître d’autres stratégies pour soigner votre mal de dos, et bénéficier d’une méthode structurée pour reprendre vos activités.

 

Dans l’article suivant, je vous montre ce qu’il faut faire après un mal de dos de façon chronologique (c’est-à-dire depuis l’apparition des symptômes jusqu’à leur disparition).

 

1. Assurez-vous qu’il n’y a rien de grave

2. Évitez les choses qui aggraveraient la douleur

3. Contrôlez la douleur et l’inflammation

4. Diminuez vos tensions musculaires

5. Minimisez le repos (oui, mais comment?)

6. Adaptez votre literie et optimisez votre sommeil

7. Intégrez une activité cardiovasculaire

8. Identifiez une direction préférentielle

9. Prenez conscience des facteurs psychologiques

10. Consultez un thérapeute

Bonus: Ne cessez pas vos bonnes habitudes!

Conclusion

 

Bonne lecture!

 

Pour bénéficier d’une consultation gratuite sur votre mal de dos, répondez à ce questionnaire de 18 questions vous permettant de clarifier votre diagnostic, et vous donner des conseils spécifiques à VOTRE mal de dos!    Cliquez ici: Mal de dos: Mini-consultation gratuite

 

1. Assurez-vous qu’il n’y a rien de grave

 

Le but ici n’est pas de vous effrayer. Mais vous devriez savoir que le mal de dos provient parfois d’une atteinte sérieuse.

 

Évidemment, il s’agit d’atteintes extrêmement rares qui représentent une proportion minime des cas de lombalgies.

 

Par contre, il faut consulter d’urgence si jamais vous expérimentez un des symptômes mentionnés dans l’infographie ci-dessous:

 

drapeaux rouges reliés au mal de dos

 

Si jamais vous voulez vous assurer que votre mal de dos n’est pas grave, je vous invite également à remplir le questionnaire suivant pour éliminer une atteinte sérieuse de la colonne vertébrale (et avoir l’esprit tranquille quant au pronostic!) : J’ai mal au dos: Est-ce grave?

 

Vous pouvez également vous référez à l’article suivant qui explique les situations où le mal de dos peut s’avérer inquiétant (comme un cancer ou autre).

 

Outre les affections sérieuses, le mal de dos peut parfois provenir d’une atteinte autre comme la fibromyalgie, la spondylarthrite ankylosante ou toute autre lombalgie inflammatoire par exemple.

 

Un autre élément à mentionner est l’irradiation de douleur dans la jambe. De manière générale, plus la douleur irradie (par exemple vers le pied), moins le pronostic est favorable (surtout si c’est associé à des engourdissements et picotements).

 

douleur au nerf sciatique

 

 

2. Évitez les choses qui aggraveraient la douleur

 

Nous avons désormais éliminé le risque d’une atteinte sérieuse qui nécessiterait une intervention médicale urgente. C’est bien, mais la douleur demeure toujours aussi incapacitante et irritante!

 

Avant d’entamer toute action concrète visant à réduire votre mal de dos, il convient d’éviter les actions qui pourraient potentiellement l’aggraver! En effet, plusieurs mauvaises habitudes ont pour effet de retarder (voire empêcher carrément!) la guérison de votre lombalgie.

 

L’exemple type: Si la position assise aggrave votre mal de dos, il faudra trouver des stratégies pour limiter cette position durant la journée (si vous avez un travail de bureau, voici quelques astuces pour redresser votre dos).

 

homme ayant une posture affaissée devant son ordinateur
Si vous pensez que votre mauvaise posture est LA cause de votre mal de dos, vous faites erreur.

 

Je suggère souvent à mes patients de se lever régulièrement durant la journée pour éviter l’immobilisation causée par la position assise prolongée. Par ailleurs, il existe des sièges comme l’Active Base permettant une assise dynamique, et améliorant par le fait même votre posture.

 

Il existe de nombreuses autres situations qui aggravent le mal de dos, parfois sans même que vous vous en rendiez compte. Voici une liste de 8 péchés capitaux qu’il faut corriger à tout prix pour optimiser la santé de votre dos. Êtes-vous coupables?

 

erreurs à éviter hernie discale

 

 

3. Contrôlez la douleur et l’inflammation

 

Vous souffrez, et vos douleurs vous empêchent de vaquer à vos occupations quotidiennes.

 

Heureusement, il existe plusieurs façons de contrôler la douleur et l’inflammation. Par contre, la pluparts des stratégies proposées agissent à court terme, et ne constituent pas une solution durable.

 

Si vous sentez une douleur importante, essayez ceci :

  • Appliquez de la glace sur votre région lombaire pendant 15 minutes. Placez entre la glace et votre dos une serviette mouillée pour protéger la peau. Répétez à chaque 2 heures.

 

  • Après 24-48 heures d’application de glace, vous pourrez utiliser un sac chauffant au lieu du froid. Ceci permettra d’agir davantage sur les tensions musculaires notamment responsables de votre mal de dos.

 

 

  • Déterminez ensuite si c’est la chaleur ou la glace qui vous procure le plus de bien, et utilisez la modalité de votre choix. Pour en savoir plus sur la différence entre chaud et froid, consultez l’article suivant.

 

  • Si la douleur est trop importante, il faudra (malheureusement) considérer les médicaments. Discutez avec votre médecin pour déterminer les bons médicaments, les bonnes doses, etc.

 

médicaments prescrits pour mal de dos

 

  • Certaines personnes ont horreur des médicaments, et préfèrent opter pour des huiles essentielles pour leur mal de dos. Si c’est votre cas, sachez qu’il existe de nombreux produits naturels disponibles sur le marché (les plus connus sont couverts dans cet article). Quoiqu’il en soit, votre médecin devrait être averti si vous optez pour ces options, simplement car ces produits ont parfois des effets secondaires et interactions avec certains produits pharmacologiques.

 

  • Si jamais vous consultez un thérapeute (comme un kiné ou un ostéo), il pourrait utiliser des techniques manuelles comme des mobilisations, massages et autres visant à soulager la douleur. Des machines comme le TENS peuvent également émettre un courant électrique à but antalgique.

 

tens pour douleurs au dos

 

 

4. Diminuez vos tensions musculaires

 

Nous avons mentionné que la chaleur pouvait diminuer les tensions musculaires notamment responsables du mal de dos. En effet, plusieurs patients ressentent un soulagement de leurs symptômes après un massage, ou encore une douche chaude. Il en est de même avec des techniques manuelles d’un thérapeute qualifié.

 

massage de la région lombaire

 

Cependant, il faut savoir que les tensions musculaires ne sont généralement pas la cause principale de votre mal de dos, mais plutôt une conséquence. C’est dans cette optique que les solutions proposées fonctionnent généralement à court terme seulement, et doivent être combinées à une approche thérapeutique globale (et proactive!).

 

Maintenant, que peut-on faire pour réduire les tensions musculaires, «délier» ses nœuds et soulager ses raideurs? Voici quelques stratégiques pouvant être pratiquées à même le confort de votre foyer.

 

  • Prenez une balle de tennis et placez-la sur un point de tension au niveau lombaire. Appuyez votre dos contre le mur de manière à ressentir la pression de la balle. Maintenez la position pendant une minute, puis faites des mini-mouvements de va-et-vient permettant à la balle de masser votre bas du dos.

 

balle de tennis pour diminuer les tensions musculaires
Votre nouvel ami pour réduire vos tensions musculaires

 

  • Des exercices de respiration comme la respiration diaphragmatique peuvent également détendre les muscles tendus. Pour en savoir plus (et bénéficier d’un exercice à faire), consultez l’article suivant

 

exercices de respiration contre le stress

 

  • Croyez-le ou non, mais la méditation pourrait également vous aider à réduire vos tensions musculaires. Parce qu’elle détend l’esprit et réduit le stress, la pleine conscience (Mindfulness en anglais) est une stratégie très intéressante lorsqu’on souffre du dos. Pour en savoir plus sur ce type de méditation (et bénéficier d’exercices à intégrer au quotidien), consultez l’article suivant.

 

 

5. Minimisez le repos (oui, mais comment?)

 

Vous avez probablement déjà entendu qu’il fallait demeurer actif après un mal de dos. Facile à dire, me direz-vous. Comment bouger lorsque la majorité des mouvements sont douloureux?

 

Le secret se résume en un concept clé: La surcharge progressive. Essentiellement, il faut trouver des mouvements (aussi minimes soient-ils) qui soient bien tolérés, puis les progresser en ajustant l’intensité et les amplitudes.

 

exercices contre le mal de dos

 

Votre corps est plus solide qui vous puissiez l’imaginer, et possède une capacité impressionnante de résilience. Un même mouvement peut paraître impossible un jour, mais devenir possible à force de répétition (le tout dans un cadre sûr et progressif).

 

Je vous recommande le programme gratuit «21 jours contre le mal de dos» qui propose des exercices adaptés au mal de dos, et qui sont progressés quotidiennement de manière à éviter l’aggravation de douleurs.

 

 

 

6. Adaptez votre literie et optimisez votre sommeil

 

La qualité de votre sommeil est reliée au mal de dos. Que ce soit la douleur qui empêche de bien dormir, ou le manque de sommeil qui participe à la douleur, force est de constater qu’un sommeil sous-optimal est délétère pour votre dos.

 

Il n’existe pas forcément de position idéale pour bien dormir. Par contre, certaines positions sont mieux tolérées que d’autres. Par exemple, si vous dormez généralement sur le dos, placez un oreiller sous vos genoux (et même sous les draps afin de s’assurer qu’il ne bouge pas durant la nuit).

 

postures de sommeil contre le mal de dos
Posture de sommeil contre le mal de dos

 

Si vous avez l’habitude de dormir sur le côté, un oreiller entre les genoux peut également réduire les torsions lombaires qui causent potentiellement une augmentation de douleur.

 

posture de sommeil contre le mal de dos
Posture de sommeil contre le mal de dos

 

En ce qui concerne la position ventrale, elle est souvent considérée comme «mauvaise» pour le dos. C’est un mythe. Certes, elle force la nuque en rotation et accentue la lordose lombaire, mais tout est question d’adaptation. Si votre colonne vertébrale est capable de supporter cette position, il n’y a pas de mal à adopter cette position.

 

Par contre, en présence de mal de dos, un oreiller sous le ventre est souvent mieux toléré pour les gens qui ont l’habitude de la position ventrale. À vous de voir ce qui convient le mieux pour votre dos.

sommeil sur le ventre

 

Pour bénéficier de conseils vous permettant de dormir comme un bébé malgré votre mal de dos, je vous invite à consulter l’article suivant.

 

 

7. Intégrez une activité cardiovasculaire

 

On recommande souvent de faire du cardio pour se maintenir en forme, et perdre ses kilos en trop. Par contre, on sous-estime les bienfaits de l’activité cardiovasculaire sur le mal de dos.

 

vélo et mal de dos

 

Parmis les bienfaits, on retient une diminue de la sensibilité des nerfs (pensez à la sciatique et la cruralgie!), l’amélioration de la qualité du sommeil, l’optimisation du système immunitaire, la diminution de l’inflammation chronique, l’amélioration de l’humeur, et j’en passe!

 

Essayez d’intégrer une activité de type «cardio» à votre routine. Marche rapide, natation, vélo, toute activité qui participe à augmenter votre fréquence cardiaque sans pour autant aggraver votre lombalgie peut être pratiquée.

           

 

8. Identifiez une direction préférentielle

 

Le concept de «direction préférentielle» est tiré de la fameuse méthode Mckenzie.

 

 

Expliqué simplement, il existe généralement des mouvements et/ou postures spécifiques qui aggravent le mal de dos, et d’autres qui le soulagent. L’objectif de la méthode Mckenzie est d’identifier une direction de mouvement qui pourrait soulager le mal de dos, et fournir des exercices à intégrer au quotidien.

 

Prenons un exemple type: Marie souffre de mal de dos depuis plusieurs mois. À l’IRM, on lui à diagnostiqué une hernie discale L5-S1. La position assise est mal tolérée, et tout mouvement de flexion (penchée vers l’avant) augmente les douleurs lombaires et provoque des irradiations dans la jambe.

 

femme effectuant une flexion lombaire pour évaluer son mal de dos

 

Lors que l’évaluation (par un thérapeute Mckenzie), on observe que les mouvements d’extension lombaire centralisent les symptômes. Après plusieurs répétitions, la douleur autrefois dans le mollet séjourne uniquement dans la fesse.

 

On peut donc conclure que la direction préférentielle est l’extension lombaire, et le traitement devra mettre l’accent sur des mouvements en ce sens. Marie doit donc effectuer des exercices spécifiques régulièrement durant son quotidien afin de contrôler la douleur dans la jambe, et ultimement abolir la douleur.

 

exercice mckenzie d'extension lombaire à plat ventre
Comme le cobra, mais pas tout à fait!

 

Pour connaître des exemples d’exercices tirés de la méthode Mckenzie, consultez l’article suivant.

 

9. Prenez conscience des facteurs psychologiques

 

Vous a-t-on déjà dit que le mal de dos était dans la tête? Beaucoup le prennent comme une insulte, un peu comme si on vous disait que vos symptômes n’étaient pas réels.

 

stress fibromyalgie

 

En fait, la douleur est un message nerveux provenant du cerveau. Donc techniquement, oui, la douleur est dans la tête (au sens propre du terme)! Par contre, celui qui vous dit que votre douleur n’est pas réelle a tort.

 

C’est un fait. La douleur peut être affectée par des facteurs autres que physiques. Vous est-il déjà arrivé de sentir votre dos tendu après une journée stressante au boulot? Ou encore, d’avoir peur de bouger par peur de vous blesser davantage?

 

douleurs psychosomatiques
douleurs psychosomatiques

 

Ces facteurs psychologiques et sociaux participent au portrait global, et les sous-estimer constitue une erreur que plusieurs personnes-et même spécialistes!- font.

 

La morale? N’attribuez pas vos symptômes uniquement qu’à des causes physiques, et implémentez des stratégies vous permettant d’améliorer votre état d’esprit, humeur, relaxation, etc.

 

Éviter l’isolement social qui pourrait mener à la dépression et la douleur chronique. Si vous vous sentez stressés, la respiration diaphragmatique et la méditation pleine conscience constituent d’excellent point de départ. Également, consulter un psy si jamais votre moral est à terre.

 

facteurs psychologiques mal de dos
Il existe un lien entre votre état d’esprit et votre mal de dos!

 

 

10. Consultez un thérapeute

 

Un professionnel de santé, c’est quelqu’un qui a vu énormément de cas comme le vôtre, et qui sait ce qu’il faut faire pour que vous alliez mieux. Pourquoi ne pas en profiter?

 

Souvent, le premier réflexe des personnes qui souffrent du dos est d’en parler à leur médecin. Mais il existe plusieurs thérapeutes et spécialistes du dos qui sauront vous venir en aide en cas de besoin.

 

 

Un expert saura émettre (ou clarifier) votre diagnostic, soit via des tests cliniques ou via des examens d’imagerie médicale. Et surtout, il saura vous offrir des solutions individualisées pour améliorer la santé de votre dos.

 

Pour savoir qui (et quand) consulter, référez-vous à l’article suivant.

 

evaluation physiotherapeute

 

Bonus: Ne cessez pas vos bonnes habitudes!

 

Si vous respectez les conseils mentionnés ci-haut, il y a de fortes chances que vos symptômes s’améliorent.

 

Vous aurez compris en parcourant l’article que la diminution de douleur requiert un effort de votre part. Il faut être proactif, bouger, demander de l’aide, travailler sur soi, se fixer des objectifs, etc.

 

marche pour traiter le mal de dos
Le traitement du mal de dos est un travail de longue haleine!

 

Voici un problème que je remarque souvent dans ma pratique: Les patients, aussitôt que la douleur est sous contrôle, cessent de faire les exercices qui les ont aidé à soulager leurs symptômes. Ils ne prennent plus de pauses après une longue période assise. Ils laissent le stress du boulot affecter leur sommeil. Bref, ils reprennent leurs mauvaises habitudes.

 

Jusqu’à ce que la douleur lombaire revienne de plus belle.

 

La morale? Lorsque votre mal de dos n’est pas incapacitant, c’est JUSTEMENT le moment où il faut maximiser le traitement. Faites vos exercices, améliorez votre force et souplesse musculaire, corrigez vos mauvaises habitudes posturales, adoptez une bonne hygiène de sommeil, etc.

 

À vous de jouer!

 

Conclusion

 

La prise en charge du mal de dos est parfois complexe. Certains traitements fonctionnent pour certains, alors qu’ils ne procurent aucun bénéfice pour d’autres.

 

Vous avez dans cet article une liste de solutions pour traiter votre mal de dos. L’avantage, c’est qu’elles sont répertoriées en ordre chronologique, ce qui vous apportera une certaine structure lorsqu’il s’agira de traiter votre condition.

 

N’oubliez pas qu’il existe une multitude de traitements disponibles. J’ai d’ailleurs rédigé un article qui propose 36 façons de soulager un mal de dos rapidement (je vous promet que vous serez surpris par la stratégie #26!).

 

L’important, c’est de ne pas abandonner lorsqu’un traitement n’offre pas les résultats escomptés. Continuez de vous battre, entourez-vous des bonnes personnes, et n’hésitez pas à demander de l’aide.

 

Bonne guérison!

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

Vous n'avez pas trouvé de réponses à vos questions? Procurez-vous le guide gratuit "Le mal de dos en 100 questions" pour vous éclairer sur votre condition!